Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements are being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 6, 9, and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 1 and 9, please amend “one or more...medium” to read “one or more…mediums” (plural).
Regarding claim 6, please amend “the user device” to reflect “the first user device”, which is recited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, please amend “the control devices” to read “the plurality of control devices” for consistent claim language.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 5, 7, 8, 12-14, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 2 and 14, claim 2 recites “wherein the status notification includes an indication that the grinding operation is complete and an indication that the grinding operation has stopped due to an error”. The claim imparts that the grinding operation is both complete and has an error; it is not clear how the grinding operation is complete while there is also an error. .
Regarding claim 5, claim 5 recites “when the user interface includes an onboard user interface (X) and a wireless user interface (Y), the onboard user interface including limited functionality relative to the wireless user interface”. Claim 4, from which claim 5 depends, recites “wherein the user interface comprises at least one of a user interface onboard” (A) and “a wireless user interface local” (B). Claim 5 seemingly erroneously duplicates the antecedent bases of elements of claim 4. For example, it is unclear how an onboard user interface (X) of claim 5 differs from a user interface onboard (A) of claim 4, and how a wireless user interface (Y) of claim 5 differs from a wireless user interface (B) of claim 4. Please amend the claim to reflect applicants intent.
Regarding claim 7, claim 7 recites “wherein transmitting the status notification includes transmitting the status notification to a plurality of second user devices”. Claim 1, from which claim 7 depends, also recites “transmitting a status notification of the requested grinding operation to the first user device”. The claim language as recited seemingly contradicts or negates the recitations of claim 1. Please amend claim 1 to reflect that the status notification is sent to both the first user device and a plurality of second user devices, if Applicant intends the claim to reflect the suggested scope.
Regarding claim 8, recitation of “the second user devices” does not have antecedent basis. If Applicant chooses to change the dependency of claim 8 to depend from claim 7, please also amend claim 8 to reflect “wherein each of the plurality of second user devices…”.
Regarding claim 12, recitation of “a status notification” has previously established antecedent basis within the scope of claim 9. It is thus unclear what is being imparted into the claimed invention. Furthermore, in the recitation of “transmit the data corresponding to performance of the requested machine operation to a list of second user devices”, it is unclear how the data is transmitted to a list or if the data is intended to be transferred to each of a plurality of second user devices, wherein a list comprises all of the plurality of second user devices. This issue is exacerbated by claim 13, as pointed out below.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 recites “wherein the plurality of second user devices comprises a list of mobile user devices”. Claim 12, from which claim 13 depends, recites “a list of second user devices”. It is unclear how the list of claim 12 differs from the new recitation of a list in claim 13. Furthermore, in the recitation of “wherein the plurality of second user devices comprises a list of mobile user devices”, it is unclear if each of the plurality of second user devices comprises a list of mobile user devices, or if the plurality of second user devices are in a singular list.
Regarding claim 17, recitation of “the requesting user interface” does not have antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 recites “software updates” and “a software update”, i.e. both singular and plural within the same claim scope. It is unclear what is being imparted into the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Smith (US 20240293913) and Smith (20210007281).
Examiner’s note: Smith ‘913 specifically incorporates by reference U.S. PGPub 20210007281 in its entirety in [0062], i.e. Smith ‘281. MPEP 2163.07(b) states (emphasis added):
“Instead of repeating some information contained in another document, an application may attempt to incorporate the content of another document or part thereof by reference to the document in the text of the specification. The information incorporated is as much a part of the application as filed as if the text was repeated in the application, and should be treated as part of the text of the application as filed.”
Thus, in accordance with the above MPEP citation, the disclosure of Smith ‘281 is being treated as a part of Smith ‘913. Please see below for the specific citations to each reference where relevant. For brevity purposes, Examiner states “Smith ‘913” below; as used herein, Smith ‘913 reflects the subject matter of Smith ‘913 and the incorporated subject matter of Smith ‘281.
