DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4, 7, 10, 13 objected to because of the following informalities:
Re claims 1, 7, 13, as drafted the claims currently do not provide a clear introduction/relationship for the “auxiliary DC power” in relationship to the one or more auxiliary DC power sources. It is recommended that the relationship be made clear by introducing: “…prioritize supplying auxiliary DC power from the one or more auxiliary DC power sources…” and then consistently referring to “auxiliary DC power” from then on when referring to power being output by the one or more auxiliary DC power sources to avoid confusion.
Re claims 4, 10, assuming the claims intend to refer to the same direct-current (DC) load introduced in independent claims 1, 7, it is recommended that claims 1, 7 be amended to clearly introduce “a direct-current (DC) load” and then claims 4, 10 be amended to consistently refer to “[[a]]the DC load” to avoid potential antecedent basis issues.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-10, 13, 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US2019/0052120) in view of DiFilippi (US2023/0155412).
Re claim 1. Huang teaches an air conditioning system (see Huang: Figs. 1-2, 3-15) comprising:
a first unit (air conditioning unit <10>) including a compressor (see Huang: [0041], [0046], Figs. 1-2 regarding air conditioning unit having “air conditioning compressor” as labeled in Fig. 2);
a controller (energy scheduling and management device <15>, see Huang: [0042], [0058], Figs. 1-2); and
one or more auxiliary DC power sources (photovoltaic power generation device <11>, see Huang: [0041], [0043], [0046], [0049], Figs. 1-2);
wherein the controller is configured to prioritize supplying power from the one or more auxiliary DC power sources to the first unit to support operation of the first unit (see Huang: [0057], Figs. 2-3, 9-10 regarding air conditioning unit <10> having highest priority for being supplied power, including from the PV device <11>) and determine whether auxiliary DC power remains available after supplying power to the first unit sufficient to support the operation of the first unit (see Huang: [0057-0059], [0065-0066], Figs. 2-3, 9-10 regarding determining whether PV power is more than that required by air conditioning unit <10>); and
responsive to determining that auxiliary DC power remains available, selectively supply the remaining auxiliary DC power to one or more of an energy storage device (energy storage device <12>), or an alternating-current (AC) power grid (pubic power grid <13>, see Huang: [0057-0059], [0065-0066], Figs. 2-3, 9-10 regarding determining whether PV power is more than that required by air conditioning unit <10> and then selectively supplying the surplus power to energy storage device <12> or to grid <13>). See Huang: [0041-0053], [0056-0073], Figs. 1-15.
Huang does not explicitly discuss selectively supplying the remaining auxiliary DC power also to a direct-current load (though components such as converters could be said to be DC loads under broadest reasonable interpretation). DiFilippi, however, teaches it is known in the art of renewable power source with regular load, energy storage, and power-grid tied systems having capability of supplying regular load and storing excess power in energy storage or exporting to grid for the system, to include operations for the system to further include a DC load that may be controlled to absorb excess power (see DiFilippi: [0057], [0059], [0061], [0071], Figs. 14, 16, 22-23 regarding mechanical load connected by DC/DC converter able to absorb excess power, and when fuel cell/renewable source producing more power than required by main load and grid is unavailable to export power, providing excess power to mechanical load/load bank as next priority after grid export). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Huang to incorporate the teachings of DiFilippi by including a DC load as component for selectively absorbing excess power as recited for purposes of providing known means to predictably enable the system to effectively use excess power in another component such as when power grid export is not an option and according to the user’s desired energy flow priorities (see DiFilippi: [0057], [0059], [0061], [0071], Figs. 14, 16, 22-23).
Re claim 2. Huang in view of DiFilippi teaches the air conditioning system of claim 1, wherein when the one or more auxiliary DC power sources is producing excess power beyond the load of the first unit, the controller determines if the energy storage device has a charge above a threshold; wherein when the energy storage device does not have the charge above the threshold, the controller supplies the excess power to the energy storage device (see Huang: [0042], [0050], [0058-0059], [0060-0061], [0065-0066], Figs. 2, 4-5, 9-10, regarding when photovoltaic power is producing more power than required by air conditioner, charging energy storage device if determined that energy storage device has insufficient power). Huang discloses the control is based on determination that the energy storage device has “sufficient” or “insufficient” power, which implies some form of charge threshold. Additionally, Official Notice was previously taken and hereby made of record that it is very well known in the art of energy storage device/battery systems that determination of battery being charged and able to still be charged may be electronically determined by a charge threshold. Additionally, DiFilippi similarly discloses example of determining if battery is capable of charging based on state of charge of batteries as measure of how much capacity can be absorbed (see DiFilippi: [0057]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify or implement the system of Huang in view of DiFilippi such that the control determination is specifically made using a charge threshold as implied by Huang and well-known in the art, and also as further suggested by DiFilippi, for purposes of providing known means for predictably allowing the system to make electronic determination of whether the energy storage device is in a state where it can be further charged or if it is fully charged and should not be further charged.
