DETAILED ACTION
Status of claims:
Claims 1, 5-12 are pending
Claims 1, 5-9 are amended
Claims 10-12 are new
Claims, 1, 5-12 are rejected
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peterson et al. (US 20210090213) in view of Fieldman et al. (US 20210090213), Gammatrap et al. (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=13qp-jcvq7I) and Figma et al. (https://help.figma.com/hc/en-us/articles/4408435431319-Request-to-edit-a-file).
Regarding claim 1.
Peterson teaches:
A joint image generating device comprising: an output unit that outputs information on a canvas that accepts drawing from a user (Peterson [0037] Any of computing devices 102-110 may host, implement, and/or operate any of an anamorphic image generator 120.);
wherein the output unit outputs the image generated by the generator (Peterson [0020] The anamorphic images may be utilized for catoptric anamorphis, e.g., projective, mirrored and/or reflective anamorphic displays of images.).
a generator that generates an image by reflecting the drawing from each of the users on the canvas (Peterson [0046] In some embodiments, anamorphic image generator 220 generates the anamorphic image data by adding “distortion” or a “deformation” to the source image, as well as applying the “mirror-reflection” operation or transformation to the source image);
Peterson fails to teach:
a receiver that accepts drawing on the canvas from each of a plurality of users;
and a storage that associates and stores an image drawn on the canvas with user identification information that indicates the user that has performed drawing on the image (Fieldman [0034] The shared, real-time database executing within computer 96 stores an action log of all actions that are created or occur on the shared whiteboard in real time. In other words, each action by one of the users to modify the shared whiteboard (e.g., a drawing or a line) is sent over network 10 and stored within this shared database and typically includes metadata such as a timestamp and user identifier, as well as the data describing the action.),
wherein the receiver accepts drawing on a layer as a canvas that can be drawn by each user for each of the users, the storage stores a layer identifier that identifies the layer on which corresponding users have performed drawing, and the generator superimposes the layer of each of the users to reflect the drawing from each of the users on the canvas to create the image (Gammatrap [3:45-4:45] Gammatrap explains how each user gets their own layer. As well as how it shows that who is drawing at a certain layer which has their own unique identifier.).
further comprising: a first request receiver that accepts an edit request from a first user of the users for an image input by a second user other than the first user; a first transmitter that transmits the edit request from the first user to the second user; a receiver that receives permission/rejection information indicating permission/rejection of editing by the first user from the second user; and an editing unit that accepts drawing by the first user on the image that has been drawn by the second user and edits the image that has been drawn by the second user if the permission/rejection information indicates permission (Gammatrap [3:50-4:45] Gammatrap talks about how someone may try to take control of a layer, each layer cannot be edited if it is not allowed, so therefore a user may request to draw on a specific layer, however it may be denied based on the permissions given by the “admin” or “admins” who may also be users.).
wherein the editing unit accepts drawing from the first user and edits the layer indicated by the layer identifier associated with the second user on the basis of the accepted drawing from the first user (Gammatrap [3:50-4:45] Gammatrap talks about how the admins can control and deny who gets what layer, therefor the request to edit can be accepted based on ones permissions.)
Fieldman teaches:
a receiver that accepts drawing on the canvas from each of a plurality of users (Fieldman [0007] One or more users log in to a video conference with a shared, online electronic whiteboard and begin a session by speaking and manipulating the shared whiteboard. [0010] FIG. 9 shows a view of a video conference session with an online, shared, electronic whiteboard displayed in the browser of the student computer.);
and a storage that associates and stores an image drawn on the canvas with user identification information that indicates the user that has performed drawing on the image (Fieldman [0034] The shared, real-time database executing within computer 96 stores an action log of all actions that are created or occur on the shared whiteboard in real time. In other words, each action by one of the users to modify the shared whiteboard (e.g., a drawing or a line) is sent over network 10 and stored within this shared database and typically includes metadata such as a timestamp and user identifier, as well as the data describing the action.),
Gammatrap teaches:
wherein the receiver accepts drawing on a layer as a canvas that can be drawn by each user for each of the users, the storage stores a layer identifier that identifies the layer on which corresponding users have performed drawing, and the generator superimposes the layer of each of the users to reflect the drawing from each of the users on the canvas to create the image (Gammatrap [3:45-4:45] Gammatrap explains how each user gets their own layer. As well as how it shows that who is drawing at a certain layer which has their own unique identifier.).
Gammatrap and Figma teaches:
further comprising: a first request receiver that accepts an edit request from a first user of the users for an image input by a second user other than the first user; a first transmitter that transmits the edit request from the first user to the second user; a receiver that receives permission/rejection information indicating permission/rejection of editing by the first user from the second user; and an editing unit that accepts drawing by the first user on the image that has been drawn by the second user and edits the image that has been drawn by the second user if the permission/rejection information indicates permission (Gammatrap [3:50-4:45] Gammatrap talks about how someone may try to take control of a layer, each layer cannot be edited if it is not allowed, so therefore a user may request to draw on a specific layer, however it may be denied based on the permissions given by the “admin” or “admins” who may also be users.) (Figma [Page 2] Here you can see that you can ask to edit documents, it would be reasonable that you could add an option to edit specific layers as well as the document. Edit requests are not something that are inherently.new).
wherein the editing unit accepts drawing from the first user and edits the layer indicated by the layer identifier associated with the second user on the basis of the accepted drawing from the first user (Gammatrap [3:50-4:45] Gammatrap talks about how the admins can control and deny who gets what layer, therefor the request to edit can be accepted based on ones permissions.) (Figma [Page 2] Here you can see that you can ask to edit documents, it would be reasonable that you could add an option to edit specific layers as well as the document. Edit requests are not something that are inherently.new)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Peterson with Fieldman, Gammatrap, and Figma. Being able to manipulate a shared canvas or whiteboard and having it update in real time with data associated with the image and having a group session where multiple users can adjust each other’s layers and create a joint canvas while also being able to edit only portions that are allowed to be edited, as in Fieldman, Gammatrap, and Figma, would benefit the Peterson teachings by allowing for an environment where users can share and draw on a canvas. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, being able to manipulate a shared canvas or whiteboard and having it update in real time with data associated with the image and having a group session where multiple users can adjust each other’s layers and create a joint canvas while also being able to edit only portions that are allowed to be edited, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 8.
