DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 21-34 and 36-40 are objected to because of the following informalities:
-In claim 21: In Line 2 “—” should read “:”
-In claim 21: In Line 10 “—” should read “;”
-In claim 39: In Line 2 “—” should read “;”
-In claims 22-34: “claim 21” should read “claim 21,”
-In claims 36-38: “claim 35” should read “claim 35,”
-In claim 40: “claim 39” should read “claim 39,”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
-“the collection device is configured to create a vacuum” in claim 21
-“the skin puncture device is configured to puncture the skin” in claim 21
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 35-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 35 recites the limitation "the lumen" in Line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21, 27, and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chickering, III et al. (US 2012/0010529).
Regarding claim 21, Chickering teaches a system for collecting bodily fluid from a subject (Abstract), the system comprising:
a collection device comprising
a housing (Figure 11, 1100) including a lower surface having an opening (Figure 11);
a skin puncture device (1108) positioned at least partially within the housing (Figure 11; Paragraph 0085); and
a vacuum creation space in the housing (Paragraphs 0176-0177); and
a collection reservoir (1136) configured to be coupled to the housing of the collection device (Figure 10), wherein the collection reservoir is elongate and extends along a longitudinal axis, wherein the collection reservoir has a first end portion, a second end portion, and an opening proximate the first end portion (Figure 10), and wherein, when the collection reservoir is coupled to the housing
the lower surface of the housing is configured to be positioned against skin of the subject such that the opening of the collection reservoir is positioned above the second end portion of the collection reservoir relative to a gravitational field;
the collection device is configured to create a vacuum in the vacuum creation space such that the vacuum is applied against the skin of the subject through the opening in the housing of the collection device;
the skin puncture device is configured to puncture the skin of the subject; and
the collection reservoir is configured to receive a flow of the bodily fluid from the puncture in the skin of the subject and through the opening in the collection reservoir via at least a force from the gravitational field. (Examiner notes due to the when language and given this is an apparatus, everything dependent on the ‘when’ condition is considered conditional language and thus is optional and not required).
Regarding claim 27, Chickering teaches wherein the lower surface of the housing is configured to be positioned against skin of an arm of the subject (Paragraph 0174).
Regarding claim 31, Chickering teaches wherein the collection device further comprises an actuator (1140), and wherein the actuator is depressible to create the vacuum in the vacuum creation space (Paragraph 0089).
Claim(s) 21-24, 26, 28, 30, 32, and 34-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by De Vaughn (US Patent No. 5662127).
Regarding claim 21, De Vaughn teaches a system for collecting bodily fluid from a subject (Abstract), the system comprising:
a collection device comprising
a housing (Figure 2; 20) including a lower surface (Figure 2; 35; Column 5, Lines 4-5) having an opening (Figure 2; at least 22, 24, 25);
a skin puncture device (33) positioned at least partially within the housing (Figure 2); and
a vacuum creation space (3) in the housing (Figure 2); and
a collection reservoir (29) configured to be coupled to the housing of the collection device (Column 10, Lines 4-11 and 19-41), wherein the collection reservoir is elongate and extends along a longitudinal axis, wherein the collection reservoir has a first end portion, a second end portion, and an opening proximate the first end portion (Figure 2), and wherein, when the collection reservoir is coupled to the housing
the lower surface of the housing is configured to be positioned against skin of the subject such that the opening of the collection reservoir is positioned above the second end portion of the collection reservoir relative to a gravitational field;
the collection device is configured to create a vacuum in the vacuum creation space such that the vacuum is applied against the skin of the subject through the opening in the housing of the collection device;
the skin puncture device is configured to puncture the skin of the subject; and
the collection reservoir is configured to receive a flow of the bodily fluid from the puncture in the skin of the subject and through the opening in the collection reservoir via at least a force from the gravitational field. (Examiner notes due to the when language and given this is an apparatus, everything dependent on the ‘when’ condition is considered conditional language and thus is optional and not required).
Regarding claim 22, De Vaughn teaches wherein the skin puncture device is configured to move past the lower surface of the housing to puncture the skin of the subject (Figures 3A-3C; Column 4, Line 53-Column 5, Line 3).
Regarding claim 23, De Vaughn teaches wherein the collection reservoir is a tube (Column 10, Line 9).
Regarding claim 24, De Vaughn teaches wherein the second end portion of the tube is closed (Figure 2).
Regarding claim 26, De Vaughn teaches wherein the collection reservoir is detachable from the housing of the collection device (at least element 76; Column 10, Lines 4-11 and 19-41).
