DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/15/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by High et al (“High” hereinafter, U.S. Publication No. 2023/0153756 A1).
As per claim 1, High discloses an apparatus for surveying devices, the apparatus comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory (ARV 110 is the claimed “apparatus” with a memory 116, processor 115 and image sensor 112, as shown in figure 1) and configured to: obtain, from at least one camera sensor (camera sensor 112, paragraph [0016]) while the at least one camera sensor is traveling along a path (see figures 2A and 2B for arrow for movement path), a plurality of images comprising a plurality of devices (paragraph [0016]: camera sensor 112 is capable of “obtaining still or moving images”, and the images include a plurality of devices 132 and 134 as shown in figures 2A and 2B), wherein each image of the plurality of images is obtained from a respective position of the at least one camera sensor along the path (the images are captured during ARV 110 moving path), and wherein each device of the plurality of devices comprises a respective visual marker (paragraphs [0022] & [0028]: the devices 132 and 134 may include a QR code, which is the claimed “visual marker”); detect visual markers of the plurality of devices in the plurality of images (see paragraphs [0022 & [0028]: the QR codes in the devise 132 and 134 are detected]); determine an arrangement of the visual markers detected in the plurality of images (as shown in figures 3A and 3B, the locational information of QR codes are detected in paragraphs [0024]-[0031]); and pair, based on aligning the arrangement of the visual markers with a first map (paragraph [0015]: planogram) comprising a corresponding arrangement of a plurality of objects, a respective object of the plurality of objects to each device of the plurality of devices (paragraphs [0024]-[0031], in connection planogram of the facility, each product 140 is associated with respective QR code and shelf labels).
As per claim 2, High discloses wherein the arrangement of the visual markers comprises a respective height of each of the visual markers, and an order of the visual markers for each of the respective height (as shown in figures 3A and 3B, the locational information of the shelf labels 132 and 134 with QR codes are determined, and the height and order of the labels are recorded for product 140 association).
As per claim 3, High discloses wherein the respective height for each of the visual markers corresponds to a respective shelf of a shelving unit associated with the first map (see figures 3A and 3B for respective shelf with shelf labels at different heights).
As per claim 4, High discloses wherein the first map is a planogram for the plurality of objects (paragraph [0033]: planogram of the facility with a plurality of products).
As per claim 5, High discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine, based on mapping the first map to a second map comprising known locations on the path, a respective location of each device of the plurality of devices (High in paragraph [0018] teaches the ARV 110 moves in relation to the modular unit 130 in the facility and the ARV is an autonomous vehicle that implies the ARV is inherently embedded with a mapping data of the facility with known location through modular unit identifier 138, and the locational information of shelf labels provide respective locations).
As per claim 8, High discloses wherein the second map is a building layout (as explained above the inherently embedded mapping data of the facility allows the ARV to autonomously move to different modules).
As per claim 9, High discloses wherein each visual marker of the visual markers is a fiducial marker (as explained above, a QR code is a fiducial marker).
As per claim 10, High discloses wherein two or more devices of the plurality of devices are mounted on a device rail (see figures 3A and 3B for at least two shelf labels 132 and 134 on a shelf rail).
As per claim 11, High discloses wherein each device of the plurality of devices is an electronic tag or an electronic shelf label (as shown in figure 3B, shelf labels 134 are electronic shelf labels).
As per claim 12, see explanation in claim 1.
As per claim 13, see explanation in claim 2.
As per claim 14, see explanation in claim 3.
As per claim 15, see explanation in claim 4.
As per claim 16, see explanation in claim 5.
As per claim 19, see explanation in claim 9.
As per claim 20, see explanation in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over High in view of Sturm (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0343037 A1).
As per claim 6, High teaches detecting locational information of the shelf labels through images captured by the camera sensor. However, High does not explicitly teach the location of each shelf label is determined based on performing triangulation using lines of sight from the known locations on the path to the visual markers in the plurality of images.
Sturm teaches a location mapping system 200 employing at least one camera for capturing images within a building for detecting locational information of items of interest. Sturm at paragraph [0048] teaches “the computer vision subsystem 210 can triangulate the respective 3D locations of POIs using multiple camera images that were captured from different angles within the environment. The computer vision subsystem 210 can use a machine learning model that receives as input multiple images of an environment captured from different angles, where each image includes a depiction of a particular POI, and outputs a 3D location of the particular POI in the environment”.
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify High in light of Sturm’s teaching to identify shelf label locational information through triangulation information of known positions from the captured images. One would be motivated to do so because it would allow the vision/imaging system to calculate a location using real world coordinates from the captured image data with accuracy.
As per claim 7, Sturm teaches the coordinates of the POIs, such as shelf labels are based on using real environment image data captured by the camera sensors (see paragraph [0048]).
As per claim 17, see explanation in claim 6.
As per claim 18, see explanation in claim 7.
Conclusion
/TOM Y LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2667