Peterson teaches:
A joint image generating method causing a computer to execute the steps of: outputting information on a canvas that accepts drawing from a user (Peterson [0037] Any of computing devices 102-110 may host, implement, and/or operate any of an anamorphic image generator 120.);
wherein the outputting step outputs the image generated in the generating step (Peterson [0020] The anamorphic images may be utilized for catoptric anamorphis, e.g., projective, mirrored and/or reflective anamorphic displays of images.).
generating an image by reflecting the drawing from each of the users on the canvas (Peterson [0046] In some embodiments, anamorphic image generator 220 generates the anamorphic image data by adding “distortion” or a “deformation” to the source image, as well as applying the “mirror-reflection” operation or transformation to the source image);
Peterson fails to teach:
a receiver that accepts drawing on the canvas from each of a plurality of users;
and a storage that associates and stores an image drawn on the canvas with user identification information that indicates the user that has performed drawing on the image (Fieldman [0034] The shared, real-time database executing within computer 96 stores an action log of all actions that are created or occur on the shared whiteboard in real time. In other words, each action by one of the users to modify the shared whiteboard (e.g., a drawing or a line) is sent over network 10 and stored within this shared database and typically includes metadata such as a timestamp and user identifier, as well as the data describing the action.),
wherein the receiver accepts drawing on a layer as a canvas that can be drawn by each user for each of the users, the storage stores a layer identifier that identifies the layer on which corresponding users have performed drawing, and the generator superimposes the layer of each of the users to reflect the drawing from each of the users on the canvas to create the image (Gammatrap [3:45-4:45] Gammatrap explains how each user gets their own layer. As well as how it shows that who is drawing at a certain layer which has their own unique identifier.).
further comprising: a first request receiver that accepts an edit request from a first user of the users for an image input by a second user other than the first user; a first transmitter that transmits the edit request from the first user to the second user; a receiver that receives permission/rejection information indicating permission/rejection of editing by the first user from the second user; and an editing unit that accepts drawing by the first user on the image that has been drawn by the second user and edits the image that has been drawn by the second user if the permission/rejection information indicates permission (Gammatrap [3:50-4:45] Gammatrap talks about how someone may try to take control of a layer, each layer cannot be edited if it is not allowed, so therefore a user may request to draw on a specific layer, however it may be denied based on the permissions given by the “admin” or “admins” who may also be users.).
wherein the editing unit accepts drawing from the first user and edits the layer indicated by the layer identifier associated with the second user on the basis of the accepted drawing from the first user (Gammatrap [3:50-4:45] Gammatrap talks about how the admins can control and deny who gets what layer, therefor the request to edit can be accepted based on ones permissions.)
Fieldman teaches:
a receiver that accepts drawing on the canvas from each of a plurality of users (Fieldman [0007] One or more users log in to a video conference with a shared, online electronic whiteboard and begin a session by speaking and manipulating the shared whiteboard. [0010] FIG. 9 shows a view of a video conference session with an online, shared, electronic whiteboard displayed in the browser of the student computer.);
and a storage that associates and stores an image drawn on the canvas with user identification information that indicates the user that has performed drawing on the image (Fieldman [0034] The shared, real-time database executing within computer 96 stores an action log of all actions that are created or occur on the shared whiteboard in real time. In other words, each action by one of the users to modify the shared whiteboard (e.g., a drawing or a line) is sent over network 10 and stored within this shared database and typically includes metadata such as a timestamp and user identifier, as well as the data describing the action.),
Gammatrap teaches:
wherein the receiver accepts drawing on a layer as a canvas that can be drawn by each user for each of the users, the storage stores a layer identifier that identifies the layer on which corresponding users have performed drawing, and the generator superimposes the layer of each of the users to reflect the drawing from each of the users on the canvas to create the image (Gammatrap [3:45-4:45] Gammatrap explains how each user gets their own layer. As well as how it shows that who is drawing at a certain layer which has their own unique identifier.).
