DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
As a result of the Amendment filed on December 1, 2025, claims 1-14 are pending. Claim 1 is amended to correct typographical errors.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 1, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. It is contended that the Chung reference (US 2018/0107338 A1) does not disclose the features of independent claim 1, particularly that of “in a second period which differs from the first period, the readout integrated circuit generates a second interrupt request signal representing a kind of error and whether an operation state thereof is normal, and transfers the second interrupt request signal to the micro control circuit through the MOSI signal line”. (Applicant Remarks at pgs. 5-8). Furthermore, Applicant also separately argues the elements of dependent claim 3 including “wherein the MOSI signal line is driven based on bidirectional interfacing, and the micro control circuit and the readout integrated circuit alternately and exclusively have a driving authority of the MOSI signal line.” (Applicant Remarks at pg. 9).
The Office respectfully disagrees with the above assertions. Applicant appears to be arguing that Chung at Fig. 13 and Detailed Description [0238] only discloses the touch slave 310 outputting error/interrupt signals to the touch master 320 through the slave data line SDL. It is concluded that there is no communication between the touch slave and touch master through the master data line MDL, and thereby Chung cannot read upon the claimed elements. However, as previously cited, the Chung reference clearly shows communication between the touch slave and touch master through both the slave data line and the master data line (See Detailed Description, [0118-0125], “The master data (MD) refers to all pieces of data transmitted through the master data line (MDL)....The master data (MD) may include information required from communication with the touch slave 310 and information required for controlling the operation of the touch slave 310.” [0213], “Referring to FIG. 11, during the read process, the master data (MD) transmitted through the master data line (MDL) may include memory address information (ADDR) and command information (CMD).”).
Next, Applicant appears to be attacking the Chung reference for not teaching the features of dependent claim 3, and that no portion of Chung was cited. (Applicant Remarks at pg. 9). However, the Office holds that claim 3 was rejected with the combination of Chung and Seo (US 2020/0097112 A1) and that Seo was relied upon for its teaching of bidirectional interfacing (Summary, [0011]; See next Figs. 1-2, lines, #10; Detailed Description, [0049-0055], “Each of the ROICs ROIC#1 to ROIC#4 drives different touch sensors Cs to output touch data obtained from the touch sensors Cs, respectively. The MCU controls two-way communication with the ROICs ROIC#1 to ROIC#4 and determines a touch input on the basis of the touch data received from the ROICs ROIC#1 to ROIC#4.”), and alternate and exclusive control of the signal line (Figs. 1-2, Detailed Description, [0049-0055], “A signal defining an activation interval of at least one of reception buffers of the ROICs may be transmitted through any one of the lines 10 connecting the MCU and the ROICs. The reception buffer is driven in an active mode during the active period to normally receive the signal. A receiver controller connected to a receiver of the ROICs wakes up the reception buffer in response to a specific logical value of a signal received when an operation of the reception buffer is required for the ROICs to operate in a reception mode RX. The reception buffer may be one or more of an RX clock buffer and an RX data buffer. The receiver controller of the ROIC stops driving of the reception buffers by cutting off power at a time when the driving of the reception buffers is not necessary in order to minimize an influence of reflected waves. The receiver controller may monitor the received signal and wake up the RX data buffer when the start dummy clock is received.”; See also Figs. 5-7 and Detailed Description, [0096-0099]). Chung and Seo disclose similar types of touch circuits and are both explicitly directed towards master-slave signal transmission control (See Seo, Summary, [0008-0012]). Thus, the Office has set forth the prima facie case of obviousness and reason for modification—namely that of modifying particularly the MOSI signal line of Chung to include the teachings of Seo in such a way to provide wherein the MOSI signal line is driven based on bidirectional interfacing, and the micro control circuit and the readout integrated circuit alternately and exclusively have a driving authority of the MOSI signal line. The motivation to combine these arts is to utilize bidirectional driving to reduce number of lines and pins which reduces manufacturing costs and space (See Seo, Summary, [0008-0012]). Applicant’s arguments that Seo is not applicable to Chung due to the lack of a (1) a MISO and MOSI signal line together or (2) lack of interrupt signals, are not persuasive, because Seo was used for its bidirectional interface and alternate/exclusive driving control authority, and the specific reliance and modification were set forth previously in the Non-Final Office Action.