Regarding claim 28, De Vaughn teaches wherein the bodily fluid is blood (Column 1, Lines 5-7)
Regarding claim 30, De Vaughn teaches wherein the skin puncture device comprises a lancet (lancet 40).
Regarding claim 32, De Vaughn teaches wherein the collection reservoir is configured to be coupled to the housing of the collection device with the opening of the collection reservoir positioned at least partially within the housing (Figure 2).
Regarding claim 34, De Vaughn teaches the system of claim 21 (see rejection of claim 21 above) wherein, when the collection reservoir is coupled to the housing, the collection reservoir extends generally parallel to the lower surface of the housing. (Examiner notes due to the when language and given this is an apparatus, everything dependent on the ‘when’ condition is considered conditional language and thus is optional and not required).
Regarding claim 35, De Vaughn teaches a system for collecting bodily fluid from a subject (Abstract), the system comprising:
a housing (Figure 2; 20) including a base (Figure 2; 21) having (a) a surface configured to be positioned against skin of the subject (Figure 2; 35; Column 5, Lines 4-5) and (b) an aperture extending therethrough (Figure 2; at least 24) and opening to the lumen (Figure 2; at least 25);
an outflow channel (at least 25) fluidly connected to the aperture via a first fluid path (Figure 2);
a vacuum source (3) fluidly connected to the aperture via a second fluid path substantially different than the first fluid path (Figure 2), wherein the vacuum source is configured to generate negative pressure within the housing such that the negative pressure is applied through the aperture (Column 5, Lines 57-65); and
a collection cartridge (29) configured to be releasably coupled to the housing (Column 10, Lines 4-11 and 19-41),
wherein, when the collection cartridge is coupled to the housing, the collection cartridge is fluidly connected to the outflow channel (Figure 2) (Examiner notes due to the when language and given this is an apparatus, everything dependent on the ‘when’ condition is considered conditional language and thus is optional and not required).
Regarding claim 36, De Vaughn teaches the system of claim 35 (see rejection of claim 35 above) and regarding wherein the collection cartridge extends generally parallel to the surface of the base when the collection cartridge is releasably coupled to the housing. (Examiner notes due to the when language and given this is an apparatus, everything dependent on the ‘when’ condition is considered conditional language and thus is optional and not required).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Vaughn (US Patent No. 5662127) in view of Haywood et al. (US Patent No. 7645425).
Regarding claim 25, De Vaughn is silent on the seal. Haywood teaches further comprising a seal, wherein the seal is configured to be positioned to seal the opening of the collection reservoir after the collection reservoir receives the bodily fluid (Column 9, Lines 43-67). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified De Vaughn with Haywood because it enables sterile product collection and is conventional in the art (Column 9, Lines 54-67 of Haywood) thus yielding predictable results.
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chickering, III et al. (US 2012/0010529) in view of Sarrine (US Patent No. 4360016).
Regarding claim 29, Chickering teaches wherein the housing further defines a microfluidic channel within the housing (Figure 11; Paragraph 0088; 1132) but is silent on both gravitational and capillary forces. Sarrine teaches wherein the collection device is configured to receive a flow of the bodily fluid from the puncture in the skin of the subject and through the opening via at least the force from the gravitational field and a capillary force from the channel (Column 3, Line 54-Column 4, Line 13; Examiner notes Chickering is specifically used to teach the channel being a microfluidic channel as noted above). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Chickering with Sarrine because it enables efficient blood collection in manners that are conventional in the art and thus would yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chickering, III et al. (US 2012/0010529) in view of Thorne et al. (US Patent No. 5836917).
Regarding claim 33, Chickering is silent on the skin puncture device being positioned at least partially within the vacuum creation space. Thorne teaches wherein the skin puncture device is positioned at least partially within the vacuum creation space (Column 4, Lines 7-8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Chickering with Thorne since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art MPEP 2144.04 VI. (C).
Claim(s) 37-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Vaughn (US Patent No. 5662127) in view of Calasso et al. (US 2006/0293611).
Regarding claim 37, De Vaughn is silent on the differing elevations. Calasso teaches wherein the aperture and the outflow channel are at different elevations above the base (Figure 1C). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified De Vaughn with Calasso since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art MPEP 2144.04 VI. (C) and since it adds flexibility to the device and allows for better strength upon bending (Paragraph 0069 of Calasso).
Regarding claim 38, De Vaughn is silent on the angled flow channel. Calasso teaches wherein the outflow channel is fluidly connected to the aperture via a flow channel, and wherein at least a portion of the flow channel extends at an acute angle relative to the base (Figure 1C). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified De Vaughn with Calasso since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art MPEP 2144.04 VI. (C) and since it adds flexibility to the device and allows for better strength upon bending (Paragraph 0069 of Calasso).
