DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 11, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
At present, the prior art to Pederson et al. (U.S. Patent 7,486,677 B2) remains commensurate to the scope of the claims as stated by the Applicant and as broadly interpreted by the Examiner [MPEP 2111], which is elucidated and expounded upon below.
In response to Applicant’s amendment, “a lightbar comprising a plurality of light modules comprising a plurality of sections… wherein each section is configured to emit a single color of light,” Pederson remains commensurate in teaching a lightbar [note Figure 5] including a plurality of light modules having a plurality of sections [e.g., note Figure 11: (1138, 1280) – light modules/sections are considered broad/arbitrary]. Pederson specifically discloses, “Controller 50 may be designed to provide independent control of or between the N groups of LEDs… Although the LEDs 1234 may take on many colors, preferred colors include, but are not limited to red, amber, green, blue, and white. The LEDs may all take on a single color, such as blue, or the LEDs may take on combination of colors” [Column 6, Lines 28-29… Column 8, Lines 44-47 – underlined added for emphasis].
In response to Applicant’s amendment, “at least one controller area network (CAN) component configured to control the (at least one light module) plurality of light modules, wherein each light module of the plurality of light modules is configured to be controlled independently,” Pederson remains commensurate in disclosing, “Controller 50 may be designed to provide independent control of or between the N groups of LEDs” [Column 6, Lines 28-29].
Applicant should again be aware that the broadest reasonable interpretation has been applied to the claim limitations as argued, which have been addressed above.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “at least one controller area network (CAN) component configured to control the at least one light module” is suggested to read as “at least one controller area network (CAN) component configured to control the plurality of light modules”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: “wherein each light module of the plurality of light modules” is suggested to read as “wherein each of the one or more additional lights”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pederson et al. (U.S. Patent 7,468,677 B2).
With regards to Claim 1, Pederson discloses an emergency lighting system [Figures 1-18] including:
A lightbar [note Figure 5] including a plurality of light modules [e.g., (1138, 1280)] including a plurality of sections having one or more light-emitting diodes (LEDs) [e.g., (1234, 1302) – light modules/sections are considered broad/arbitrary], wherein the at least one light module includes a common optical element [e.g., (1244, 1286) and/or circuit of Figures 1-3] configured to emit red, green, blue, amber, and white light, and wherein each individual LED of the one or more LEDs is configured to emit chromatically accurate colored light [Column 8, Lines 41-65], wherein each section is configured to emit a single color of light [note Figures 1-18 and Column 6, Lines 28-29… Column 8, Lines 44-47]; and
At least one controller area network (CAN) component (50) configured to control the (at least one light module) plurality of light modules, wherein each light module of the plurality of light modules is configured to be controlled independently [Column 6, Lines 28-29].
With regards to Claim 2, Pederson discloses the plurality of light modules further configured to emit infrared (IR) light [Column 8, Lines 62-65].
With regards to Claim 3, Pederson discloses the common optical element including a five-color light-emitting diode (LED) circuit [Figures 1-3 and Column 8, Lines 41-65].
With regards to Claim 4, Pederson discloses the common optical element including five independent light emitting diodes (LEDs) [Figures 1-18 and Column 8, Lines 41-65].
With regards to Claim 5, Pederson discloses the common optical element including four pixels and a fifth primary color [as broadly interpreted, Figures 1-18 and Column 8, Lines 41-65].
With regards to Claim 6, Pederson discloses the common optical element is further configured to emit combinations of red, green, blue, amber, and white light [Figures 1-3 and Column 8, Lines 41-65].
With regards to Claim 7, Pederson discloses one or more optical sensors (1332) configure to measure ambient light and switch the lighting system to night mode when the ambient light falls below a predetermined threshold [Column 12, Lines 54-64].
With regards to Claim 8, Pederson discloses one or more additional lights, wherein the one or more additional lights [e.g., Figures 1-18: multiple light bars (1138, 1280) that are remote to each other] are controlled by the CAN component of the lighting system [e.g., (50)], and wherein the one or more additional lights are configured to emit red, green, blue, amber, and white light [Column 8, Lines 41-65].
With regards to Claim 9, Pederson discloses each light module [e.g., (1138, 1280)] includes two or more light elements [e.g., (1234)], wherein each light element of the two or more light elements includes a first primary warning light; a secondary primary warning; and a secondary primary warning light [as broadly interpreted, Column 8, Lines 41-65 = different colors, patterns, etc.].
With regards to Claim 10, Pederson discloses the lighting system further including: an exoskeleton [e.g., (1142, 1278)], wherein the plurality of light modules coupled to the exoskeleton; a first corner light module, configured to couple to the exoskeleton [e.g., left end cap (1148)]; and a second corner light module configured to couple to the exoskeleton [e.g., right end cap (1148)], wherein when the first corner light module and the second corner light module are coupled to the exoskeleton, an opening is formed [note Figures 1-18, as broadly interpreted].
With regards to Claim 11, Pederson discloses each light module of the plurality of light modules being configured to be controlled independent of another light module of the plurality of light modules [Column 8, Lines 41-65].
With regards to Claim 12, Pederson discloses the plurality of light modules being configured to emit a flash pattern [Column 8, Lines 41-65].
With regards to Claim 13, Pederson discloses each light module of the plurality of light modules includes two or more light elements [e.g., (1234)], wherein each light element of the two or more light elements includes a first primary warning light and a secondary warning light [as broadly interpreted, Column 8, Lines 41-65 = different colors, patterns, etc.].
With regards to Claim 14, Pederson discloses the secondary warning light element being configured to emit red, green, blue, amber, white light, infrared light, or a combination thereof [Column 8, Lines 41-65].
With regards to Claim 15, Pederson discloses the two or more lighting elements further including a secondary primary warning light [as broadly interpreted, Column 8, Lines 41-65 = different colors, patterns, etc.].
With regards to Claim 16, Pederson discloses the first primary warning light and the second primary warning light are configured to emit light independently [Column 8, Lines 41-65].
With regards to Claim 17, Pederson discloses the first primary warning light, the secondary primary warning light, the secondary warning light, or a combination thereof are configured to emit a flash pattern [Column 8, Lines 41-65].
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pederson et al. (U.S. Patent 7,468,677 B2).
With regards to Claim 18, Pederson discloses an emergency lighting system [Figures 1-18] including:
A lightbar [e.g., Figure 5: (1138, 1280)]; and
One or more additional lights [e.g., as broadly interpreted, (1138, 1280)] having one or more light-emitting diodes (LEDs) [Column 8, Lines 41-65], wherein the one or more additional lights are controlled by the emergency lighting system [note Figures 1-18], and wherein the one or more additional lights include a common optical element [e.g., (1244, 1286) and/or circuit of Figures 1-3] configured to emit red, green, blue, amber, and white light, and wherein each individual LED of the one or more LEDs is configured to emit chromatically accurate colored light [Column 8, Lines 41-65]; and
At least one controller area network (CAN) component (50) configured to control the one or more additional lights, wherein each of the one or more additional lights (instead of module of the plurality of light modules) is configured to be controlled independently [Column 6, Lines 28-29].
With regards to Claim 19, Pederson discloses the one or more additional lights are selected from headlights, undercarriage lights, scene lights, standalone lights separate from the emergency lighting system, or a combination thereof [Figures 1-18, as broadly interpreted].
With regards to Claim 20, Pederson discloses the common optical element further configured to emit combinations of red, green, blue, amber, and white light [Column 8, Lines 41-65 and Column 10, Lines 61-63].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Friday, April 10, 2026
/Jason M Han/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875