DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2005/0276547 to Wang et al. in view of US 2024/0361541 to Krichevsky et al.
Wang discloses in figures 9-13, an optical module assembly comprising:
An electric sub-assembly including a PCB and an electronic device mounted on the PCB (unlabeled chip in figure 11); and
An optical module (transceiver; abstract) including an interposer (66; figure 10) that includes a transparent material (paragraph 80), an optical sub-assembly (portion connected by optical coupling portion 84; figure 12, and a cover (housing 89),
Wherein one end portion of the PCB is inserted into the optical sub-assembly through an inserting hole formed on the sidewall of the optical sub-assembly, and the optical components and a substrate electrode formed on a surface of the one end portion of the PCB are electrically connected to each other by the interposer (Figure 13 depicts a sandwiched “slot” that couples a flex board with a rigid board that houses electro-optic components via the interposer portion 66).
It is noted that current claims do not detail the “inserting hole” in relation to the detailed portions of the interposer as shown in applicant figures.
However, Wang fails to show a detailed view of the interposer to show electrical contacts. With regard to dependent claims 2-12, these claims add various common components such as vias, heat sinks or alignment arrangements. It is noted that claims 10-12 discloses certain intermediate method steps for manufacturing the device and these are not positive limitations in an apparatus.
Krichevsky discloses in figure 9, an interposer section that details electrical traces, vias and associated electro-optic transmission components. Paragraph 25 discloses heat spreaders with metal casings and paragraph 84 discloses epoxy resins with the materials claimed in claim 9.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use an interposer as taught by Krichevsky to simplify and optimize the interposer in Wang for packaging depending on the intended use.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2023/0317694 (carrier to interposer; figure 3).
US 2023/0299520 (general pluggable transceiver).
ERIC K. WONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2874
/Eric Wong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874