Regarding claim 39, De Vaughn teaches a system for collecting bodily fluid from a subject (Abstract), the system comprising:
a collection device (20) comprising
a lower surface having an opening (Figure 2; 35; Column 5, Lines 4-5);
a coupling portion (Figure 2);
a flow channel extending from the opening to the coupling portion, wherein the flow channel (Figure 2).
a skin puncture device (33) positioned at least partially within the housing (Figures 3A-3C; Column 4, Line 53-Column 5, Line 3); and
an actuator (27) configured to be actuated to move the skin puncture device at least partially through the opening to puncture skin of the subject (Column 4, Lines 35-43; Figures 3A-3C; Column 4, Line 53-Column 5, Line 3), wherein the flow channel is configured to direct a flow of the bodily fluid from the puncture from the opening to the coupling portion (Figure 2); and
a collection reservoir configured to be sealingly coupled to the coupling portion of the collection device to receive the flow of the bodily fluid (Column 10, Lines 28-32; Figure 2).
De Vaughn is silent on the ramp portion.
Calasso teaches a flow channel extending from the opening to the coupling portion, wherein the flow channel comprises a ramp portion extending at an acute angle relative to the lower surface (Figure 1C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified De Vaughn with Calasso it adds flexibility to the device and allows for better strength upon bending (Paragraph 0069 of Calasso).
Regarding claim 40, De Vaughn teaches the system of claim 39 (see rejection of claim 39 above) and wherein the collection reservoir includes a first end portion defining an opening and a second end portion that is closed (Figure 2), and wherein the first end portion is configured to be positioned inside the coupling portion when the collection reservoir is sealingly coupled to the coupling portion of the collection device (Examiner notes due to the when language and given this is an apparatus, everything dependent on the ‘when’ condition is considered conditional language and thus is optional and not required).
Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 11998334 in view of Sarrine (US Patent No. 4360016) and De Vaughn (US Patent No. 5662127) and Calasso et al. (US 2006/0293611).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent in other embodiments disclosed throughout its specification teaches the use of gravity for the fluid collection (see title of Patent for example) and thus modifying the patent to specifically include a naturally occurring force would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and lead to predictable results. Sarrine teaches collection through both a gravitational field and a capillary force from the channel (Column 3, Line 54-Column 4, Line 13). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Patent with Sarrine because it enables efficient blood collection in manners that are conventional in the art and thus would yield predictable results.
The Patent in claim 23 does not teach the skin puncture device, actuator, or ramp. De Vaughn teaches a skin puncture device (33) positioned at least partially within the housing (Figures 3A-3C; Column 4, Line 53-Column 5, Line 3); and
an actuator (27) configured to be actuated to move the skin puncture device at least partially through the opening to puncture skin of the subject (Column 4, Lines 35-43; Figures 3A-3C; Column 4, Line 53-Column 5, Line 3), wherein the flow channel is configured to direct a flow of the bodily fluid from the puncture from the opening to the coupling portion (Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Patent with De Vaughn because it provides a self-contained blood withdrawal apparatus which promotes safety of use (Column 2, Lines 32-33 of De Vaughn).
Calasso teaches a flow channel extending from the opening to the coupling portion, wherein the flow channel comprises a ramp portion extending at an acute angle relative to the lower surface (Figure 1C). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Patent with Calasso it adds flexibility to the device and allows for better strength upon bending (Paragraph 0069 of Calasso).
Instant Application 18/883,683
Conflicting US Patent No. 11998334
21. (New) A system for collecting bodily fluid from a subject, the system comprising:
a collection device comprising
a housing including a lower surface having an opening;
a skin puncture device positioned at least partially within the housing; and
a vacuum creation space in the housing; and
a collection reservoir configured to be coupled to the housing of the collection device, wherein the collection reservoir is elongate and extends along a longitudinal axis, wherein the collection reservoir has a first end portion, a second end portion, and an opening proximate the first end portion, and wherein, when the collection reservoir is coupled to the housing
the lower surface of the housing is configured to be positioned against skin of the subject such that the opening of the collection reservoir is positioned above the second end portion of the collection reservoir relative to a gravitational field;
the collection device is configured to create a vacuum in the vacuum creation space such that the vacuum is applied against the skin of the subject through the opening in the housing of the collection device;
the skin puncture device is configured to puncture the skin of the subject; and
the collection reservoir is configured to receive a flow of the bodily fluid from the puncture in the skin of the subject and through the opening in the collection reservoir via at least a force from the gravitational field.
