DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,125,163. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent recites the optimized version of the scene is obtained via merging duplicate materials, textures, or 3D models to render the scene to other users of the virtual environment and to reduce calls to the one or more computing devices when rendering the scene; where the currently filed application recites merging calls to draw duplicate materials, textures, or 3D models to render the scene to other users of the virtual environment. One having ordinary skill in the art would have easily ascertained that merging calls to draw would result in reduced calls to the one or more computing devices, in that, for example, a merged call of two, would no longer be two separate calls, but may result in one.
18/883,298
1. A computer-implemented method comprising: launching, by one or more computing devices and via a web browser, an editor from within the web browser, wherein the editor renders a de-optimized version of a scene of a virtual environment and is used to modify properties of a three-dimensional (3D) model in the scene in real-time during an active user session of a user of the virtual environment; receiving, by the one or more computing devices and via the editor, a user selection of the 3D model during the active user session; receiving, by the one or more computing devices, one or more user inputs indicating the properties of the 3D model to be modified; based on the one or more user inputs, compiling, by the one or more computing devices, the properties of the 3D model in real-time during the active user session to modify the properties of the 3D model during the active user session; rendering, by the one or more computing devices, the 3D model to reflect the properties within the virtual environment during the active user session; rendering, by the one or more computing devices, an optimized version of the scene to reflect the modified properties of the 3D model, wherein the optimized version of the scene is obtained by merging calls to draw duplicate materials, textures, or 3D models; and transmitting, by the one or more computing devices, the optimized version of the scene to the other users of the virtual environment during the active user session.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein modifying the properties comprises setting an action to occur based on a trigger event occurring for the 3D model.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein the trigger event comprises: a mouse click, a proximity of a user avatar to the 3D model, a mouse hovering over the 3D model, a detected user action, a movement of the user avatar, a time, or an event originating from outside the virtual environment.
4. The method of claim 2, further comprising: performing, by the 3D model, the action when the trigger event occurs; and synchronizing, by the one or more computing devices, the virtual environment for one or more other users of the virtual environment to indicate the action to the one or more other users, wherein the synchronization comprises: storing a timestamp indicating when the trigger event occurred, and replaying events that occurred in the virtual environment for the 3D model for the one or more other users starting from the timestamp to a present time to indicate a current state of the 3D model.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the editor further allows modification of the virtual environment in real-time by allowing the user to add further 3D models to the virtual environment.
6. The method of claim 5, wherein the further 3D models are added using drag and drop techniques.
7. The method of claim 5, further comprising: receiving, by the one or more computing device, one or more further user inputs indicating properties of the further 3D models to be modified; based on the one or more further user inputs, modifying, by the one or more computing devices, the properties of the further 3D models in real-time; and rendering, by the one or more computing devices, the further 3D models to reflect the properties of the further 3D models within the virtual environment during the active user session.
12,125163
1. A computer-implemented method comprising: launching, by one or more computing devices and via a web browser, an editor from within the web browser, wherein the editor renders a de-optimized version of a scene of a virtual environment and is used to modify properties of a three-dimensional (3D) model in the scene in real-time during an active user session of a user of the virtual environment; receiving, by the one or more computing devices and via the editor, a user selection of the 3D model during the active user session; receiving, by the one or more computing devices, one or more user inputs indicating the properties of the 3D model to be modified; based on the one or more user inputs, compiling, by the one or more computing devices, the properties of the 3D model in real-time during the active user session to modify the properties of the 3D model during the active user session; rendering, by the one or more computing devices, the 3D model to reflect the properties within the virtual environment during the active user session; rendering, by the one or more computing devices, an optimized version of the scene to reflect the modified properties of the 3D model, wherein the optimized version of the scene is obtained via merging duplicate materials, textures, or 3D models to render the scene to other users of the virtual environment and to reduce calls to the one or more computing devices when rendering the scene; and transmitting, by the one or more computing devices, the optimized version of the scene to the other users of the virtual environment during the active user session.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein modifying the properties comprises setting an action to occur based on a trigger event occurring for the 3D model.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein the trigger event comprises: a mouse click, a proximity of a user avatar to the 3D model, a mouse hovering over the 3D model, a detected user action, a movement of the user avatar, a time, or an event originating from outside the virtual environment.
