DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 8/19/2026 and 9/12/2024 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 4 recites “physical sidelink control channel (PSSCH)”. It appears that the acronym should read PSCCH instead of PSSCH. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 9, 11-12, 14-15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue et al. (US 2022/0070921 A1), hereinafter Xue, in view of Kiilerich Pratas et al. (US 2025/0185028 A1), hereinafter Kiilerich.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, and 9 are method claims that recite similar limitations to device claims 11-12, 14-15, and 19. Therefore, claims 11-12, 14-15, and 19 are rejected for similar reasons as claims 1-2, 4-5, and 9.
Re. Claim 11, Xue teaches:
A terminal device, (Fig. 3A – UE 215 & ¶0077 The method 300 may be implemented by a UE 215.)
comprising: a processor (¶0184 the UE 1300 may include a processor 1302,)
and a memory storing one or more computer programs, (¶0184 the UE 1300 may include a processor 1302, a memory 1304 & ¶0186 The memory 1304 may store, or have recorded thereon, instructions 1306.)
wherein the processor, when loading and running the one or more computer programs, (¶0186 The memory 1304 may store, or have recorded thereon, instructions 1306. The instructions 1306 may include instructions that, when executed by the processor 1302, cause the processor 1302 to perform the operations described herein with reference to the UEs 115)
is caused to perform: reselecting a first resource in a case that the first resource meets a first condition; (¶0091 If the first resource is no longer available, the MAC layer 302 may re-select another resource from the candidate resources indicated in the updated candidate resource report at action 324 and may repeat the action 320 and 322 at a later time for another last-minute resource reevaluation for newly selected resource. [i.e. a resource is reselected when a first resource is not available (a first condition)])
wherein the first condition comprises at least one of the following items:
the first resource is not within a first resource set, (¶0123 the UE may, at block 604, determine that the first resource 352a of the set of M resources 456 of FIG. 6B is unavailable. [i.e. unavailable as in the first resource 352a is not within the set of M resources (first resource set)])
a second resource determined based on the first resource is overlapped with a resource determined based on first sidelink control information or second sidelink control information, (¶0048 the first UE may transmit a reservation for the frequency resource to reserve the frequency resource over the variable time range. For example, the UE may transmit the reservation within an SCI via the PSCCH & ¶0051 the first UE may reserve a second frequency resource after reserving the frequency resource. Further, the first UE may reserve the second frequency resource by clustering it with the frequency resource. For instance, the first UE may select the second frequency resource so that it is adjacent to the frequency resource in frequency (e.g., positioned within an adjacent subchannel), time (e.g., positioned within an adjacent slot), or both (e.g., overlapping the frequency resource). [i.e. a second frequency resource is determined based on a first frequency resource, and the second resource is overlapped with the first frequency resource which is determined from SCI via the PSCCH])
and a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold condition is met; (¶0078 For signal measurements, the PHY layer 304 may receive a signal from each resource and compute a reference signal received power (RSRP) and/or receive signal strength indicator (RSSI) for each resource. The PHY layer 304 may also record the signal measurements. & ¶0084 In some aspects, the PHY layer 304 may exclude resources 352 in the resource selection window 344 that are reserved (e.g., based on SCI decoding in the sensing window 342 and/or prediction).. The PHY layer 304 may exclude resources 352 in the resource selection window 344 based on resources 352 within the sensing window 342 that have signal measurements (e.g., RSRP and/or RSSI) higher than a certain signal threshold. [i.e. based on SCI decoding in the sensing window certain resources are excluded based on meeting an RSRP threshold, which is considered as sidelink control information from the UE meeting a first sub-condition regarding an RSRP threshold condition being met])
or a priority indicated by first sidelink control information or second sidelink control information is (¶0122 At block 604, the UE may determine whether the slot (e.g., the resource corresponding to the slot) corresponding to the start index (slot(i)) is available. For instance, the UE may perform a last-minute re-evaluation to determine whether the slot(i) has been preempted (reserved) by another UE, for example, due to the other UE having a higher priority traffic than the UE. The UE may determine the preemption based on SCI decoding from the PHY sensing. [i.e. sidelink control information from another UE (second sidelink control information) indicates that the priority of another UE has higher priority traffic than the UE, where the first UE’s priority is considered the priority threshold]) (*examiner notes that due to the existence of alternative limitations only one limitation has been examined)
wherein the processor, when loading and running the one or more computer programs, (¶0178 The instructions 1306 may include instructions that, when executed by the processor 1202, cause the processor 1202 to perform operations described herein, for example, aspects of FIGS. 1-2. Instructions 1306 may also be referred to as program code. The program code may be for causing a wireless communication device to perform these operations)