For the foregoing reasons, the claims are treated in the same way as set forth within the Non-Final Rejection (claim 5 remains objected to). An updated search was conducted, but no new art is cited at this time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6-10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chung, United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2018/0107338 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Chung discloses a touch circuit (Fig. 1-2, generally, Summary) comprising:
a micro control circuit (Figs. 7, touch master, #320; Detailed Description, [0095-0097]); and
a readout integrated circuit (Fig. 7, touch slave, #310; Detailed Description, [0095-0097]) configured to communicate with the micro control circuit though a selection signal line (Fig. 7, slave selection signal line, SSL; Detailed Description, [0107-0110]), a clock signal line (Fig. 7, CLK, Detailed Description, [0109-0110]), a master output slave input (MOSI) signal line (Fig. 7, MDL, master data line; master data, MD; Detailed Description, [0104][0117-0120]), and a master input slave output (MISO) signal line (Fig. 7, SDL, slave data line; slave data, SD; Detailed Description, [0101-110]),
wherein, in a first period, the readout integrated circuit generates a first interrupt request signal representing completion of touch sensing, and transfers the first interrupt request signal to the micro control circuit through the MISO signal line (Detailed Description, [0225-0228], “In the case in which, through touch driving for one touch electrode (TE), sensing data for the corresponding touch electrode (TE) is generated, in the case in which, through touch driving for two or more touch electrodes (TEs) within a predetermined touch electrode group, sensing data for the corresponding touch electrode group is generated, or in the case in which, through touch driving for all touch electrodes (TEs), sensing data for all touch electrodes (TEs) is generated, the touch sensing may be considered as being completed, and the generated sensing data may be stored in the slave memory 740 according to the touch sensing completion….The touch slave 310 may output the interrupt request (IRQ) to the slave data line (SDL) when touch sensing is completed. Accordingly, the interrupt mode may be initiated.”; See also Detailed Description, [0238], “Accordingly, when the voltage state (for example, low level) indicating the progressed process state is maintained during the read process and then the read process is completed, the slave select signal (SS) is changed to a voltage state (for example, high level) indicating the non-progressed process state.”), and
in a second period which differs from the first period, the readout integrated circuit generates a second interrupt request signal representing a kind of error and whether an operation state thereof is normal, and transfers the second interrupt request signal to the micro control circuit through the MOSI signal line (Figs. 12-13; Detailed Description, [0229-0246], “Referring to FIG. 12, when the communication state is not normal due to the inflow of noise during the read process, read data having a bit error (that is, data transmission error) may be transmitted. Accordingly, the touch slave 310 cannot accurately perform the touch sensing operation, which the touch master 320 desires, and thus the touch sensing error may be generated….As described above, when the communication state is not normal due to the inflow of noise during the read process, read data having the bit error (data transmission error) may be transmitted, and accordingly, the touch master 320 may detect the existence or non-existence of a touch and/or a touch location based on the read data having the bit error (data transmission error), that is, sensing data having the error, so that the touch sensing result may have an error…As described above, in the touch sensing operation, the touch master 320 may sense the touch based on accurate sensing data (determined data), input the accurate determined data by removing noise through the filter unit 340 arranged between the touch slave 310 and the touch master 320, and reduce the cost of a circuit component since a separate circuit component is not installed.”; See also Detailed Description,[0120-0125] [0213], “ Referring to FIG. 11, during the read process, the master data (MD) transmitted through the master data line (MDL) may include memory address information (ADDR) and command information (CMD).”)
Regarding claim 2, Chung discloses wherein when the number of pulses of a touch driving signal differs from a predetermined reference number, the readout integrated circuit generates the second interrupt request signal representing an abnormal operation state (Figs. 12-13; Detailed Description, [0223-0246], “The touch driving signal (TDS) may be a pulse type signal such as a Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) signal….Referring to FIG. 12, when the touch slave 310 transmits slave data (SD) including read data to the touch master 320 through the slave data line (SDL), the touch slave 310 outputs read data of 16 bits corresponding to “1010 0000 1010 0000”, but the touch master 320 may receive other read data of 16 bits corresponding to 1010 0000 1010 1111 different from “1010 0000 1010 0000” due to noise of the slave data line (SDL).”; bit sequence represents pulses).