4. The method of claim 2, further comprising: performing, by the 3D model, the action when the trigger event occurs; and synchronizing, by the one or more computing devices, the virtual environment for one or more other users of the virtual environment to indicate the action to the one or more other users, wherein the synchronization comprises: storing a timestamp indicating when the trigger event occurred, and replaying events that occurred in the virtual environment for the 3D model for the one or more other users starting from the timestamp to a present time to indicate a current state of the 3D model.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the editor further allows modification of the virtual environment in real-time by allowing the user to add further 3D models to the virtual environment.
6. The method of claim 5, wherein the further 3D models are added using drag and drop techniques.
7. The method of claim 5, further comprising: receiving, by the one or more computing device, one or more further user inputs indicating properties of the further 3D models to be modified; based on the one or more further user inputs, modifying, by the one or more computing devices, the properties of the further 3D models in real-time; and rendering, by the one or more computing devices, the further 3D models to reflect the properties of the further 3D models within the virtual environment during the active user session.
8. A non-transitory computer readable medium including instructions, that when executed by a computing system cause the computing system to perform operations comprising: launching, via a web browser, an editor from within the web browser, wherein the editor renders a de-optimized version of a scene of a virtual environment and is used to modify properties of a three-dimensional (3D) model in the scene in real-time during an active user session of a user of the virtual environment; receiving, via the editor, a user selection of the 3D model during the active user session; receiving one or more user inputs indicating the properties of the 3D model to be modified; based on the one or more user inputs, compiling the properties of the 3D model in real-time during the active user session to modify the properties of the 3D model during the active user session; rendering the 3D model to reflect the properties within the virtual environment during the active user session; rendering an optimized version of the scene to reflect the modified properties of the 3D model, wherein the optimized version of the scene is obtained by merging calls to draw duplicate materials, textures, or 3D models; and transmitting the optimized version of the scene to the other users of the virtual environment during the active user session.
9. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 8, wherein modifying the properties comprises setting an action to occur based on a trigger event occurring for the 3D model.
10. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 9, wherein the trigger event comprises: a mouse click, a proximity of a user avatar to the 3D model, a mouse hovering over the 3D model, a detected user action, a movement of the user avatar, a time, or an event originating from outside the virtual environment.
11. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 9, wherein the operations further comprise: performing, by the 3D model, the action when the trigger event occurs; and synchronizing the virtual environment for one or more other users of the virtual environment to indicate the action to the one or more other users, wherein the synchronization comprises: storing a timestamp indicating when the trigger event occurred, and replaying events that occurred in the virtual environment for the 3D model for the one or more other users starting from the timestamp to a present time to indicate a current state of the 3D model.
12. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 8, wherein the editor further allows modification of the virtual environment in real-time by allowing the user to add further 3D models to the virtual environment.
13. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 12, wherein the further 3D models are added using drag and drop techniques.
14. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 12, wherein the operations further comprise: receiving one or more further user inputs indicating properties of the further 3D models to be modified; based on the one or more further user inputs, modifying the properties of the further 3D models in real-time; and rendering the further 3D models to reflect the properties of the further 3D models within the virtual environment during the active user session.
