DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 06/02/2026 has been entered. Claims 21-29 and 31-41 are pending in the application.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the phrase “maintain a position of the slider relative to the motor” is not found in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for maintain a position of the slider relative to the motor by a rotating drive member 300 (figs. 38-39) does not reasonably provide enablement for also “simultaneously drive the slider along the linear channel within the body from a proximal position to a distal-most position … “as a result of driving the slider along the linear channel” and “and(c) maintaining a position of the slider relative to the motor during an operation of the motor in the first direction and/or the second direction”. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. Since the phrase “driving the slider along the linear channel” and “maintaining a position of the slider relative to the motor during an operation of the motor in the first direction and/or the second direction” are contradictory and no support is found in the specification for the “maintain a position of the slider relative to the motor” recitation. The slider is moving in the first direction as claimed and thus cannot also be maintained. Also, it is not clear when the slider stationary. When does the slider move and when is it stationary? Also, the specification and drawings seem directed to the slider not being driven the first direction until the staples have been fired and the slider moving during at the very end of the first direction movement to contact the reverse switch. As best understood by examiner the slider has to move some amount during the first direction and can only be stationary (maintain a position) during this first direction movement for part of the movement and the specification indicates the slider moves proximally in the second direction.
Moreover, the specification does support having the slider stationary (maintain a position) during the second direction – “after the slider 74 is moved distally to actuate the switch 54, the slider 74 stays at its distal-most
position and the switch 54 remains actuated by the slider 74 even when the rack 82 changes direction and moves proximately, until the distal-side shoulder 88 engages the tab 96 and moves the slider 74 proximately so that the slider 74 no longer actuates the switch 54” [0068].
However, the specification also recites “even when the rack 82 changes direction and moves proximately, until the proximate-side shoulder 78 engages the tab 96 and moves the slider 74 back to is distal-most,
switch-actuating position” [0068]. Does the slider move distal while the rack moves proximally?
Overall, the specification provides support for the having the slider stationary (maintain a position) during the second direction but is unclear whether the slider is stationary (maintain a position) during the first direction and if so when.
Claims 21-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term/phrase “maintain a position of the slider relative to the motor” in claim 21 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “maintaining a position of the slider relative to the motor” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Examiner cannot find any support for the slider maintain in position other than figs. 38-39 which do not involve “driving the slider along the linear channel”. When the slider stationary? The phrase “driving the slider along the linear channel” followed by “maintaining a position of the slider relative to the motor during an operation of the motor in the first direction and/or the second direction” is confusing since “maintain a position of the slider relative to the motor” indicates the slider is stationary or somehow stays in same position in either the first or second direction but it is claimed as being driven in the first direction so it cannot be stationary at least in the first direction. Is the slider restricted from rotating but moves linearly or vise/versa? See 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph confusion above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-22 and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sklar et al. (US 5626595 A).