Regarding claim 4, Chung discloses wherein the selection signal line, the clock signal line and the MISO signal line are driven based on unidirectional interfacing (See Fig. 7, Detailed Description, [0101-0130]; Examiner’s note—SS, CLK and SD all go in one direction), and
the micro control circuit exclusively has a driving authority of the selection signal line and the clock signal line (Fig. 7, Detailed Description, [0101-0130], “The communication interface 330 may include a Clock signal Line (CL) for transmitting a Clock Signal (CLK) to the touch slave 310 from the touch master 320…In this case, the touch master 320 may transmit the slave select signal (SS) having a low level to the touch slave 310 with which the touch master 320 desires to communicate…., the readout integrated circuit exclusively has a driving authority of the MISO signal line.”), the readout integrated circuit exclusively has a driving authority of the MISO signal line (Fig. 7, SDL, slave data line; slave data, SD; Detailed Description, [0101-0110], “…a Slave Data Line (SDL) for transmitting Slave Data (SD) to the touch master 320 from the touch slave 310.”),
Regarding claim 6, Chung discloses wherein a selection signal from the selection signal comprises a low logic period where a clock signal from the clock signal line is toggled, and a high logic period where the clock signal is not toggled (Detailed Description, [0130-0137], “When the command information (CMD) includes the information indicating the read process (R) and the information indicating the single data (S), only a single third internal clock signal (CLK3) having successive pulses is included in the clock signal (CLK) during one interval in which the slave select signal (SS) is at the low level”; See also Detailed Description, [0111], “First, the slave select signal (SS) is a signal that indicates an interval in which a communication process (read process or write process) between the touch master 320 and the touch slave 310 and that has a meaning of selection of the touch slave 310.”; See also Fig. 10, no clock when SS is high), and
in the high logic period of the selection signal, the readout integrated circuit transfers the second interrupt request signal to the micro control circuit through the MOSI signal line (Figs. 12-13; Detailed Description, [0229-0246], “Referring to FIG. 12, when the communication state is not normal due to the inflow of noise during the read process, read data having a bit error (that is, data transmission error) may be transmitted. Accordingly, the touch slave 310 cannot accurately perform the touch sensing operation, which the touch master 320 desires, and thus the touch sensing error may be generated….As described above, when the communication state is not normal due to the inflow of noise during the read process, read data having the bit error (data transmission error) may be transmitted, and accordingly, the touch master 320 may detect the existence or non-existence of a touch and/or a touch location based on the read data having the bit error (data transmission error), that is, sensing data having the error, so that the touch sensing result may have an error…As described above, in the touch sensing operation, the touch master 320 may sense the touch based on accurate sensing data (determined data), input the accurate determined data by removing noise through the filter unit 340 arranged between the touch slave 310 and the touch master 320, and reduce the cost of a circuit component since a separate circuit component is not installed.”; See also Detailed Description, [0120-0125] [0213], “ Referring to FIG. 11, during the read process, the master data (MD) transmitted through the master data line (MDL) may include memory address information (ADDR) and command information (CMD).”) .
Regarding claim 7, Chung discloses wherein a toggle type of the second interrupt request signal generated by the readout integrated circuit in a normal operation state differs from a toggle type of the second interrupt request signal generated by the readout integrated circuit in an abnormal operation state (Detailed Description, [0229-0246]; See next Detailed Description, [0252-0260], “That is, an error in touch sensing due to noise can be minimized by increasing the sampling locations to increase the number of samplings… By shifting the filter window interval to the region of higher frequency of noise, a noise removal probability can be increased, thereby reducing operational errors. Further, by increasing the number of samplings in the region in which noise is intensively generated, input data errors caused by noise can be minimized.”; See also Chung claims 4-5 on different samplings based on clock information).
Regarding claim 8, Chung discloses wherein at least one of a number of pulses and a pulse width of the second interrupt request signal generated by the readout integrated circuit in the normal operation state differs from at least one of a number of pulses and a pulse width of the second interrupt request signal generated by the readout integrated circuit in the abnormal operation state (Figs. 12-13; Detailed Description, [0223-0246], “The touch driving signal (TDS) may be a pulse type signal such as a Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) signal….Referring to FIG. 12, when the touch slave 310 transmits slave data (SD) including read data to the touch master 320 through the slave data line (SDL), the touch slave 310 outputs read data of 16 bits corresponding to “1010 0000 1010 0000”, but the touch master 320 may receive other read data of 16 bits corresponding to 1010 0000 1010 1111 different from “1010 0000 1010 0000” due to noise of the slave data line (SDL).”; bit sequence represents pulses).