8. A non-transitory computer readable medium including instructions, that when executed by a computing system cause the computing system to perform operations comprising: launching, via a web browser, an editor from within the web browser, wherein the editor renders a de-optimized version of a scene of a virtual environment and is used to modify properties of a three-dimensional (3D) model in the scene in real-time during an active user session of a user of the virtual environment; receiving, via the editor, a user selection of the 3D model during the active user session; receiving one or more user inputs indicating the properties of the 3D model to be modified; based on the one or more user inputs, compiling the properties of the 3D model in real-time during the active user session to modify the properties of the 3D model during the active user session; rendering the 3D model to reflect the properties within the virtual environment during the active user session; rendering an optimized version of the scene to reflect the modified properties of the 3D model, wherein the optimized version of the scene is obtained via merging duplicate materials, textures, or 3D models to render the scene to other users of the virtual environment and to reduce calls to the one or more computing devices when rendering the scene; and transmitting the optimized version of the scene to the other users of the virtual environment during the active user session.
9. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 8, wherein modifying the properties comprises setting an action to occur based on a trigger event occurring for the 3D model.
10. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 9, wherein the trigger event comprises: a mouse click, a proximity of a user avatar to the 3D model, a mouse hovering over the 3D model, a detected user action, a movement of the user avatar, a time, or an event originating from outside the virtual environment.
11. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 9, wherein the operations further comprise: performing, by the 3D model, the action when the trigger event occurs; and synchronizing the virtual environment for one or more other users of the virtual environment to indicate the action to the one or more other users, wherein the synchronization comprises: storing a timestamp indicating when the trigger event occurred, and replaying events that occurred in the virtual environment for the 3D model for the one or more other users starting from the timestamp to a present time to indicate a current state of the 3D model.
12. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 8, wherein the editor further allows modification of the virtual environment in real-time by allowing the user to add further 3D models to the virtual environment.
13. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 12, wherein the further 3D models are added using drag and drop techniques.
14. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 12, wherein the operations further comprise: receiving one or more further user inputs indicating properties of the further 3D models to be modified; based on the one or more further user inputs, modifying the properties of the further 3D models in real-time; and rendering the further 3D models to reflect the properties of the further 3D models within the virtual environment during the active user session.
15. A computing system comprising: a memory configured to store instructions; one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to process the stored instructions to perform operations comprising: launching, via a web browser, an editor from within the web browser, wherein the editor renders a de-optimized version of a scene of a virtual environment and is used to modify properties of a three-dimensional (3D) model in the scene in real-time during an active user session of a user of the virtual environment; receiving, via the editor, a user selection of the 3D model during the active user session; receiving one or more user inputs indicating the properties of the 3D model to be modified; based on the one or more user inputs, compiling the properties of the 3D model in real-time during the active user session to modify the properties of the 3D model during the active user session; rendering the 3D model to reflect the properties within the virtual environment during the active user session; rendering an optimized version of the scene to reflect the modified properties of the 3D model, wherein the optimized version of the scene is obtained by merging calls to draw duplicate materials, textures, or 3D models; and transmitting the optimized version of the scene to the other users of the virtual environment during the active user session.
16. The computing system of claim 15, wherein modifying the properties comprises setting an action to occur based on a trigger event occurring for the 3D model.
17. The computing system of claim 16, wherein the trigger event comprises: a mouse click, a proximity of a user avatar to the 3D model, a mouse hovering over the 3D model, a detected user action, a movement of the user avatar, a time, or an event originating from outside the virtual environment.
18. The computing system of claim 16, wherein the operations further comprise: performing, by the 3D model, the action when the trigger event occurs; and synchronizing the virtual environment for one or more other users of the virtual environment to indicate the action to the one or more other users, wherein the synchronization comprises: storing a timestamp indicating when the trigger event occurred, and replaying events that occurred in the virtual environment for the 3D model for the one or more other users starting from the timestamp to a present time to indicate a current state of the 3D model.
19. The computing system of claim 15, wherein the editor further allows modification of the virtual environment in real-time by allowing the user to add further 3D models to the virtual environment.
20. The computing system of claim 19, wherein: the further 3D models are added using drag and drop techniques; and the operations further comprise: receiving one or more further user inputs indicating properties of the further 3D models to be modified; based on the one or more further user inputs, modifying the properties of the further 3D models in real-time; and rendering the further 3D models to reflect the properties of the further 3D models within the virtual environment during the active user session.
