Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A1 and Species B1, drawn to claims 1-7, 11-12, and 14-16, in the reply filed on 03/02/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-10, 13, and 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/02/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "12b" and "14b" in fig. 2 have both been used to point towards the same component of fig. 2 despite being directed to a porous electrode (12b, instant specification par. [0052]) and an electrically conductive rigid plate (14b, instant specification par. [0052]). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: reference characters “37a” and “37b” in fig. 4, reference characters “67a” and “67b” in fig. 9, and reference character “81” in fig. 11. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7, 11-12, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fleck et al. (US-20200168938-A1) in view of Xu et al. (CN-109546182-A), hereinafter Xu, as cited in the IDS.
Regarding claim 1, Fleck teaches a system comprising an electrochemical half-cell which comprises: an electrode (first chamber 4 with cathode 15 or alternatively second chamber 5 with the anode 16; [0045]; figs. 1-3) a fluid containing a constituent able to undergo electrochemical reaction at the electrode ([0050] catholyte 23 in the first chamber 4; alternatively [0050] anolyte flows through the second chamber 5); structure defining a fluid flow path carrying flow of the fluid into contact with the electrode ([0050] flow channels 26 of anode 16; alternatively pore structure in the cathode 15; [0050]), and at least one pump for propelling the fluid along the flow path (fig. 1; [0046] first pump 8 on the cathode side and second pump 9 on the anode side), and the flow path in contact with the electrode is configured to compel changes in the direction of fluid flow, to cause elastic turbulence within flow of the fluid in contact with the electrode ([0052]; [0050] pore structure on the cathode side; [0039]; [0050] anolyte flows in meandering manner through flow channels; [0055] fig. 5 shows a meandering flow channel; fluid is in contact with anode 16 figs. 2-4).
Fleck fails to teach wherein the fluid contains a solute enabling the fluid to display elastic turbulence.
Xu is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of flow cells ([0002]). Xu teaches wherein the fluid contains a solute enabling the fluid to display elastic turbulence (adding an additive to the electrolyte such as polyacrylamide, which inherently enables the fluid to display elastic turbulence, ([0026]; [0071] in order to improve the viscosity [0068]; [0023]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xu and added an additive such as polyacrylamide to the fluid. Doing so improves the viscosity of the fluid (Xu [0023]; [0068]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Fleck teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Fleck also teaches wherein the flow path in contact with the electrode includes obstructions which compel changes in the direction of fluid flow ([0052]; [0050] pore structure on the cathode side; [0039]; [0050] anolyte flows in meandering manner through flow channels; [0055] fig. 5 shows a meandering flow channel; figs. 2-9 all shows obstructions with elevations 27 [0007]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Fleck teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Fleck also teaches wherein the electrode comprises a porous material ([0047] graphite electrode is porous for the cathode; [0054] porous anode).
Regarding claim 11, modified Fleck teaches a flow battery for storage of electrical energy comprising at least one system of claim 1 wherein the system further comprises: at least one storage vessel for the fluid with the at least one pump connected to the at least one storage vessel (fig. 1 first pump 8 connected to first tank 6 or alternatively second pump 9 connected to second tank 7).
Regarding claim 12, modified Fleck teaches a flow battery for storage of electrical energy comprising two systems of claim 1 with the electrodes of the two systems at either side of a membrane which separates the fluids of the two systems but allows passage of selected ions from one half-cell to the other and each system comprises at least one fluid storage vessel with the at least one pump connected to the at least one storage vessel (Fleck fig. 1; [0039]; [0018]; separator membrane 3; figs. 2-4).
Regarding claim 14, Fleck teaches a method of operating a flowing electrochemical half-cell with an electrode in contact with a flow path for a fluid containing a constituent able to undergo electrochemical reaction at the electrode (first chamber 4 with cathode 15 or alternatively second chamber 5 with the anode 16; [0045]; figs. 1-3; [0050] catholyte 23 in the first chamber 4; alternatively [0050] anolyte flows through the second chamber 5; [0050] flow channels 26 of anode 16; alternatively pore structure in the cathode 15; [0050]), the flow path in contact with the electrode causes changes in the direction of flow ([0052]; [0050] pore structure on the cathode side; [0039]; [0050] anolyte flows in meandering manner through flow channels; [0055] fig. 5 shows a meandering flow channel), and the method comprises pumping the fluid along the flow path with the fluid in a condition of elastic turbulence while it is in contact with the electrode (fig. 1; [0046] first pump 8 on the cathode side and second pump 9 on the anode side).
