DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application makes reference to or appears to claim subject matter disclosed in Application No. 63/586,688 filed on September 29, 2023.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 09/12/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 12, 13, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Tao (Hereinafter “Tao”, US 10969498), in view of Madine et al. (Hereinafter “Madine”, US 9955307).
Regarding claim 1, and 13: Tao discloses An apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to: (i.e., The present disclosure relates to the field of vehicle positioning technologies and, in particular, to a vehicle positioning method, an apparatus and a device. As described in paragraph (2) ).
generate, for transmission to a wireless communication device, a request to initiate a ranging operation; (i.e., Step S101: sending an auxiliary positioning request to an auxiliary positioning device within a preset distance range. As described in paragraph (24)).
process, based on one or more signals received from the wireless communication device, a response indicating that the apparatus is to locate the wireless communication device; (i.e., Step S102: receiving an auxiliary positioning message returned by the auxiliary positioning device with respect to the auxiliary positioning request, where the auxiliary positioning message carries location information of the auxiliary positioning device. As described in paragraph (26)).
generate, for transmission to a wireless communication device, first ranging data; (i.e., Step S103: determining a current location of the current vehicle according to the location information of the auxiliary positioning device and distance information between the current vehicle and the auxiliary positioning device. As described in paragraph (27)).
Tao discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above. But does not expressly disclose feature of these claims:
process, based on one or more signals received from the wireless communication device, second ranging data;
determine a direction of the wireless communication device relative to the apparatus based on at least the first ranging data and the second ranging data, wherein the direction is based on a spherical coordinate system including a radial distance, an azimuthal angle, and a polar angle; and
generate, for display on a display device, a graphic based on at least the determined direction of the wireless communication device relative to the apparatus, the graphic indicating a three dimensional direction of the wireless communication device relative to the apparatus.
In similarly endeavor, Madine discloses:
process, based on one or more signals received from the wireless communication device, second ranging data; (i.e., determining a first probe signal parameter that is indicative for a distance between said first mobile device and a second mobile device of said plurality of devices; obtaining one or more further probe signal parameters, wherein each of said one or more further probe signal parameters is indicative for a distance between two mobile devices of said plurality of mobile devices. As described in paragraph (8)).
determine a direction of the wireless communication device relative to the apparatus based on at least the first ranging data and the second ranging data, wherein the direction is based on a spherical coordinate system including a radial distance, an azimuthal angle, and a polar angle; (i.e., As an example, a two-dimensional graph may for example be represented by polar coordinates (i.e. radial distance and polar angle) of the nodes of the weighted according to a defined polar coordinate system and a three-dimensional graph may for example be represented by spherical coordinates (i.e. radial distance, polar angle and azimuth angle) of the nodes of the weighted graph according to a defined spherical coordinate system. As described in paragraph (21)).
And generate, for display on a display device, a graphic based on at least the determined direction of the wireless communication device relative to the apparatus, the graphic indicating a three dimensional direction of the wireless communication device relative to the apparatus. (i.e., For example, the graphical representation may be displayed or caused to be displayed on a graphical user interface (e.g. a graphical user interface of the first mobile device). As described in paragraph (78)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Madine into the invention of Tao in order to provide an improvement in three-dimensional display for communication while in multi-level environments or when the users are on different vertical position.
Regard to claim 4, and 16, Tao and Madine disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
Madine further discloses : wherein the first and the second ranging data are exchanged by at least one of (i) ultra-wideband (UWB), (ii) a wireless local area network (WLAN), or (iii) a cellular network. (i.e., Communication between the plurality of mobile devices 101 to 105 takes place in a wireless fashion, e.g. on a Bluetooth based communication, or on a BLE based communication, or on a WLAN based communication, or based on a combination thereof, to name but a few examples. As described in paragraph (11)).
Regard to claim 5, and 17, Tao and Madine disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
Madine further discloses : wherein the generated graphic is based on the spherical coordinate system. (i.e., As an example, a two-dimensional graph may for example be represented by polar coordinates (i.e. radial distance and polar angle) of the nodes of the weighted according to a defined polar coordinate system and a three-dimensional graph may for example be represented by spherical coordinates (i.e. radial distance, polar angle and azimuth angle) of the nodes of the weighted graph according to a defined spherical coordinate system. As described in paragraph (21)).