15. A computing system comprising: a memory configured to store instructions; one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to process the stored instructions to perform operations comprising: launching, via a web browser, an editor from within the web browser, wherein the editor renders a de-optimized version of a scene of a virtual environment and is used to modify properties of a three-dimensional (3D) model in the scene in real-time during an active user session of a user of the virtual environment; receiving, via the editor, a user selection of the 3D model during the active user session; receiving one or more user inputs indicating the properties of the 3D model to be modified; based on the one or more user inputs, compiling devices the properties of the 3D model in real-time during the active user session to modify the properties of the 3D model during the active user session; rendering the 3D model to reflect the properties within the virtual environment during the active user session; rendering an optimized version of the scene to reflect the modified properties of the 3D model, wherein the optimized version of the scene is obtained via merging duplicate materials, textures, or 3D models to render the scene to other users of the virtual environment and to reduce calls to the one or more computing devices when rendering the scene; and transmitting the optimized version of the scene to the other users of the virtual environment during the active user session.
16. The computing system of claim 15, wherein modifying the properties comprises setting an action to occur based on a trigger event occurring for the 3D model.
17. The computing system of claim 16, wherein the trigger event comprises: a mouse click, a proximity of a user avatar to the 3D model, a mouse hovering over the 3D model, a detected user action, a movement of the user avatar, a time, or an event originating from outside the virtual environment.
18. The computing system of claim 16, wherein the operations further comprise: performing, by the 3D model, the action when the trigger event occurs; and synchronizing the virtual environment for one or more other users of the virtual environment to indicate the action to the one or more other users, wherein the synchronization comprises: storing a timestamp indicating when the trigger event occurred, and replaying events that occurred in the virtual environment for the 3D model for the one or more other users starting from the timestamp to a present time to indicate a current state of the 3D model.
19. The computing system of claim 15, wherein the editor further allows modification of the virtual environment in real-time by allowing the user to add further 3D models to the virtual environment.
20. The computing system of claim 19, wherein: the further 3D models are added using drag and drop techniques; and the operations further comprise: receiving one or more further user inputs indicating properties of the further 3D models to be modified; based on the one or more further user inputs, modifying the properties of the further 3D models in real-time; and rendering the further 3D models to reflect the properties of the further 3D models within the virtual environment during the active user session.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rady, U.S. Patent Number 9,583,140 B1 in view of Oksanen, Mika. "3d interior environment optimization for vr." (2022), pages 1-44.
Regarding claim 1, Rady discloses a computer-implemented method comprising: launching, by one or more computing devices and via a web browser, an editor from within the web browser, wherein the editor renders a de-optimized version of a scene of a virtual environment and is used to modify properties of a three-dimensional (3D) model in the scene in real-time during an active user session of a user of the virtual environment (col. 13, lines 35-42, video editor may more specifically be implemented, for example, by one or more processors; software-based instructions take the form of web pages and/or server based scripts that are executed by a web browser; FIG. 1; FIG.2, Editor 322; stage area 120; col. 26, lines 58-62, application logic includes an editor component configured to create and manipulate projects; editor utilizes the interface controls and other elements of DOM to present editing interfaces; col. 32, lines 14-18, video editing application may compress the media asset on upload to reduce the upload size and/or convert the media asset to an encoding format optimized for editing; rendering, such H.264 with optimal encoder settings); receiving, by the one or more computing devices and via the editor, a user selection of the 3D model during the active user session (col. 26, line 63, receive input defining and manipulating project data); receiving, by the one or more computing devices, one or more user inputs indicating the properties of the 3D model to be modified (col. 10, lines 47-58, graphics may be moved and/or rotated reality to each other through a variety of inputs, such as drag-and-drop operations, thereby changing the spatial layout of the assets within the space; col. 10, lines 62- col. 11, line 2, may further include controls for specifying various manipulations for the imported assets; for instance, a right-click on an asset marker or graphic may bring up a menu of various options for changing the presentation of its corresponding asset, such as options for resizing the asset); based on the one or more user inputs, compiling, by the one or more computing devices, the properties of