DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/12/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4-6 of U.S. patent No. 12700981 and Rudolf (US 20240267932 A1), hereinafter Rudolf . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the system in both has the same components:
receive configuration information that schedules a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) communication associated with a common search space (CSS) in a sub-band full duplex (SBFD) set of symbols; (claim 4-6)
receive an indication of whether the SBFD set of symbols is to be treated as a non-SBFD set of symbols; and (does not explicitly teach)
perform one of receiving the PDCCH communication or refraining from receiving the PDCCH communication based on whether the SBFD set of symbols is to be treated as the non-SBFD set of symbols (claim 6).
Hence, the U.S. patent No. 12700981 does not explicitly teach “receiving an indication of whether the SBFD set of symbols is to be treated as a non-SBFD set of symbols”
Rudolf teaches receiving an indication of whether the SBFD set of symbols is to be treated as a non-SBFD set of symbols ([0130] it would be beneficial for a gNB to separately indicate to a UE to perform PDCCH monitoring adaptations in non-SBFD slots/symbols and in SBFD slots/symbols).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Rudolf to the teaching of U.S. patent No. 12700981. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve spectral efficiency and reducing latency in user and/or control planes ([0093] Rudolf).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Abdelghaffar (US 20240121070 A1), hereinafter Abdelghaffar in view of Rudolf (US 20240267932 A1), hereinafter Rudolf.
Regarding to claim 1,
Abdelghaffar teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, which are configured, individually or in any combination, to:
receive configuration information that schedules a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) communication associated with a common search space (CSS) in a sub-band full duplex (SBFD) set of symbols ([0117] More particularly, in some aspects the UE 120 may be configured, preconfigured, or specified to always receive the SSB communication and/or the PDCCH communication associated with the CSS, such as for purposes of ensuring that the UE 120 receives control information or similar high-priority communications. In such aspects, based at least in part on the at least one of the configuration information or the DCI scheduling the uplink transmission in the set of symbols, the UE 120 may receive the SSB communication and/or the PDCCH communication associated with the CSS in the SBFD set of symbols (as shown by reference number 830), and refrain from transmitting the uplink transmission in the SBFD set of symbols (e.g., refrain from transmitting the message shown in connection with reference number 835)).
Abdelghaffar does not explicitly teach receiving an indication of whether the SBFD set of symbols is to be treated as a non-SBFD set of symbols; and perform one of receiving the PDCCH communication or refraining from receiving the PDCCH communication based on whether the SBFD set of symbols is to be treated as the non-SBFD set of symbols.
Rudolf teaches receiving an indication of whether the SBFD set of symbols is to be treated as a non-SBFD set of symbols ([0130] it would be beneficial for a gNB to separately indicate to a UE to perform PDCCH monitoring adaptations in non-SBFD slots/symbols and in SBFD slots/symbols);
perform one of receiving the PDCCH communication or refraining from receiving the PDCCH communication based on whether the SBFD set of symbols is to be treated as the non-SBFD set of symbols ([0130] when the gNB 102 determines that a received SINR at the UE 116 is poor in SBFD slots/symbols, for example through a corresponding CSI report by the UE 116, the gNB 102 can indicate to the UE 116 to skip PDCCH monitoring in SBFD slots/symbols for a duration that can include next CSI reports by the UE 116 and the gNB 102 can indicate to the UE 116 to start PDCCH monitoring in SBFD slots/symbols when the received SINR at the UE 116 improves).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Rudolf to the teaching of Abdelghaffar. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve spectral efficiency and reducing latency in user and/or control planes ([0093] Rudolf).
Regarding to claim 2,
Abdelghaffar and Rudolf teach the UE of claim 1,
Abdelghaffar does not explicitly teaches wherein the indication of whether the SBFD set of symbols is to be treated as the non-SBFD set of symbols is associated with the configuration information, and wherein the one or more processors, to perform the one of receiving the PDCCH communication or refraining from receiving the PDCCH communication, are configured to receive the PDCCH communication based at least in part on treating the SBFD set of symbols as the non-SBFD set of symbols.