is caused to perform: selecting a third resource from the first resource set to replace the first resource. (¶0090-¶0091 Referring to FIG. 3A, at action 322, in response to the resource reevaluation request, the PHY layer 304 sends an updated resource report to the MAC layer 302. The PHY layer 304 may identify resources in the resource selection window 344 that are still available at the time instant when the resource reevaluation request is received. The PHY layer 304 may use substantially similar mechanisms as discussed at action 314 to identify available resources (candidate resources) at that time instant. If the first resource (e.g., the resource 352a) previously selected by the MAC layer 302 is no longer available, the PHY layer 304 may indicate an indication in the report. For instance, the report may include a re-selection flag set to 1 for the first resource. If the first resource is no longer available, the MAC layer 302 may re-select another resource from the candidate resources indicated in the updated candidate resource report at action 324 [i.e. the resources that are re-selected are from the candidate resources (first resource set)])
Yet, Xue does not explicitly teach: wherein the first sidelink control information is different from the second sidelink control information;
However, in the analogous art, Kiilerich teaches:
wherein the first sidelink control information is different from the second sidelink control information; (¶0122 where there exists an overlap of an NR-V2X resource pool with an LTE-V2X resource pool, an NR device, when performing resource selection via mode 2, will have to perform sensing in such a way that it detects the activity of other NR and LTE devices in its neighbourhood. This means that the NR device may have to monitor the two overlapping resource pools and decode both the LTE SCIs (Sidelink Control Information) transmitted in the LTE-V2X resource pool and the NR SCIs transmitted in the NR-V2X resource pool. From these SCIs, the NR device will then be aware of future transmissions of other surrounding devices, and therefore can determine which resources will be available (i.e., resources that should not be excluded) for its own NR-V2X sidelink transmissions. [i.e. the UE monitors for NR SCI (first sidelink control information) and for LTE SCI (second sidelink control information), which are two different SCI])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Xue’s invention of frequency resource reservation for sidelink communication to include Kiilerich’s teaching of the first sidelink control information being different from the second sidelink control information, because it would allow the UE to determine which resources will be available and therefore to not exclude. (see Kiilerich ¶0122)
Re. Claim 12, Xue combined with Kiilerich teaches claim 11.
Xue further teaches:
or the first resource is a resource that the terminal device has selected (¶0048 the first UE may transmit a reservation for the frequency resource to reserve the frequency resource [i.e. UE transmits the reservation therefore UE selects] over the variable time range. For example, the UE may transmit the reservation within an SCI via the PSCCH.)
and has indicated by transmitting the first sidelink control information. (¶0048 the first UE may transmit a reservation for the frequency resource to reserve the frequency resource over the variable time range. For example, the UE may transmit the reservation within an SCI via the PSCCH.)
Re. Claim 14, Xue combined with Kiilerich teaches claim 11.
Xue further teaches:
the second resource comprises a series of resources that comprise the first resource, (¶0154 FIG. 8B illustrates, the first reservation 810 transmitted by the first UE for the frequency resource reservation 454, as well as a second reservation 816 transmitted by a second UE for a second frequency resource reservation 820 over a variable time range 822. the variable time range 822 of the second frequency resource reservation 820 may overlap the variable time range 458 of the frequency resource reservation 454. [i.e. the series of resources indicated by the second frequency resource reservation 820 overlaps and therefore comprises the series of resources indicated by the first frequency resource reservation 454])
have a same frequency domain location as the first resource, (Fig. 8B & ¶0154 the second UE may be configured to share all of the first frequency resource reservation 454 with the second frequency resource reservation 820 in the case that the priorities associated with the first and second reservations (e.g., 810 and 816, respectively) are equal. [i.e. the series of resources indicated by the second frequency resource reservation 820 share the same series of resources indicated by the first frequency resource reservation 454, therefore have the same frequency domain location, Fig. 8B also shows the resources using the same frequency])
and are spaced apart in time domain location. (¶0154 FIG. 8B illustrates, the first reservation 810 transmitted by the first UE for the frequency resource reservation 454, as well as a second reservation 816 transmitted by a second UE for a second frequency resource reservation 820 over a variable time range 822. [i.e. second resource reservation 816 (series of resources) occur over a range of time therefore are spaced apart in the time domain, as shown in Fig. 8B])
Re. Claim 15, Xue combined with Kiilerich teaches claim 11.
Xue further teaches:
wherein the resource determined based on the first sidelink control information comprises: a resource indicated by the first sidelink control information monitored in a first time unit; (¶0199 At block 1420, the UE may reserve, based on the sensing, a frequency resource of the sidelink resource pool within an instance of a variable time range. In some aspects, the UE may identify the resources to reserve the frequency resource within the resource selection window by examining or analyzing sensing results (e.g. decoded SCI and/or signal measurements) obtained within the sensing window. [i.e. the sensing (monitoring) results gathered from within the sensing window (a first time unit) are the decoded sidelink control information (SCI) that indicate resources for sidelink communication])
*examiner notes that due to the existence of alternative limitations only one limitation has been examined)
Re. Claim 19, Xue combined with Kiilerich teaches claim 11.
