DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RYU (US 20170167393 A1) in view of SATO (JP 2001355462 A).
Re claim 1, RYU ‘393 discloses control method for opening and closing an intake valve and an exhaust valve of an engine (par. 0011), the engine including an intake continuous variable valve duration (CVVD) apparatus 40 (fig. 1-2; par. 0048 & 0059) that is disposed at an intake side of the engine, an intake continuous variable valve timing (CVVT) apparatus 55 disposed at the intake side of the engine, an exhaust CVVD apparatus 50 that is disposed at an exhaust side of the engine, and an exhaust CVVT apparatus 55 disposed at the exhaust side of the engine, the control method comprising:
determining, by a controller 30, a driving condition region among a predetermined plurality of driving condition regions that are defined by a speed of the engine and a torque of the engine (par. 0062); and
controlling, by the controller 30, an opening timing and a closing timing of each of the intake valve and the exhaust valve based on the driving condition region (par. 0063-0064) of the engine by controlling of operations of the intake CVVD apparatus 40, the intake CVVT apparatus 45, the exhaust CVVD apparatus 50, and the exhaust CVVT apparatus 55,
wherein controlling the opening timing and the closing timing of each of the intake valve and the exhaust valve comprises:
based on the driving condition region corresponding to a predetermined low torque region (e.g., first control region; par. 0073, 0078-0081), outputting, by the controller 30, a control signal to provide (ii) an exhaust valve opening (EVO) timing to be before the BDC (e.g., see fig. 5B for EVO timing map).
RYU ‘393 fails to explicitly teach wherein the controller 30 outputs a control signal to provide (i) an intake valve closing (IVC) timing to be before a bottom dead center (BDC) of a stroke of the engine. In other words, RYU ‘393 teaches in fig. 4C that the IVC timing is after BDC.
However, the patent application to SATO ‘462 teaches a very similar control method for opening and closing the intake valve and exhaust valve of an engine wherein, based on a predetermined low torque region (see fig. 14-16), a controller (ECU 23; fig. 1) outputs a control signal to provide (i) an intake valve closing (IVC) timing to be before a bottom dead center (BDC) of a stroke of the engine (e.g., intake valve closing (IVC) timing curve is the second curve in the cited figures on the right-hand side between TDC – BDC; SATO ‘462 states: “The target valve closing timing map of FIG. 14 shows that the target valve closing timing of the intake valve becomes ABDC as the engine speed NE and the load F decrease….In the low rotation partial load region, as the load F decreases, the target valve closing timing of the intake valve is set to advance from BDC to, for example, BBDC 90 ° C … FIG. 15 shows an example of control in the case where the engine operating state is in a low-speed, low-load range (however, a load range higher than at the time of idling). FIG. An example of control in a load region (excluding the entire load region) is shown. As described above, when the engine operating state is in the low-speed, partial-load region, FIG. (A), As shown in FIG. 16 (a), the intake valve is closed earlier than the bottom dead center. In this way, if you close the intake valve earlier than the bottom dead center, the pumping loss can be reduced by reducing the effective compression ratio, and fuel efficiency can be improved. Note that FIG. 15-16, as shown in the control example, even if the intake valve is closed early and the effective compression ratio is reduced during the exhaust valve early closing control, the combustion state can be stabilized by the in-cylinder temperature rise by the exhaust valve early closing control. Thus, deterioration of the combustion state can be suppressed.”).
In view of this teaching, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the control method of RYU ‘393, such that, wherein, based on a predetermined low torque region, a controller outputs a control signal to provide (i) an intake valve closing (IVC) timing to be before a bottom dead center (BDC) of a stroke of the engine, as clearly suggested and taught by SATO ‘462, in order to reduce the pumping loss by reducing the effective compression ratio, and improve fuel efficiency.
Re claim 2, modified RYU ‘393 further teaches controlling an intake valve duration (e.g., see the entire right curve for INTAKE valve between TDC – BDC, as shown in figures 15-16 of SATO ‘462) for opening the intake valve to be within 180 degrees crank angle CA (i.e., the angle between TDC-BDC is 180 degrees as conventionally known to a person skilled in the art) in an entirety of the driving condition region (e.g., low-speed, low-load range).