Regarding claims 21-22 and 41, Sklar et al. discloses a method of operating a surgical stapler (20) having a body (22) that houses a linear channel (42) and a slider (46), a shaft (30 and/or linkage 70), distal to the body (22);
a motor (28 and/or solenoid motor 68), and an electrical circuit (digital controller with various switches and sensors, lead wires 41, and solenoid actuator 68, col. 4, lines 6-67, col. 5, lines 1-67 and “controller or control loop (not shown)” col. 6, lines 52-67) including a motor direction switch (94/96), the method comprising:
(a) operating the motor in a first direction to fire a plurality of staples (col. 6, lines 22-40) from the surgical stapler (20) and simultaneously drive the slider (46) along the linear channel (42) within the body (22) from a proximal position to a distal-most position (94/96); and
(b) as a result of driving the slider (46) along the linear channel, engaging the motor direction switch (94) with the slider at the distal-most position (94) to thereby automatically reverse the motor into a second direction, the second direction being opposite from the first direction (col. 6, lines 52-67, col. 7, lines 1-41); and
(c) maintaining a position of the slider (46) relative to the motor (28/solenoid motor 68) during an operation of the motor in the first direction and/or the second direction and retracting the slider to the proximal position (channel 42 maintains 46 and shaft 30 linearly moving and restricted from rotating and retracts 30 when slider 46 contacts 94, col. 6, lines 52-67, col. 7, lines 1-41, and “the linkage 70 to move longitudinally while the cannula 30 remains stationary” in which shaft and slider 30/46 will not move during operation of solenoid motor 68 to drive slider linkage 70 figs. 1-6 AND discloses having a shaft/sleeve (66) with tool (34/ grasper 90) distal to the body (figs. 5-6) where the slider (46) is maintained/stationary when linkage 70 is actuated through shaft 30 via motor/actuator (68) “the linkage 70 to move longitudinally while the cannula 30 remains stationary” in which shaft and slider 30/46 will not move during operation of solenoid motor 68 to drive linkage 70, col. 5, lines 31-67, col. 6, lines 52-67, col. 7, lines 1-41, figs. 1-6). Sklar et al. also discloses having a rack (30) and moving the rack (30) relative to the motor (28), retracting the slider (46) to the proximal position with motor direction switch (94/96) wherein reversing the motor into the second direction includes transitioning the switch (94/96).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 39-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Shelton et al. (US 20080029576 A1) in view of Sklar et al. (US 5626595 A) and further in view of Wolf (GB 1437414 A).
Regarding claims 39-40, Shelton et al. discloses a method of operating a surgical stapler surgical stapler (10/1500, [0123], fig. 1) having a motor (618 and/or 1730/1740, [0207-0208], figs. 1 and 49-56), a slider (second cylinder housing 520 and/or E-beam firing mechanism 30 with slider 35/547 or knife indicator 1780 for distal limit switch 1770), and a circuit electrical switches and battery connected forming circuit [0169]) including motor direction switch (546 or distal limit switch 1770), the method comprising:
(a) in response to a trigger of the surgical stapler being in a first trigger state and the motor direction switch being in a first switch orientation, preventing the motor from energizing;(b) in response to the trigger transitioning from the first trigger state to a second trigger state with the motor direction switch in the first switch orientation, energizing the motor to operate in a first direction ([0156-0169, 0175, 0180, 0207-0208], figs. 1-15 and 49-56); (c) advancing the slider (second cylinder housing 520 and/or E-beam firing mechanism 30 with slider 35/547 or knife indicator 1780) towards the motor direction switch using the motor operating in the first direction ([0156-0169, 0175, 0180, 0207-0208], figs. 1-15 and 49-56);
(d) engaging the motor direction switch (546 or distal limit switch 1770) with the slider to thereby transition the motor direction switch from the first switch orientation to a second switch orientation; and (e) in response to the trigger transitioning from the second trigger state to the first trigger state while the motor direction switch is in the second switch orientation, retracting the slider (second cylinder housing 520 and/or E-beam firing mechanism 30 with slider 35/547 or knife indicator 1780 for distal limit switch 1770) away from the motor direction switch using the motor operating in a second direction, wherein the first trigger state and the second trigger state are different, and wherein the first switch orientation and the second switch orientation are different, wherein the trigger in the first trigger state, depending on the orientation of the motor direction switch, is configured to prevent the motor from energizing and to operate the motor in the second direction ([0156-0169, 0175, 0180, 0207-0208], figs. 1-15 and 49-56).