Rudolf teaches wherein the indication of whether the SBFD set of symbols is to be treated as the non-SBFD set of symbols is associated with the configuration information, and
wherein the one or more processors, to perform the one of receiving the PDCCH communication or refraining from receiving the PDCCH communication, are configured to
receive the PDCCH communication based at least in part on treating the SBFD set of symbols as the non-SBFD set of symbols ([0130] Due to the different received signal-to-interference-plus-noise (SINR) conditions in non-SBFD slots/symbols and in SBFD slots/symbols, it would be beneficial for a gNB to separately indicate to a UE to perform PDCCH monitoring adaptations in non-SBFD slots/symbols and in SBFD slots/symbols and [0131] enables improved utilization of the UE 116 capability for PDCCH receptions as an allocation of number of PDCCH candidates per CCE aggregation level, of DCI formats, of CORESETs where the UE 116 monitors PDCCH, and so on, can be adapted by a serving gNB separately for non-SBFD symbols/slots and for SBFD symbols/slots and [0147] legacy field can indicate a first PDCCH skipping duration value for non-SBFD symbols/slots).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Rudolf to the teaching of Abdelghaffar. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve spectral efficiency and reducing latency in user and/or control planes ([0093] Rudolf).
Regarding to claim 3,
Abdelghaffar and Rudolf teach the UE of claim 1,
Abdelghaffar further teaches wherein the indication of whether the SBFD set of symbols is to be treated as the non-SBFD set of symbols is a communication that schedules, in the SBFD set of symbols, an uplink transmission that is associated with a higher priority than a priority associated with the PDCCH communication, and wherein the one or more processors, to perform the one of receiving the PDCCH communication or refraining from receiving the PDCCH communication, are configured to refrain from receiving the PDCCH communication based at least in part on receiving the communication that schedules the uplink transmission ([0119] In some aspects, the UE 120 may be configured...to always transmit the uplink transmission and refrain from receiving ... the PDCCH communication associated with the CSS when ... the PDCCH communication associated with the CSS is scheduled in a slot indicated as an uplink slot. In such aspects, based at least in part on the UE 120 receiving configuration information indicating that the SBFD set of symbols is associated with an uplink slot).
Regarding to claim 4,
Abdelghaffar and Rudolf teach the UE of claim 1,
Abdelghaffar does not explicitly teaches wherein the indication of whether the SBFD set of symbols is to be treated as the non-SBFD set of symbols is based at least in part on a type of the CSS that is associated with the PDCCH communication.
Rudolf further teaches wherein the indication of whether the SBFD set of symbols is to be treated as the non-SBFD set of symbols is based at least in part on a type of the CSS that is associated with the PDCCH communication ([0123] Using Rel-17 NR, when a UE is configured with a PDCCH monitoring reduction feature, PDCCH monitoring by the UE 116 can be adapted by the gNB 102 for Type3-PDCCH common search space (CSS) sets or UE-specific search space (USS) sets on the active DL BWP of the serving cell. For example, as described in REF3, an adaptation can be triggered using a PDCCH monitoring adaptation indication field in DCI formats 0_1/0_2/1_1/1_2.
[0162] For example, PDCCHSkippingDurationList-r19 may be included in one or more RRC messages and/or IEs and a parameter PDCCHSkippingDurationList-r19 may be received by the UE 116 based on a system information block (SIB), such as a SIB1, or by a common RRC signaling, or by UE-specific RRC signaling. For example, and without loss of generality, PDCCHSkippingDurationList-r19 may be provided by the gNB 102 to the UE 116 as part of RRC messages of type RRCSetup, RRCReconfiguration, SIB1 or SystemInformation, or may be included in RRC IEs of type ServingCellConfig, ServingCellConfigCommon, or ServingCellConfigSIB1. Such RRC configuration parameters may be of enumerated, listed or sequence type or may be encoded as a bit string. In one example, PDCCHSkippingDurationList-r19 may be included in an IE of type PDCCH-Config. Multiple parameter sets for PDCCHSkippingDurationList-r19 may be provided to the UE 116).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Rudolf to the teaching of Abdelghaffar. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve spectral efficiency and reducing latency in user and/or control planes ([0093] Rudolf).
Regarding to claim 14,
Abdelghaffar and Rudolf teach the UE of claim 1,
Abdelghaffar further teaches wherein the SBFD set of symbols is a subset of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols associated with an SBFD slot, and wherein the configuration information further indicates that all OFDM symbols, of the SBFD slot.... ([0091] In some examples, a network node 110 may be capable of operating in an SBFD mode, but a UE 120 in wireless communication with the network node 110 may not be capable of operating in the SBFD mode (e.g., the UE 120 may only have an HD capability), resulting in time-domain collisions of uplink and downlink communications at the UE 120. In such aspects, a UE 120 may be referred as an SBFD-aware half-duplex UE, which means that the UE 120 is not capable of full duplex operation but is aware that network node 110 operates in full duplex mode. More particularly, FIG. 7 depicts example collision scenarios that a UE 120 may face when the UE 120 is operating in an HD mode and the network node 110 is operating in an 1-D mode (e.g., an SBFD mode)).