Re claim 3, modified RYU ‘393 teaches the invention as essentially claimed except for wherein controlling the opening timing and the closing timing of each of the intake valve and the exhaust valve comprises: based on the driving condition region corresponding to the predetermined low speed-low torque region, outputting, by the controller, a control signal to control (i) the IVC timing to be 150 to 163 degrees CA from a top dead center (TDC) of the stroke of the engine and (ii) an exhaust valve duration for opening the exhaust valve to be less than 165 degrees CA. Specifically, RYU ‘393 teaches in figure 5A that the exhaust valve duration (EVD map) is more than 165 degrees CA. SATO ‘462 teaches in figures 15-16 that the IVC timing is 90 degrees CA from the TDC (i.e., before BDC (or BBDC) 90 degrees CA). However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention provide both the exhaust valve duration and IVC timing as claimed, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Re claim 4, modified RYU ‘393 teaches wherein controlling the opening timing and the closing timing of each of the intake valve and the exhaust valve comprises: outputting, by the controller 30, a control signal to control (ii) the exhaust valve and the intake valve to have a negative overlap (see par. 0022, 0063, 0078-0080 & 0083). SATO ‘462 teaches that the controller (ECU 23; fig. 1) outputs a control signal to control (i) the intake valve duration to be 180 degrees CA (see fig. 14-16). However, SATO ‘462 does not specifically teach the controller outputting a control signal to control (i) the intake valve duration to be 161 degrees to 175 degrees CA. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention provide the intake valve duration as claimed, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
With regards to claim(s) 5-20, the claim(s) is/are commensurate in scope with claim(s) 4-5, and is/are rejected for the same reasons as set forth above. Note, as for the driving condition regions in claims 5, 7, 9, 11, 13, 15 & 18-20, RYU ‘393 specifically teaches the control first – sixth regions in par. 0012 and figures 4A-5C. Again, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention provide the crank angle ranges as claimed, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,180,902. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both disclose a control method for opening and closing an intake valve and an exhaust valve of an engine.
Regarding claim 1:
Patent ‘902 discloses a control method for opening and closing an intake valve and an exhaust valve of an engine, the engine including an intake continuous variable valve duration (CVVD) apparatus that is disposed at an intake side of the engine, an intake continuous variable valve timing (CVVT) apparatus disposed at the intake side of the engine, an exhaust CVVD apparatus that is disposed at an exhaust side of the engine, and an exhaust CVVT apparatus disposed at the exhaust side of the engine (claim 1), the control method comprising:
determining , by a controller, a driving condition region among a predetermined plurality of driving condition regions that are defined by a speed of the engine and a torque of the engine (claim 1); and
controlling, by the controller, an opening timing and a closing timing of each of the intake valve and the exhaust valve based on the driving condition region of the engine by controlling of operations of the intake CVVD apparatus, the intake CVVT apparatus, the exhaust CVVD apparatus, and the exhaust CVVT apparatus (claim 1),
wherein controlling the opening timing and the closing timing of each of the intake valve and the exhaust valve comprises (claim 1):
based on the driving condition region corresponding to a predetermined low torque region (claim 1-2), outputting, by the controller, a control signal to provide (i) an intake valve closing (IVC) timing to be before a bottom dead center (BDC) of a stroke of the engine and (ii) an exhaust valve opening (EVO) timing to be before the BDC (claims 1-3).
Re claim 2:
Patent ‘902 discloses the control method of claim 1, further comprising: controlling an intake valve duration for opening the intake valve to be within 180 degrees crank angle (CA) in an entirety of the driving condition region (claim 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The various cited prior arts teach very similar control methods for opening and closing the intake and exhaust valves wherein the IVC is before BDC and EVO is also before BDC.
HUNG Q. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3747
/HUNG Q NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747