Fleck fails to teach wherein: the fluid contains a solute enabling the fluid to display elastic turbulence
Xu is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of flow cells ([0002]). Xu teaches wherein the fluid contains a solute enabling the fluid to display elastic turbulence (adding an additive to the electrolyte such as polyacrylamide, which inherently enables the fluid to display elastic turbulence, ([0026]; [0071] in order to improve the viscosity [0068]; [0023]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xu and added an additive such as polyacrylamide to the fluid. Doing so improves the viscosity of the fluid (Xu [0023]; [0068]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Fleck teaches all of the limitations of claim 14. Modified Fleck also teaches wherein the solute which enables the fluid to display elastic turbulence is a polymer (Xu [0026; [0071] polyacrylamide).
Regarding claim 16, modified Fleck teaches all of the limitations of claim 14. Fleck also teaches wherein the flow path in contact with the electrode includes obstructions to the fluid flow and the fluid flow changes direction as it passes the obstructions ([0052]; [0050] pore structure on the cathode side; [0039]; [0050] anolyte flows in meandering manner through flow channels; [0055] fig. 5 shows a meandering flow channel; figs. 2-9 all shows obstructions with elevations 27 [0007]).
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fleck in view of Xu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Popov et al. (RU-2257647-C1), hereinafter Popov.
Regarding claim 3, modified Fleck teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Modified Fleck fails to specify wherein the solute is a linear polymer with a molecular weight of at least 106 Daltons.
Popov is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of batteries (Abstract). Popov teaches that high molecular weight polyacrylamide in the electrolyte increases the viscosity of the electrolyte while not increasing the internal resistance of the battery (Popov pg. 2, paragraphs 4-5). Given this teaching, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized the molecular weight of the polyacrylamide additive in modified Fleck such that the polyacrylamide is a high molecular weight polyacrylamide to achieve the desired increased viscosity of the electrolyte while avoiding an increase in resistance in the battery. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 4, modified Fleck teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Modified Fleck fails to teach wherein the solute which enables the fluid to display elastic turbulence is a polymer containing at least 5,000 monomer units in one or more linear polymer chains each containing at least 1,000 monomer units, connected one to the next by a single covalent bond so that one monomer unit can rotate relative to adjoining monomer units.
Popov is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of batteries (Abstract). Popov teaches that high molecular weight polyacrylamide in the electrolyte increases the viscosity of the electrolyte while not increasing the internal resistance of the battery (Popov pg. 2, paragraphs 4-5). Given this teaching, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized the molecular weight, and by extension the amount of monomer units, of the polyacrylamide additive in modified Fleck such that the polyacrylamide is a high molecular weight polyacrylamide to achieve the desired increased viscosity of the electrolyte while avoiding an increase in resistance in the battery. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 5, modified Fleck teaches all of the limitations of claim 4. Modified Fleck fails to explicitly teach wherein the polymer contains at least one linear chain of at least 5,000 monomer units connected one to the next by a single covalent bond.
Popov is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of batteries (Abstract). Popov teaches that high molecular weight polyacrylamide in the electrolyte increases the viscosity of the electrolyte while not increasing the internal resistance of the battery (Popov pg. 2, paragraphs 4-5). Given this teaching, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized the molecular weight, and by extension the amount of monomer units, of the polyacrylamide additive in modified Fleck such that the polyacrylamide is a high molecular weight polyacrylamide to achieve the desired increased viscosity of the electrolyte while avoiding an increase in resistance in the battery. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 6, modified Fleck teaches all of the limitations of claim 4. Modified Fleck also teaches wherein the polymer is a polyacrylamide or hydrolysed polyacrylamide (Xu [0026; [0071] polyacrylamide).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20170294662-A1 teaches a flow battery system with a separator that separates two electrodes connected to tanks and pumps ([0046]-[0047]) that includes designed flow fields that allow for directional change [0009]);
US-20160178556-A1 teaches a half cell that includes a polyacrylamide additive that increases the viscosity and density of the electrolyte solution ([0062]);
CN-115312882-A teaches an electrolyte including a cationic polyacrylamide with a molecular weight of 200 to 2000 million ([0033]);
US-20150376800-A1 teaches porous metallic flow fields for use in electrochemical cells ([0010]);
US-20250250691-A1 teaches that obstructions in the flow channel; increase the mass transport and promote turbulence ([0003]).
/M.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722