Re claim 3. Huang in view of DiFilippi teaches the air conditioning system of claim 2, further comprising a connection to the AC power grid (connecting lines to public power grid <13>, see Huang: [0046], [0052-0053], Fig. 2); wherein when the one or more auxiliary DC power sources is producing excess power beyond the load of the first unit and the energy storage device has the charge above the threshold; wherein when export of the excess energy to the AC power grid is permitted, the controller supplies the excess power to the AC power grid (see Huang: [0042], [0050], [0058-0059], [0060-0061], [0065-0066], Figs. 2, 4-5, 9-10, regarding when photovoltaic power is producing more power than required by air conditioner, exporting power to public power grid if determined that energy storage device has sufficient power/above threshold; see discussion of claim 2 regarding obviousness of charge threshold for insufficient/sufficient power).
Although Huang discloses ability to export to the AC power grid, Huang does not explicitly discuss the controller determines if export of the excess energy to the AC power grid is permitted. DiFilippi, however, further teaches that it is known in the art of renewable power source with energy storage and power-grid tied systems having capability of storing excess power in energy storage or exporting to grid for the system to include operations to determine if export of the excess energy to the AC power grid is permitted before exporting to the grid (see DiFilippi: [0057], [0061], [0071], Figs. 13, 16, 22-23 regarding when fuel cell/renewable source producing more power than required by main load, including determination to check whether grid is available to export excess power to or deciding if should instead go to another component such as a mechanical load/load bank). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the system of Huang in view of DiFilippi to further incorporate the teachings of DiFilippi by having the controller including step of checking if grid export is permitted for purposes of enabling the system to operate with grid system that may not always be available or permit grid export and ensure the excess power is only diverted to an available component (see DiFilippi: [0044], [0061], [0071], Figs. 16, 23).
Re claim 4. Huang in view of DiFilippi teaches the air conditioning system of claim 3. DiFilippi further teaches it is known in the art of renewable power source with energy storage and power-grid tied systems having capability of storing excess power in energy storage or exporting to grid for the system to include operations for the system to further include a DC load that may be controlled to absorb excess power (see DiFilippi: [0059], Fig. 14 regarding mechanical load connected by DC/DC converter able to absorb excess power) and wherein when the controller determines export of the excess energy to the AC power grid is not permitted, the controller supplies the excess power to the DC load (see DiFilippi: [0057], [0061], [0071], Figs. 14, 16, 22-23 regarding when fuel cell/renewable source producing more power than required by main load and grid is unavailable to export power, providing excess power to mechanical load/load bank as next priority after grid export). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the system of Huang in view of DiFillipi to incorporate the teachings of DiFilippi by including DC load as component for absorbing excess power if grid export unavailable as recited for purposes of providing known means to predictably enable the system to effectively use excess power in another component when power grid export is not an option and according to the user’s desired energy flow priorities (see DiFilippi: [0057], [0059], [0061], [0071], Figs. 14, 16, 22-23). Note the combination reasonably suggests priority of diverting excess power to battery and then grid as taught by Huang and suggested by DiFilippi, with the DC load then being the next priority after the grid as suggested by DiFilippi.
Re claim 7, the claim recites a method of operating an air condition system comprising essentially the same components operated in the same manner as recited in claim 1, and therefore is rejected by the same reasoning applied above.
Re claims 8-10, the further recited limitations essentially correspond to the limitations recited in claims 2-4, respectively, and are therefore rejected by the same reasoning applied above.
