DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to communication filed 3/16/26.
Response to Amendment
The examiner acknowledges the amendment of claims 1-4,7,9, and 13-14.
Response to Arguments
In response to applicant’s argument that the prior art of record is silent on teaching if the proof information satisfies a condition for permitting the user to pass and if a detected body surface temperature is higher than a predetermined threshold, the user is not permitted to pass, Chen et al. teaches collecting the user credential and teaches imaging processing to process the infrared image to determine if the user face has a temperature that is greater than a threshold level, the controller is configured to enable or disable a building action based on the user credential and the user temperature (paragraph 05,036). Chen teaches the building action include granting access to restricted areas (paragraph 027). The examiner consider the proof information as equivalent to the user’s credential.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,5-7,11-13, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lacy US Patent Application Publication 20210304858 in view of Chen et al. US Patent Application Publication 20230222856.
Regarding claim 1, Lacy teaches a passage permit device comprising: at least one memory (106) storing instructions (paragraph 052), and at least one processor (104) configured to execute the instructions to;
acquire image data including a user’s face image captured by a predetermined imaging device (paragraph 049);
cause an authentication device configured to store facial feature information about the user to perform face authentication on the image data (paragraph 050-052, 056);
acquire, if the face authentication is successful, proof information about the user subjected to the face authentication from a storage device configured to store the proof information related to measures taken the user to prevent from being infected (vaccination status, paragraph 047,050);
determine whether or not to permit the user to pass based on the proof information associated with the user and the biometric information (paragraph 041, 050-051) and output a result of the determination to a predetermined terminal device corresponding to the imaging device (paragraph 069,072). Lacy is silent on teaching detect the user’s body surface temperature. Chen et al. in an analogous art teaches detecting the user’s body surface temperature and authorizing the user based on the detected body temperature and the user’s biometric information (fig.3, paragraph 059). Chen et al. teaches collecting the user credential and teaches imaging processing to process the infrared image to determine if the user face has a temperature that is greater than a threshold level, the controller is configured to enable or disable a building action based on the user credential and the user temperature (paragraph 05,036). Chen teaches the building action include granting access to restricted areas (paragraph 027).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Lacy as disclosed by Chen because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Lacy by incorporating the use of a person body surface temperature in order to provide a more reliable indication of a person present health status.
Regarding claim 5, Lacy teaches the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to accept a condition for the determination from the terminal device, and determine whether or not to permit the user to pass based on the set condition, the proof information, and the detected body surface temperature of the user (paragraph 072).
Regarding claim 6, Lacy teaches the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to acquire, in addition to the proof information, activity history information about an activity history of the user, and 20 make the determination based on the activity history, the proof information, and the detected body surface temperature of the user (the historical information is represented by the medical tests the user has taken and the results, paragraph 050).
Regarding claim 7, Lacy teaches a passage permit method performed by a computer, the passage permit method comprising:
acquiring image data including a user’s face image captured by a predetermined imaging device (paragraph 049); causing an authentication device configured to store facial feature information about the user to perform face authentication on the image data (paragraph 050-052, 056); acquiring, if the face authentication is successful, proof information about the user subjected to the face authentication from a storage device configured to store the proof information related to measures taken the user to prevent from being infected (vaccination status, paragraph 047,050) and output a result of the determination to a predetermined terminal device corresponding to the imaging device (paragraph 069,072). Lacy is silent on teaching detect the user’s body surface temperature. Chen et al. in an analogous art teaches detecting the user’s body surface temperature and authorizing the user based on the detected body temperature and the user’s biometric information (fig.3, paragraph 059). Chen et al. teaches collecting the user credential and teaches imaging processing to process the infrared image to determine if the user face has a temperature that is greater than a threshold level, the controller is configured to enable or disable a building action based on the user credential and the user temperature (paragraph 05,036). Chen teaches the building action include granting access to restricted areas (paragraph 027).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Lacy as disclosed by Chen because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Lacy by incorporating the use of a person body surface temperature in order to provide a more reliable indication of a person present health status.
Regarding claim 11, Lacy teaches the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to accept a condition for the determination from the terminal device, and determine whether or not to permit the user to pass based on the set condition, the proof information, and the detected body surface temperature of the user (paragraph 072).
Regarding claim 12, Lacy teaches the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to acquire, in addition to the proof information, activity history information about an activity history of the user, and 20 make the determination based on the activity history, the proof information, and the detected body surface temperature of the user (the historical information is represented by the medical tests the user has taken and the results, paragraph 050).