Gammatrap and Figma teaches:
further comprising: a first request receiver that accepts an edit request from a first user of the users for an image input by a second user other than the first user; a first transmitter that transmits the edit request from the first user to the second user; a receiver that receives permission/rejection information indicating permission/rejection of editing by the first user from the second user; and an editing unit that accepts drawing by the first user on the image that has been drawn by the second user and edits the image that has been drawn by the second user if the permission/rejection information indicates permission (Gammatrap [3:50-4:45] Gammatrap talks about how someone may try to take control of a layer, each layer cannot be edited if it is not allowed, so therefore a user may request to draw on a specific layer, however it may be denied based on the permissions given by the “admin” or “admins” who may also be users.) (Figma [Page 2] Here you can see that you can ask to edit documents, it would be reasonable that you could add an option to edit specific layers as well as the document. Edit requests are not something that are inherently.new).
wherein the editing unit accepts drawing from the first user and edits the layer indicated by the layer identifier associated with the second user on the basis of the accepted drawing from the first user (Gammatrap [3:50-4:45] Gammatrap talks about how the admins can control and deny who gets what layer, therefor the request to edit can be accepted based on ones permissions.) (Figma [Page 2] Here you can see that you can ask to edit documents, it would be reasonable that you could add an option to edit specific layers as well as the document. Edit requests are not something that are inherently.new)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Peterson with Fieldman, Gammatrap, and Figma. Being able to manipulate a shared canvas or whiteboard and having it update in real time with data associated with the image and having a group session where multiple users can adjust each other’s layers and create a joint canvas while also being able to edit only portions that are allowed to be edited, as in Fieldman, Gammatrap, and Figma, would benefit the Peterson teachings by allowing for an environment where users can share and draw on a canvas. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, being able to manipulate a shared canvas or whiteboard and having it update in real time with data associated with the image and having a group session where multiple users can adjust each other’s layers and create a joint canvas while also being able to edit only portions that are allowed to be edited, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 9.
Peterson teaches:
A non-transitory computer readable medium storing therein a joint image generating program causing a computer to embody the functions of: outputting information on a canvas that accepts drawing from a user (Peterson [0037] Any of computing devices 102-110 may host, implement, and/or operate any of an anamorphic image generator 120.);
wherein the outputting function outputs the image generated by the generating function (Peterson [0020] The anamorphic images may be utilized for catoptric anamorphis, e.g., projective, mirrored and/or reflective anamorphic displays of images.).
generating an image by reflecting the drawing from each of the users on the canvas (Peterson [0046] In some embodiments, anamorphic image generator 220 generates the anamorphic image data by adding “distortion” or a “deformation” to the source image, as well as applying the “mirror-reflection” operation or transformation to the source image);
Peterson fails to teach:
a receiver that accepts drawing on the canvas from each of a plurality of users;
and a storage that associates and stores an image drawn on the canvas with user identification information that indicates the user that has performed drawing on the image (Fieldman [0034] The shared, real-time database executing within computer 96 stores an action log of all actions that are created or occur on the shared whiteboard in real time. In other words, each action by one of the users to modify the shared whiteboard (e.g., a drawing or a line) is sent over network 10 and stored within this shared database and typically includes metadata such as a timestamp and user identifier, as well as the data describing the action.),
wherein the receiver accepts drawing on a layer as a canvas that can be drawn by each user for each of the users, the storage stores a layer identifier that identifies the layer on which corresponding users have performed drawing, and the generator superimposes the layer of each of the users to reflect the drawing from each of the users on the canvas to create the image (Gammatrap [3:45-4:45] Gammatrap explains how each user gets their own layer. As well as how it shows that who is drawing at a certain layer which has their own unique identifier.).
further comprising: a first request receiver that accepts an edit request from a first user of the users for an image input by a second user other than the first user; a first transmitter that transmits the edit request from the first user to the second user; a receiver that receives permission/rejection information indicating permission/rejection of editing by the first user from the second user; and an editing unit that accepts drawing by the first user on the image that has been drawn by the second user and edits the image that has been drawn by the second user if the permission/rejection information indicates permission (Gammatrap [3:50-4:45] Gammatrap talks about how someone may try to take control of a layer, each layer cannot be edited if it is not allowed, so therefore a user may request to draw on a specific layer, however it may be denied based on the permissions given by the “admin” or “admins” who may also be users.).
wherein the editing unit accepts drawing from the first user and edits the layer indicated by the layer identifier associated with the second user on the basis of the accepted drawing from the first user (Gammatrap [3:50-4:45] Gammatrap talks about how the admins can control and deny who gets what layer, therefor the request to edit can be accepted based on ones permissions.)
Fieldman teaches:
a receiver that accepts drawing on the canvas from each of a plurality of users (Fieldman [0007] One or more users log in to a video conference with a shared, online electronic whiteboard and begin a session by speaking and manipulating the shared whiteboard. [0010] FIG. 9 shows a view of a video conference session with an online, shared, electronic whiteboard displayed in the browser of the student computer.);
and a storage that associates and stores an image drawn on the canvas with user identification information that indicates the user that has performed drawing on the image (Fieldman [0034] The shared, real-time database executing within computer 96 stores an action log of all actions that are created or occur on the shared whiteboard in real time. In other words, each action by one of the users to modify the shared whiteboard (e.g., a drawing or a line) is sent over network 10 and stored within this shared database and typically includes metadata such as a timestamp and user identifier, as well as the data describing the action.),
Gammatrap teaches:
wherein the receiver accepts drawing on a layer as a canvas that can be drawn by each user for each of the users, the storage stores a layer identifier that identifies the layer on which corresponding users have performed drawing, and the generator superimposes the layer of each of the users to reflect the drawing from each of the users on the canvas to create the image (Gammatrap [3:45-4:45] Gammatrap explains how each user gets their own layer. As well as how it shows that who is drawing at a certain layer which has their own unique identifier.).