Shelton et al. fails to disclose having an electric motor and if argued that trigger states are not configured with the firing trigger in the second trigger state applying a second electrical current through the motor direction switch in the second switch orientation and through the motor, wherein the first trigger state and the second trigger state are different, wherein the first current and the second current are in opposite directions, and wherein the first switch orientation and the second switch orientation are different and maintaining a position of the slider relative to the motor (28) during an operation of the motor in the first direction and/or the second direction
Sklar et al. teaches a method of operating a surgical stapler (20) having a body (22) that houses a linear channel (42) and a slider (46), a shaft (30), distal to the body (22);
a motor (28) and solenoid motor 68, and an electrical circuit (digital controller with various switches and sensors, lead wires 41, and solenoid actuator 68, col. 4, lines 6-67, col. 5, lines 1-67 and “controller or control loop (not shown)” col. 6, lines 52-67) including a motor direction switch (94/96), the method comprising:
(a) operating the motor in a first direction to fire a plurality of staples (col. 6, lines 22-40) from the surgical stapler (20) and simultaneously drive the slider (46) along the linear channel (42) within the body (22) from a proximal position to a distal-most position (94/96); and
(b) as a result of driving the slider (46) along the linear channel, engaging the motor direction switch (94) with the slider at the distal-most position (94) to thereby automatically reverse the motor into a second direction, the second direction being opposite from the first direction (col. 6, lines 52-67, col. 7, lines 1-41); and
(c) maintaining a position of the slider relative to the motor (28) during an operation of the motor in the first direction and/or the second direction and retracting the slider to the proximal position (channel (42) maintains 46 and shaft 30 linear moving and not rotating and retracts 30 when slider 46 contacts 94, col. 6, lines 52-67, col. 7, lines 1-41, and solenoid motor 68 has a linkage 70 in which “the linkage 70 to move longitudinally while the cannula 30 remains stationary” in which shaft and slider 30/46 will not move during operation of solenoid motor 68 to drive slider linkage 70 figs. 1-6).
Sklar et al. also disclose retracting the slider (46) to the proximal position with motor direction switch (94/96) wherein reversing the motor into the second direction includes transitioning the switch (94/96) and also teaches switch (46) on shaft (30) inside the handle housing body (22) which forms a channel (42) there inside for inner shaft 30 and a shaft (54) distal to the body the switch (94/96) activated by a slider (46) when the slider moves a distal most position on shaft (col. 6, lines 52-67, col. 7, lines 1-41, figs. 1-6); having a rack (30) and moving the rack (30) relative to the motor (28).
Wolf teaches a slider (7) that slides on a rack (32) with a trigger (27/26) in which the firing trigger moves between a pressed/first state and release/second state and in the second trigger state applying a second electrical current through a motor direction switch (stops 8/9) in the second switch orientation and through the motor, wherein the first trigger state and the second trigger state are different, wherein the first current and the second current are in opposite directions, and wherein the first switch orientation and the second switch orientation are different (release and slider moves proximal, press and slider moves distal).
Given the teachings of Shelton et al. to have a slider to activate a reverse/retract switch and electronics/electrical switches working in conjunction with a slider switch, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the motor/substitute the motor with an electric motor and have the trigger configured with the firing trigger in the second trigger state applying a second electrical current through the motor direction switch in the second switch orientation and through the motor, wherein the first trigger state and the second trigger state are different, wherein the first current and the second current are in opposite directions, and wherein the first switch orientation and the second switch orientation are different maintaining a position of the slider relative to the motor (28) during an operation of the motor in the first direction and/or the second direction to have precise adjustment of speed/torque of the firing member, more compact design, smaller effector with slider in the body/handle portion, for more precise operation/better control of the stapler and/or circuitry for feedback purposes as taught by Sklar et al. and Wolf.
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Shelton et al. (US 20080029576 A1) in view of Sklar et al. (US 5626595 A) in view of Wolf (GB 1437414 A) and further in view of Schulze et al. (US 5673840 A).