Regard to claim 6, and 18, Tao and Madine disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
Madine further discloses : wherein the generated graphic indicates that the apparatus and the wireless device are at different elevations of a navigational environment. (i.e., Otherwise, the weighted graph may be three-dimensional (e.g. such that the edges and nodes of the weighted graph are not in the same plane). As described in paragraph (20)).
Regard to claim 12, Tao and Madine disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
Madine further discloses : wherein the request is transmitted via a short-rage connection, a Wi-Fi connection, an Internet connection or a cellular connection. (i.e., Optionally, processor 201 further controls an optional communication interface 205 supporting a cellular communication technique (e.g. a 2G/3G/4G/5G cellular radio communication). As described in paragraph (21)).
Claims 2, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Tao (Hereinafter “Tao”, US 10969498), in view of Madine et al. (Hereinafter “Madine”, US 9955307), and further in view of DORMODY et al. (Hereinafter “Dormody”, US 20210006951)
Regard to claim 2, and 14, Tao and Madine disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. But does not expressly disclose feature of these claims: wherein determination of the direction of the wireless communication device relative to the apparatus is based on the processing circuitry being configured to:
process, a first barometric pressure based on a barometer reading, wherein the first barometric pressure corresponds with a first elevation of a navigational environment;
process, based on one or more signals received from the wireless communication device, a second barometric pressure corresponding to a second elevation of the navigational environment; and
determine a barometric pressure differential between the first barometric pressure and the second barometric pressure.
In similarly endeavor, Dormody discloses: wherein determination of the direction of the wireless communication device relative to the apparatus is based on the processing circuitry being configured to:
process, a first barometric pressure based on a barometer reading, wherein the first barometric pressure corresponds with a first elevation of a navigational environment; (i.e., During the process, measurements of pressure are generated using the pressure sensor of the mobile device during a time range (step 421). The measurements of pressure include a first pressure measurement determined at or near (e.g., within a threshold amount of time since) the beginning of the time range, As described in paragraph [0035]).
process, based on one or more signals received from the wireless communication device, a second barometric pressure corresponding to a second elevation of the navigational environment; (i.e., and a second pressure measurement determined at or near (e.g., within the threshold amount of time before) the end of the time range. In one implementation of step 421, the time range is at least 10 seconds. Of course, other implementations may use different numbers of measurements and time ranges. As described in paragraph [0035] ).
And determine a barometric pressure differential between the first barometric pressure and the second barometric pressure. (i.e., In a first embodiment of the process shown in FIG. 4, (i) determining a characteristic of the measurements of pressure during step 422 comprises determining a difference between the first pressure measurement and the second pressure measurement, As described in paragraph [0040] ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Dormody into the invention of Tao, and Madine in order to provide an improvement in three-dimensional display for communication while in multi-level environments or when the users are on different vertical position.
Claims 3, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Tao (Hereinafter “Tao”, US 10969498), in view of Madine et al. (Hereinafter “Madine”, US 9955307), and further in view of Choi et al. (Hereinafter “Choi”, US 11762078).
Regard to claim 3, and 15, Tao and Madine disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. But does not expressly disclose feature of these claims: wherein determination of the direction of the wireless communication device relative to the apparatus is based on the processing circuitry being configured to:
process inertial measurement unit (IMU) data related to the apparatus; and
process, based on one or more signals received from the wireless communication device, IMU data of the wireless communication device,
wherein determination of the direction of the wireless communication device relative to the apparatus is based at least on the IMU related to the apparatus and the wireless communication device.
In similarly endeavor, Choi discloses: wherein determination of the direction of the wireless communication device relative to the apparatus is based on the processing circuitry being configured to:
process inertial measurement unit (IMU) data related to the apparatus; (i.e., The IMU may be configured to provide measurements about a direction of motion and/or a speed of motion of the UE 200, which may be used in relative location determination. As described in paragraph (46)).
And process, based on one or more signals received from the wireless communication device, IMU data of the wireless communication device,
wherein determination of the direction of the wireless communication device relative to the apparatus is based at least on the IMU related to the apparatus and the wireless communication device. (i.e., In another example, for relative positioning information, the sensors/IMU can be used to determine the angle and/or orientation of the other device with respect to the UE 200, etc. As described in paragraph (45) ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Choi into the invention of Tao, and Madine in order to provide an improvement in three-dimensional display for communication while in multi-level environments or when the users are on different vertical position.