Gammatrap and Figma teaches:
further comprising: a first request receiver that accepts an edit request from a first user of the users for an image input by a second user other than the first user; a first transmitter that transmits the edit request from the first user to the second user; a receiver that receives permission/rejection information indicating permission/rejection of editing by the first user from the second user; and an editing unit that accepts drawing by the first user on the image that has been drawn by the second user and edits the image that has been drawn by the second user if the permission/rejection information indicates permission (Gammatrap [3:50-4:45] Gammatrap talks about how someone may try to take control of a layer, each layer cannot be edited if it is not allowed, so therefore a user may request to draw on a specific layer, however it may be denied based on the permissions given by the “admin” or “admins” who may also be users.) (Figma [Page 2] Here you can see that you can ask to edit documents, it would be reasonable that you could add an option to edit specific layers as well as the document. Edit requests are not something that are inherently.new).
wherein the editing unit accepts drawing from the first user and edits the layer indicated by the layer identifier associated with the second user on the basis of the accepted drawing from the first user (Gammatrap [3:50-4:45] Gammatrap talks about how the admins can control and deny who gets what layer, therefor the request to edit can be accepted based on ones permissions.) (Figma [Page 2] Here you can see that you can ask to edit documents, it would be reasonable that you could add an option to edit specific layers as well as the document. Edit requests are not something that are inherently.new)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Peterson with Fieldman, Gammatrap, and Figma. Being able to manipulate a shared canvas or whiteboard and having it update in real time with data associated with the image and having a group session where multiple users can adjust each other’s layers and create a joint canvas while also being able to edit only portions that are allowed to be edited, as in Fieldman, Gammatrap, and Figma, would benefit the Peterson teachings by allowing for an environment where users can share and draw on a canvas. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, being able to manipulate a shared canvas or whiteboard and having it update in real time with data associated with the image and having a group session where multiple users can adjust each other’s layers and create a joint canvas while also being able to edit only portions that are allowed to be edited, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 5.
Peterson, Fieldman, Gammatrap and Figma teach:
The joint image generating device according to claim 1,
further comprising: a second transmitter that transmits to the first user rejection information indicating that drawing cannot be performed by the first user on the image that has been drawn by the second user when the permission/rejection information indicates rejection (Gammatrap [3:50-4:45] Gammatrap talks about how the admins can control and deny who gets what layer, therefor the request to edit can be rejected based on ones permissions.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Peterson with Fieldman, Gammatrap, and Figma. Being able to manipulate a shared canvas or whiteboard and having it update in real time with data associated with the image and having a group session where multiple users can adjust each other’s layers and create a joint canvas while also being able to edit only portions that are allowed to be edited, as in Fieldman, Gammatrap, and Figma, would benefit the Peterson teachings by allowing for an environment where users can share and draw on a canvas. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, being able to manipulate a shared canvas or whiteboard and having it update in real time with data associated with the image and having a group session where multiple users can adjust each other’s layers and create a joint canvas while also being able to edit only portions that are allowed to be edited, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 6.
Peterson, Fieldman, Gammatrap and Figma teach:
The joint image generating device according to claim 2,
further comprising: a specifier that accepts from each of the users specification of a layer to be drawn by the user, wherein the storage associates and stores a layer identifier indicated by the specification of the layer from the user accepted by the specifier with a user identifier of the user that has specified the layer (Gammatrap [3:45-4:45] Gammatrap explains how each user gets their own layer. As well as how it shows that who is drawing at a certain layer which has their own unique identifier. The admin can also see this and can choose the permissions of the layers.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Peterson with Fieldman, Gammatrap, and Figma. Being able to manipulate a shared canvas or whiteboard and having it update in real time with data associated with the image and having a group session where multiple users can adjust each other’s layers and create a joint canvas while also being able to edit only portions that are allowed to be edited, as in Fieldman, Gammatrap, and Figma, would benefit the Peterson teachings by allowing for an environment where users can share and draw on a canvas. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, being able to manipulate a shared canvas or whiteboard and having it update in real time with data associated with the image and having a group session where multiple users can adjust each other’s layers and create a joint canvas while also being able to edit only portions that are allowed to be edited, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 7.
Peterson, Fieldman, Gammatrap, Figma teach:
The joint image generating device according to claim 1,
further comprising: a second request receiver that accepts a request from a third user of the users to output the image drawn by the third user for the image drawn on the canvas; and a third transmitter that transmits to the third user an image of a portion drawn by the third user (Gammatrap [5:50 – 6:50] We can see the bottom right corner allows you to select different layers and to choose specific ones. They also include the names of the people who drew those layers, allowing for selecting only certain users drawings. When you click your specific layer it is shown what you decided to be seen, similar to Photoshop layers. ) (Figma [Page 2] Here you can see that you can ask to edit documents, it would be reasonable that you could add an option to edit specific layers as well as the document. Edit requests are not something that are inherently new).
and certification information that certifies that the image has been drawn by the third user when the output request is accepted. (Fieldman [0034] Database server computer 96 is one of computers 20 that includes a shared, real-time database. Computer 96 may be operated by the operator of computer 20, may be a computer operated by a cloud service, etc. The shared, real-time database executing within computer 96 stores an action log of all actions that are created or occur on the shared whiteboard in real time. In other words, each action by one of the users to modify the shared whiteboard (e.g., a drawing or a line) is sent over network 10 and stored within this shared database and typically includes metadata such as a timestamp and user identifier, as well as the data describing the action. [0042] Authentication/validation module 147 performs various types of authentication/validation tasks such as authenticating devices and users, verifying passwords, SSL certificates, biometric identification information, or other security-related information, verifying activation or expiration times, etc. Module 147 may authenticate the identity of the current user or client computer.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Peterson with Fieldman, Gammatrap, and Figma. Being able to manipulate a shared canvas or whiteboard and having it update in real time with data associated with the image and having a group session where multiple users can adjust each other’s layers and create a joint canvas while also being able to edit only portions that are allowed to be edited, as in Fieldman, Gammatrap, and Figma, would benefit the Peterson teachings by allowing for an environment where users can share and draw on a canvas. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, being able to manipulate a shared canvas or whiteboard and having it update in real time with data associated with the image and having a group session where multiple users can adjust each other’s layers and create a joint canvas while also being able to edit only portions that are allowed to be edited, to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peterson et al. (US 20210090213) in view of Fieldman et al. (US 20210090213), and Gammatrap et al. (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=13qp-jcvq7I).
