DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary amendment filed on 12/27/24 is acknowledged. Claims 1-18 are canceled and claims 19-36 are added and being examined.
Double Patenting
Claim 19-36 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No 10579121 and 112124310
1) Regarding U.S. Patent No 10579121, although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1-7 of 10579121, as discussed below:
Claim 19 includes the features of GPU and its associated hardware for detecting use logging into an application using GPU, identify a user profile based on the user information to set and apply a power profile for the GPU. All the features of claim 19 can be found on claim 1 of patent 10579121.
Claim 20 includes updating the user profile . This feature is found in claim 4 of 10579121.
Claim 22 includes enable or disable capabilities of the GPU during execution, claim 6 of by the claims in 10579121, teaches based on the power consumption of the user profile, limit a frequency push of one or more GPU core (i.e. inhibit or disable the capability of the GPU). Similarly, claim 7 teaches based on the power consumption of the user profile driving (enable) the GPU to higher performance.
Claims 23 includes workload level and user preference, this feature is found in claim 2 of 10579121. This feature is found in claim 2 of 10579121.
Claim 24 includes user’s profile categories. This feature is found in claim 5 of 10579121.
Claims 25-30 and 31-36 recite a GPU and a method having similar feature as recited in claim 19 and therefore rejected accordingly.
2) Similarly, claim 1-7 of U.S. Patent No 112124310 teaches all the limitations of claims 19-36 of the instant application, i.e. GPU and associated hardware and collecting user information to run the workload for each user based on a power consumption data and power profile more performance metrics to adjust at least one of an operating voltage or an operating frequency of the GPU – though not specify using a power profile, one skilled in the art would realize that in order to compare the operating voltages
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “instruction unit” in claims 19 and 25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-36 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maity US 20150100801 in view of Bakalash US 20110169840
Referring to claim 19, Maity teaches an apparatus comprising:
one or more processors (par. 31) and a memory for storage of data [par. 29-35] ; wherein the one or more processors are to:
detect a user logging into an application [Fig. 1, 100] utilizing the processor [Fig. 1 and 4, step 404, par. 33, 95 and 125, user logs in with user ID];
identify and recall a user profile for the user stored in the memory, the user profile being based on user information for the user [Fig. 4, 402-404,par. 97-100 125-126];
utilize the user profile for operation of the processor to set a power profile for the processor [Fig. 4, step 406, par. 127]; and
apply the power profile for the graphics processor during execution for the user [Fig. 4, step 408-410, Fig. 3B, power/usage profile par. 9-12, 128-129]
However, Maity does not explicitly the one or more processors include a graphics processor having multiple cores, the graphics processor including an instruction cache to receive a stream of instructions, an instruction unit to dispatch instructions in the stream of instructions for execution. However, Maity discloses the operation includes components associated with graphic processing [par. 7, 102, display controller camera, game controller etc.] which involve a GPU.
In addition, Bakalash teaches a computer employing multiple GPU for processing graphic operations and display [abstract[ wherein the GPU having an instruction cache [par. 8, cache, buffers] to receive a stream of instructions, an instruction unit to dispatch instructions in the stream of instructions for execution [par. 16 stream of graphics command]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to implement the CPU/GPU hybrid architecture as taught by Bakalash to the system of Maity as an essential means to provide, today's computing arrangements to support a graphics pipeline that drives an external display device to meet today’s demand of high-performance graphic systems [Bakalash, par. 5-10].
Referring to claim 20, Maity and Bakalash teach apparatus of claim 19, wherein the one or more processors are further to: collect additional user information during execution for the user; and update the user profile based on the additional user information to generate an updated user profile; and store the updated user profile in the memory [Maity, par. 4 and 125, Bakalash, par. 23-25)]
Referring to claim 21, Maity and Bakalash teachof claim 19, wherein the power profile includes a power level for the graphics processor. [Maity, Fig. 3B, Bakalash, par. 35-39 and Fig. 2A-D and 5A and associated description]
Referring to claim 22, Maity and Bakalash teach of claim 19, wherein the power profile includes enabling or disabling one or more capabilities of the graphics processor during execution for the user. [Maity, par. 36, 59, 86, 91, 93 103power mode, power state operation, Bakalash, par. 26-27, Fig. 5, display mode based on profile]
Referring to claim 23, Maity and Bakalash teach apparatus of claim 19, wherein the user information includes one or more of: a workload level consumed in execution for the user; and a processor power consumption consumed by the user in execution for the user; and user preferences in operations in execution for the user [Maity, Fig. 3B, usage profile for each user, par. 94-100, Bakalash, power demand, graphic modes par. 35-39 and Fig. 2A-D and associated description]
Referring to claim 24, Maity and Bakalash teach apparatus of claim 19, wherein the user profile includes a category of a plurality of user categories assigned to the user based on the user profile [Maity, abstract; 0005; 0016; 0019; 0126, , Bakalash, par. 17, 21 m and Fig. 2A-D and 5].
Referring to claims 25-30, these claims recite a graphic processor having the features similar to claims 9-24 above, and these claims are rejected on that basis.
Referring to claims 31-3, these claim recite method for having the features similar to claims 19-24 above, and these claims are rejected on that basis.
Conclusion
/KIM HUYNH/Primary Patent Examiner,
Art Unit 2176