Abdelghaffar does not explicitly teaches symbols are to be treated as the non-SBFD set of symbols .
Rudolf teaches symbols are to be treated as the non-SBFD set of symbols ([0097] In the following, for brevity, full-duplex slots/symbols and SBFD slots/symbols may be jointly referred to as SBFD slots/symbol and non-full-duplex slots/symbols and normal DL or UL slot/symbols may be referred to as non-SBFD slots/symbols).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Rudolf to the teaching of Abdelghaffar. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve spectral efficiency and reducing latency in user and/or control planes ([0093] Rudolf).
Regarding to claim 15,
Abdelghaffar and Rudolf teach the UE of claim 1,
Abdelghaffar further teaches wherein the indication of whether the SBFD set of symbols is to be treated as the non-SBFD set of symbols indicates that the SBFD set of symbols is not to be treated as the non-SBFD set of symbols, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive a scheduling communication that schedules one of a downlink communication or an uplink communication in the SBFD set of symbols ([0110] UE 120 may receive, at least one of configuration information or DCI scheduling an uplink transmission in the set of symbols (e.g., the SBFD set of symbols indicated by reference number 815)).
Regarding to claim 16,
Abdelghaffar and Rudolf teach the UE of claim 1,
Abdelghaffar further teaches wherein the indication of whether the SBFD set of symbols is to be treated as the non-SBFD set of symbols indicates that the SBFD set of symbols is not to be treated as the non-SBFD set of symbols, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to refrain from transmitting a semi-statically scheduled uplink transmission in the SBFD set of symbols based at least in part on the SBFD set of symbols not being treated as the non-SBFD set of symbols ([0129] As shown by reference number 925, the UE 120 may identify how to handle a potential or actual collision in the SBFD set of symbols due to the network node 110's SBFD operation in the set of symbols. More particularly, as described above in connection with FIG. 7, the network node 110's SBFD operation may result in various collision scenarios at the HD UE 120, such as when an RO is scheduled in an uplink sub-band in a semi-statically configured downlink slot (as described above in connection with reference numbers 710 and 712), or else a similarly configured flexible slot, and/or when an RO is scheduled in a semi-statically configured uplink slot and a downlink transmission is scheduled to be received in a downlink sub-band of the semi-statically configured uplink slot (as described above in connection with reference number 716), among other examples. Accordingly, in the operations shown in connection with reference number 925, the UE 120 may identify whether to transmit a communication in an RO associated with the set of symbols (e.g., the SBFD symbols indicated by reference number 915) based at least in part on the indication).
Regarding to claim 17,
Abdelghaffar and Rudolf teach the UE of claim 1,
Abdelghaffar further teaches wherein the indication of whether the SBFD set of symbols is to be treated as the non-SBFD set of symbols indicates that the SBFD set of symbols is not to be treated as the non-SBFD set of symbols, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit a dynamically scheduled uplink transmission in the SBFD set of symbols ([0119] the UE 120 may be configured... to always transmit the uplink transmission and refrain from receiving ... the PDCCH communication associated with the CSS when ... the PDCCH communication associated with the CSS is scheduled in a slot indicated as an uplink slot.... based at least in part on the UE 120 receiving configuration information indicating that the SBFD set of symbols is associated with an uplink slot ... a semi-static flexible slot that is dynamically indicated as an uplink slot).
Regarding to claim 18,
Abdelghaffar and Rudolf teach the UE of claim 1,
Abdelghaffar does not explicitly teaches wherein the indication of whether the SBFD set of symbols is to be treated as the non-SBFD set of symbols indicates that the SBFD set of symbols is not to be treated as the non-SBFD set of symbols, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to apply at least one of an automatic gain control gain associated with an SBFD slot or a transmission configuration indicator state associated with the SBFD slot based at least in part on the SBFD set of symbols not being treated as the non-SBFD set of symbols.