Regarding claim 1, Smith ‘913 discloses a control system for a lawn mower blade grinding machine (Smith ‘913 [0004]: a system for controlling a blade sharpening and task robot), the control system including:
one or more control devices (Smith ‘913: see at least [0059] disclosing the computing device refers to one or more electronic devices, see also [0064]; see also task system 102 disclosed in [0066] and [0085]);
one or more processors (Smith ‘913: see at least the at least one processor disclosed in [0011]; see also [0032], [0087], [0101-0102]); and
one or more non-transitory computer readable medium (Smith ‘913: see memory disclosed in [0059], [0078]; see also [0061-0062] disclosing a data storage device; see also Smith ‘281: wherein [0157] discloses a computer readable memory device) to store computer executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the control device to perform operations including:
receiving user inputs from a first user device, the user inputs including parameters which define a requested grinding operation (Smith ‘913: see user inputs and programs disclosed in [0092]; see also [0094] disclosing the input 309 is configured for use with one or more input sources, device receivers, remote receivers, external device receivers, to control or program the robot controlled by an owner/user; see also [0104]; see tasks disclosed in [0007-0010]; see also laptop computer, tablet computer, cell phone or smartphone, PDA in [0059-0064]; see also the data associated with the task as disclosed in [0014-0015], [0018]; see also Smith ‘281: wherein [0098] discloses a remote including a mode button 21, selector button 22, and a task button 23, see also [0039] regarding a GUI);
directing performance of the grinding operation by the lawn mower grinding machine at least via the one or more control devices (Smith ‘913: see [0030-0032]); and
transmitting a status notification of the requested grinding operation to the first user device (Smith ‘913: wherein data can be communicated as disclosed in [0087], wherein [0088] discloses sensors configured to communicate data associated with the lawn mower 106; see also [0122-0123] regarding the sharpening operation and the blade data; see also [0080-0086], [0102]; see also [0004] regarding a message comprising data; see also Smith ‘281: wherein [0097-0099] discloses seeing which task is being completed, which is controlled, as well as the feedback provided; see also [0088], [0136], [0121], [0147]).
Regarding claim 2, Smith ‘913 discloses the invention as applied above, wherein Smith ‘913 further discloses wherein the status notification includes an indication that the grinding operation is complete (Smith ‘913: wherein the message includes details associated with the task including a time to complete the task, steps required to complete the task, wherein [0082] discloses performing a plurality of tasks; see Smith ‘281: wherein [0081] discloses messages include the number of tasks completed, the next time for tasks to be completed, the tasks completed; see also [0098], [0147]) and an indication that the grinding operation has stopped due to an error (Smith ‘913: wherein a defected blade may be detected and instead repairing or replacement takes place, i.e. the grinding operation is stopped as a result of a defect, see [0022], [0023]; see also [0072-0074], [0079-0081]; Smith ‘281: pausing or stopping a task is disclosed in [0136] and [0145]).
Regarding claim 3, Smith ‘913 discloses the invention as applied above, wherein Smith ‘913 further discloses wherein the first user device comprises a user interface (Smith ‘913: cellular phone, smart phone, standard phone, mobile device disclosed in [0059]; see also [0064], as well as panel disclosed in [0091-0092]; Smith ‘281: see [0039] describing the GUI, as well as [0098-0100], [0141]).
Regarding claim 4, Smith ‘913 discloses the invention as applied above, wherein Smith ‘913 further discloses wherein the user interface comprises at least one of a user interface onboard the lawn mower grinding machine and a wireless user interface local to the lawn mower grinding machine (Smith ‘281: see [0098-0100], as well as [0111], [0141], [0039], [0082]; see Smith ‘913: cellular phone, smart phone, standard phone, mobile device disclosed in [0059-0060]; see also [0064], [0094], [0104], [0087], [0092], [0094]).
Regarding claim 5, Smith ‘913 discloses the invention as applied above, wherein Smith ‘913 further discloses when the user interface includes an onboard user interface and a wireless user interface, the onboard user interface including limited functionality relative to the wireless user interface (wherein in the context of claim 5, the onboard user interface is not limited to being onboard the lawn mower given the antecedent basis remains separate; see at Smith ‘913 disclosing of a panel 307 which is onboard the sharpening device in [0087], [0092]; wherein the function of the panel can include buttons, battery power, user inputs, and so forth; wherein there is also a wireless device configured to receive information associated with the grinding operation, i.e. more limited in comparison; see also [0059] and [0064]; see also Smith ‘281: [0098-0100], as well as [0111], [0141], [0039]).