Re claim 13, the claim recites non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program thereon, the computer program including instructions for causing a processor to implement a process of operating an air conditioning system having essentially the same components operated in the same manner as recited in claim 1. As discussed with respect to claim 1 above, Huang discloses the air conditioning system components and operations, but does not explicitly disclose the controller being implemented as a processor executing computer program instructions stored on non-transitory computer-readable storage medium. Official Notice was previously taken and hereby made of record that it is very well-known in the art of electronic control systems for a controller as disclosed by Huang to be specifically implemented using known controller hardware/software such as a processor executing computer program instructions stored on non-transitory computer-readable storage medium. Additionally, DiFilippi further discloses example of power management control operations being implemented by controller implementing program logic stored in memory (see DiFilippi: [0050]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Huang in view of DiFilippi by implementing/substituting the controller of Huang with known electronic means such as a processor executing computer program instructions stored on non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for purposes of providing known, equivalent electronic control means for monitoring and controlling electronic components of the system in the manner disclosed.
Re claim 16. Huang in view of DiFilippi teaches the air conditioning system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured such that supplying the remaining auxiliary DC power does not reduce the power supplied to support operation of the first unit (see Huang: [0057-0059], [0065-0066], Figs. 2-3, 9-10 regarding determining whether PV power is more than that required by air conditioning unit <10> and then selectively supplying the surplus power to energy storage device <12> or to grid <13>, i.e. power to the air conditioning unit is not reduced to less than what is required by the air conditioning unit, and only surplus power is provided to the other components).
Claim(s) 5-6, 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US2019/0052120) in view of DiFilippi (US2023/0155412), as applied respectively above, further in view of Daniels (US2013/0043724).
Re claims 5-6. Huang in view of DiFilippi teaches the air conditioning system of claim 4, and although generally suggests the DC load may be some kind of mechanical load (see DiFilippi: [0059]), does not explicitly give example of DC load being one of the recited air conditioning components. Daniels, however, teaches that it is known in the art of renewable energy powered air conditioning systems for the loads of the system to comprise a DC load in addition to the compressor which comprises a component of the air conditioning system; wherein the DC load includes at least one of a strip heater for a fan coil, a heater for a hot water tank, a geothermal pump and an indoor fan (see Daniels: [0038-0039], Figs. 1, 6 regarding DC powered HVAC system including a building circulation fan, i.e. indoor fan, generally able to be operated to consume excess power if desired). One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that Daniels suggests a known HVAC system DC load that is capable of being operated to consume excess solar power. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Huang in view of DiFilippi to further incorporate the teachings of Daniels by having the DC load operated to consume excess power specifically be a building circulation fan of the air conditioning system for purposes of providing a known DC load capable of equivalently and predictably being operated as a controllable load for absorbing excess generated power (see Daniels: [0038-0039]; DiFilippi: [0057], [0059], [0061], [0071], Figs. 14, 16, 22-23). Note the combination reasonably suggests priority of diverting excess power to battery and then grid as taught by Huang and suggested by DiFilippi, with the DC load/fan then being the next priority after the grid as suggested by DiFilippi.
Re claims 11-12, the further recited limitations essentially correspond to the limitations recited in claims 5-6, respectively, and are therefore rejected by the same reasoning applied above.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US2019/0052120) in view of DiFilippi (US2023/0155412), further in view of Gopal (US2008/0046387).
Re claim 14. Huang teaches an air conditioning system (see Huang: Figs. 1-2, 3-15) comprising:
a first unit (air conditioning unit <10>) including a compressor (see Huang: [0041], [0046], Figs. 1-2 regarding air conditioning unit having “air conditioning compressor” as labeled in Fig. 2);
a controller (energy scheduling and management device <15>, see Huang: [0042], [0058], Figs. 1-2);
one or more auxiliary DC power sources (photovoltaic power generation device <11>, see Huang: [0041], [0043], [0046], [0049], Figs. 1-2);
a connection to an AC power grid (connecting lines to public power grid <13>, see Huang: [0046], [0052-0053], Fig. 2);
an energy storage device (energy storage device <12>, see Huang: [0050], [0052], Figs. 1-2);
a DC load (DC/AC converter <102>, see Huang: [0048-0049], Fig. 2 regarding converter <102> drawing DC power from DC bus to supply air conditioner, i.e. functioning as DC load; note the claim does not require any further details of structure/connection of the DC load);
wherein the controller is configured to dynamically distribute power from the one or more auxiliary DC power sources to one or more of the AC power grid, the energy storage device and the DC load in response to state of charge of the energy storage device and current weather (see Huang: [0042], [0050-0051], [0057-0059], [0065-0068], [0079], Figs. 2-3, 9-10, 12-13 regarding dynamic control of power from the PV generation to the grid or energy storage based on power generation amount from the PV device as affected by current weather/light condition and whether the energy storage has sufficient or insufficient power, i.e. state of charge of the energy storage device). See Huang: [0041-0053], [0056-0073], Figs. 1-15.
