DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8, 10-15, 17-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12115015. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the inventions (claim 1 for example) are both directed to obtaining PET/CT/MRI images, preprocessing the data to generate first and second subsets of standardized images, generating a first two-dimensional segmentation mask, generating a second two-dimensional segmentation mask, and generating a final masked image based on the first and second two-dimensional segmentation masks. While claim 1 of the instant invention is broader in scope, a three-dimensional segmentation mask is set forth in claim 4. Furthermore, details of a residual block and skip connection are set forth in claim 2. Furthermore, the instant invention refers to extracting features from the first and second two-dimensional masks for generating the final masked image, while the patent more broadly refers to combining information from the first and second two-dimensional masks. It would be within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art to derive the information from the first and second two-dimensional masks by performing extracting, as extracting is a known image analysis technique for deriving information from an image.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7-8, 14-15, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (“Deep Learning-Based Image Segmentation on Multimodal Medical D1 Imaging”, IEEE Transactions on Radiation and Plasma Medical Sciences, IEEE, Vol. 3, no. 2, March 1 2019, pages 162-169; hereinafter Guo) in view of Groth et al. (US 2021/0004960; hereinafter Groth).
Guo shows a method and system comprising: obtaining a plurality of positron emission tomography (PET) scans and a plurality of computerized tomography (CT) or magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) scans for a subject (page 164, column 1); preprocessing the PET scans and the CT or MRI scans to generate a first subset of standardized images for a first plane or region of the subject and a second subset of standardized images for a second plane or region of the subject, wherein the first subset of standardized images and the second subset of standardized images incorporate information from the PET scans and the CT or MRI scans (page 164, column 1); generating a first two-dimensional segmentation mask (patches; page 164), using a first two-dimensional segmentation model implemented as part of a convolutional neural network architecture that takes as input the first subset of standardized images, wherein the first two-dimensional segmentation model uses a first residual block comprising a first layer that: (i) feeds directly into a subsequent layer (page 164, column 2; Figure 2); generating a second two-dimensional segmentation mask (patches; page 164), using a second two- dimensional segmentation model implemented as part of the convolutional neural network architecture that takes as input the second subset of standardized images, wherein the second two-dimensional segmentation model uses a second residual block comprising a second layer that: (i) feeds directly into a subsequent layer (page 164, column 2; Figure 2); extracting, using a feature extractor, features from the first two-dimensional segmentation mask and the second two-dimensional segmentation mask (page 163, column 2); and generating a final imaged mask by combining information from the first two-dimensional segmentation mask and the second two-dimensional segmentation mask (final output; page 164, column 2; Figure 2; see also pages 167-168, which describe benefits of multimodal fusion network as compared to single modality network).
Guo also shows preprocessing comprises co-registering the PET scans and the CT or MRI scans to generate the first subset of standardized images and the second subset of standardized images, wherein each standardized image includes information from the PET scans and CT or MRI scans (page 164, column 1).
Guo fails to show the first two-dimensional segmentation model is trained for processing images from a first plane or region and the second two-dimensional segmentation model is trained for processing images from a second plane or region.
Groth discloses systems and methods for display of medical image data. Groth teaches the first two-dimensional segmentation model is trained for processing images from a first plane or region and the second two-dimensional segmentation model is trained for processing images from a second plane or region (training for different types of anatomical structures, where different types of anatomical structures are located in different planes or regions of a patient; [0128]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Guo to train different models for processing images of different regions or planes as taught by Groth, in order to efficiently process a volume of images of a patient containing different anatomical features.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (“Deep Learning-Based Image Segmentation on Multimodal Medical D1 Imaging”, IEEE Transactions on Radiation and Plasma Medical Sciences, IEEE, Vol. 3, no. 2, March 1 2019, pages 162-169; hereinafter Guo) in view of Groth et al. (US 2021/0004960; hereinafter Groth) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sjolund et al. (US 2019/0332900; hereinafter Sjolund).
Guo fails to show (ii) uses a skip connection to feed directly into a layer that is multiple layers away from the first layer; and (ii) uses a skip connection to feed directly into a layer that is multiple layers away from the second layer.