Regarding claim 9, Chung discloses wherein, in an abnormal operation state, the readout integrated circuit differently generates a toggle type of the second interrupt request signal, based on a predetermined kind of error (Figs. 12-13; Detailed Description, [0223-0246]).
Regarding claim 10, Chung discloses wherein, in the abnormal operation state, the readout integrated circuit differently generates at least one of a number of pulses and a pulse width of the second interrupt request signal, based on the predetermined kind of error (Figs. 12-13; Detailed Description, [0223-0246], “The touch driving signal (TDS) may be a pulse type signal such as a Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) signal….Referring to FIG. 12, when the touch slave 310 transmits slave data (SD) including read data to the touch master 320 through the slave data line (SDL), the touch slave 310 outputs read data of 16 bits corresponding to “1010 0000 1010 0000”, but the touch master 320 may receive other read data of 16 bits corresponding to 1010 0000 1010 1111 different from “1010 0000 1010 0000” due to noise of the slave data line (SDL)… As described above, when the communication state is not normal due to the inflow of noise during the read process, read data having the bit error (data transmission error) may be transmitted, and accordingly, the touch master 320 may detect the existence or non-existence of a touch and/or a touch location based on the read data having the bit error (data transmission error), that is, sensing data having the error, so that the touch sensing result may have an error”).
Regarding claim 14, Chung discloses a touch sensing display device (Fig. 1, generally) comprising:
a display panel (Fig. 1, display panel); and
the touch circuit of claim 1 and configured to sense a touch input applied to the display panel (Fig. 1, touch screen panel, TSP; Detailed Description, [0059-0060]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung in view of Seo et al., United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2020/0097112 A1.
Regarding claim 3, Chung discloses every element of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose
wherein the MOSI signal line is driven based on bidirectional interfacing, and the micro control circuit and the readout integrated circuit alternately and exclusively have a driving authority of the MOSI signal line.
Seo, in a similar field of endeavor, discloses a touch circuit (Seo, Figs. 1-8 generally) wherein the MOSI signal line is driven based on bidirectional interfacing (Summary, [0011]; See next Figs. 1-2, lines, #10; Detailed Description, [0049-0055], “Each of the ROICs ROIC#1 to ROIC#4 drives different touch sensors Cs to output touch data obtained from the touch sensors Cs, respectively. The MCU controls two-way communication with the ROICs ROIC#1 to ROIC#4 and determines a touch input on the basis of the touch data received from the ROICs ROIC#1 to ROIC#4.”), and the micro control circuit and the readout integrated circuit alternately and exclusively have a driving authority of the MOSI signal line (Figs. 1-2, Detailed Description, [0049-0055], “A signal defining an activation interval of at least one of reception buffers of the ROICs may be transmitted through any one of the lines 10 connecting the MCU and the ROICs. The reception buffer is driven in an active mode during the active period to normally receive the signal. A receiver controller connected to a receiver of the ROICs wakes up the reception buffer in response to a specific logical value of a signal received when an operation of the reception buffer is required for the ROICs to operate in a reception mode RX. The reception buffer may be one or more of an RX clock buffer and an RX data buffer. The receiver controller of the ROIC stops driving of the reception buffers by cutting off power at a time when the driving of the reception buffers is not necessary in order to minimize an influence of reflected waves. The receiver controller may monitor the received signal and wake up the RX data buffer when the start dummy clock is received.”; See also Figs. 5-7 and Detailed Description, [0096-0099]).