1. A system for collecting bodily fluid from a subject, the system comprising:
a housing including a base having (a) a lower surface configured to be positioned against skin of the subject and (b) an aperture extending therethrough;
an outflow channel fluidly connected to the aperture and configured to receive a flow of the bodily fluid from the aperture; and
an elongate collection cartridge extending along an axis, wherein the collection cartridge is configured to be releasably coupled to the housing via a coupling portion, wherein a portion of the outflow channel extends through the coupling portion in a direction generally parallel to the lower surface of the base, and wherein, when the collection cartridge is coupled to the coupling portion— the collection cartridge is fluidly connected to the portion of the outflow channel to receive the flow of the bodily fluid in the direction generally parallel to the lower surface of the base; and the axis of the collection cartridge extends generally parallel to the lower surface of the base.
5. The system of claim 1 further comprising a skin-piercing feature and an actuator, wherein actuation of the actuator is configured to move the skin-piercing feature toward the aperture in the base.
6. The system of claim 5 further comprising a vacuum source positioned at least partially within the housing and configured to generate negative pressure within the housing, wherein the vacuum source is operably coupled to the actuator.
35. (New) A system for collecting bodily fluid from a subject, the system comprising:
a housing including a base having (a) a surface configured to be positioned against skin of the subject and (b) an aperture extending therethrough and opening to the lumen;
an outflow channel fluidly connected to the aperture via a first fluid path;
a vacuum source fluidly connected to the aperture via a second fluid path substantially different than the first fluid path, wherein the vacuum source is configured to generate negative pressure within the housing such that the negative pressure is applied through the aperture; and
a collection cartridge configured to be releasably coupled to the housing,
wherein, when the collection cartridge is coupled to the housing, the collection cartridge is fluidly connected to the outflow channel.
14. A system for collecting bodily fluid from a subject, the system comprising:
a housing defining a lumen and including a base having (a) a surface configured to be positioned against skin of the subject and (b) an aperture extending therethrough and opening to the lumen;
an outflow channel fluidly connected to the aperture via a first fluid path;
a vacuum source positioned at least partially within the lumen, wherein the vacuum source is fluidly connected to the aperture via a second fluid path substantially different than the first fluid path, and wherein the vacuum source is configured to generate negative pressure within the lumen such that the negative pressure is applied through the aperture; and a
collection cartridge configured to be releasably coupled to the housing, wherein, when the collection cartridge is coupled to the housing, the collection cartridge is fluidly connected to the outflow channel.
39. (New) A system for collecting bodily fluid from a subject, the system comprising:
a collection device comprising
a lower surface having an opening;
a coupling portion;
a flow channel extending from the opening to the coupling portion, wherein the flow channel comprises a ramp portion extending at an acute angle relative to the lower surface;
a skin puncture device positioned at least partially within the housing; and
an actuator configured to be actuated to move the skin puncture device at least partially through the opening to puncture skin of the subject, wherein the flow channel is configured to direct a flow of the bodily fluid from the puncture from the opening to the coupling portion; and
a collection reservoir configured to be sealingly coupled to the coupling portion of the collection device to receive the flow of the bodily fluid.
23. A system for collecting bodily fluid from a subject, the system comprising:
a housing defining a lumen and including a base having (a) a lower surface configured to be positioned against skin of the subject and (b) an aperture extending therethrough and opening to the lumen;
an outflow channel fluidly connected to the aperture via a first fluid path, wherein the outflow channel is configured to receive a flow of the bodily fluid from the aperture along the first fluid path;
a vacuum source positioned at least partially within the lumen, wherein the vacuum source is fluidly connected to the aperture via a second fluid path substantially different than the first fluid path, and
wherein the vacuum source is configured to generate negative pressure within the lumen such that the negative pressure is applied through the aperture; and
an elongate collection cartridge extending along an axis, wherein the collection cartridge is configured to be releasably coupled to the housing via a coupling portion,
wherein a portion of the outflow channel extends through the coupling portion in a direction generally parallel to the lower surface of the base, and wherein, when the collection cartridge is coupled to the coupling portion— the collection cartridge is fluidly connected to the portion of the outflow channel to receive the flow of the bodily fluid in the direction generally parallel to the lower surface of the base; and
the axis of the collection cartridge extends generally parallel to the lower surface of the base.
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11033212 in view of Sarrine (US Patent No. 4360016). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because see chart below. Further for claim 21 in particular although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent in other embodiments disclosed throughout its specification teaches the use of gravity for the fluid collection (see title of Patent for example) and thus modifying the patent to specifically include a naturally occurring force would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and lead to predictable results. Sarrine teaches collection through both a gravitational field and a capillary force from the channel (Column 3, Line 54-Column 4, Line 13). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Patent with Sarrine because it enables efficient blood collection in manners that are conventional in the art and thus would yield predictable results.
