DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 2026-02-12 has been entered and fully considered.
In light of applicant’s amendment, filed 2026-02-12, the 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) rejection has been withdrawn.
In light of applicant’s amendment, filed 2026-02-12, the 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejection has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-9, filed 2026-02-12, with respect to the claim amendments overcoming the cited prior art references of the rejection of claims 1, 3, and 7 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) and of claims 2, 4-6, and 8-9 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn; however, upon further search and consideration, a new grounds of rejection – as necessitated by amendment – is made in view of newly cited prior art.
35 USC § 112(f)
ELEMENT IN CLAIM FOR A COMBINATION.—An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “a processing unit configured to decrypt”, “a processing unit configured to … train the algorithm”, and “a processing unit configured to … profiling feature representations” in claim 10.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification is unclear as to the corresponding structure or acts described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) limitations.
Claim Analysis - 35 USC § 101
The Examiner notes that the only hardware structure of claims 10-18 is the improper 112(f) invocation of “a processing unit”. The Examiner notes that if claim is amended or otherwise interpreted to avoid a 112(f) invocation without adding an element that must be construed as computing hardware, then the claim will be directed towards software, per se, as the broadest reasonable interpretation of processor and database includes software per se embodiments, and thus the claims would be subject to a 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejection for failing step 1 of the subject matter eligibility test.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. In particular, claim 1 recites the limitation “profiling feature representations for the data set by sampling activation layers of the AI model and training a second AI model to match the activation layer to the data set”, and the limitation does not appear to be adequately supported by the written description such that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing, i.e. the claim contains “new matter”.
The Examiner notes that the closest support for the claim amendment appears to be the disclosure that one “example of a profiling methodology would be to take the activations of the certain AI model layers for samples in both the training and test set, and see if another model can be trained to recognize which activations came from which dataset” (Specification [0086] as filed). Although the specification discloses both “layers” and “activations of the certain AI model layers”, the specification does not recognize that particular model layers are “activation layers”, nor does the specification support sampling of a particular layer in general (which encompasses sampling something other than activations from the layer) such as claimed.
Further, although the specification discloses “see if another model can be trained to recognize which activations came from which dataset” (Specification [0086] as filed), the specification does not disclose how the “another model” is trained, nor does it disclose that such attempted training is “to match the activation layer to the data set” such as claimed. Instead, the specification at best describes attempted training “to recognize which activations came from which dataset”, which does not disclose that the training specifically targets the “activation layer” nor that it is matching the layer to a data set.
Thus, the Examiner finds that new claim limitation is not adequately supported by the specification as filed.
Claim 10 is rejected under a similar rationale. The dependent claims included in the statement of rejection but not specifically addressed in the body of the rejection have inherited the deficiencies of their parent claim and have not resolved the deficiencies. Therefore, they are rejected based on the same rationale as applied to their parent claims above.
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Specifically, claim 1 recites the limitation “the activation layer”, and the limitation is either an ambiguous reference to a particular one of the “activation layers” or there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 10 is rejected under a similar rationale. The dependent claims included in the statement of rejection but not specifically addressed in the body of the rejection have inherited the deficiencies of their parent claim and have not resolved the deficiencies. Therefore, they are rejected based on the same rationale as applied to their parent claims above.
Claims 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Specifically, claim 10 recites the limitation “the method comprising”, and there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The dependent claims included in the statement of rejection but not specifically addressed in the body of the rejection have inherited the deficiencies of their parent claim and have not resolved the deficiencies. Therefore, they are rejected based on the same rationale as applied to their parent claims above.
Claims 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention. Specifically, with regard to claim 10, claim elements “a processing unit configured to decrypt”, “a processing unit configured to … train the algorithm”, and “a processing unit configured to … profiling feature representations” are limitations that invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function(s) and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function(s). In particular, the Specification does not explicitly disclose what structure performs the claimed function(s).
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitations will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f);
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed functions, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the functions recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the functions so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed functions, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed functions and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed functions, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed functions. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 7, 10, 12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication No. 20200234198-A1, hereinafter “Feng”) in view of David et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication No. 20200320400-A1, hereinafter “David”).
With respect to independent claim 1, Feng discloses a computerized method for training an algorithm in a zero-trust environment, the method comprising:
providing an encrypted algorithm to a sequestered computing node located in a data steward’s infrastructure {paras. 0067-0070: “each data provider … uploads the encrypted training data to the machine learning controller”, which includes “training parameters … involved in the machine learning algorithm”}.
providing an encrypted data set to the sequestered computing node from the data steward {paras. 0064-0067: “training data uploaded by the terminal is acquired, in which the training data is … encrypted”}.
receiving keys from a core management system {para. 0067: “each terminal transmits its encryption key to the key manager through the trusted communication link in the trusted execution environment”}.
decrypting the data set and the algorithm {para. 0068: “the encrypted training data of each data provider is decrypted by the data fusion manager according to the encryption key of each data provider”}.
training the algorithm using the data set within the sequestered computing node {para. 0071: “the fused training data is trained in the trusted execution environment according to the training parameters”}, wherein the algorithm is an artificial intelligence (AI) model with a plurality of neural layers {para. 0072: “algorithm may be any one of … the neural network algorithm”}.