the 3D model in real-time during the active user session to modify the properties of the 3D model during the active user session (col. 11, lines 44-47, project may be rendered to a file, a project may also or instead be rendered directly to a display; col. 12, line 45, “real-time rendering” or “real-time playback”); rendering, by the one or more computing devices, the 3D model to reflect the properties within the virtual environment during the active user session (col. 12, lines 46-49, rendering of project directly to a display in such a manner that the outputted video data is displayed at, or close to, its intended frame rate while the project is actually being rendered); rendering, by the one or more computing devices, an optimized version of the scene to reflect the modified properties of the 3D model, (col. 12, lines 27-32, generating of a new image frame may in some embodiments be optimized so as to recognize when the appearance(s) of certain asset(s) or portion of the scene do not change between image frames, and re-using previous renderings of those assets within the scene; col. 27, lines 18-20, renderer is optimized to utilize the other components of client, such as the graphics API and multimedia framework); and transmitting, by the one or more computing devices, the optimized version of the scene to the other users of the virtual environment during the active user session (col. 13, lines 32-34, although three clients are depicted, there may in face be any number of clients in system; col. 3, lines 49-55, allowing the edits to be changed or undone with affecting the original video/media; video editing application may further support live editing of the project data during playback of the rendered video data, such that edits are immediately viewable in the rendered video data within having to restart playback).
However, it is noted that Rady discloses graphics API but fails to specifically disclose wherein the optimized version of the scene is obtained by merging calls to draw duplicate materials, textures, or 3D models.
Oksanen discloses a de-optimized version of a scene of a virtual environment (page 36, compare an unoptimized scene with an optimized scene), and wherein the optimized version of the scene is obtained by merging calls to draw duplicate materials, textures, or 3D models page (page 36, section 6.1, adding one of the optimizing methods to the scene); and transmitting, by the one or more computing devices, the optimized version of the scene to the other users of the virtual environment during the active user session (page 38, section 6.5, fully optimized scene).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the editing of the virtual environment as disclosed by Rady, comparing and optimizing the scene material or texture as disclosed by Oksanen, in that Oksanen discloses optimizing has a massive role in improving performance and reduces draw calls.
Regarding claim 2, Rady discloses wherein modifying the properties comprises setting an action to occur based on a trigger event occurring for the 3D model (col. 24, lines 25-38, document object model defines a programmatic interface; programmatic interface defines a number of function; function by browser engine may result in changing attributes of elements, adding to deleting elements, requesting new data, sending instructions; may reference and trigger functions using the programmatic interface).
Regarding claim 3, Rady discloses wherein the trigger event comprises: a mouse click, a proximity of a user avatar to the 3D model, a mouse hovering over the 3D model, a detected user action, a movement of the user avatar, a time, or an event originating from outside the virtual environment (col. 24, lines 41-54, elements defined by the document object model are interactive control element; interactive control elements may be buttons, hyperlinks, text boxes; user may place a cursor, stylus, finger, or other pointing device over the screen position of an interactive control element to submit input that will be processed by event engine; also FIG. 1, discloses a timeline).
Regarding claim 4, Rady discloses further comprising: performing, by the 3D model, the action when the trigger event occurs; and synchronizing, by the one or more computing devices, the virtual environment for one or more other users of the virtual environment to indicate the action to the one or more other users, wherein the synchronization comprises: storing a timestamp indicating when the trigger event occurred, and replaying events that occurred in the virtual environment for the 3D model for the one or more other users starting from the timestamp to a present time to indicate a current state of the 3D model (col. 8, lines 47-51, video editor may further include interface controls for associating these imported assets with different timespans, such as drag and drop controls; col. 32, line 67 – col. 33, line 2, icon representing the asset may be dragged to a specific timespan in a timeline; FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Rady discloses wherein the editor further allows modification of the virtual environment in real-time by allowing the user to add further 3D models to the virtual environment (col. 11, lines 15-19, a model import or creation button for opening or directly creating new models or other scene elements to add to the stage area; col. 3, lines 27-28, graphical asset may be an animated, three-dimensional model; col. 32, line 67 – col. 33, line 4, icon representing the asset may be dragged to a specific timespan in a timeline).