Instant Application 18/883,683
Conflicting US Patent No. 11033212
21. (New) A system for collecting bodily fluid from a subject, the system comprising:
a collection device comprising
a housing including a lower surface having an opening;
a skin puncture device positioned at least partially within the housing; and
a vacuum creation space in the housing; and
a collection reservoir configured to be coupled to the housing of the collection device, wherein the collection reservoir is elongate and extends along a longitudinal axis, wherein the collection reservoir has a first end portion, a second end portion, and an opening proximate the first end portion, and wherein, when the collection reservoir is coupled to the housing
the lower surface of the housing is configured to be positioned against skin of the subject such that the opening of the collection reservoir is positioned above the second end portion of the collection reservoir relative to a gravitational field;
the collection device is configured to create a vacuum in the vacuum creation space such that the vacuum is applied against the skin of the subject through the opening in the housing of the collection device;
the skin puncture device is configured to puncture the skin of the subject; and
the collection reservoir is configured to receive a flow of the bodily fluid from the puncture in the skin of the subject and through the opening in the collection reservoir via at least a force from the gravitational field.
1. A system for collecting bodily fluid from a subject, the system comprising:
a housing including a base having (a) a lower surface configured to be positioned against skin of the subject and (b) an aperture extending therethrough;
an actuator movable relative to the housing;
a skin-piercing feature positioned at least partially within the housing and operably coupled to the actuator, wherein actuation of the actuator is configured to move the skin-piercing feature at least partially through the aperture and past the lower surface of the base;
an outflow channel fluidly connected to the aperture and configured to receive a flow of fluid from the aperture; and
an elongate collection cartridge extending along an axis, wherein the collection cartridge is configured to be releasably coupled to the housing via a coupling portion, wherein a portion of the outflow channel extends through the coupling portion in a direction generally parallel to the lower surface of the base, and wherein, when the collection cartridge is coupled to the coupling portion the collection cartridge is fluidly connected to the portion of the outflow channel to receive the flow of the fluid in the direction generally parallel to the lower surface of the base; and the axis of the collection cartridge extends generally parallel to the lower surface of the base.
4. The fluid collection system of claim 1, further comprising a vacuum source positioned at least partially within the housing and configured to generate negative pressure within the housing.
35. (New) A system for collecting bodily fluid from a subject, the system comprising:
a housing including a base having (a) a surface configured to be positioned against skin of the subject and (b) an aperture extending therethrough and opening to the lumen;
an outflow channel fluidly connected to the aperture via a first fluid path;
a vacuum source fluidly connected to the aperture via a second fluid path substantially different than the first fluid path, wherein the vacuum source is configured to generate negative pressure within the housing such that the negative pressure is applied through the aperture; and
a collection cartridge configured to be releasably coupled to the housing,
wherein, when the collection cartridge is coupled to the housing, the collection cartridge is fluidly connected to the outflow channel.
11. A system for collecting bodily fluid from a subject, the system comprising:
a housing defining a lumen and including a base having (a) a surface configured to be positioned against skin of the subject and (b) an aperture extending therethrough and opening to the lumen; an actuator movable through the lumen relative to the housing;
a skin-piercing feature positioned at least partially within the lumen and operably coupled to the actuator, wherein actuation of the actuator is configured to move the skin-piercing feature (a) through the lumen, (b) at least partially through the aperture, and (c) and past the surface of the base;
an outflow channel fluidly connected to the aperture via a first fluid path;
a vacuum source positioned at least partially within the lumen, wherein the vacuum source is fluidly connected to the aperture via a second fluid path different than the first fluid path, and wherein the vacuum source is configured to generate negative pressure within the lumen such that the negative pressure is applied through the aperture; and a collection cartridge configured to be releasably coupled to the housing via a coupling portion, wherein, when the collection cartridge is coupled to the coupling portion, the collection cartridge is fluidly connected to the outflow channel.
39. (New) A system for collecting bodily fluid from a subject, the system comprising:
a collection device comprising
a lower surface having an opening;
a coupling portion;
a flow channel extending from the opening to the coupling portion, wherein the flow channel comprises a ramp portion extending at an acute angle relative to the lower surface;
a skin puncture device positioned at least partially within the housing; and
an actuator configured to be actuated to move the skin puncture device at least partially through the opening to puncture skin of the subject, wherein the flow channel is configured to direct a flow of the bodily fluid from the puncture from the opening to the coupling portion; and
a collection reservoir configured to be sealingly coupled to the coupling portion of the collection device to receive the flow of the bodily fluid.