Although Feng teaches a machine learning training method, Feng does not explicitly disclose profiling feature representations for the data set by sampling activation layers; however, David discloses:
profiling feature representations for the data set by sampling activation layers of the AI model and training a second AI model to match the activation layer to the data set {para. 0009: a “new model may be trained with the random probe training dataset so that the new model generates substantially the same corresponding output data in response to said input data to mimic the pre-trained target model”}.
Feng and David are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor or problem-solving area of training machine learning models. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Feng and David before him or her, to modify/develop the model training of Feng’s system to utilize mimicking a pre-trained target model. The suggestion and/or motivation for doing so would have been because it is merely combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, e.g., enables training to match a desirable model even without access to the original training set. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the model training in Feng’s system with mimicking a pre-trained target model to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s). The Examiner notes that this motivation applies to all dependent and/or otherwise subsequently addressed claims.
With respect to dependent claim 3, Feng discloses encrypting training assets in the sequestered computing node {para. 0074: “the machine learning controller may encrypt, in the trusted execution environment, the machine learning model”}.
With respect to dependent claim 7, Feng discloses combining training assets from more than one date steward into a federated training model {paras. 0068-0069: “fused training data is obtained by fusing the decrypted training data” from “each data provider”}.
With respect to claims 10, 12, and 16, a corresponding reasoning as given earlier in this section with respect to claims 1, 3, and 7 applies, mutatis mutandis, to the subject matter of claims 10, 12, and 16; therefore, claims 10, 12, and 16 are rejected, for similar reasons, under the grounds as set forth for claims 1, 3, and 7.
Claims 2, 4-6, 8-9, 11, 13-15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication No. 20200234198-A1, hereinafter “Feng”) in view of David et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication No. 20200320400-A1, hereinafter “David”) and Gilbertson et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication No. 20210256429-A1, hereinafter “Gilbertson”).
With respect to dependent claim 2, although Feng teaches data stewards, Feng does not explicitly disclose the data steward is a healthcare organization; however, Gilbertson discloses wherein the data steward is a healthcare organization {para. 0058: “Examples of model provider agents include computer systems associated with medical service provider institutions”}.
Feng-David and Gilbertson are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor or problem-solving area of federated machine learning. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Feng-David and Gilbertson before him or her, to modify/develop the data providers and output model of Feng-David’s system to include healthcare organizations and utilize profile features. The suggestion and/or motivation for doing so would have been because it is merely combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, e.g., enables more understanding of the model out and increases the customer base. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the data providers and output model in Feng-David’s system with healthcare organizations and profile features to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s). The Examiner notes that this motivation applies to all dependent and/or otherwise subsequently addressed claims.
With respect to dependent claim 4, Gilbertson discloses profiling feature representations for the training assets {para. 0074: “a model provider demographic profile whose corresponding profiled attribute value ranges have been defined relatively narrower to capture a feature-defined subset of the model provider agents”}.
With respect to dependent claim 5, Feng discloses outputting the encrypted training assets and the profiled feature representations to the core management system {para. 0074: “the machine learning controller may encrypt, in the trusted execution environment, the machine learning model by calling the encryption key of at least one target terminal in the key manager, and then distributes the encrypted model to a corresponding target terminal”}.
With respect to dependent claim 6, Feng discloses validating the training assets {para. 0079: “the terminal executes remote authentication of the trusted execution environment”}.
With respect to dependent claim 8, Gilbertson discloses wherein the at least one sequestered computing node of the zero-trust computing environment is within an infrastructure of the at least one data steward {paras. 0021 & 0073-0075: “local model provider nodes” of “medical institutions”}.
With respect to dependent claim 9, Gilbertson discloses wherein the data assets include protected health information {para. 0064: “a predicted health-related outcome of a particular patient having particular patient features”}.
With respect to claims 11, 13-15, and 17-18, a corresponding reasoning as given earlier in this section with respect to claims 2, 4-6, and 8-9 applies, mutatis mutandis, to the subject matter of claims 11, 13-15, and 17-18; therefore, claims 11, 13-15, and 17-18 are rejected, for similar reasons, under the grounds as set forth for claims 2, 4-6, and 8-9.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Kevin Bechtel/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2491