Sjolund discloses a modality-agnostic method for medical image representation. Sjolund teaches use of a skip connection in a neural network ([0140]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Guo and Groth to utilize skip connections as taught by Sjolund, as Sjolund teaches for example that the use of a skip connection will enhance gradient flow in the network. A skip connection is a known type of connection used across the artificial intelligence/neural network arts, and may be readily employed by one of ordinary skill in the art as desired in any type of neural network.
Claim(s) 3, 10, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (“Deep Learning-Based Image Segmentation on Multimodal Medical D1 Imaging”, IEEE Transactions on Radiation and Plasma Medical Sciences, IEEE, Vol. 3, no. 2, March 1 2019, pages 162-169; hereinafter Guo) in view of Groth et al. (US 2021/0004960; hereinafter Groth) as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15 above, and further in view of Renisch et al. (US 2012/0123253; hereinafter Renisch).
Guo fails to show determining, using the final imaged mask, a total metabolic tumor burden (TMTV), and providing the TMTV.
Renisch discloses a method for anatomy modeling for tumor region of interest definition. Renisch teaches determining, using the final imaged mask, a total metabolic tumor burden (TMTV), and providing the TMTV ([0032], [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Guo and Groth to determine a total metabolic tumor burden as taught by Renisch, as such a variable is known in the art for characterizing a tumor in a patient, which will yield a more accurate diagnosis.
Claim(s) 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (“Deep Learning-Based Image Segmentation on Multimodal Medical D1 Imaging”, IEEE Transactions on Radiation and Plasma Medical Sciences, IEEE, Vol. 3, no. 2, March 1 2019, pages 162-169; hereinafter Guo) in view of Groth et al. (US 2021/0004960; hereinafter Groth) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Stamatoyannopoulos et al. (US 2020/0167914; hereinafter Stamatoyannopoulos).
Guo fails to show wherein extracting the features comprises performing a dimensionality reduction process on the first two-dimensional segmentation mask and the second two-dimensional segmentation mask to generate the features having one dimension; wherein the features comprise at least one of: a texture feature extracted using a Gray level co-occurrence matrix, a shape feature extracted using a region property function, and a prognostic signature extracted using k-means clustering.
Stamatoyannopoulos discloses methods of analyzing images using machine learning. Stamatoyannopoulos teaches wherein extracting the features comprises performing a dimensionality reduction process on the first two-dimensional segmentation mask and the second two-dimensional segmentation mask to generate the features having one dimension (in preferred embodiments, the cell characterization data set is of reduced dimensionality compared to the multi-dimensional feature data set, thereby facilitating handling and comparison of image data compared to other types of experimental data, [0078]; [0082], [0088], [0094], [0096], [0115], [0145], [0154]-[0158]); wherein the features comprise at least one of: a texture feature extracted using a Gray level co-occurrence matrix ([0077]), a shape feature extracted using a region property function ([0076]-[0077]), and a prognostic signature extracted using k-means clustering ([0089]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Guo and Groth to reduce the dimensionality of the data set as taught by Stamatoyannopoulos, as Stamatoyannopoulos teaches that reducing the dimensionality facilitates handling and comparison of image data compared to other types of experimental data ([0041], [0078]). Furthermore, it would be within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art to employ known image processing techniques including the use of texture features, shape features, and prognostic signatures as taught by Stamatoyannopoulos, as Stamatoyannopoulos describes that a variety of known image processing techniques known in the art may be used for image pre-processing to identify objects within the image ([0077]), and any of a variety of machine learning algorithms may be utilized in implementing the image processing and analysis methods ([0089]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 11-13, and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and overcoming the double patenting rejection by amendment or terminal disclaimer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/7/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments that Guo fails to teach extracting, using a feature extractor, features from the first two-dimensional segmentation mask and the second two-dimensional segmentation mask, examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant argues that Guo teaches extraction directly from the raw multi modal output images, however, Guo teaches obtaining image patches from the multi modal set, where the image patches are considered to be a segmentation of the raw image (page 164, paragraph bridging column 1-2). The image patches are then utilized in the CNN for forming an improved multimodality image combining the segmented patches.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 21-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN CWERN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797