DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (WO2022/035270A1, with a publication date of February, 17, 2022, rejection relied on US equivalent Pub. 2023/0299443, hereinafter Kim).
In regard to Claim 1, Kim discloses a method of manufacturing a power storage cell, comprising:
forming a wound electrode assembly by winding a positive electrode (#112), a negative electrode (#111), and a separator (#114) (see figures 1-3 and paragraphs [0116] and [0119]-[0120]);
fixing a winding end portion, in a winding direction, of the wound electrode assembly, by a fixing member (#140) (see figures 1-3 and paragraphs [0116] and [0120]-[0124]);
housing, in a cell case (#120), the wound electrode assembly having the winding end portion fixed by the fixing member (see figures 1-3 and paragraphs [0125]-[0126]);
injecting an electrolyte solution in the cell case (see figures 1-3 and paragraphs [0116], [0125]-[0126] and [0165]); and
releasing fixing of the winding end portion by the fixing member (#140), after the wound electrode assembly is housed in the cell case (#120) and the electrolyte solution is injected in the cell case (#120) (see figures 1-3 and paragraphs [0126] and [0128]).
In regard to Claim 3, Kim discloses wherein the fixing member (#140) is formed of a material having solubility in the electrolyte solution, and fixing of the winding end portion by the fixing member (#140) is released by performing a treatment in a manner that causes the fixing member (#140) to be dissolved in the electrolyte solution injected in the cell case (#120) (see figures 1-3 and paragraphs [0126] and [0128]).
In regard to Claim 4, Kim discloses wherein an outermost layer of the wound electrode assembly is the positive electrode or the negative electrode, and the outermost layer is brought into contact with the cell case (#120) by releasing fixing of the winding end portion by the fixing member (#140) (see figures 1-3 and paragraphs [0121] and [0126]-[0127]).
In regard to Claim 5, Kim discloses wherein a portion of the cell case (#120) that is brought into contact with the outermost layer is made of an electrically conductive material (see paragraphs [0121] and [0127]).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Mineya et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2013/0232773, hereinafter Mineya).
In regard to Claim 1, Mineya discloses a method of manufacturing a power storage cell, comprising:
forming a wound electrode assembly (#4) by winding a positive electrode (#5), a negative electrode (#6), and a separator (#7) (see figures 1-3 and paragraphs [0019] and [0040]);
fixing a winding end portion, in a winding direction, of the wound electrode assembly, by a fixing member (#10) (see figures 1-3 and paragraphs [0019] and [0041]);
housing, in a cell case (#1), the wound electrode assembly having the winding end portion fixed by the fixing member (#10) (see figures 1-3 and paragraphs [0020] and [0041]-[0042]);
injecting an electrolyte solution in the cell case (#1) (see figures 1-3 and paragraphs [0019], [0044] and [0057]); and
releasing fixing of the winding end portion by the fixing member (#10), after the wound electrode assembly is housed in the cell case (#1) and the electrolyte solution is injected in the cell case (#1) (see figures 1-3 and paragraphs [0020]-[0021], [0043]-[0044] and [0060]; Mineya discloses wherein the step of injecting the electrolyte solution into the outer casing #1 may be performed before the ambient temperature is adjusted after the electrode assembly #4 is placed in the outer casing #1. Therefore, the releasing fixing of the winding end portion by the heat-sensitive adhesive tape #10 is occurring after the wound electrode assembly is housed in the outer casing and the electrolyte solution is injected in the outer casing #1, as claimed by the applicant.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mineya in view of Heo et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2020/0161617, hereinafter Heo).
In regard to Claim 2, Mineya discloses the method of manufacturing a power storage cells as recited in claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the fixing member is a hot-melt adhesive, and fixing of the winding end portion by the fixing member is released by heating the electrolyte solution injected in the cell case.
However, Heo teaches a method of manufacturing an electrode assembly comprising forming an electrode assembly by alternatively stacking positive electrodes, separators and negative electrodes, arranging a fixing member including an adhesive layer and an insulating member on a sidewall of the electrode assembly, and melting and then curing the adhesive layer, wherein the adhesive layer includes a hot melt adhesive (see paragraph [0024]). When the fixing member is formed, the edges of the stacked electrode assembly may be firmly held to minimize or reduce distortion of the alignment of the negative electrode, the positive electrode and the separator (see paragraph [0027]). The fixing member includes an adhesive layer which may be a hot-melt adhesive that melts when a certain temperature is applied (see paragraph [0089]).
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the method of manufacturing a power storage cell discloses by Mineya by substituting a known fixing member for another known fixing member, such as a hot-melt adhesive and fixing of the winding end portion by the fixing member is released by heating the electrolyte solution injected in the cell case, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Heo teaches a method of manufacturing an electrode assembly comprising forming an electrode assembly by alternatively stacking positive electrodes, separators and negative electrodes, arranging a fixing member including an adhesive layer and an insulating member on a sidewall of the electrode assembly, and melting and then curing the adhesive layer, wherein the adhesive layer includes a hot melt adhesive, wherein when the fixing member is formed, the edges of the stacked electrode assembly may be firmly held to minimize or reduce distortion of the alignment of the negative electrode, the positive electrode and the separator, and the fixing member includes an adhesive layer which may be a hot melt adhesive that melts when a certain temperature is applied for efficiently temporarily fixing the positive electrode, negative electrode and separator prior to housing with a temperature responsive adhesive and hence, improving ease of manufacture (see paragraphs [0024], [0027] and [0089]).
Conclusion
/JELITZA M PEREZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774