DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
“handle…recessed within the outer surface of the target body” in Claim 1, and
“a horizontal handle recessed within the exterior surface” in Claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. Claim 9 recites: “a horizontal handle recessed within the exterior surface”. However, nowhere in the original specification including the drawings, any description or support for a horizontal handle recessed within the exterior surface is provided. Looking at Fig. 3, it appears the “handle” 150 is an angled handle. Further clarification, appropriate corrections and citation of pertinent portion(s) of the original specification (including drawings) where support for such limitation is provide, are respectfully requested. Claims 10-18 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, by virtue of dependency upon claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Le (US 2009/0082179 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Le discloses practice head target for striking practice comprising:
a target body (22) shaped in general conformance with a human head and having an exterior surface which presents a human face analogue (Figs. 1 and 3, ¶ [16], [30]); a horizontal handle (grip 94) recessed within the exterior surface and opposite the human face analogue for manual manipulation of the head target during practice sessions (Fig. 3, ¶ [41]-[42], as much as applicant has shown the handle being horizontal and recessed within the outer surface of the target body, Le is also teaching such).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Heneveld (US 6,089,383).
Le is silent about a wall mount structure configured to interface with the handle of the head target and support the same.
Regarding claim 10, Heneveld teaches a wall mount structure (shelf 1) configured to interface with the various sport/exercise equipment and support the same (Figs. 1A-6, please note that upon modification of Le’s invention in view of Wiseman with the wall mount structure of Heneveld, the target body of Le can be placed on the wall mount structure/shelf (1) of Heneveld such that the at least a part of the wall mount structure/shelf (i.e., walls 10, 20, 30 or 40a/40b or the floor 11 or 21, etc.,) interfaces with the handle (94) of the head target and supports the same).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Le’s invention with a wall mount structure configured to interface with the various sport/exercise equipment and support the same as taught by Heneveld to have the wall structure interface with and support the handle of the target body of Le in order to enable a user place the target body on the shelf for storage or organization purposes when the target body is not being used.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Milligan (US 2016/0220882 A1).
Although Le teaches the head target comprising ears (30, Fig. 1), Le is silent about eyewear grooves being located proximate structures of the head target which approximate ears.
Regarding claim 14, Milligan teaches a practice head target for striking practice comprising: a target body shaped in general conformance with a human head (1000, Figs. 1-2, 4a-5c), a plurality of audible targets contained within the target body in a manner approximate eyes of the head target (¶ [13]-[14], [33], [35]), and eyewear grooves located proximate structures of the head target which approximate ears (as shown below).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Eyewear grooves)]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Le’s invention with eyewear grooves located proximate structures of the head target which approximate ears as taught by Milligan in order to provide a more realistic target head for the user whereby the head target’s shape conforms more closely to that of a human.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le in view of Milligan as applied to claims 9 and 14 above, and further in view of Heneveld (US 6,089,383).
Le in view of Milligan is silent about a wall mount structure configured to interface with the handle of the head target and support the same.
Regarding claim 15, Heneveld teaches a wall mount structure (shelf 1) configured to interface with the various sport/exercise equipment and support the same (Figs. 1A-6, please note that upon modification of Le’s invention in view of Wiseman with the wall mount structure of Heneveld, the target body of Le can be placed on the wall mount structure/shelf (1) of Heneveld such that the at least a part of the wall mount structure/shelf (i.e., walls 10, 20, 30 or 40a/40b or the floor 11 or 21, etc.,) interfaces with the handle (94) of the head target and supports the same).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Le’s invention in view of Milligan with a wall mount structure configured to interface with the various sport/exercise equipment and support the same as taught by Heneveld to have the wall structure interface with and support the handle of the target body of Le in order to enable a user place the target body on the shelf for storage or organization purposes when the target body is not being used.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le (US 2009/0082179 A1) in view of Wiseman et al. (US 5,897,446).
Regarding claim 1, Le teaches a practice head target for striking practice comprising:
a target body (22) shaped in general conformance with a human head and having an outer surface (Figs. 1 and 3, ¶ [16], [30]); a plurality of internal audible targets (at 26, Fig. 1) contained within the target body in a manner to approximate eyes of the head target (¶ [37]); a handle (grip 94) opposite the audible targets and recessed within the outer surface of the target body for manual manipulation of the head target during practice sessions (Fig. 3, ¶ [41]-[42], as much as applicant has shown the handle being recessed within the outer surface of the target body, Le is also teaching such); and two opposed recesses (100, 102) defined within the target body, proximate the handle (94, Fig. 3, ¶ [42]).
Le is silent about the audible targets being squeaking targets.
Regarding claim 1 , Wiseman teaches an apparatus with a plurality of internal squeaking targets (36 comprising 38, col. 3 lines 49 – col. 4 line 2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Le’s invention with squeaking targets as taught by Wiseman in order to reduce the overall cost of the apparatus while still providing feedback to the user.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le in view of Wiseman as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Heneveld (US 6,089,383).
