Drawings
Drawings have been reviewed and accepted.
Specification
The specification filed on 09/12/24 has been entered. Specification has been reviewed and accepted.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted filed on 09/12/24, and 07/03/25 have been received. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites “and calculates the heat dissipation performance from the heat absorber information and the heat dissipator information”.
The limitations of “and calculates the heat dissipation performance from the heat absorber information and the heat dissipator information”, are processes that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “a host device”, and “controller“ nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “host device”, and “controller” language, “calculates” in the context of this claim encompasses that the user mentally could make a decision, comparison, and observation. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites additional elements- “receives a response including heat dissipator information from the memory card in response to the command” which is simply insignificant extra solution activity of data gathering and transmission by acquiring data and information and “a storage unit that holds heat absorber information indicating a position, a shape, and a material of the heat absorber” which is simply insignificant extra solution activity of storing and retrieving information in memory. The claim additionally recites “A host device comprising: a connector that includes a heat absorber and allows insertion and removal of a memory card…; and a controller capable of using the heat absorber information, wherein the controller issues a command inquiring heat dissipation performance of the memory card” which is simply using a computer as a tool to perform abstract ideas -Mere instructions to apply an exception – see MPEP 2106.05(f). Therefore these do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. The claim is not patent eligible.
Accordingly these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of acquiring data which is simply insignificant extra solution activity of data gathering and transmitting which is considered to be well-understood, routine, conventional activity- see MPEP 2106.05(d) buySAFE Inc. v. Google Inc. (computer receives and sends information over a network), and the element of storing information in a memory is considered to be well-understood, routine, conventional activity- see MPEP 2106.05(d) Versata Development Group v. SAP America. Additionally “recites “A host device comprising: a connector that includes a heat absorber and allows insertion and removal of a memory card…; and a controller capable of using the heat absorber information, wherein the controller issues a command inquiring heat dissipation performance of the memory card” which is simply using a computer as a tool to perform abstract ideas -Mere instructions to apply an exception – see MPEP 2106.05(f). Therefore these do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim inherits mental abstract ideas from claim 13. Additionally, the claim recites- “wherein the heat absorber has a convex shape” which is simply using a computer as a tool to perform abstract ideas -Mere instructions to apply an exception – see MPEP 2106.05(f). Therefore, these do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fujimoto (US20200401326).
Regarding claim 1, Fujimoto teaches A memory card configured to be inserted into and removed from a connector provided in a host device, the memory card (Fig. 1, [0034] The semiconductor storage device has a card-like shape, and may function as a removable SSD which can be placed into a connector in the host device (card connector). In the following description, the semiconductor storage device will be referred to as a storage device (card-shaped storage device) 10) comprising: a memory that stores heat dissipator information (Fig. 21, [0028] The semiconductor storage device includes a nonvolatile memory, a controller to control the nonvolatile memory…The controller is configured to transmit first data indicative of a temperature of the controller measured by a temperature sensor, second data indicative of a temperature difference between the temperature of the controller and a temperature of the first surface, and third data indicative of a temperature difference between the temperature of the controller and a temperature of the second surface to the host device, using at least one of the signal terminals, [0094] a process to transmit SMART/Health Information including Tc′ and Tb′ to the host device and to report various status of the storage device 10 to the host device, [0122] thermal resistance model related to the heat dissipating from the controller 14 to the outside of the case 11. Then, the controller 14 transmits the surface temperature of the second surface 22 to the host device) on a heat dissipator of the memory card ([0115] heat of the controller 14 of the storage device 10 is removed through the heat conductive materials on the second surface 22. Since the heat inside transfers to the outside, a temperature gradient indicating that the inside has a high temperature and the outside has a low temperature occurs. The magnitude of the temperature gradient depends on the heat conductivity of materials used in the case or the like, [0137] Here, “a” and “b” are constants derived based on the structure and the material of the storage device 10, specifically, the structure, material, and the like of the proximity of the first surface 21 side); and a processor that returns a response including the heat dissipator information in response to a command for inquiring heat dissipation performance transmitted from the host device (Fig. 11, [0161] SMART/Health Information includes a reserved region. The controller 14 sets Tc′ and Tb′ in a reserved region of SMART/Health Information (SMART/Health Information of FIG. 12), or sets Tc′ and Tb′ in Temperature Sensor field 1 and Temperature Sensor field 2 of SMART/Health Information (SMART/Health Information of FIG. 16), and transmits SMART/Health Information to the host device, [0122] thermal resistance model related to the heat dissipating from the controller 14 to the outside of the case 11. Then, the controller 14 transmits the surface temperature of the second surface 22 to the host device).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Fujimoto and Berke teach The memory card according to Claim 1, wherein the heat dissipator information is information on a material of the heat dissipator (Fujimoto, [0115] The magnitude of the temperature gradient depends on the heat conductivity of materials used in the case or the like, [0137] Here, “a” and “b” are constants derived based on the structure and the material of the storage device 10, specifically, the structure, material, and the like of the proximity of the first surface 21 side)
Regarding claim 7, Fujimoto teaches A memory card configured to be inserted into and removed from a connector provided in a host device, the memory card (Fig. 1, [0034] The semiconductor storage device has a card-like shape, and may function as a removable SSD which can be placed into a connector in the host device (card connector). In the following description, the semiconductor storage device will be referred to as a storage device (card-shaped storage device) 10) comprising: a memory that stores heat dissipator information (Fig. 21, [0028] The semiconductor storage device includes a nonvolatile memory, a controller to control the nonvolatile memory…The controller is configured to transmit first data indicative of a temperature of the controller measured by a temperature sensor, second data indicative of a temperature difference between the temperature of the controller and a temperature of the first surface, and third data indicative of a temperature difference between the temperature of the controller and a temperature of the second surface to the host device, using at least one of the signal terminals, [0094] a process to transmit SMART/Health Information including Tc′ and Tb′ to the host device and to report various status of the storage device 10 to the host device, [0122] thermal resistance model related to the heat dissipating from the controller 14 to the outside of the case 11. Then, the controller 14 transmits the surface temperature of the second surface 22 to the host device) on a heat dissipator of the memory card ([0115] heat of the controller 14 of the storage device 10 is removed through the heat conductive materials on the second surface 22. Since the heat inside transfers to the outside, a temperature gradient indicating that the inside has a high temperature and the outside has a low temperature occurs. The magnitude of the temperature gradient depends on the heat conductivity of materials used in the case or the like, [0137] Here, “a” and “b” are constants derived based on the structure and the material of the storage device 10, specifically, the structure, material, and the like of the proximity of the first surface 21 side); and a processor that receives an initialization command transmitted from the host device, repeats returning a response to the host device to complete initialization processing, and then returns a response including the heat dissipator information in response to a command inquiring for heat dissipation performance transmitted from the host device (Fig. 11, [0161] SMART/Health Information includes a reserved region. The controller 14 sets Tc′ and Tb′ in a reserved region of SMART/Health Information (SMART/Health Information of FIG. 12), or sets Tc′ and Tb′ in Temperature Sensor field 1 and Temperature Sensor field 2 of SMART/Health Information (SMART/Health Information of FIG. 16), and transmits SMART/Health Information to the host device, [0122] thermal resistance model related to the heat dissipating from the controller 14 to the outside of the case 11. Then, the controller 14 transmits the surface temperature of the second surface 22 to the host device).
Regarding claim 11, Fujimoto teaches The memory card according to Claim 7, wherein the heat dissipator information is information on a material of the heat dissipator (Fujimoto, [0115] The magnitude of the temperature gradient depends on the heat conductivity of materials used in the case or the like, [0137] Here, “a” and “b” are constants derived based on the structure and the material of the storage device 10, specifically, the structure, material, and the like of the proximity of the first surface 21 side)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 6, 8-10, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimoto (US20200401326), and in view of Berke et al. (US20160081231, herein Berke).