Regarding claim 6, Smith ‘913 discloses the invention as applied above, wherein Smith ‘913 further discloses including wirelessly receiving the user inputs from the user device and wirelessly transmitting the status notification to the user device (Smith ‘913: see wireless connections described in at least [0060], [0064]; see also Smith ‘281: [0080-0081], [0100-0101], [0111], [0136], [0141]).
Regarding claim 7, Smith ‘913 discloses the invention as applied above, wherein Smith ‘913 further discloses wherein transmitting the status notification includes transmitting the status notification to a plurality of second user devices (Smith ‘913: see [0004], [0014], [0059-0064], Smith ‘281: see the plurality of devices disclosed in [0097-0100], [0081]).
Regarding claim 8, Smith ‘913 discloses the invention as applied above, wherein Smith ‘913 further discloses wherein the second user devices comprise mobile devices, and wherein transmitting the status notification includes transmitting the status notification at least via a cellular network (Smith ‘913: see [0059-0064] disclosing mobile devices and network interface; see also Smith ‘281: [0080], [0100-0101]).
Regarding claim 9, Smith ‘913 discloses a lawn mower blade grinding machine (see Abstract) comprising:
a grinding system including one or more grinding wheels controllable to perform one or more types of lawn mower blade sharpening procedures (see Smith ‘281 Figures 3A, 3B regarding task arm 14c and the task tip attached thereon, as well as [0084]: task tip location 15 is configured to accommodate multiple different and/or similar task tips as a single tip and/or multiple tips at the same time and/or in conjunction with each other; see Figures 9A-9O regarding the task tips; wherein tips in 9A, 9B, 9N, 9O are configured to sharpen a mower blade cutting edge, and wherein [0113-0127] discloses the various types of task tips, including that the one or more task tips may be round and rotate, i.e. a grinding system including one or more grinding wheels; see also control disclosed in [0079-0081]; see also Abstract of Smith ‘913 regarding controlling a blade sharpening and task robot, as well as [0106-0107]); and
a connected control system to connect via a wired or wireless connection to a network (Smith ‘913 [0004]: a system for controlling a blade sharpening and task robot, wherein [0059] discloses a network interface, wherein [0060] discloses a wired or wireless connection, see also [0064]), the connected control system including:
a plurality of control devices (Smith ‘913: see at least [0059] disclosing the computing device refers to one or more electronic devices, see also [0064]; see also task system 102 disclosed in [0066] and [0085]);
one or more processors (Smith ‘913: see at least the at least one processor disclosed in [0011]; see also [0032], [0087], [0101-0102]); and
one or more non-transitory computer readable storage medium (Smith ‘913: see memory disclosed in [0059], [0078]; see also [0061-0062] disclosing a data storage device; see also Smith ‘281: wherein [0157] discloses a computer readable memory device) storing computer-executable instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the control system to:
receive user inputs from at least one first user device, the user inputs including parameters defining a requested machine operation (Smith ‘913: see user inputs and programs disclosed in [0092]; see also [0094] disclosing the input 309 is configured for use with one or more input sources, device receivers, remote receivers, external device receivers, to control or program the robot controlled by an owner/user; see also [0104]; see tasks disclosed in [0007-0010]; see also laptop computer, tablet computer, cell phone or smartphone, PDA in [0059-0064]; see also the data associated with the task as disclosed in [0014-0015], [0018]; see also Smith ‘281: wherein [0098] discloses a remote including a mode button 21, selector button 22, and a task button 23, see also [0039] regarding a GUI);
direct performance of the requested machine operation by the grinding machine (Smith ‘913: see [0030-0032]); and
transmit data corresponding to performance of the requested machine operation to the at least one first user device (Smith ‘913: wherein data can be communicated as disclosed in [0087], wherein [0088] discloses sensors configured to communicate data associated with the lawn mower 106; see also [0122-0123] regarding the sharpening operation and the blade data; see also [0080-0086], [0102]; see also Smith ‘281: wherein [0097-0099] discloses seeing which task is being completed, which is controlled, as well as the feedback provided; see also [0088], [0136], [0121], [0147]).