11. A system for collecting bodily fluid from a subject, the system comprising:
a housing defining a lumen and including a base having (a) a surface configured to be positioned against skin of the subject and (b) an aperture extending therethrough and opening to the lumen; an actuator movable through the lumen relative to the housing;
a skin-piercing feature positioned at least partially within the lumen and operably coupled to the actuator, wherein actuation of the actuator is configured to move the skin-piercing feature (a) through the lumen, (b) at least partially through the aperture, and (c) and past the surface of the base;
an outflow channel fluidly connected to the aperture via a first fluid path;
a vacuum source positioned at least partially within the lumen, wherein the vacuum source is fluidly connected to the aperture via a second fluid path different than the first fluid path, and wherein the vacuum source is configured to generate negative pressure within the lumen such that the negative pressure is applied through the aperture; and a collection cartridge configured to be releasably coupled to the housing via a coupling portion, wherein, when the collection cartridge is coupled to the coupling portion, the collection cartridge is fluidly connected to the outflow channel.
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 10779757 in view of De Vaughn (US Patent No. 5662127) and Calasso et al. (US 2006/0293611). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because see the chart below. For claim 21: De Vaughn teaches a vacuum creation space (3) in the housing (Figure 2) and the collection device is configured to create a vacuum in the vacuum creation space such that the vacuum is applied against the skin of the subject through the opening in the housing of the collection device (Figure 2 and associated description. For claim 35: De Vaughn teaches a vacuum source (3) fluidly connected to the aperture via a second fluid path substantially different than the first fluid path (Figure 2), wherein the vacuum source is configured to generate negative pressure within the housing such that the negative pressure is applied through the aperture (Column 5, Lines 57-65). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Patent with De Vaughn because it provides a self-contained blood withdrawal apparatus which promotes safety of use (Column 2, Lines 32-33 of De Vaughn). For claim 39: Calasso teaches a flow channel extending from the opening to the coupling portion, wherein the flow channel comprises a ramp portion extending at an acute angle relative to the lower surface (Figure 1C). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Patent with Calasso it adds flexibility to the device and allows for better strength upon bending (Paragraph 0069 of Calasso).
Instant Application 18/883,683
Conflicting US Patent No. 10779757
21. (New) A system for collecting bodily fluid from a subject, the system comprising:
a collection device comprising
a housing including a lower surface having an opening;
a skin puncture device positioned at least partially within the housing; and
a vacuum creation space in the housing; and
a collection reservoir configured to be coupled to the housing of the collection device, wherein the collection reservoir is elongate and extends along a longitudinal axis, wherein the collection reservoir has a first end portion, a second end portion, and an opening proximate the first end portion, and wherein, when the collection reservoir is coupled to the housing
the lower surface of the housing is configured to be positioned against skin of the subject such that the opening of the collection reservoir is positioned above the second end portion of the collection reservoir relative to a gravitational field;
the collection device is configured to create a vacuum in the vacuum creation space such that the vacuum is applied against the skin of the subject through the opening in the housing of the collection device;
the skin puncture device is configured to puncture the skin of the subject; and
the collection reservoir is configured to receive a flow of the bodily fluid from the puncture in the skin of the subject and through the opening in the collection reservoir via at least a force from the gravitational field.
1. A microfluidic collection system for drawing blood from a subject, the microfluidic collection system comprising:
a. a collector comprising:
i. a housing;
ii. an actuator movable relative to the housing;
iii. a skin piercing feature at least partially within the housing and operably coupled to the actuator, wherein movement of the actuator toward skin of the subject is configured to cause the skin piercing feature to move toward the skin of the subject;
iv. a collection site positioned to receive the skin piercing feature;
v. a microfluidic network disposed within the housing and comprising a microfluidic channel, the microfluidic channel having a base surface, a pair of sidewalls extending from the base surface, and an elongate opening along the microfluidic channel opposite the base surface; and
vi. at least one outflow channel configured to be in fluid communication with the at least one open microfluidic network; and b. a reservoir configured to be in fluid communication with the collection site by way of the at least one outflow channel, wherein: the collector is constructed and arranged to be placed on the skin of the subject, the microfluidic network is configured to promote blood flow through the microfluidic channel from the collection site to the at least one outflow channel, the elongate opening extends (a) opposite the base surface along a direction of blood flow through the microfluidic channel and (b) from the collection site to the at least one outflow channel; and the microfluidic channel is configured to promote the blood flow by capillary action, gravitational force, or capillary action and gravitational force.
