DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ochi et al. (US 2019/0018275 A1).
Re claim 1, Ochi et al. discloses a device comprising a display panel including a flat portion (DA) and at least one curved portion (FA) extending from the flat portion in a bent manner; a front member (2) disposed on the display panel; and an adhesive layer (9) disposed between the display panel and the front member, wherein an end of the front member includes at least one tapered region (FIG. 2, ref. 2).
Re claim 4, Ochi et al. discloses the device wherein the tapered region is located at an upper edge of the front member (Fig. 2, ref. 2).
Re claim 5, Ochi et al. discloses the device wherein the tapered region is located at a lower edge of the front member (Fig. 2, ref. 2).
Re claim 6, Ochi et al. discloses the device wherein the tapered region includes an inclined surface (Fig. 2, ref. 2).
Re claim 7, Ochi et al. discloses the wherein the end of the front member includes a side connected to the tapered region (Fig. 2, ref. 2).
Re claim 8, Ochi et al. discloses the device wherein the side of the front member is a non-tapered region (Fig. 2, ref. 2).
Re claim 9, Ochi et al. discloses the device wherein the tapered region is disposed between an upper surface and the side of the front member or between a lower surface and the side of the front member (Fig. 2, ref. 2).
Re claim 10, Ochi et al. discloses the device wherein a width of the lower surface or the upper surface of the front member, located between the sides of the front member, is smaller than a width between the sides of the front member (Fig. 2, ref. 2).
Re claim 11, Ochi et al. discloses the device wherein a length from an end of the lower surface of the front member to an end of the adhesive layer is shorter than a length from an edge of the side of the front member to an end of the adhesive layer (Fig. 2, ref. 2, 9).
Re claim 12, Ochi et al. discloses the device wherein the display panel includes a substrate protective layer (12), and an end of the substrate protective layer protrudes further toward then end of the front member than an end of the adhesive layer (9).
Re claim 13, Ochi et al. discloses the device wherein the display panel includes a substrate protective layer (12), and an end of the display panel (1) protrudes further toward the end of the front member (2) than an end of the adhesive layer (9), and a side of the end of the substrate protective layer is arranged to correspond to a side of the end of the display panel that protrudes further than the end of the adhesive layer (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohi et al. in view of Fujihara (US 2019/0196265 A1).
Ohi et al. discloses the device wherein the display panel includes a polarizing plate, but does not disclose the device wherein the adhesive layer exposes an end region of the polarizing plate in a plan view, and a length from an end of the adhesive layer to an end of the front member is longer than a length from an end of the polarizing plate to an end of the front member.
Fujihara discloses a device wherein an adhesive layer (14) exposes an end region of the polarizing plate (12) in a plan view, and a length from an end of the adhesive layer to an end of the front member (10) is longer than a length from an end of the polarizing plate (12) to an end of the front member.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to employ the device wherein the display panel includes a polarizing plate, but does not disclose the device wherein the adhesive layer exposes an end region of the polarizing plate in a plan view, and a length from an end of the adhesive layer to an end of the front member is longer than a length from an end of the polarizing plate to an end of the front member since one would be motivated to create a clearance between the adhesive layer and a light blocking member to prevent a stress from being exerted on a corresponding section of the liquid crystal panel (paragraph 0023).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RICHARD H KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871