Regarding claim 31, Shelton et al. discloses a method of operating a surgical stapler (10/1500, [0123], figs. 1-7 and 49-56) having a motor (618 and/or 1730/1740, [0207-0208], figs. 1 and 49-56) a longitudinal moving member (second cylinder housing 520 and/or E-beam firing mechanism 30 with slider 35/547 or knife indicator 1780 for distal limit switch 1770), and a circuit (electrical switches and battery connected forming circuit [0169]) including motor direction switch (546 or distal limit switch 1770), the method comprising:
(a) with a firing trigger (310) of the surgical stapler in a first trigger state applying a first electrical current through the motor direction switch in a first switch orientation and through the motor; the firing trigger being externally exposed for actuation by an operator between the first trigger state and a second trigger state (figs. 1-7, and 49-56);
(b) distally advancing the slider (second cylinder housing 520 and/or E-beam firing mechanism 30 with slider 35/547 or knife indicator 1780 for distal limit switch 1770) towards the motor direction switch in the first switch orientation while the first electrical current remains applied to the motor; (c) firing a plurality of staples from the surgical stapler while the first electrical current remains applied to the motor;(d) after firing the staples, engaging the motor direction switch with the slider to thereby transition the motor direction switch from the first switch orientation to a second switch orientation ([0156-0169, 0175, 0180, 0207-0208], figs. 1-15 and 49-56); and
(e) with the firing trigger in the second trigger state applying a second electrical current through the motor direction switch in the second switch orientation and through the motor, wherein the first trigger state and the second trigger state are different, wherein the first current and the second current are in opposite directions, and wherein the first switch orientation and the second switch orientation are different ([0156-0169, 0175, 0180, 0207-0208], figs. 1-15 and 49-56). Shelton et al. also discloses distal limit switch (1770) on shaft (1754) inside the handle housing body (300/340, figs. 1, 7, and 49-56) which forms a channel there inside for inner shaft (1754) and a shaft (100) distal to the body the switch (1770) activated by a slider (knife indicator 1780) when the slider moves a distal most position on shaft 1754 ([0216-0217], figs. 49-56).
Shelton et al. fails to disclose having an electric motor and if argued that trigger states are not configured with the firing trigger in the second trigger state applying a second electrical current through the motor direction switch in the second switch orientation and through the motor, wherein the first trigger state and the second trigger state are different, wherein the first current and the second current are in opposite directions, and wherein the first switch orientation and the second switch orientation are different.
Sklar et al. teaches a method of operating a surgical stapler (20) having a body (22) that houses a linear channel (42) and a slider (46), a shaft (30), distal to the body (22);
a motor (28) and solenoid motor 68, and an electrical circuit (digital controller with various switches and sensors, lead wires 41, and solenoid actuator 68, col. 4, lines 6-67, col. 5, lines 1-67 and “controller or control loop (not shown)” col. 6, lines 52-67) including a motor direction switch (94/96), the method comprising:
(a) operating the motor in a first direction to fire a plurality of staples (col. 6, lines 22-40) from the surgical stapler (20) and simultaneously drive the slider (46) along the linear channel (42) within the body (22) from a proximal position to a distal-most position (94/96); and
(b) as a result of driving the slider (46) along the linear channel, engaging the motor direction switch (94) with the slider at the distal-most position (94) to thereby automatically reverse the motor into a second direction, the second direction being opposite from the first direction (col. 6, lines 52-67, col. 7, lines 1-41); and
(c) maintaining a position of the slider relative to the motor (28) during an operation of the motor in the first direction and/or the second direction and retracting the slider to the proximal position (channel (42) maintains 46 and shaft 30 linear moving and not rotating and retracts 30 when slider 46 contacts 94, col. 6, lines 52-67, col. 7, lines 1-41, and solenoid motor 68 has a linkage 70 in which “the linkage 70 to move longitudinally while the cannula 30 remains stationary” in which shaft and slider 30/46 will not move during operation of solenoid motor 68 to drive slider linkage 70 figs. 1-6).