Regarding claim 13, Lacy teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a passage
permission program for causing a computer to perform: processing of acquiring image data including a user’s face image captured by a predetermined imaging device (paragraph 049); processing of causing an authentication device configured to store facial feature information about the user to perform face authentication on the image data (paragraph 050-052, 056); processing of acquiring, if the face authentication is successful, proof information about the user subjected to the face authentication from a storage device configured to store the proof information related to measures taken the user to prevent from being infected (vaccination status, paragraph 047,050) and output a result of the determination to a predetermined terminal device corresponding to the imaging device (paragraph 069,072). Lacy is silent on teaching detect the user’s body surface temperature. Chen et al. in an analogous art teaches detecting the user’s body surface temperature and authorizing the user based on the detected body temperature and the user’s biometric information (fig.3, paragraph 059). Chen et al. teaches collecting the user credential and teaches imaging processing to process the infrared image to determine if the user face has a temperature that is greater than a threshold level, the controller is configured to enable or disable a building action based on the user credential and the user temperature (paragraph 05,036). Chen teaches the building action include granting access to restricted areas (paragraph 027).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Lacy as disclosed by Chen because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Lacy by incorporating the use of a person body surface temperature in order to provide a more reliable indication of a person present health status.
Regarding claim 17, Lacy teaches the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to accept a condition for the determination from the terminal device, and determine whether or not to permit the user to pass based on the set condition, the proof information, and the detected body surface temperature of the user (paragraph 072).
Regarding claim 18, Lacy teaches the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to acquire, in addition to the proof information, activity history information about an activity history of the user, and 20 make the determination based on the activity history, the proof information, and the detected body surface temperature of the user (the historical information is represented by the medical tests the user has taken and the results, paragraph 050).
Claim(s) 2-4,8-10, and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lacy US Patent Application Publication 20210304858 in view of Chen et al. US Patent Application Publication 20230222856 and further in view of Klein US Patent 11,151,820.
Regarding claim 2-4, Lacy teaches the medical certification is valid for a specific time period (paragraph 048) but is not explicit in teaching the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to acquire effective period information about an effective period of an antibody proof or a vaccination proof included in the proof information. Klein teaches the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to acquire effective period information about an effective period of an antibody proof or a vaccination proof included in the proof information (col. 11 lines 40-53). Klein teaches the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to determine that, if the effective period is shorter than a preset period, a warning that the effective period is shorter than the preset period is sent, and output the warning together with the result of the determination (determination is made that the test occur within the valid days/hours before entry, col. 11 lines 40-53, col. 11 line 60-col. 12 line 18). Klein teaches the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instruction to output, as the warning, a warning urging vaccination in view of the warning (user is prompted to complete testing, col. 5 lines 4-24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Lacy in view of Chen as disclosed by Klein because such modification represents an improvement over the system by performing additional functions to ensure that the user health status is acceptable for entry.
Regarding claim 8-10, Lacy teaches the medical certification is valid for a specific time period (paragraph 048) but is not explicit in teaching the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to acquire effective period information about an effective period of an antibody proof or a vaccination proof included in the proof information. Klein teaches the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to acquire effective period information about an effective period of an antibody proof or a vaccination proof included in the proof information (col. 11 lines 40-53). Klein teaches the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to determine that, if the effective period is shorter than a preset period, a warning that the effective period is shorter than the preset period is sent, and output the warning together with the result of the determination (determination is made that the test occur within the valid days/hours before entry, col. 11 lines 40-53, col. 11 line 60-col. 12 line 18). Klein teaches the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instruction to output, as the warning, a warning urging vaccination in view of the warning (user is prompted to complete testing ,col. 5 lines 4-24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Lacy in view of Chen as disclosed by Klein because such modification represents an improvement over the system by performing additional functions to ensure that the user health status is acceptable for entry.
Regarding claims 14-16, Lacy teaches the medical certification is valid for a specific time period (paragraph 048) but is not explicit in teaching the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to acquire effective period information about an effective period of an antibody proof or a vaccination proof included in the proof information. Klein teaches the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to acquire effective period information about an effective period of an antibody proof or a vaccination proof included in the proof information (col. 11 lines 40-53). Klein teaches the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to determine that, if the effective period is shorter than a preset period, a warning that the effective period is shorter than the preset period is sent, and output the warning together with the result of the determination (determination is made that the test occur within the valid days/hours before entry, col. 11 lines 40-53, col. 11 line 60-col. 12 line 18). Klein teaches the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instruction to output, as the warning, a warning urging vaccination in view of the warning (user is prompted to complete testing, col. 5 lines 4-24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Lacy in view of Chen as disclosed by Klein because such modification represents an improvement over the system by performing additional functions to ensure that the user health status is acceptable for entry.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VERNAL U BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686