Regarding claim 10, Smith ‘913 discloses the invention as applied above, wherein Smith ‘913 further discloses wherein the at least one first user device comprises a user interface of the lawn mower blade griding machine (Smith ‘913: cellular phone, smart phone, standard phone, mobile device disclosed in [0059]; see also [0064], as well as panel disclosed in [0091-0092]; Smith ‘281: see [0039] describing the GUI, as well as [0098-0100]).
Regarding claim 11, Smith ‘913 discloses the invention as applied above, wherein Smith ‘913 further discloses the user interface including at least one of a wireless user interface local to the lawn mower blade grinding machine to wirelessly communicate with the connected control system and an onboard user interface integral to lawn mower blade grinding machine to communicate with the connected control system via a hardwired connection (Smith ‘281: see [0098-0100], as well as [0111], [0141], [0039], [0082]; see Smith ‘913: cellular phone, smart phone, standard phone, mobile device disclosed in [0059-0060]; see also [0064], [0094], [0104], [0087], [0092], [0094]).
Regarding claim 12, Smith ‘913 discloses the invention as applied above, wherein Smith ‘913 further discloses wherein the requested machine operation comprises one of the one or more types of blade sharpening procedures (Smith ‘913: see user inputs and programs disclosed in [0092]; see also [0094] disclosing the input 309 is configured for use with one or more input sources, device receivers, remote receivers, external device receivers, to control or program the robot controlled by an owner/user; see also [0104]; see tasks disclosed in [0007-0010]),
wherein the computer-executable instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, causes the control system to further transmit the data corresponding to performance of the requested machine operation to a list of second user devices (Smith ‘913: see [0004], [0014], [0059-0064], Smith ‘281: see the plurality of devices disclosed in [0097-0100], [0081]), wherein the transmitted data comprises a status notification of the requested blade sharpening procedure (Smith ‘913: wherein data can be communicated as disclosed in [0087], wherein [0088] discloses sensors configured to communicate data associated with the lawn mower 106; see also [0122-0123] regarding the sharpening operation and the blade data; see also [0080-0086], [0102]; see also Smith ‘281: wherein [0097-0099] discloses seeing which task is being completed, which is controlled, as well as the feedback provided; see also [0088], [0136], [0121], [0147]; please also see the 112(b) rejection provided above).
Regarding claim 13, Smith ‘913 discloses the invention as applied above, wherein Smith ‘913 further discloses wherein the plurality of second user devices comprises a list of mobile user devices (Smith ‘913: see [0004], [0014], [0059-0064], Smith ‘281: see the plurality of devices disclosed in [0097-0100], [0081]; Smith ‘913: wherein data can be communicated as disclosed in [0087], wherein [0088] discloses sensors configured to communicate data associated with the lawn mower 106; see also [0122-0123] regarding the sharpening operation and the blade data; see also [0080-0086], [0102]; see also Smith ‘281: wherein [0097-0099] discloses seeing which task is being completed, which is controlled, as well as the feedback provided; see also [0088], [0136], [0121], [0147]; please also see the 112(b) rejection provided above).
Regarding claim 14, Smith ‘913 discloses the invention as applied above, wherein Smith ‘913 further discloses wherein the status notification includes an indication that the requested blade sharpening procedure is complete (Smith ‘913: wherein the message includes details associated with the task including a time to complete the task, steps required to complete the task, wherein [0082] discloses performing a plurality of tasks; see Smith ‘281: wherein [0081] discloses messages include the number of tasks completed, the next time for tasks to be completed, the tasks completed; see also [0098], [0147])) and an indication that the blade sharpening procedure has stopped due to an error (Smith ‘913: wherein a defected blade may be detected and instead repairing or replacement takes place, i.e. the grinding operation is stopped as a result of a defect, see [0022], [0023]; see also [0072-0074], [0079-0081]; Smith ‘281: pausing or stopping a task is disclosed in [0136] and [0145]).