Sklar et al. also disclose retracting the slider (46) to the proximal position with motor direction switch (94/96) wherein reversing the motor into the second direction includes transitioning the switch (94/96) and also teaches switch (46) on shaft (30) inside the handle housing body (22) which forms a channel (42) there inside for inner shaft 30 and a shaft (54) distal to the body the switch (94/96) activated by a slider (46) when the slider moves a distal most position on shaft (col. 6, lines 52-67, col. 7, lines 1-41, figs. 1-6); having a rack (30) and moving the rack (30) relative to the motor (28).
Wolf teaches a slider (7) that slides on a rack (32) with a trigger (27/26) in which the firing trigger moves between a pressed/first state and release/second state and in the second trigger state applying a second electrical current through a motor direction switch (stops 8/9) in the second switch orientation and through the motor, wherein the first trigger state and the second trigger state are different, wherein the first current and the second current are in opposite directions, and wherein the first switch orientation and the second switch orientation are different (release and slider moves proximal, press and slider moves distal).
Schulze also teaches et al. having a distal moving a staple pushing shuttle with a cutting blade that is retracted into the cartridge body during a second portion of the distal movement of the staple pushing shuttle (as knife 206 has advanced to its “parked" position, is retained in an unexposed position within the forward slot (232, col. 15, lines 20-67, col. 16 line 1- col. 17 line 47, Figs. 21 a/b and 23). Schulze et al. states: “Once the knife 206 has advanced to its "parked" position, for example, by being retained in an unexposed position within the forward slot 232 (FIG. 21b, 23) or the inclined ramp 240, the pusher 218 may be withdrawn, allowing the knife 206 to remain retracted in its "parked" position (col. 16, lines37-42) so that “the knife 206 is incapable of inadvertently cutting the operator or patient” (col. 15, lines 50-55) … Once the knife 206 has advanced to its "parked" position, for example, by being retained in an unexposed position within the forward slot 232… knife 206 may be rigidly, pivotally, slidably, or releasably coupled to the wedge sled 208” (col. 16 lines 37-54).
Given the teachings of Shelton et al. to have a slider to activate a reverse/retract switch and electronics/electrical switches working in conjunction with a slider switch, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the motor/substitute the motor with an electric motor and have the trigger configured with the firing trigger in the second trigger state applying a second electrical current through the motor direction switch in the second switch orientation and through the motor, wherein the first trigger state and the second trigger state are different, wherein the first current and the second current are in opposite directions, and wherein the first switch orientation and the second switch orientation are different to have precise adjustment of speed/torque of the firing member, more compact design, smaller effector with slider in the body/handle portion, for more precise operation/better control of the stapler and/or circuitry for feedback purposes as taught by Sklar et al. and Wolf and as alternatively/further taught and evidenced by Schulze to have a safer sliding knife parked at the distal end to prevent inadvertent cutting the operator or cutting during handling.
Claim(s) 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Shelton et al. (US 20080029576 A1) in view of Sklar et al. (US 5626595 A) in view of Wolf (GB 1437414 A) in view of Schulze et al. (US 5673840 A) and further in view of Smith et al. (US 20070270884 A1).
Regarding claim 38, Shelton et al. discloses retracting the slider (35/547) to the proximal position with motor direction switch (546) wherein reversing the motor into the second direction includes transitioning the switch ([0156, 0169, 0175, 0180, 0207-0208], figs. 1-15 and 49-56). Shelton et al. also teaches distal limit switch (1770) on shaft (1754) inside the handle housing body (300/340, figs. 1, 7, and 49-56) which forms a channel there inside for inner shaft 1754 and a shaft (100) distal to the body the switch (1770) activated by a slider (knife indicator 1780) when the slider moves a distal most position on shaft 1754 ([0216-0217], figs. 49-56).
Shelton et al. fails to disclose the motor direction switch includes a single pole double throw switch, wherein energizing the electric motor with the second electrical current includes transitioning the single pole double throw switch from a first pole to a second pole.