NEW CLAIMS:
Regarding claim 10
Peterson teaches:
A joint image generating device comprising:
an output unit that outputs information on a canvas that accepts drawing from a user (Peterson [0037] Any of computing devices 102-110 may host, implement, and/or operate any of an anamorphic image generator 120.);
a generator that generates an image by reflecting the drawing from each of the
users on the canvas (Peterson [0046] In some embodiments, anamorphic image generator 220 generates the anamorphic image data by adding “distortion” or a “deformation” to the source image, as well as applying the “mirror-reflection” operation or transformation to the source image); and
Peterson fails to teach:
a receiver that accepts drawing on the canvas from each of a plurality of users (Fieldman [0007] One or more users log in to a video conference with a shared, online electronic whiteboard and begin a session by speaking and manipulating the shared whiteboard. [0010] FIG. 9 shows a view of a video conference session with an online, shared, electronic whiteboard displayed in the browser of the student computer.);
a storage that associates and stores an image drawn on the canvas with user identification information that indicates the user that has performed drawing on the image, wherein the output unit outputs the image generated by the generator (Fieldman [0034] The shared, real-time database executing within computer 96 stores an action log of all actions that are created or occur on the shared whiteboard in real time. In other words, each action by one of the users to modify the shared whiteboard (e.g., a drawing or a line) is sent over network 10 and stored within this shared database and typically includes metadata such as a timestamp and user identifier, as well as the data describing the action.);
wherein the receiver accepts drawing on a layer as a canvas that can be drawn by each user for each of the users, the storage stores a layer identifier that identifies the layer on which corresponding users have performed drawing, and
the generator superimposes the layer of each of the users to reflect the drawing from each of the users on the canvas to create the image (Gammatrap [3:45-4:45] Gammatrap explains how each user gets their own layer. As well as how it shows that who is drawing at a certain layer which has their own unique identifier.);
further comprising: a second request receiver that accepts a request from a third user of the users to output the image drawn by the third user for the image drawn on the canvas; and a third transmitter that transmits to the third user an image of a portion drawn by the third user and certification information that certifies that the image has been drawn by the third user when the output request is accepted (Fieldman [0034] Database server computer 96 is one of computers 20 that includes a shared, real-time database. Computer 96 may be operated by the operator of computer 20, may be a computer operated by a cloud service, etc. The shared, real-time database executing within computer 96 stores an action log of all actions that are created or occur on the shared whiteboard in real time. In other words, each action by one of the users to modify the shared whiteboard (e.g., a drawing or a line) is sent over network 10 and stored within this shared database and typically includes metadata such as a timestamp and user identifier, as well as the data describing the action. [0042] Authentication/validation module 147 performs various types of authentication/validation tasks such as authenticating devices and users, verifying passwords, SSL certificates, biometric identification information, or other security-related information, verifying activation or expiration times, etc. Module 147 may authenticate the identity of the current user or client computer.).
Fieldman teaches:
a receiver that accepts drawing on the canvas from each of a plurality of users (Fieldman [0007] One or more users log in to a video conference with a shared, online electronic whiteboard and begin a session by speaking and manipulating the shared whiteboard. [0010] FIG. 9 shows a view of a video conference session with an online, shared, electronic whiteboard displayed in the browser of the student computer.);
a storage that associates and stores an image drawn on the canvas with user identification information that indicates the user that has performed drawing on the image, wherein the output unit outputs the image generated by the generator (Fieldman [0034] The shared, real-time database executing within computer 96 stores an action log of all actions that are created or occur on the shared whiteboard in real time. In other words, each action by one of the users to modify the shared whiteboard (e.g., a drawing or a line) is sent over network 10 and stored within this shared database and typically includes metadata such as a timestamp and user identifier, as well as the data describing the action.);
further comprising: a second request receiver that accepts a request from a third user of the users to output the image drawn by the third user for the image drawn on the canvas; and a third transmitter that transmits to the third user an image of a portion drawn by the third user and certification information that certifies that the image has been drawn by the third user when the output request is accepted (Fieldman [0034] Database server computer 96 is one of computers 20 that includes a shared, real-time database. Computer 96 may be operated by the operator of computer 20, may be a computer operated by a cloud service, etc. The shared, real-time database executing within computer 96 stores an action log of all actions that are created or occur on the shared whiteboard in real time. In other words, each action by one of the users to modify the shared whiteboard (e.g., a drawing or a line) is sent over network 10 and stored within this shared database and typically includes metadata such as a timestamp and user identifier, as well as the data describing the action. [0042] Authentication/validation module 147 performs various types of authentication/validation tasks such as authenticating devices and users, verifying passwords, SSL certificates, biometric identification information, or other security-related information, verifying activation or expiration times, etc. Module 147 may authenticate the identity of the current user or client computer.).