Regarding claim 6, Rady discloses wherein the further 3D models are added using drag and drop techniques. (col. 9, lines 23-25, interface control may also allow a user to drag and drop assets; col. 9, lines 30-31, for instance, one graphic asset may model a three-dimensional book; col. 10, lines 47-58, graphics may be moved and/or rotated reality to each other through a variety of inputs, such as drag-and-drop operations, thereby changing the spatial layout of the assets within the space).
Regarding claim 7, Rady discloses further comprising: receiving, by the one or more computing device, one or more further user inputs indicating properties of the further 3D models to be modified; based on the one or more further user inputs, modifying, by the one or more computing devices, the properties of the further 3D models in real-time; and rendering, by the one or more computing devices, the further 3D models to reflect the properties of the further 3D models within the virtual environment during the active user session (col. 3, lines 39-42, graphical user interfaces for modifying and animating properties of assets within a three-dimensional space to define and animate the spatial relationship; col. 3, lines 49-55, allowing the edits to be changed or undone with affecting the original video/media; video editing application may further support live editing of the project data during playback of the rendered video data, such that edits are immediately viewable in the rendered video data within having to restart playback ).
Regarding claims 8-14, they are rejected based upon similar rational as above. Rady further discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium including instructions, that when executed by a computing system cause the computing system to perform operations (col. 13, lines 15-22).
Regarding claim 15-20, they are rejected based upon similar rational as above. Rady further discloses a computing system comprising: a memory configured to store instructions; one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to process the stored instructions to perform operations (col. 13, lines 15-22).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Duke et al., U.S. Patent Publication Number 2020/0363930 A1
Duke discloses paragraph 0030, generates a 3D environment based on an environment data file; paragraph 0034-0035, selection of a content item to add to a 3D environment is received; content items include, but are not limited to 3D objects (e.g., 3D models, figures, shapes, etc.); paragraph 0036, editing a property associated with the content item; paragraph 0054, user interface further comprises object properties pane, which enables an author to modify various properties of a selected content item.
Beall et al., U.S. Patent Number 10,403,050 B1
Beall discloses col. 31, lines 10-24, desktop authoring tool enables two or more authors to create and/or edit Virtual Reality slides of the same presentation at the same time including but not limited to editing certain elements on different or even the same slide. In an example embodiment, a first user shares a file comprising a VR presentation. Optionally, a VR presentation is stored in a file sharing system (including, for example, a conventional cloud computing environment) which enables public and/or private author/collaborators access to the VR presentation at the same time. Optionally, to access a collaborative editing session co-editors provide certain identification credentials and the file sharing system authenticates co-editor access. In an example embodiment, the Collaborative Editing feature provides a signal to other co-editors when a portion of the slide is being edited. For example, if an image in a slide or embedded control is being modified, the image/control may be highlighted, flashing, or some other means provided to distinguish the slide element from other elements not being edited/modified. Optionally, any slide edits and/or changes will appear substantially, immediately to all co-editors/collaborators. See also figure 36.
Psistakis et al., U.S. Patent Publication Number 2012/0229449 A1
Psistakis discloses paragraph 0164, editor of the authoring system is launched; paragraph 0181, live update in real time between two users; dynamic exchange between applications running in the same environment; paragraph 0184, create a conversion filter that translates 3D data from Content Creation Program to the VFS Kernel.
MOTILEWA . GOOD JOHNSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2616
/MOTILEWA GOOD-JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2619