Regarding claim 2, Fujimoto teaches The memory card according to Claim 1 (Fujimoto, [0095] The connector is a card connector which connects the card-like shaped storage device 10 to a system board of the host device),
Fujimoto does not teach wherein the heat dissipator information is information on whether the memory card includes the heat dissipator
Berke teaches wherein the heat dissipator information is information on whether the memory card includes the heat dissipator ([0031] an adequate match is not found, the process continues to step 112 to determine if the thermal profile matches a known failure state, such as a missing or uncoupled heat sink, the process continues to step 114 to issue an alert and log an error that the heat sink on the CPU under test is not properly configured. The process then continues to step 116 to adjust power and thermal performance operations of the system to match an unpopulated heat sink. If at step 112 the thermal profile does not match a failed state, the process continues to step 124 to adjust the power and thermal settings to match the unexpected heat sink detected in the test).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujimoto’s teaching of a removable memory card communicating thermal information associated with the heat dissipation of the memory card to the host device with Berke’s teaching of storing heat dissipation information in a memory consisting of heat dissipater identification, location information, and size/shape information. The combined teaching provides an expected result of a removable memory card storing and communicating heat dissipation information including identification, location, and size to the host device. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to ensure that the thermal configuration is compatible as supported by Berke [0011].
Regarding claim 3, Fujimoto teaches The memory card according to Claim 1 (Fujimoto, [0095] The connector is a card connector which connects the card-like shaped storage device 10 to a system board of the host device),
Fujimoto does not teach wherein the heat dissipator information is information on a position of the heat dissipator
Berke teaches wherein the heat dissipator information is information on a position of the heat dissipator ([0028] the process continues to step 68 to retrieve the heat sink part number or other identifier from the system order or build system manifest. At step 70, a determination is made if all heat sink identifier are located and, if not, the process continues to step 72 to go to the next heat sink and return to step 68. If at step 70 all heat sink identifiers are retrieved, the process continues to step 74 to generate a heat sink license including the count, types, CPU socket numbers and other location data for each heat sink).
Regarding claim 4, Fujimoto teaches The memory card according to Claim 1 ( Fujimoto, [0095] The connector is a card connector which connects the card-like shaped storage device 10 to a system board of the host device),
Fujimoto does not teach wherein the heat dissipator information is information on a position of the heat dissipator
Berke teaches wherein the heat dissipator information is information on a shape of the heat dissipator ([0023] other factors may alter the selection of heat sink size and shape, such as slots or cutouts in the heat sink to make room for a GPU 16. Order engine 28 tracks CPU, RAM, GPU, and heat sink selections to ensure that the configuration is compatible at manufacturing line 12, and stores the configuration file 32 in non-volatile memory of server information handling system 10).
Regarding claim 6, Fujimoto teaches The memory card according to Claim 1, wherein the heat dissipator information is a combination of information indicating whether the memory card (Fujimoto, [0095] The connector is a card connector which connects the card-like shaped storage device 10 to a system board of the host device), and information on a material of the heat dissipator ( [0115] The magnitude of the temperature gradient depends on the heat conductivity of materials used in the case or the like, [0137] Here, “a” and “b” are constants derived based on the structure and the material of the storage device 10, specifically, the structure, material, and the like of the proximity of the first surface 21 side, [0137] constants derived based on the structure and the material of the storage device 10, specifically, the structure, material, and the like of the proximity of the first surface 21 side.).