Rudolf further teaches wherein the indication of whether the SBFD set of symbols is to be treated as the non-SBFD set of symbols indicates that the SBFD set of symbols is not to be treated as the non-SBFD set of symbols, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to apply at least one of an automatic gain control gain associated with an SBFD slot or a transmission configuration indicator state associated with the SBFD slot based at least in part on the SBFD set of symbols not being treated as the non-SBFD set of symbols ([0081]The UE can be configured with a list of up to M transmission configuration indication (TCI) State configurations within the higher layer parameter PDSCH-Config to decode PDSCH according to a detected PDCCH with DCI intended for the UE and the given serving cell, and [0128] (gNB transmissions in a DL slot or symbol, i.e., non-SBFD slot or symbol ...he energy per resource element (EPRE) settings for gNB transmissions in a SBFD slot or symbol with full-duplex operation may be constrained to prevent gNB-side receiver automatic gain control (AGC) blocking and to enable effective implementation of serial interference cancellation (SIC) during gNB receptions in the UL subband of the SBFD slot or symbol when comparted to the EPRE settings of gNB transmissions in the normal DL slot. Therefore, the gNB 102 transmission power budget and, correspondingly, the received signal strength available for the UE 116 receiver may not be same for a signal/channel being transmitted by the gNB 102 on a non-SBFD slot/symbol when compared to transmission by the gNB 102 of a same signal/channel on an SBFD slot/symbol)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Rudolf to the teaching of Abdelghaffar. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve spectral efficiency and reducing latency in user and/or control planes ([0093] Rudolf).
Claim(s) 19 (method, UE) and 20 (non-transitory computer-readable medium, UE) is/are rejected under the same reasoning as claim(s) 1 (apparatus, UE), where Abdelghaffar teaches both device and method ([0010]-[0011] and [0014]).
Claim(s) 5-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Abdelghaffar and Rudolf and further in view of Rudolf (US 20250048389), hereinafter Rudolf389.
Regarding to claim 5,
Abdelghaffar and Rudolf teach the UE of claim 1,
Abdelghaffar and Rudolf do not explicitly teach wherein the indication of whether the SBFD set of symbols is to be treated as the non-SBFD set of symbols is an explicit CSS indication.
Rudolf389 teaches wherein the indication of whether the SBFD set of symbols is to be treated as the non-SBFD set of symbols is an explicit CSS indication ([0315] ]UE monitors associated PDCCH according to a common search space as described in [2] and [3], can also be used to provide an indication value to the UE for PDCCH monitoring adaptation with respect to receptions from TRP A or from TRP B or from TRP A and TRP B when SBFD configurations are provided/indicated for TRP A and/or TRP B)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Rudolf389 to the teaching of Abdelghaffar and Rudolf. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve the UL coverage or throughput or spectral efficiency when operating on a serving cell ([0125] Rudolf389).
Regarding to claim 6,
Abdelghaffar and Rudolf and Rudolf389 teach the UE of claim 5,
Abdelghaffar does not explicitly teaches wherein the explicit CSS indication indicates that the SBFD set of symbols is to be treated as the non-SBFD set of symbols, and wherein the one or more processors, to perform the one of receiving the PDCCH communication or refraining from receiving the PDCCH communication, are configured to receive the PDCCH communication based at least in part on applying at least one of an automatic gain control gain associated with a non-SBFD slot or a transmission configuration indicator state associated with the non-SBFD slot
Rudolf further teaches wherein the explicit CSS indication indicates that the SBFD set of symbols is to be treated as the non-SBFD set of symbols, and wherein the one or more processors, to perform the one of receiving the PDCCH communication or refraining from receiving the PDCCH communication, are configured to receive the PDCCH communication based at least in part on applying at least one of
an automatic gain control gain associated with a non-SBFD slot or
a transmission configuration indicator state associated with the non-SBFD slot ([0081] The UE can be configured with a list of up to M transmission configuration indication (TCI) State configurations within the higher layer parameter PDSCH-Config to decode PDSCH according to a detected PDCCH with DCI intended for the UE and the given serving cell, and [0128] (gNB transmissions in a DL slot or symbol, i.e., non-SBFD slot or symbol ...he energy per resource element (EPRE) settings for gNB transmissions in a SBFD slot or symbol with full-duplex operation may be constrained to prevent gNB-side receiver automatic gain control (AGC) blocking and to enable effective implementation of serial interference cancellation (SIC) during gNB receptions in the UL subband of the SBFD slot or symbol when comparted to the EPRE settings of gNB transmissions in the normal DL slot. Therefore, the gNB 102 transmission power budget and, correspondingly, the received signal strength available for the UE 116 receiver may not be same for a signal/channel being transmitted by the gNB 102 on a non-SBFD slot/symbol when compared to transmission by the gNB 102 of a same signal/channel on an SBFD slot/symbol)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Rudolf to the teaching of Abdelghaffar. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve spectral efficiency and reducing latency in user and/or control planes ([0093] Rudolf).