Claims 7, 8, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Tao (Hereinafter “Tao”, US 10969498), in view of Madine et al. (Hereinafter “Madine”, US 9955307), and further in view of Szczerba (Hereinafter “Szczerba”, US 20100253596).
Regard to claim 7, and 19, Tao and Madine disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. But does not expressly disclose feature of these claims:
wherein the first ranging data is based on at least one of collected camera data, collected ultra-wideband data, or collected light detection and ranging (LiDAR) data.
In similarly endeavor, Szczerba discloses:
wherein the first ranging data is based on at least one of collected camera data, collected ultra-wideband data, or collected light detection and ranging (LiDAR) data. (i.e., As shown in FIG. 16, a CPS continuously monitors the surrounding environment using its range sensors (e.g., radars and lidars) and cameras and takes appropriate counter-measurements in order to avoid incidents or situations to develop into a collision. As described in paragraph [0117]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Szczerba into the invention of Tao, and Madine in order to provide an improvement in three-dimensional display for communication while in multi-level environments or when the users are on different vertical position.
Regard to claim 8, and 20, Tao, Madine, and Szczerba disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
And Szczerba further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
when the first ranging data is based on collected camera data or collected LiDAR data, adjust the displayed graphic based on collected camera data or collected LiDAR data indicating an obstruction. (i.e., Additionally, textual information including factors such as range and an evaluation of relative movement can be displayed in order to assist the operator in compensating correctly for the presence of the vehicle. Pedestrian indicator 230 gives the operator notice that a pedestrian has been detected and the general position with respect to the roadway. As described in paragraph [0181]).
Regard to claim 11, Tao, Madine, and Szczerba disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
And Szczerba further discloses: wherein the generated graphic comprises an arrow. (i.e., [0182] FIG. 34 depicts an exemplary display of graphics improving safety through a lane change. View 240 includes first lane marker 202 and second lane marker 204, directly viewable through the windscreen; neighboring lane marker 242, also directly viewable; turn signal indicator 244; lane change tactical display 246; and textual displays 248 and 249. Turn signal indicator 244 can include a simple arrow, a flashing arrow, a cycling graphic changing size, color, intensity, position, or other graphic depending upon the message being conveyed to the operator. For example, in a lane change wherein no threat is detected in the neighboring lane, a simple arrow may be discreetly displayed upon the HUD to convey that no threat is anticipated to forestall the maneuver. As described in paragraph [0182]).
Claims 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Tao (Hereinafter “Tao”, US 10969498), in view of Madine et al. (Hereinafter “Madine”, US 9955307), and further in view of Belghoul eta al. (Hereinafter “Belghoul”, US 9763051).
Regard to claim 9, Tao and Madine disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. But does not expressly disclose feature of these claims:
wherein determination of the direction of the wireless communication device relative to the apparatus is based at least on global navigation satellite system data related to the apparatus or the wireless communication device.
In similarly endeavor, Belghoul discloses:
wherein determination of the direction of the wireless communication device relative to the apparatus is based at least on global navigation satellite system data related to the apparatus or the wireless communication device. (i.e., A wireless communication device can also estimate its location using WLAN/WPAN AP measurements and WLAN/WPAN AP mapping information supplemented by GPS/GNSS signals when available. As described in paragraph (7)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Belghoul into the invention of Tao, and Madine in order to provide an improvement in three-dimensional display for communication while in multi-level environments or when the users are on different vertical position.
Regard to claim 10, Tao, Madine, and Belghoul disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
And Belghoul further discloses: wherein generating the graphic to be displayed on the display device is further based on access point names (APNs) identified by at least one of the apparatus or the wireless communication device. when (i.e., A wireless communication device can estimate its location using a combination of WLAN/WPAN AP measurements and WLAN/WPAN AP mapping information available in the wireless communication device, e.g., a locally stored and/or locally accessible WLAN/WPAN AP mapping. As described in paragraph (7)).
Conclusion
/Eric M. Vo/Examiner, Art Unit 2644
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644