35. (New) A system for collecting bodily fluid from a subject, the system comprising:
a housing including a base having (a) a surface configured to be positioned against skin of the subject and (b) an aperture extending therethrough and opening to the lumen;
an outflow channel fluidly connected to the aperture via a first fluid path;
a vacuum source fluidly connected to the aperture via a second fluid path substantially different than the first fluid path, wherein the vacuum source is configured to generate negative pressure within the housing such that the negative pressure is applied through the aperture; and
a collection cartridge configured to be releasably coupled to the housing,
wherein, when the collection cartridge is coupled to the housing, the collection cartridge is fluidly connected to the outflow channel.
9. A fluid collection system comprising:
a. a housing comprising a base;
b. an actuator movable relative to the housing;
c. a skin piercing feature at least partially within the housing and operably coupled to the actuator;
d. a microfluidic network comprising a microfluidic channel, the microfluidic channel including a base surface, sidewalls extending from the base surface, and an elongate opening along the microfluidic channel opposite the base surface;
e. at least one collection site at the base;
f. an outflow channel configured to be in fluid communication with the microfluidic network; and
g. a reservoir attached to the housing; wherein the at least one collection site is configured to be in fluid communication with the outflow channel to promote fluid flow through the microfluidic channel to the reservoir, and wherein the elongate opening extends (a) opposite the base surface along the direction of fluid flow through the microfluidic channel and (b) from the at least one collection site to the outflow channel.
39. (New) A system for collecting bodily fluid from a subject, the system comprising:
a collection device comprising
a lower surface having an opening;
a coupling portion;
a flow channel extending from the opening to the coupling portion, wherein the flow channel comprises a ramp portion extending at an acute angle relative to the lower surface;
a skin puncture device positioned at least partially within the housing; and
an actuator configured to be actuated to move the skin puncture device at least partially through the opening to puncture skin of the subject, wherein the flow channel is configured to direct a flow of the bodily fluid from the puncture from the opening to the coupling portion; and
a collection reservoir configured to be sealingly coupled to the coupling portion of the collection device to receive the flow of the bodily fluid.
9. A fluid collection system comprising:
a. a housing comprising a base;
b. an actuator movable relative to the housing;
c. a skin piercing feature at least partially within the housing and operably coupled to the actuator;
d. a microfluidic network comprising a microfluidic channel, the microfluidic channel including a base surface, sidewalls extending from the base surface, and an elongate opening along the microfluidic channel opposite the base surface;
e. at least one collection site at the base;
f. an outflow channel configured to be in fluid communication with the microfluidic network; and
g. a reservoir attached to the housing; wherein the at least one collection site is configured to be in fluid communication with the outflow channel to promote fluid flow through the microfluidic channel to the reservoir, and wherein the elongate opening extends (a) opposite the base surface along the direction of fluid flow through the microfluidic channel and (b) from the at least one collection site to the outflow channel.
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-29 of U.S. Patent No. 12127837 in view of Calasso et al. (US 2006/0293611). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because see the chart below. The patent is the method of using the system of the instant application. The only difference is the instant application includes a flow channel but that is a conventional structure in the fluid collection art and thus would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a flow channel in a fluid collection device as it would yield predictable results of controlling the flow of the fluid being collected. For claim 39: Calasso teaches a flow channel extending from the opening to the coupling portion, wherein the flow channel comprises a ramp portion extending at an acute angle relative to the lower surface (Figure 1C). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Patent with Calasso it adds flexibility to the device and allows for better strength upon bending (Paragraph 0069 of Calasso).
Instant Application 18/883,683
Conflicting US Patent No. 12127837
21. (New) A system for collecting bodily fluid from a subject, the system comprising:
a collection device comprising
a housing including a lower surface having an opening;
a skin puncture device positioned at least partially within the housing; and
a vacuum creation space in the housing; and
a collection reservoir configured to be coupled to the housing of the collection device, wherein the collection reservoir is elongate and extends along a longitudinal axis, wherein the collection reservoir has a first end portion, a second end portion, and an opening proximate the first end portion, and wherein, when the collection reservoir is coupled to the housing
the lower surface of the housing is configured to be positioned against skin of the subject such that the opening of the collection reservoir is positioned above the second end portion of the collection reservoir relative to a gravitational field;
the collection device is configured to create a vacuum in the vacuum creation space such that the vacuum is applied against the skin of the subject through the opening in the housing of the collection device;
the skin puncture device is configured to puncture the skin of the subject; and
the collection reservoir is configured to receive a flow of the bodily fluid from the puncture in the skin of the subject and through the opening in the collection reservoir via at least a force from the gravitational field.