Huang does not explicitly discuss dynamically distributing power from the one or more auxiliary DC power sources also to a direct-current load (though components such as converters could be said to be DC loads under broadest reasonable interpretation). DiFilippi, however, teaches it is known in the art of renewable power source with regular load, energy storage, and power-grid tied systems having capability of supplying regular load and storing excess power in energy storage or exporting to grid for the system, to include operations for the system to further include a DC load that may be controlled to absorb excess power (see DiFilippi: [0057], [0059], [0061], [0071], Figs. 14, 16, 22-23 regarding mechanical load connected by DC/DC converter able to absorb excess power, and when fuel cell/renewable source producing more power than required by main load and grid is unavailable to export power, providing excess power to mechanical load/load bank as next priority after grid export). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Huang to incorporate the teachings of DiFilippi by including a DC load as component for selectively absorbing excess power as recited for purposes of providing known means to predictably enable the system to effectively use excess power in another component such as when power grid export is not an option and according to the user’s desired energy flow priorities (see DiFilippi: [0057], [0059], [0061], [0071], Figs. 14, 16, 22-23).
Huang in view of DiFilippi does not explicitly disclose the dynamic distribution of power being also in response to predicted weather and cost of power from the AC power grid (note that the claim does not specify particular manner that control is in response to these conditions, and that normal AC power grid supply is understood to have an associated cost). Gopal, however, teaches that it is known in the art of energy management systems managing power flow between renewable energy source such as solar panel, building loads/air conditioning system, energy storage, and power grid connection, for the dynamic distribution of power from the solar panel to be in response to factors including predicted weather and cost of power from the AC power grid (see Gopal: [0038], [0048-0051], Figs. 1-2, 5-6 regarding control of power from solar panels to loads, batteries, and grid depending on current price of grid power and also based on predicted weather). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Huang in view of DiFilippi to further incorporate the teachings of Gopal by having the dynamic power distribution further be based on further factors such as predicted weather and cost of grid power for purposes of providing known monitoring and prioritization schemes for managing power supply to a building that may help maximize or balance financial gain, comfort, or goodwill by appropriate use, storage, and sale/purchase of power according to user’s desired priorities (see Gopal: [0048-0051], Figs. 5-6).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 14 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive in light of new grounds of rejections applied in response to the claim amendments.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments that Huang does not disclose prioritizing supply of auxiliary DC power to the first unit and supplying remaining power to other components, Applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive because they do not consider the relevant portions of Huang which explicitly disclose essentially the exact operation presently claimed. Applicant may see the prior art rejection, which has been adjusted to refer to the relevant portions of Huang which disclose the operations associated with the adjusted claim phrasing, including explicit prioritization of supplying the air conditioning unit with the solar power, and how when surplus solar power is generated it is supplied to the grid or energy storage (i.e., Huang: [0057-0059], [0065-0066], Figs. 2-3, 9-10). It is noted that the specific paragraphs and Figures were not previously mapped due to the wording of Applicant’s claim language, but they were cited overall and with reference to other similar operations in other claims. Applicant’s arguments against Huang are therefore unpersuasive since they do not address the full disclosure of Huang as they are relevant to the claimed limitations. It is generally noted that DiFilippi is applied to more explicitly teach selective power supply to an additional DC load, similar to reasoning applied to previous dependent claims related to the DC load.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments against claim 14, which is amended to now recite the dynamic power distribution is in response to all of the recited conditions combined, see the prior art rejection above regarding it being known and obvious for energy management systems to control renewable power supply with energy storage and grid based on state of charge of energy storage, current weather/conditions affecting renewable generation, predicted weather affecting predicted future generation, and cost of power from grid affecting financial considerations.
No further arguments appear to presently be made regarding the teachings of the further references and the dependent claim limitations.
Applicant is advised that the cited prior art of record continues to strongly suggest that power management systems balancing power supply from renewable energy to supply loads such as an air conditioning system, with prioritization and control of distribution between loads, energy storage, and the grid, are fairly well-known in the art. At present, it is not apparent what features of the disclosure would be considered distinguished and nonobvious from the prior art. If Applicant believes that particular arrangement with specific types of DC loads, specific priority order based on grid and energy storage conditions, and/or circuit arrangement would be nonobvious, then it is recommended the claims be amended to explicitly and clearly recite the corresponding features with explanation of nonobviousness.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID A SHIAO/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836