Fujimoto does not teach has the heat dissipator, information on a position of the heat dissipator, ), information on a shape of the heat dissipator
Berke teaches has the heat dissipator ([0031] an adequate match is not found, the process continues to step 112 to determine if the thermal profile matches a known failure state, such as a missing or uncoupled heat sink, the process continues to step 114 to issue an alert and log an error that the heat sink on the CPU under test is not properly configured. The process then continues to step 116 to adjust power and thermal performance operations of the system to match an unpopulated heat sink. If at step 112 the thermal profile does not match a failed state, the process continues to step 124 to adjust the power and thermal settings to match the unexpected heat sink actually detected in the test), information on a position of the heat dissipator ([0028] the process continues to step 68 to retrieve the heat sink part number or other identifier from the system order or build system manifest. At step 70, a determination is made if all heat sink identifier are located and, if not, the process continues to step 72 to go to the next heat sink and return to step 68. If at step 70 all heat sink identifiers are retrieved, the process continues to step 74 to generate a heat sink license including the count, types, CPU socket numbers and other location data for each heat sink), information on a shape of the heat dissipator ([0023] other factors may alter the selection of heat sink size and shape, such as slots or cutouts in the heat sink to make room for a GPU 16. Order engine 28 tracks CPU, RAM, GPU, and heat sink selections to ensure that the configuration is compatible at manufacturing line 12, and stores the configuration file 32 in non-volatile memory of server information handling system 10),
Regarding claim 8, Fujimoto teaches The memory card according to Claim 7 (Fujimoto, [0095] The connector is a card connector which connects the card-like shaped storage device 10 to a system board of the host device),
Fujimoto does not teach wherein the heat dissipator information is information on whether the memory card includes the heat dissipator
Berke teaches wherein the heat dissipator information is information on whether the memory card includes the heat dissipator ([0031] an adequate match is not found, the process continues to step 112 to determine if the thermal profile matches a known failure state, such as a missing or uncoupled heat sink, the process continues to step 114 to issue an alert and log an error that the heat sink on the CPU under test is not properly configured. The process then continues to step 116 to adjust power and thermal performance operations of the system to match an unpopulated heat sink. If at step 112 the thermal profile does not match a failed state, the process continues to step 124 to adjust the power and thermal settings to match the unexpected heat sink actually detected in the test).
Regarding claim 9, Fujimoto teaches The memory card according to Claim 7 (Fujimoto, [0095] The connector is a card connector which connects the card-like shaped storage device 10 to a system board of the host device),
Fujimoto does not teach wherein the heat dissipator information is information on a position of the heat dissipator
Berke teaches wherein the heat dissipator information is information on a position of the heat dissipator ([0028] the process continues to step 68 to retrieve the heat sink part number or other identifier from the system order or build system manifest. At step 70, a determination is made if all heat sink identifier are located and, if not, the process continues to step 72 to go to the next heat sink and return to step 68. If at step 70 all heat sink identifiers are retrieved, the process continues to step 74 to generate a heat sink license including the count, types, CPU socket numbers and other location data for each heat sink).
Regarding claim 10, Fujimoto teaches The memory card according to Claim 7 ( Fujimoto, [0095] The connector is a card connector which connects the card-like shaped storage device 10 to a system board of the host device),
Fujimoto does not teach wherein the heat dissipator information is information on a shape of the heat dissipator
Berke further teaches wherein the heat dissipator information is information on a shape of the heat dissipator ([0023] other factors may alter the selection of heat sink size and shape, such as slots or cutouts in the heat sink to make room for a GPU 16. Order engine 28 tracks CPU, RAM, GPU, and heat sink selections to ensure that the configuration is compatible at manufacturing line 12, and stores the configuration file 32 in non-volatile memory of server information handling system 10).
Regarding claim 12, Fujimoto teaches The memory card according to Claim 7, wherein the heat dissipator information is a combination of information indicating whether the memory card (Fujimoto, [0095] The connector is a card connector which connects the card-like shaped storage device 10 to a system board of the host device), and information on a material of the heat dissipator ( [0115] The magnitude of the temperature gradient depends on the heat conductivity of materials used in the case or the like, [0137] Here, “a” and “b” are constants derived based on the structure and the material of the storage device 10, specifically, the structure, material, and the like of the proximity of the first surface 21 side, [0137] constants derived based on the structure and the material of the storage device 10, specifically, the structure, material, and the like of the proximity of the first surface 21 side).
