Applicant’s election without traverse of Species G and claims 1-5, 7-19 and 24-26 in the reply filed on October 31, 2025 is acknowledged.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the positively claimed twist-tie cluster must be shown in elected species Figures 15-19 and the claimed top base portion and rear base portion clearly distinguished by numeral in the drawings or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification or in the drawings in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. In claim 13, it is not seen that the elected species of Figures 15-19 discloses “a bottom portion extension extending outward from a bottom of the rear portion…”, as it appears limited to Figures 12-14.
Claims 7-8, 14-19 and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. In claim 7, line 2, “thereby being in effect integral” is indefinite as to the meaning and scope of “in effect”.
In claim 14, lines 7 and 8, claim 17, lines 2 and 5, claim 19, line 3, claim 24, line 5, claim 25, lines 2-3 and 4 and claim 26, lines 2 and 5, the terms “hook-like” and “rod-like” are indefinite in the meaning and scope of “like”. The phrase "____-like" renders the claims indefinite because the claims include elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "____-like"), thereby rendering the scope of the claims unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
In claim 18, line 2, “the at least one corresponding cantilever member” lacks antecedent basis.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-8, 10-12 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Helseth et al. (6,217,500). Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-12 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Helseth (5,961,434). Claims 1, 5, 7, 9-12 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Helseth (D395,566). Each discloses a twist-tie dispenser comprising a twist-tie cluster (40; 40; see Figure 2) including a top cluster portion (52; 52; see Figure 2), and a base (80; 80; see Figure 1) including a top base portion (94, 92, upper part of 82; 81, 83, upper part of 82; see Figure 1), the top base portion being generally U-shaped and forming an opening configured and arranged to receive the top cluster portion of the twist-tie cluster.
As to claim 3, Helseth et al. (‘500) and Helseth (‘434) each disclose the base made of extruded plastic.
As to claim 5, each discloses the twist-tie cluster at least partially friction-fit within the base (see Figure 6; provided by 100 and 101; see Figure 2).
As to claim 7, each discloses the base and twist-tie cluster secured together integrally.
As to claim 8, Helseth et al. (‘500) and Helseth (‘434) each disclose adhesive (48; 48).
As to claims 9 and 10, Helseth et al. (‘434) and Helseth (‘566) each disclose a mounting member (86a or 86b; shown holes) configured and arranged to allow securing the base to a mounting plate.
As to claim 11, each discloses the top cluster portion is a connected portion including a connecting member (52; 52; ass shown in Figure 2) interconnecting a plurality of twist-ties.
As to claim 12, each discloses a rear portion (82; 82; as clearly shown) extending downward from the top base portion.
As to claim 24, the recitation “is configured for attachment…” in line 5 is mere intended use, not construction. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over any of the three previously employed Helseth references in view of Gelbard (4,537,330). The Helseth references disclose various materials may be used to comprise the construction, but not specifically cardboard, inherently biodegradable. However, Gelbard discloses a similar dispensing system where the base construction is made from cardboard. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide any of the three Helseth references from cardboard as claimed, as such a modification would predictably provide an expectedly workable construction that is biodegradable and less expensive to produce. It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claims 14-19 and 24-26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 1, 1, and 4, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 9,486,092. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter as now claimed is rendered obvious by the claimed subject matter of the indicated earlier patented claims.
Claims 14-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 10,138,039. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter as now claimed is rendered obvious by the claimed subject matter of the indicated earlier patented claims.
Claims 14-19 and 24-26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 1, 1, and 4, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 10,661,956. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter as now claimed is rendered obvious by the claimed subject matter of the indicated earlier patented claims.
Claim 14 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in this Office action and double patenting overcome by a proper Terminal Disclaimer. Dependent claims 15-19 would also then be allowable.
Claim 25 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and double patenting overcome by a proper Terminal Disclaimer. Dependent claim 26 would also then be allowable.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/BRYON P GEHMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736
BRYON P. GEHMAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3736
BPG