Regarding claim 15, Smith ‘913 discloses the invention as applied above, wherein Smith ‘913 further discloses where the computer executable instructions, when executed by the one or more processor cause the control system to:
perform data logging operations via at least the control devices, wherein the data logging operations include at least one of logging error events of the lawn mower blade grinding machine and logging operational data representing operational usage of the lawn mower blade grinding machine (Smith ‘913: see [0059], [0061-0062], [0070-0074], see library being generated and maintained as disclosed in [0075], see database disclosed in [0078]; wherein a defected blade may be detected and instead repairing or replacement takes place, i.e. the grinding operation is stopped as a result of a defect, see [0022], [0023]; [0079-0081]; Smith ‘281: [0136] and [0145]).
Regarding claim 16, Smith ‘913 discloses the invention as applied above, wherein Smith ‘913 further discloses wherein the requested machine operation is a data transfer operation, and wherein the computer-executable instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the control system to: direct performance of the requested data transfer operation with the requesting user interface (Smith ‘913: see library including language, files, images, and videos, as well as machine learning models to train, re-train, and/or implement disclosed in [0075]; see also [0059], [0061-0062]; Smith ‘281: [0147] At this point, information may be downloaded and viewed on device, i.e. data transfer; [0098-0100]: tasks scheduled in the future and/or scheduling tasks; [0135-0136], [0153], [0085-0087]).
Regarding claim 18, Smith ‘913 discloses the invention as applied above, wherein Smith ‘913 further discloses wherein the requested data transfer operation comprises a download of logged operational data, and wherein performance of the requested data transfer process includes transmitting the logged operational to the requesting user interface to enable preventative maintenance scheduling (Smith ‘913: see library including language, files, images, and videos, as well as machine learning models to train, re-train, and/or implement disclosed in [0075]; see also [0061-0062]; Smith ‘281: [0147] At this point, information may be downloaded and viewed on device; [0098-0100]: tasks scheduled in the future and/or scheduling tasks; [0135-0136], [0153], [0085-0087]).
Regarding claim 20, Smith ‘913 discloses the invention as applied above, wherein Smith ‘913 further discloses wherein the user interface further includes a remote workstation in communication with the connected control system via network, the network including the internet (Smith ‘913: see at least Figure 1, [0059-0061], [0064]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (US 20240293913) and Smith (20210007281) in view of Keski (US 9848532).
Regarding claim 17, Smith ‘913 (and Smith ‘281 incorporated therein) disclosed the claimed invention as applied above. However, Smith ‘913 does not explicitly teach wherein the requested data transfer operation comprises a download of logged error events, and wherein performance of the requested data transfer process includes transmitting the logged error events to the requesting user interface to enable remote error diagnostics.
However, from the same or similar field of endeavor, Keski teaches wherein the requested data transfer operation comprises a download of logged error events, and wherein performance of the requested data transfer process includes transmitting the logged error events to the requesting user interface to enable remote error diagnostics (see Col. 5, lines 45-54: one or more machines 100 can be coupled via wireless communications links 134 and communications network 132 to a server 130 of a service provider for performing remote diagnosis and any other suitable functions, and the like, as further described; see also Col. 3, lines 18-24; Col. 4, lines 4-15; Col. 6, lines 1-22; Col. 15, lines 21-29 and 43-50).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Keski into the invention of Smith ‘913. One would be motivated to do so because this would enhance performance and operational results (Col. 15, lines 43-50), thus reducing overall downtime by mitigating large issues from arising.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (US 20240293913) and Smith (20210007281) in view of Ritter (US 20230231784).
Regarding claim 19, Smith ‘913 (and Smith ‘281 incorporated therein) disclosed the claimed invention as applied above. However, Smith ‘913 does not explicitly teach wherein the requested data transfer operation comprises a software update, and wherein performance of the requested data transfer process includes updating operating software of the control system with software updates received from the requesting user interface.
However, from the same or similar field of endeavor, Ritter teaches of a data transfer operation comprises a software update, and wherein performance of the requested data transfer process includes updating operating software of the control system with software updates received from the requesting user interface (see software update and implementation as taught in [0051], [0052], [0060], [0063], and [0085]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Ritter into the invention of Smith ‘913, i.e. to include software updates. One would be motivated to do so in order to resolve any issues which can be easily remedied, thereby minimizing downtime for the apparatus and enabling for software patches in out of date systems (see Ritter: [0051], [0052], [0060], [0063], and [0085]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Li (US 20240039708), see [0074], [0078].
/MAKENA S MARKMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723