Smith et al. teaches a circuit that comprises an electrical circuit (circuit board 500, processor/microprocessor [0063-0068, 0088-0092, 0096-0106, 0123, 0128-0130, 0151-0153, 0175-0177, 0185-0191], figs. 12 and 34-35) a drive system with limit switches (610, 616, 618, 620 to control the drive system and ranges of travel of each motor 120, 210, [0092-0100]), a rack (217 [0166-0187], figs. 31-34) and moving the rack relative to the motor; and also teaches having single pole double throw switches (1200/1300) wherein energizing the electric motor with the second electrical current includes transitioning the single pole double throw switch from a first pole to a second pole and to have the motor drive in reverse at the end of firing stroke ([0185-0191], figs. 31-35).
Smith et al. states: “Placement of an appropriate sensor or switch to indicate the forward-most desired position of the blade 1060 or the sled 102 can be used to control a forward travel limit switch 1220 that interrupts power supply to the motor M and prevents further forward travel [0185]… Placement of an appropriate sensor or switch to indicate the rearward-most desired position of the blade 1060 or the sled 102 can be used to control a rearward travel limit switch 1230 that interrupts power supply to the motor M and prevents further rearward travel [0186]… When this limit is reached, the forward limit switch 1320 is actuated and the switch moves to the second position. In this state, no power can get to the motor for forward movement but power can be delivered to the motor for reverse movement [0190].
Given the teachings of Shelton et al. to have electronics/electrical switches with battery and a longitudinal moving member type slider switch and a firing driver, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the electronics to have the motor direction switch includes a single pole double throw switch, wherein energizing the electric motor with the second electrical current includes transitioning the single pole double throw switch from a first pole to a second pole to have precise adjustment of speed/torque of the firing member (rack provides greater adjustment), for more precise operation of the stapler, provide better control, improved computing power, safety and/or for feedback purposes as taught by Smith et al.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 32-37 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 23-29 and 40 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 1st and 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Reasons for Allowable Subject Matter
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art of record fails to teach or render obvious a surgical stapling device comprising all the structural and functional limitations and further comprising, amongst other limitations/features, a surgical stapler having a motor that drive member (rack/slider/firing shaft) in a first direction to drive staples and engaging a motor switch (reverse/retract/return/change direction) with a protrusion/slider/engaging member on the drive member (rack/slider/firing shaft) to reverse the motor in a second direction to return the firing member to a home position a rack, moving the rack relative to the motor; and sliding the slider along the rack wherein the rack includes a channel, wherein sliding the slider along the rack includes sliding the slider within the channel such that the slider moves relative to the rack and maintaining a position of the slider relative to the motor during an operation of the motor in the first direction and/or the second direction and retracting the slider to the proximal position. Though Viola et al. (US 20060278680 A1) teaches a surgical stapler having a motor that drive member (rack/slider/firing shaft) in a first direction to drive staples and engaging a motor switch (reverse/retract/return/change direction) with a protrusion/slider/engaging member on the drive member (rack/slider/firing shaft) to reverse the motor in a second direction to return the firing member to a home position with a rack, and moving the rack relative to the motor; and(b) sliding the slider along the rack, Viola et al. fails to teach moving the rack relative to the motor; and sliding the slider along the rack wherein the rack includes a channel, wherein sliding the slider along the rack includes sliding the slider within the channel such that the slider moves relative to the rack and/or maintaining a position of the slider relative to the motor during an operation of the motor in the first direction and/or the second direction and retracting the slider to the proximal position. Having the efficiency and speed of the rack with slider provides and effective automated switching means with a single switch to have the stapler return the rack/firing member to the proximal ready position and safely ensure the firing member is properly returned after use.
While various features of the claimed subject matter are found individually in the prior art, a skilled artisan would have to include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure to combine or modify the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed subject matter, and thus obviousness would not be proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). There is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine or modify the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention, and thus obviousness would not be proper. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 21-29 and 31-40 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on all references and 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ) issues applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see references cited, form 892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT F LONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731