Gammatrap teaches:
wherein the receiver accepts drawing on a layer as a canvas that can be drawn by each user for each of the users, the storage stores a layer identifier that identifies the layer on which corresponding users have performed drawing, and
the generator superimposes the layer of each of the users to reflect the drawing from each of the users on the canvas to create the image (Gammatrap [3:45-4:45] Gammatrap explains how each user gets their own layer. As well as how it shows that who is drawing at a certain layer which has their own unique identifier.);
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Peterson with Fieldman, Gammatrap. Being able to manipulate a shared canvas or whiteboard and having it update in real time with data associated with the image and having a group session where multiple users can adjust each other’s layers and create a joint canvas while also being able to edit only portions that are allowed to be edited, as in Fieldman, Gammatrap, would benefit the Peterson teachings by allowing for an environment where users can share and draw on a canvas. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, being able to manipulate a shared canvas or whiteboard and having it update in real time with data associated with the image and having a group session where multiple users can adjust each other’s layers and create a joint canvas while also being able to edit only portions that are allowed to be edited, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 11
Peterson teaches:
A joint image generating method causing a computer to execute the steps of outputting information on a canvas that accepts drawing from a user (Peterson [0037] Any of computing devices 102-110 may host, implement, and/or operate any of an anamorphic image generator 120.);
generating an image by reflecting the drawing from each of the
users on the canvas (Peterson [0046] In some embodiments, anamorphic image generator 220 generates the anamorphic image data by adding “distortion” or a “deformation” to the source image, as well as applying the “mirror-reflection” operation or transformation to the source image); and
Peterson fails to teach:
Accepting drawing on the canvas from each of a plurality of users (Fieldman [0007] One or more users log in to a video conference with a shared, online electronic whiteboard and begin a session by speaking and manipulating the shared whiteboard. [0010] FIG. 9 shows a view of a video conference session with an online, shared, electronic whiteboard displayed in the browser of the student computer.);
a storage that associates and stores an image drawn on the canvas with user identification information that indicates the user that has performed drawing on the image, wherein the output unit outputs the image generated by the generator (Fieldman [0034] The shared, real-time database executing within computer 96 stores an action log of all actions that are created or occur on the shared whiteboard in real time. In other words, each action by one of the users to modify the shared whiteboard (e.g., a drawing or a line) is sent over network 10 and stored within this shared database and typically includes metadata such as a timestamp and user identifier, as well as the data describing the action.);
wherein the receiver accepts drawing on a layer as a canvas that can be drawn by each user for each of the users, the storage stores a layer identifier that identifies the layer on which corresponding users have performed drawing, and
the generator superimposes the layer of each of the users to reflect the drawing from each of the users on the canvas to create the image (Gammatrap [3:45-4:45] Gammatrap explains how each user gets their own layer. As well as how it shows that who is drawing at a certain layer which has their own unique identifier.);
further comprising: a second request receiver that accepts a request from a third user of the users to output the image drawn by the third user for the image drawn on the canvas; and a third transmitter that transmits to the third user an image of a portion drawn by the third user and certification information that certifies that the image has been drawn by the third user when the output request is accepted (Fieldman [0034] Database server computer 96 is one of computers 20 that includes a shared, real-time database. Computer 96 may be operated by the operator of computer 20, may be a computer operated by a cloud service, etc. The shared, real-time database executing within computer 96 stores an action log of all actions that are created or occur on the shared whiteboard in real time. In other words, each action by one of the users to modify the shared whiteboard (e.g., a drawing or a line) is sent over network 10 and stored within this shared database and typically includes metadata such as a timestamp and user identifier, as well as the data describing the action. [0042] Authentication/validation module 147 performs various types of authentication/validation tasks such as authenticating devices and users, verifying passwords, SSL certificates, biometric identification information, or other security-related information, verifying activation or expiration times, etc. Module 147 may authenticate the identity of the current user or client computer.).
Fieldman teaches:
a receiver that accepts drawing on the canvas from each of a plurality of users (Fieldman [0007] One or more users log in to a video conference with a shared, online electronic whiteboard and begin a session by speaking and manipulating the shared whiteboard. [0010] FIG. 9 shows a view of a video conference session with an online, shared, electronic whiteboard displayed in the browser of the student computer.);
a storage that associates and stores an image drawn on the canvas with user identification information that indicates the user that has performed drawing on the image, wherein the output unit outputs the image generated by the generator (Fieldman [0034] The shared, real-time database executing within computer 96 stores an action log of all actions that are created or occur on the shared whiteboard in real time. In other words, each action by one of the users to modify the shared whiteboard (e.g., a drawing or a line) is sent over network 10 and stored within this shared database and typically includes metadata such as a timestamp and user identifier, as well as the data describing the action.);
further comprising: a second request receiver that accepts a request from a third user of the users to output the image drawn by the third user for the image drawn on the canvas; and a third transmitter that transmits to the third user an image of a portion drawn by the third user and certification information that certifies that the image has been drawn by the third user when the output request is accepted (Fieldman [0034] Database server computer 96 is one of computers 20 that includes a shared, real-time database. Computer 96 may be operated by the operator of computer 20, may be a computer operated by a cloud service, etc. The shared, real-time database executing within computer 96 stores an action log of all actions that are created or occur on the shared whiteboard in real time. In other words, each action by one of the users to modify the shared whiteboard (e.g., a drawing or a line) is sent over network 10 and stored within this shared database and typically includes metadata such as a timestamp and user identifier, as well as the data describing the action. [0042] Authentication/validation module 147 performs various types of authentication/validation tasks such as authenticating devices and users, verifying passwords, SSL certificates, biometric identification information, or other security-related information, verifying activation or expiration times, etc. Module 147 may authenticate the identity of the current user or client computer.).