Regarding to claim 7,
Abdelghaffar and Rudolf and Rudolf389 teach the UE of claim 5,
Abdelghaffar does not explicitly teaches wherein the explicit CSS indication indicates that the SBFD set of symbols is not to be treated as the non-SBFD set of symbols, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive a scheduling communication scheduling an uplink transmission in the SBFD set of symbols
Rudolf teaches wherein the explicit CSS indication indicates that the SBFD set of symbols is not to be treated as the non-SBFD set of symbols, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive a scheduling communication scheduling an uplink transmission in the SBFD set of symbols ([0095] UE is scheduled to transmit in a full-duplex slot, the transmission may be scheduled in an UL subband of the full-duplex slot and [0120] non-full-duplex slots/symbols and normal DL or UL slot/symbols may be referred to as non-SBFD slots/symbols and [0146] DCI formats providing various control information and are monitored according to a common search space (CSS). Such DCI formats include a DCI format 2_0 providing a structure of a slot in term of DL, UL or flexible/reserved symbols over a number of slots, a DCI format 2_2 providing transmit power control (TPC) commands for PUSCH or PUCCH transmissions, a DCI format 2_3 providing TPC commands for SRS transmissions and also potentially triggering a SRS transmission on a number of cells, and so on, and a corresponding CSS is referred to as Type3-PDCCH CSS).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Rudolf to the teaching of Abdelghaffar. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve spectral efficiency and reducing latency in user and/or control planes ([0093] Rudolf).
Regarding to claim 8,
Abdelghaffar and Rudolf and Rudolf389 teach the UE of claim 5,
Abdelghaffar further teaches wherein the explicit CSS indication is associated with multiple CSS types, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive the explicit CSS indication via a system information block ([0092] a CSS may correspond to a Type 0 PDCCH CSS (sometimes referred to as Type0-PDCCH), a Type 0A PDCCH CSS (sometimes referred to as Type0A-PDCCH), a Type 1 PDCCH CSS (sometimes referred to as Type 1-PDCCH), or a Type 2 PDCCH CSS (sometimes referred to as Type2-PDCCH). A Type 0 PDCCH CSS may be indicated using a system information (SI) ... may be associated with an SIB decoding use case, such as for decoding SIB1. A Type 0A PDCCH CSS may be indicated using an SI-RNTI on a primary cell and/or may also be associated with an SIB).
Regarding to claim 9,
Abdelghaffar and Rudolf and Rudolf389 teach the UE of claim 5,
Abdelghaffar further teaches wherein the explicit CSS indication is associated with a single CSS type, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive the explicit CSS indication via one of a system information block (SIB) or radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0092] a CSS may correspond to a Type 0 PDCCH CSS (sometimes referred to as Type0-PDCCH), a Type 0A PDCCH CSS (sometimes referred to as Type0A-PDCCH), a Type 1 PDCCH CSS (sometimes referred to as Type 1-PDCCH), or a Type 2 PDCCH CSS (sometimes referred to as Type2-PDCCH). A Type 0 PDCCH CSS may be indicated using a system information (SI) ... may be associated with an SIB decoding use case, such as for decoding SIB1. A Type 0A PDCCH CSS may be indicated using an SI-RNTI on a primary cell and/or may also be associated with an SIB).
Regarding to claim 10,
Abdelghaffar and Rudolf and Rudolf389 teaches the UE of claim 9,
Abdelghaffar further teaches wherein the single CSS type is one of a Type 1 CSS, a Type 2 CSS, or a Type 2A CSS, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive the explicit CSS indication via the SIB or a common PDCCH configuration associated with the RRC signaling ([0092] a CSS may correspond to a Type 0 PDCCH CSS (sometimes referred to as Type0-PDCCH), a Type 0A PDCCH CSS (sometimes referred to as Type0A-PDCCH), a Type 1 PDCCH CSS (sometimes referred to as Type 1-PDCCH), or a Type 2 PDCCH CSS (sometimes referred to as Type2-PDCCH). A Type 0 PDCCH CSS may be indicated using a system information (SI) ... may be associated with an SIB decoding use case, such as for decoding SIB1. A Type 0A PDCCH CSS may be indicated using an SI-RNTI on a primary cell and/or may also be associated with an SIB).
