DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 12-13, 15-16, 18 and 23 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1, 3, 9-10, and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,115,778. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that Claims 12-13, 15-16, 18 and 23 are included in and/or can be gleaned from Claims 1, 3, 9-10, and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,115,778.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “third guide which is located away from the second guide in the sheet width direction and configured to guide the sheet supplied from the roll held on the holding member, wherein the second guide is located between the first guide and the third guide” as set forth in Claim 17 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, 1st Paragraph
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification fails to show/describe “a third guide which is located away from the second guide in the sheet width direction and configured to guide the sheet supplied from the roll held on the holding member, wherein the second guide is located between the first guide and the third guide.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, 2nd Paragraph
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 is vague and indefinite. On lines 1-2, the phrase “wherein a detection unit capable of detecting the leading end of the sheet is not located on the first guide” is unclear. If the detection unit is not located on the first guide, then where is it located?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12-16 and 18-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suzuki et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0136981), hereinafter “Suzuki”.
With respect to Claim 12, Suzuki, Figures 1-24, teaches a sheet supplying apparatus comprising:
a holding member (See Paragraph [0041], lines 1-3) configured to hold a roll in which a sheet is wound;
a driving unit (See Paragraph [0041], line 4) configured to rotate the holding member in a first direction to supply the sheet and in a second direction opposite to the first direction;
a first guide 8 (top) configured to guide the sheet supplied from the roll held on the holding member and to move in accordance with an outer diameter of the roll;
a second guide 8 (bottom) which is located away from the first guide in a sheet width direction and configured to guide the sheet supplied from the roll held on the holding member and to move in accordance with the outer diameter of the roll;
a detection unit 301 which is located on the second guide and configured to detect a leading end of the sheet of the roll held on the holding member; and
a control unit 201 configured to execute control of supplying the sheet from the roll by causing the driving unit to rotate the holding member in the first direction.
With respect to Claim 13, Suzuki further teaches wherein the control unit causes the driving unit to rotate the holding member in the first direction, after the leading end is detected by the detection unit by causing the driving unit to rotate the holding member in the second direction. See Claims 5 and 6.
With respect to Claim 14, Suzuki further teaches wherein a plurality of rotating bodies 6,7 contacting the roll are mounted on the second guide.
With respect to Claim 15, Suzuki further teaches wherein the holding member includes a flange and the second guide is located between the flange and the first guide. See Paragraphs [0051]-[0054].
With respect to Claim 16, Suzuki further teaches wherein a detection unit capable of detecting the leading end of the sheet is not located on the first guide.
With respect to Claim 18, Suzuki further teaches 18. (New) The sheet supplying apparatus according to claim 12, further comprising a driving motor configured to drive the holding member.
With respect to Claim 19, Suzuki further teaches a manipulation panel 20 through which information is input to the control unit.
With respect to Claim 20, Suzuki further teaches a spring 46 configured to press the second guide.
With respect to Claim 21, Suzuki further teaches wherein the holding member is capable of holding rolls of different widths.
With respect to Claim 22, Suzuki further teaches wherein one side of the holding member is a reference for rolls of different widths, and the first guide is located near the reference side.
With respect to Claim 23, Suzuki further teaches a printing apparatus comprising: the sheet supplying apparatus according to the sheet supplying apparatus according to a printing unit 15 which ejects ink to print an image on the sheet supplied from the sheet supplying apparatus.
No Art Rejection
With respect to Claim 17, no art rejection can be advanced since any such rejection would require improper reliance on speculative assumptions as to the meaning of the terms in the claim. An absence of a rejection should not be construed as indicating allowable subject matter by the examiner. Note the rejection under 35 USC § 112, 1st Paragraph above.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM A. RIVERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654