Gammatrap teaches:
wherein the receiver accepts drawing on a layer as a canvas that can be drawn by each user for each of the users, the storage stores a layer identifier that identifies the layer on which corresponding users have performed drawing, and
the generator superimposes the layer of each of the users to reflect the drawing from each of the users on the canvas to create the image (Gammatrap [3:45-4:45] Gammatrap explains how each user gets their own layer. As well as how it shows that who is drawing at a certain layer which has their own unique identifier.);
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Peterson with Fieldman, Gammatrap. Being able to manipulate a shared canvas or whiteboard and having it update in real time with data associated with the image and having a group session where multiple users can adjust each other’s layers and create a joint canvas while also being able to edit only portions that are allowed to be edited, as in Fieldman, Gammatrap, would benefit the Peterson teachings by allowing for an environment where users can share and draw on a canvas. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, being able to manipulate a shared canvas or whiteboard and having it update in real time with data associated with the image and having a group session where multiple users can adjust each other’s layers and create a joint canvas while also being able to edit only portions that are allowed to be edited, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 12
Peterson teaches:
A non-transitory computer readable medium storing therein a joint image generating program causing a computer to embody the functions of
outputting information on a canvas that accepts drawing from a user (Peterson [0037] Any of computing devices 102-110 may host, implement, and/or operate any of an anamorphic image generator 120.);
a generator that generates an image by reflecting the drawing from each of the
users on the canvas (Peterson [0046] In some embodiments, anamorphic image generator 220 generates the anamorphic image data by adding “distortion” or a “deformation” to the source image, as well as applying the “mirror-reflection” operation or transformation to the source image); and
Peterson fails to teach:
a receiver that accepts drawing on the canvas from each of a plurality of users (Fieldman [0007] One or more users log in to a video conference with a shared, online electronic whiteboard and begin a session by speaking and manipulating the shared whiteboard. [0010] FIG. 9 shows a view of a video conference session with an online, shared, electronic whiteboard displayed in the browser of the student computer.);
a storage that associates and stores an image drawn on the canvas with user identification information that indicates the user that has performed drawing on the image, wherein the output unit outputs the image generated by the generator (Fieldman [0034] The shared, real-time database executing within computer 96 stores an action log of all actions that are created or occur on the shared whiteboard in real time. In other words, each action by one of the users to modify the shared whiteboard (e.g., a drawing or a line) is sent over network 10 and stored within this shared database and typically includes metadata such as a timestamp and user identifier, as well as the data describing the action.);
wherein the receiver accepts drawing on a layer as a canvas that can be drawn by each user for each of the users, the storage stores a layer identifier that identifies the layer on which corresponding users have performed drawing, and
the generator superimposes the layer of each of the users to reflect the drawing from each of the users on the canvas to create the image (Gammatrap [3:45-4:45] Gammatrap explains how each user gets their own layer. As well as how it shows that who is drawing at a certain layer which has their own unique identifier.);
further comprising: a second request receiver that accepts a request from a third user of the users to output the image drawn by the third user for the image drawn on the canvas; and a third transmitter that transmits to the third user an image of a portion drawn by the third user and certification information that certifies that the image has been drawn by the third user when the output request is accepted (Fieldman [0034] Database server computer 96 is one of computers 20 that includes a shared, real-time database. Computer 96 may be operated by the operator of computer 20, may be a computer operated by a cloud service, etc. The shared, real-time database executing within computer 96 stores an action log of all actions that are created or occur on the shared whiteboard in real time. In other words, each action by one of the users to modify the shared whiteboard (e.g., a drawing or a line) is sent over network 10 and stored within this shared database and typically includes metadata such as a timestamp and user identifier, as well as the data describing the action. [0042] Authentication/validation module 147 performs various types of authentication/validation tasks such as authenticating devices and users, verifying passwords, SSL certificates, biometric identification information, or other security-related information, verifying activation or expiration times, etc. Module 147 may authenticate the identity of the current user or client computer.).
Fieldman teaches:
a receiver that accepts drawing on the canvas from each of a plurality of users (Fieldman [0007] One or more users log in to a video conference with a shared, online electronic whiteboard and begin a session by speaking and manipulating the shared whiteboard. [0010] FIG. 9 shows a view of a video conference session with an online, shared, electronic whiteboard displayed in the browser of the student computer.);
a storage that associates and stores an image drawn on the canvas with user identification information that indicates the user that has performed drawing on the image, wherein the output unit outputs the image generated by the generator (Fieldman [0034] The shared, real-time database executing within computer 96 stores an action log of all actions that are created or occur on the shared whiteboard in real time. In other words, each action by one of the users to modify the shared whiteboard (e.g., a drawing or a line) is sent over network 10 and stored within this shared database and typically includes metadata such as a timestamp and user identifier, as well as the data describing the action.);
further comprising: a second request receiver that accepts a request from a third user of the users to output the image drawn by the third user for the image drawn on the canvas; and a third transmitter that transmits to the third user an image of a portion drawn by the third user and certification information that certifies that the image has been drawn by the third user when the output request is accepted (Fieldman [0034] Database server computer 96 is one of computers 20 that includes a shared, real-time database. Computer 96 may be operated by the operator of computer 20, may be a computer operated by a cloud service, etc. The shared, real-time database executing within computer 96 stores an action log of all actions that are created or occur on the shared whiteboard in real time. In other words, each action by one of the users to modify the shared whiteboard (e.g., a drawing or a line) is sent over network 10 and stored within this shared database and typically includes metadata such as a timestamp and user identifier, as well as the data describing the action. [0042] Authentication/validation module 147 performs various types of authentication/validation tasks such as authenticating devices and users, verifying passwords, SSL certificates, biometric identification information, or other security-related information, verifying activation or expiration times, etc. Module 147 may authenticate the identity of the current user or client computer.).