It would have been obvious to have modified the MOSI signal line of Chung to include the teachings of Seo in such a way to provide wherein the MOSI signal line is driven based on bidirectional interfacing, and the micro control circuit and the readout integrated circuit alternately and exclusively have a driving authority of the MOSI signal line. The motivation to combine these arts is to utilize bidirectional driving to reduce number of lines and pins which reduces manufacturing costs and space (Seo, Summary, [0011-0012]; Detailed Description, [0096-0100], “According to the present disclosure, the number of lines between the MCU 120 and the SRICs 200 and the number of pins of the MCU may be significantly reduced and an influence of EMI may be reduced through the multi-point connection”). The fact that both Chung and Seo disclose similar types of touch circuits makes this combination more easily implemented.
Regarding claim 11, Chung discloses every element of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose wherein, in a third period which differs from the first and second periods, the micro control circuit transfers reset information, which is for resetting the readout integrated circuit, to the readout integrated circuit through the MOSI signal line.
Seo, in a similar field of endeavor, discloses a touch circuit (Seo, Figs. 1-8 generally) wherein, in a third period which differs from the first and second periods, the micro control circuit transfers reset information, which is for resetting the readout integrated circuit, to the readout integrated circuit through the MOSI signal line (Detailed Description, [0113-0114][0127-0140], reset signal RSTN; Figs. 8-11).
It would have been obvious to have modified the timing periods of Chung to include the teachings of Seo in such a way to provide wherein, in a third period which differs from the first and second periods, the micro control circuit transfers reset information, which is for resetting the readout integrated circuit, to the readout integrated circuit through the MOSI signal line. The motivation to combine these arts is to use a reset signal as a wake-up signal for the readout integrated circuit so that it is only active when necessary (see Seo, Detailed Description, [0127]). The fact that both Chung and Seo disclose similar types of touch circuits makes this combination more easily implemented.
Regarding claim 12, Chung discloses every element of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose a touch circuit further comprising a reset line through which the micro control circuit transfers reset information which is for resetting the readout integrated circuit, to the readout integrated circuit.
Seo, in a similar field of endeavor, discloses a touch circuit (Seo, Figs. 1-8 generally) comprising a reset line through which the micro control circuit transfers reset information which is for resetting the readout integrated circuit, to the readout integrated circuit (Detailed Description, [0101-0114][0127-0140], reset signal lines, #63; Figs. 7-11).
It would have been obvious to have modified the communication lines of Chung to include the teachings of Seo in such a way to provide a reset line through which the micro control circuit transfers reset information which is for resetting the readout integrated circuit, to the readout integrated circuit. The motivation to combine these arts is to use a reset signal as a wake-up signal for the readout integrated circuit so that it is only active when necessary (see Seo, Detailed Description, [0127]). The fact that both Chung and Seo disclose similar types of touch circuits makes this combination more easily implemented.
Regarding claim 13, Chung in combination with Seo discloses every element of claim 11, and Seo further discloses wherein the reset information represents a predetermined reset code which is expressed as a binary number (Detailed Description, [0101-0114], “When the reset signal RSTN has a first logical value, the sensing unit 110 and the RX buffers 75 and 77 maintain the current operation mode. When the reset signal RSTN is generated as having a second logical value for a time period smaller than a predetermined reference time, the receiver controller 86 applies power to the RX clock buffer 75 to wake up the RX clock buffer 75 to switch it to an active mode. Here, the RX clock buffer 75 is turned on and normally driven”).
Neither Chung nor Seo explicitly discloses wherein the predetermined reset code which is expressed as a binary number by repeating three or more pulses.
However, Seo provides the suggestion of the reset code being implemented using transistor-transistor logic ((Detailed Description, [0101-0114], “The reset signal RSTN may be generated as a TTL level signal.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the combination of Chung and Seo to provide the predetermined reset code which is expressed as a binary number by repeating three or more pulses. Repeating pulses within TTL implementations to set a predetermined sequence is a known technique, a matter of duplication of parts, and would have been pursued by one of ordinary skill in the art without any further undue experimentation (See also MPEP 2144.04 Part VI on duplication of parts).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record does not disclose nor suggest a touch circuit further comprising “wherein a selection signal from the selection signal line comprises a low logic period where a clock signal from the clock signal line is toggled, and a high logic period where the clock signal is not toggled, and in the high logic period of the selection signal, the driving authority of the MOSI signal line is changed from the micro control circuit to the readout integrated circuit, or is changed from the readout integrated circuit to the micro control circuit”, in conjunction with the base elements of claim 1 and intervening claim 3.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KWIN XIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626