Fujimoto does not teach has the heat dissipator, information on a position of the heat dissipator, information on a shape of the heat dissipator
Berke teaches has the heat dissipator ([0031] an adequate match is not found, the process continues to step 112 to determine if the thermal profile matches a known failure state, such as a missing or uncoupled heat sink, the process continues to step 114 to issue an alert and log an error that the heat sink on the CPU under test is not properly configured. The process then continues to step 116 to adjust power and thermal performance operations of the system to match an unpopulated heat sink. If at step 112 the thermal profile does not match a failed state, the process continues to step 124 to adjust the power and thermal settings to match the unexpected heat sink actually detected in the test), information on a position of the heat dissipator([0028] the process continues to step 68 to retrieve the heat sink part number or other identifier from the system order or build system manifest. At step 70, a determination is made if all heat sink identifier are located and, if not, the process continues to step 72 to go to the next heat sink and return to step 68. If at step 70 all heat sink identifiers are retrieved, the process continues to step 74 to generate a heat sink license including the count, types, CPU socket numbers and other location data for each heat sink), information on a shape of the heat dissipator([0023] other factors may alter the selection of heat sink size and shape, such as slots or cutouts in the heat sink to make room for a GPU 16. Order engine 28 tracks CPU, RAM, GPU, and heat sink selections to ensure that the configuration is compatible at manufacturing line 12, and stores the configuration file 32 in non-volatile memory of server information handling system 10),
Regarding claim 13, Fujimoto teaches A host device comprising: a connector that includes a heat absorber and allows insertion and removal of a memory card ([0141] The heat from the controller 14 (heat source 300) dissipates not only to the wiring board 202 of the connector 200 through the first surface 21 but also to the connector cover 203 through the second surface 22. A difference between FIGS. 8 and 9 is a TIM 301, and since the heat conductivity is improved with the TIM, [0034] The semiconductor storage device has a card-like shape, and may function as a removable SSD which can be placed into a connector in the host device (card connector); a storage unit that holds heat absorber information indicating… and a material of the heat absorber,([0112] the storage device 10 has a function so-called “host controlled thermal management” of NVM Express Version 1.3 may be used, [0153] A designer of the heat dissipation mechanism of the host device knows whether or not a heat dissipation member such as TIM 301 is adhered to the connector cover 203 of the connector attached to the host device, [0163] Two thermal threshold values set by the host controlled thermal management can be read from the following fields, [0128] A thermal interface material (TIM) 301 may be disposed to the inner surface of the connector cover 203. In that case, the second surface 22 of the storage device 10 is tightly adhered to the TIM 301, [0115] The magnitude of the temperature gradient depends on the heat conductivity of materials used in the case or the like) ; and a controller capable of using the heat absorber information, wherein the controller issues a command inquiring heat dissipation performance of the memory card, receives a response including heat dissipator information from the memory card in response to the command, and calculates the heat dissipation performance from the heat absorber information and the heat dissipator information (Fig. 11, [0156] The storage device 10 has a function to report Self-Monitoring Analysis and Reporting Technology (S.M.A.R.T.) information. In an NVM Express (NVMe) (registered trademark) specification, SMART/Health Information is defined. In the first embodiment, Tc′ and Tb′ are reported to the host device as a part of various status included in SMART/Health Information, [0157] (1) The host device transmits a command (request) to acquire SMART/Health Information (Get SMART/Health Information) to the storage device 10, [0165] The host can recognize the number of time when the internal temperature Tj of the controller 14 exceeds the threshold temperature TMT2 on the basis of the above counts, and can determine whether or not the storage device 10 should be further cooled on the basis of a change in the counts ).
Fujimoto does not teach a position, a shape
Berke teaches position, a shape ([0023] other factors may alter the selection of heat sink size and shape, such as slots or cutouts in the heat sink to make room for a GPU 16. Order engine 28 tracks CPU, RAM, GPU, and heat sink selections to ensure that the configuration is compatible at manufacturing line 12, and stores the configuration file 32 in non-volatile memory of server information handling system 10. For example, part numbers are captured from order engine 28, including the heat sink 20 part number, and stored in non-volatile memory as a field of the per-system license, [0028] a determination is made if all heat sink identifier are located and, if not, the process continues to step 72 to go to the next heat sink and return to step 68. If at step 70 all heat sink identifiers are retrieved, the process continues to step 74 to generate a heat sink license including the count, types, CPU socket numbers and other location data for each heat sink. At step 76 the system license is updated with the heat sink configuration information in the protected credentials area. ).