Regarding to claim 11,
Abdelghaffar and Rudolf and Rudolf389 teaches the UE of claim 9,
Abdelghaffar does not explicitly teaches wherein the single CSS type is a Type 3 CSS, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive the explicit CSS indication via a search space configuration of the CSS.
Rudolf teaches wherein the single CSS type is a Type 3 CSS, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive the explicit CSS indication via a search space configuration of the CSS ([0162] For example, PDCCHSkippingDurationList-r19 may be included in one or more RRC messages and/or IEs and a parameter PDCCHSkippingDurationList-r19 may be received by the UE 116 based on a system information block (SIB), such as a SIB1, or by a common RRC signaling, or by UE-specific RRC signaling. For example, and without loss of generality, PDCCHSkippingDurationList-r19 may be provided by the gNB 102 to the UE 116 as part of RRC messages of type RRCSetup, RRCReconfiguration, SIB1 or SystemInformation, or may be included in RRC IEs of type ServingCellConfig, ServingCellConfigCommon, or ServingCellConfigSIB1. Such RRC configuration parameters may be of enumerated, listed or sequence type or may be encoded as a bit string. In one example, PDCCHSkippingDurationList-r19 may be included in an IE of type PDCCH-Config. Multiple parameter sets for PDCCHSkippingDurationList-r19 may be provided to the UE 116).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Rudolf to the teaching of Abdelghaffar and Rudolf389. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve spectral efficiency and reducing latency in user and/or control planes ([0093] Rudolf).
Regarding to claim 12,
Abdelghaffar and Rudolf teach the UE of claim 1,
Abdelghaffar and Rudolf do not explicitly teach wherein the SBFD set of symbols is a subset of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols associated with an SBFD slot, and wherein the configuration information further indicates that only the subset of OFDM symbols overlapping with CSS symbols are to be treated as the non-SBFD set of symbols.
Rudolf389 teaches wherein the SBFD set of symbols is a subset of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols associated with an SBFD slot, and wherein the configuration information further indicates that only the subset of OFDM symbols overlapping with CSS symbols are to be treated as the non-SBFD set of symbols (Fig. 14 and [0254] For example, a UE that is provided PDCCHSkippingDurationList-rxx that includes a set of PDCCH skipping durations, may be indicated a duration from the set of PDCCH skipping durations through a value of a PDCCH monitoring adaptation field in a DCI, for example as previously described, for skipping PDCCH ... on non-SBFD or SBFD symbols or on an SBFD subband when respective PDCCH monitoring occasions coincide or at least partially overlap on symbols with a selected and designated symbol type or SBFD subband type).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Rudolf389 to the teaching of Abdelghaffar and Rudolf. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve the UL coverage or throughput or spectral efficiency when operating on a serving cell ([0125] Rudolf389).
Regarding to claim 13,
Abdelghaffar and Rudolf teach the UE of claim 1,
Abdelghaffar and Rudolf do not explicitly teach wherein the SBFD set of symbols is a subset of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols associated with an SBFD slot, and wherein the configuration information further indicates that the subset of OFDM symbols overlapping with CSS symbols and an additional set of OFDM symbols in the SBFD slot that are non-overlapping with the CSS symbols are to be treated as the non-SBFD set of symbols.
Rudolf389 teaches wherein the SBFD set of symbols is a subset of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols associated with an SBFD slot, and wherein the configuration information further indicates that the subset of OFDM symbols overlapping with CSS symbols and an additional set of OFDM symbols in the SBFD slot that are non-overlapping with the CSS symbols are to be treated as the non-SBFD set of symbols (Fig. 14 and [0254] For example, a UE that is provided PDCCHSkippingDurationList-rxx that includes a set of PDCCH skipping durations, may be indicated a duration from the set of PDCCH skipping durations through a value of a PDCCH monitoring adaptation field in a DCI, for example as previously described, for skipping PDCCH ... on non-SBFD or SBFD symbols or on an SBFD subband when respective PDCCH monitoring occasions coincide or at least partially overlap on symbols with a selected and designated symbol type or SBFD subband type).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Rudolf389 to the teaching of Abdelghaffar and Rudolf. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve the UL coverage or throughput or spectral efficiency when operating on a serving cell ([0125] Rudolf389).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to VAN T NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-6178. The examiner can normally be reached 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM (EST). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman A Abaza can be reached at (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/VAN TA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465