Le in view of Wiseman is silent about a wall mount structure configured to interface with the handle of the head target and support the same.
Regarding claim 2, Heneveld teaches a wall mount structure (shelf 1) configured to interface with the various sport/exercise equipment and support the same (Figs. 1A-6, please note that upon modification of Le’s invention in view of Wiseman with the wall mount structure of Heneveld, the target body of Le can be placed on the wall mount structure/shelf (1) of Heneveld such that the at least a part of the wall mount structure/shelf (i.e., walls 10, 20, 30 or 40a/40b or the floor 11 or 21, etc.,) interfaces with the handle (94) of the head target and supports the same).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Le’s invention in view of Wiseman with a wall mount structure configured to interface with the various sport/exercise equipment and support the same as taught by Heneveld to have the wall structure interface with and support the handle of the target body of Le in order to enable a user place the target body on the shelf for storage or organization purposes when the target body is not being used.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le in view of Wiseman as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Milligan (US 2016/0220882 A1).
Although Le in view of Wiseman teaches the head target comprising ears (Le: 30, Fig. 1), Le in view of Wiseman is silent about eyewear grooves being located proximate structures of the head target which approximate ears.
Regarding claim 5, Milligan teaches a practice head target for striking practice comprising: a target body shaped in general conformance with a human head (1000, Figs. 1-2, 4a-5c), a plurality of audible targets contained within the target body in a manner approximate eyes of the head target (¶ [13]-[14], [33], [35]), and eyewear grooves located proximate structures of the head target which approximate ears (as shown below).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Eyewear grooves)]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Le’s invention in view of Wiseman with eyewear grooves located proximate structures of the head target which approximate ears as taught by Milligan in order to provide a more realistic target head for the user whereby the head target’s shape conforms more closely to that of a human.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le in view of Wiseman and Milligan as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Heneveld (US 6,089,383).
Le in view of Wiseman and Milligan is silent about a wall mount structure configured to interface with the handle of the head target and support the same.
Regarding claim 6, Heneveld teaches a wall mount structure (shelf 1) configured to interface with the various sport/exercise equipment and support the same (Figs. 1A-6, please note that upon modification of Le’s invention in view of Wiseman with the wall mount structure of Heneveld, the target body of Le can be placed on the wall mount structure/shelf (1) of Heneveld such that the at least a part of the wall mount structure/shelf (i.e., walls 10, 20, 30 or 40a/40b or the floor 11 or 21, etc.,) interfaces with the handle (94) of the head target and supports the same).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Le’s invention in view of Wiseman and Milligan with a wall mount structure configured to interface with the various sport/exercise equipment and support the same as taught by Heneveld to have the wall structure interface with and support the handle of the target body of Le in order to enable a user place the target body on the shelf for storage or organization purposes when the target body is not being used.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 and 7-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 3-4 and 7-8, the prior arts of record fail to disclose, teach or render obvious a practice head target for striking practice comprising: a target body shaped in general conformance with a human head and having an outer surface; a plurality of internal squeaking targets contained within the target body in a manner to approximate eyes of the head target; a handle opposite the squeaking targets and recessed within the outer surface of the target body for manual manipulation of the head target during practice sessions; two opposed recesses defined within the target body, proximate the handle, a wall mount structure configured to interface with the handle of the head target and support the same, eyewear grooves located proximate structures of the head target which approximate ears and the wall mount structure further comprising: a wall mount body with at least two spurs positioned to interface about the handle of the head target in the opposed recesses; a wall mount plate located on a side of the wall mount body opposite the plurality of spurs; and at least one spring positioned between the wall mount body and the wall mount plate (claims 3 and 7).
As shown above the prior arts of record (Le in view of Wiseman, Milligan and Heneveld), teaches a practice head target for striking practice comprising: a target body shaped in general conformance with a human head and having an outer surface; a plurality of internal squeaking targets contained within the target body in a manner to approximate eyes of the head target; a handle opposite the squeaking targets and recessed within the outer surface of the target body for manual manipulation of the head target during practice sessions; two opposed recesses defined within the target body, proximate the handle, a wall mount structure configured to interface with the handle of the head target and support the same (see above for details). However, Le alone or in view of Wiseman, Milligan and Heneveld, fails to teach the wall mount structure further comprising: a wall mount body with at least two spurs positioned to interface about the handle of the head target in the opposed recesses; a wall mount plate located on a side of the wall mount body opposite the plurality of spurs; and at least one spring positioned between the wall mount body and the wall mount plate.
Also see attached PTO-892 for a list of other pertinent prior art references.
Conclusion
/SHILA JALALZADEH ABYANEH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784