Claim(s) 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimoto (US20200401326), in view of Berke et al. (US20160081231, herein Berke), and in further view of Nakanishi et al. (US20100023678, herein Nakanishi).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Fujimoto and Berke teach The host device according to Claim 13,… based on the heat dissipation performance ([0105] the host device requires a heat dissipation mechanism configured to reduce the internal temperature of the storage device 10 by using heat conduction).
Nakanishi teaches wherein the controller limits a writing speed to the memory card and a reading speed from the memory card (Fig. 33, [0285] the access rate corresponding to the temperature parameter used in deriving the curved line is determined as an access rate for the nonvolatile memory device 100H, [0289] the access rate control part 223 of the access device 200H determines an access rate on the basis of these calculation results in the above-mentioned manner and sets the access rate for data reading and writing (S306). ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujimoto’s teaching of determining thermal/heat dissipation conditions associated with the memory card and host with Nakanishi’s teaching of controlling the read/write access rate of a memory device and cooling based on temperature. The combined teaching provides an expected result of using the determined heat dissipation condition to limit memory card read/write performance and perform cooling. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to ensure system safety by maintaining temperatures below thermal limits, as supported by Nakanishi [0031], [0180].
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Fujimoto and Berke teach The host device according to Claim 13, of the memory card based on the heat dissipation performance ([0105] the host device requires a heat dissipation mechanism configured to reduce the internal temperature of the storage device 10 by using heat conduction).
Nakanishi teaches wherein the controller performs operation of compensating heat dissipation performance ([0188] the access device 200B has a control part 203 and a cooling part 204 in addition to the display part 201. The control part 203 controls an access to the nonvolatile memory device 100B on the basis of status information given from the nonvolatile memory device 100B, and drives the cooling part 204. The cooling part 204 is, for example, an air-cooling device such as a fan or an electric cooling part such as a Peltier element, and cools the nonvolatile memory device 100B, [0197] drives the cooling part 204 on the basis of the status information to cool the nonvolatile memory device 100B, [0200] the status information generation part 113 notifies the access device 200B of the warning information as the status information, the control part 203 of the access device displays the warning information on the display part 201. In addition, when receiving the warning information, the control part 203 drives the cooling part 204 for a certain period).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Fujimoto and Berke teach The host device according to Claim 15,… performance of the memory card based on the heat dissipation performance ([0105] the host device requires a heat dissipation mechanism configured to reduce the internal temperature of the storage device 10 by using heat conduction).
Nakanishi teaches further comprising a fan, wherein the controller controls the fan as the operation of compensating heat dissipation ([0188] an air-cooling device such as a fan or an electric cooling part such as a Peltier element, and cools the nonvolatile memory device 100B) .
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimoto (US20200401326), in view of Berke et al. (US20160081231, herein Berke), and in further view of Mullins et al. (US20120325908, herein Mullins).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Fujimoto and Berke teach The host device according to Claim 13,
Mullins teaches wherein the heat absorber has a convex shape ([0040], Fig. 6A-6E body 600 is arched upwardly and then downwardly and acts as the heat directing element).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujimoto’s teaching of a connector side heat absorber that receives heat from an inserted card with Mullin’s teaching of a heat dissipating card connector spring arched upwardly and then downwardly. The combined teaching provides an expected result a connector side heat absorber having a convex/arched configuration. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated for maximizing the surface area contact with the inserted card facilitating transfer of heat in the heat dissipation structure as supported by Mullins [0041].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Scott (US20200225719) teaches improving removable storage performance.
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert, Fennema can be reached on (571) 272-2748 The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786- 9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/YVONNE T FOLLANSBEE/
Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ALICIA M. CHOI/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117