1. A method of collecting bodily fluid from a subject via a collection device comprising, the method comprising:
providing a collection device comprising a housing including a lower surface having an opening, a skin-piercing feature positioned at least partially within the housing, and a collection reservoir coupled to the housing, wherein— the collection reservoir is elongate and extends along a longitudinal axis, the collection reservoir has a first end portion, a second end portion, and an opening proximate the first end portion, and the collection reservoir extends generally parallel to the lower surface of the housing;
positioning the lower surface of the housing against skin of the subject such that the opening of the collection reservoir is positioned above the second end portion of the collection reservoir relative to a gravitational field;
activating a vacuum source positioned within the housing and different than the collection reservoir to apply negative pressure against the skin of the subject through the opening in the lower surface of the housing;
piercing the skin of the subject with the skin-piercing feature to form an incision in the skin of the subject; and collecting bodily fluid in the collection reservoir, wherein the bodily fluid flows from the incision into the opening of the collection reservoir via a force from the negative pressure and/or a force from the gravitational field.
35. (New) A system for collecting bodily fluid from a subject, the system comprising:
a housing including a base having (a) a surface configured to be positioned against skin of the subject and (b) an aperture extending therethrough and opening to the lumen;
an outflow channel fluidly connected to the aperture via a first fluid path;
a vacuum source fluidly connected to the aperture via a second fluid path substantially different than the first fluid path, wherein the vacuum source is configured to generate negative pressure within the housing such that the negative pressure is applied through the aperture; and
a collection cartridge configured to be releasably coupled to the housing,
wherein, when the collection cartridge is coupled to the housing, the collection cartridge is fluidly connected to the outflow channel.
15. A method of collecting bodily fluid from a subject, the method comprising:
releasably coupling a collection reservoir to a collection device having a lower surface, wherein the collection reservoir is elongate and extends along a longitudinal axis, wherein the collection reservoir has a first end portion, a second end portion, and an opening proximate the first end portion, and wherein releasably coupling the collection reservoir to the collection device comprises positioning the collection reservoir generally parallel to the lower surface of the collection device;
positioning a lower surface of the collection device against skin of the subject such that the opening of the collection reservoir is positioned above the second end portion of the collection reservoir relative to a gravitational field; activating a vacuum source positioned within the collection device and different than the collection reservoir to apply negative pressure against the skin of the subject through an opening in the lower surface of the collection device;
piercing the skin of the subject with a skin-piercing feature to form an incision in the skin of the subject; and
collecting bodily fluid in the collection reservoir, wherein the bodily fluid flows from the incision into the opening of the collection reservoir via a force from the negative pressure and/or a force from the gravitational field.
39. (New) A system for collecting bodily fluid from a subject, the system comprising:
a collection device comprising
a lower surface having an opening;
a coupling portion;
a flow channel extending from the opening to the coupling portion, wherein the flow channel comprises a ramp portion extending at an acute angle relative to the lower surface;
a skin puncture device positioned at least partially within the housing; and
an actuator configured to be actuated to move the skin puncture device at least partially through the opening to puncture skin of the subject, wherein the flow channel is configured to direct a flow of the bodily fluid from the puncture from the opening to the coupling portion; and
a collection reservoir configured to be sealingly coupled to the coupling portion of the collection device to receive the flow of the bodily fluid.
20. A method of collecting bodily fluid from a subject via a collection device comprising, the method comprising:
providing a collection device comprising a housing, an actuator, a skin-piercing feature, and a collection reservoir, wherein— the actuator is coupled to the housing;
the housing defines a chamber and has a lower surface including an opening, the collection reservoir is coupled to the housing and at least partially positioned within the chamber, the skin-piercing is positioned at least partially within the chamber, the collection reservoir is elongate and extends along a longitudinal axis, the collection reservoir has a first end portion, a second end portion, and an opening proximate the first end portion, and the collection reservoir extends generally parallel to the lower surface of the housing; positioning the lower surface of the housing against skin of an arm of the subject such that the opening of the collection reservoir is positioned above the second end portion of the collection reservoir relative to a gravitational field;
actuating the actuator to activate a vacuum source positioned within the chamber and different than the collection reservoir to apply negative pressure against the skin of the subject through the opening in the lower surface of the housing;
piercing the skin of the subject with the skin-piercing feature to form an incision in the skin of the subject; and
collecting bodily fluid in the collection reservoir, wherein the bodily fluid flows from the incision into the opening of the collection reservoir via a force from the negative pressure and a force from the gravitational field; and
decoupling the collection reservoir from the housing after a predetermined time has elapsed and/or after a predetermined amount of the bodily fluid has been collected in the collection reservoir.
Conclusion
/PATRICK FERNANDES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791