Gammatrap teaches:
wherein the receiver accepts drawing on a layer as a canvas that can be drawn by each user for each of the users, the storage stores a layer identifier that identifies the layer on which corresponding users have performed drawing, and
the generator superimposes the layer of each of the users to reflect the drawing from each of the users on the canvas to create the image (Gammatrap [3:45-4:45] Gammatrap explains how each user gets their own layer. As well as how it shows that who is drawing at a certain layer which has their own unique identifier.);
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Peterson with Fieldman, Gammatrap. Being able to manipulate a shared canvas or whiteboard and having it update in real time with data associated with the image and having a group session where multiple users can adjust each other’s layers and create a joint canvas while also being able to edit only portions that are allowed to be edited, as in Fieldman, Gammatrap, would benefit the Peterson teachings by allowing for an environment where users can share and draw on a canvas. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, being able to manipulate a shared canvas or whiteboard and having it update in real time with data associated with the image and having a group session where multiple users can adjust each other’s layers and create a joint canvas while also being able to edit only portions that are allowed to be edited, to yield predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues:
“The Office Action alleges that Gammatrap teaches restricting edits based on permissions given by an "admin" who may also be a user. Amended claim 1, however, expressly recites "a first transmitter that transmits the edit request from the first user to the second user" and "a receiver that receives permission/rejection information indicating permission/rejection of editing by the first user from the second user," and amended claims 8 and 9 recite corresponding steps and functions.
Amended claim 1 further recites that "the editing unit accepts drawing from the first user and edits the layer indicated by the layer identifier associated with the second user on the basis of the accepted drawing from the first user," and amended claims 8 and 9 recite corresponding steps and functions. Thus, the claims require a user-to-user permission path tied to the specific creator and layer being edited, not merely administrator-managed layer access.
Even if an administrator in Gammatrap may also be a user, Gammatrap fails to teach or suggest a permission mechanism that routes the edit request to the specific creator of the target image, receives permission directly from that specific creator, and enables editing of that creator's associated layer.
None of Peterson, Fieldman, or Gammatrap teaches routing the edit request to the specific creator of the target layer, regardless of whether an administrator in Gammatrap may also be a user.”
Examiner responds:
In Gammatrap, the administrator is the user. It would be reasonable to assume that you may ask permission of the admin to be able to edit. Inside the application of “Magma” there is also a chat functionality which a user may presumably ask permission to edit a certain layer. However, to advance prosecution, Figma has been introduced to show how in the art “asking edit permission” Is something that is well known in the art. (Figma [Page 2] Here you can see that you can ask to edit documents, it would be reasonable that you could add an option to edit specific layers as well as the document. Edit requests are not something that are inherently.new).
Applicant further argues:
“The Office Action alleges that Gammatrap teaches outputting a specific user's drawing because Gammatrap includes names of people who drew layers and allows selection of specific layers. The newly added claims require more. New claim 10 recites "a third transmitter that transmits to the third user an image of a portion drawn by the third user and certification information that certifies that the image has been drawn by the third user when the output request is accepted," and new claims 11 and 12 recite corresponding steps and functions.
Simply displaying a user's name in a drawing-session user interface is technically distinct from the claimed systemic proof of authorship. The specification supports this distinction by describing certification information that certifies who drew what and when, and that may be issued in paper form, as electronic data, or as a Non-Fungible Token (NFT).
A username displayed in a layer interface is descriptive metadata, not certification information issued and transmitted upon an output request to certify authorship.
Accordingly, Peterson, Fieldman, and Gammatrap, alone or in combination, fail to teach or suggest the newly incorporated limitations of amended independent claims 1, 8, and 9 and the certification-information limitations of new independent claims 10-12. For at least these reasons, Applicant respectfully submits that the pending claims are patentable and that withdrawal of the rejections is warranted.”
Examiner responds:
The metadata may be used as certification information, it would be reasonable to someone in the art that having data which shows what each person edited to be certified information, as well paragraph (Fieldman [0034] Database server computer 96 is one of computers 20 that includes a shared, real-time database. Computer 96 may be operated by the operator of computer 20, may be a computer operated by a cloud service, etc. The shared, real-time database executing within computer 96 stores an action log of all actions that are created or occur on the shared whiteboard in real time. In other words, each action by one of the users to modify the shared whiteboard (e.g., a drawing or a line) is sent over network 10 and stored within this shared database and typically includes metadata such as a timestamp and user identifier, as well as the data describing the action. [0042] Authentication/validation module 147 performs various types of authentication/validation tasks such as authenticating devices and users, verifying passwords, SSL certificates, biometric identification information, or other security-related information, verifying activation or expiration times, etc. Module 147 may authenticate the identity of the current user or client computer.) has been added to further support this rejection.
In regards to the portion of “The specification supports this distinction by describing certification information that certifies who drew what and when, and that may be issued in paper form, as electronic data, or as a Non-Fungible Token (NFT).”
This is not claimed in the claims, it could be reasonable to assume that any metadata which shows a specific user to be the certification.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DENIS VASILIY MINKO/Examiner, Art Unit 2612
/Said Broome/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2612