Xue further teaches:
wherein the priority indicated by (¶0122 At block 604, the UE may determine whether the slot (e.g., the resource corresponding to the slot) corresponding to the start index (slot(i)) is available. For instance, the UE may perform a last-minute re-evaluation to determine whether the slot(i) has been preempted (reserved) by another UE, for example, due to the other UE having a higher priority traffic than the UE. The UE may determine the preemption based on SCI decoding from the PHY sensing and/or prediction from the PHY sensing results. [i.e. the sidelink control information of the other UE (second SCI) indicates a priority traffic higher than the UE, which is considered a threshold])
(*examiner notes that due to the existence of alternative limitations only one limitation has been examined)
or in a case that sidelink control information meeting a first sub-condition is the second sidelink control information, (¶0072 sidelink communication can be communicated over a PSCCH and a PSSCH. For instance, the PSCCH may carry SCI and the PSSCH may carry SCI and/or sidelink data (e.g., user data). Each PSCCH is associated with a corresponding PSSCH, where SCI in a PSCCH may carry reservation and/or scheduling information for sidelink data transmission in the associated PSSCH. & ¶0084 The PHY layer 304 may perform the resource filtering or exclusion by SCI decoding, priority, and/or signal measurements in the resource selection window 344 in any suitable order. & ¶0154 a second reservation 816 transmitted by a second UE for a second frequency resource reservation 820 over a variable time range 822. [i.e. second reservation is the second sidelink control information] the variable time range 822 of the second frequency resource reservation 820 may overlap the variable time range 458 of the frequency resource reservation 454. [i.e. resources indicated by the second SCI overlaps the resources indicated by a first reservation (first SCI), which is considered as meeting a first sub-condition])
the priority indicated by the second sidelink control information meeting the first sub-condition being higher than the priority of data transmission, (¶0072 sidelink communication can be communicated over a PSCCH and a PSSCH. For instance, the PSCCH may carry SCI and the PSSCH may carry SCI and/or sidelink data (e.g., user data). Each PSCCH is associated with a corresponding PSSCH, where SCI in a PSCCH may carry reservation and/or scheduling information for sidelink data transmission in the associated PSSCH. & ¶0148 As discussed, when reserving a resource (e.g., resource 352) and/or a set of M resources (e.g., set of M resources 456), UE 215 may identify and select from candidate resources within a sidelink resource pool 450 based on several factors. For example, the PHY layer 304 may identify candidate resources based on a combination of SCI decoding, signal measurements, and/or priority information a first frequency resource reservation made by a first UE may be shared by reservation made by a second UE, as described in greater detail below with reference to FIGS. 8A and 8B. & ¶0154 FIG. 8B illustrates, the first reservation 810 transmitted by the first UE for the frequency resource reservation 454, as well as a second reservation 816 transmitted by a second UE for a second frequency resource reservation 820 over a variable time range 822. The second UE may transmit the second reservation 816 as generally described above with reference to FIG. 8A and the second reservation 812. In this way, the second UE may preempt the first frequency reservation 454 based on a higher-priority second frequency resource reservation 820 [i.e. the second reservation transmitted by a second UE (second SCI that carries reservation information) preempts the first reservation based on it indicating higher priority (being higher than the priority of data transmission)]) (*examiner notes that due to the existence of alternative limitations only one limitation has been examined)
wherein the first sub-condition is that the second resource is overlapped with a resource determined based on the sidelink control information (¶0072 sidelink communication can be communicated over a PSCCH and a PSSCH. For instance, the PSCCH may carry SCI and the PSSCH may carry SCI and/or sidelink data (e.g., user data). Each PSCCH is associated with a corresponding PSSCH, where SCI in a PSCCH may carry reservation and/or scheduling information for sidelink data transmission in the associated PSSCH. & ¶0154 FIG. 8B illustrates, the first reservation 810 transmitted by the first UE for the frequency resource reservation 454, as well as a second reservation 816 transmitted by a second UE for a second frequency resource reservation 820 over a variable time range 822. [i.e. second reservation is the SCI that indicates the second frequency resource reservation (second resource)] The second UE may transmit the second reservation 816 as generally described above with reference to FIG. 8A and the second reservation 812. In this way, the second UE may preempt the first frequency reservation 454 based on a higher-priority second frequency resource reservation 820 and may share a portion of the first frequency resource reservation 454 based on an equal or lower priority second frequency resource reservation 820 with respect to the first frequency resource reservation 454. To that end, the variable time range 822 of the second frequency resource reservation 820 may overlap the variable time range 458 of the frequency resource reservation 454. [i.e. second frequency resource reservation (second resource) is overlapped by another resource reservation])
and the RSRP threshold condition is met; (¶0078 For signal measurements, the PHY layer 304 may receive a signal from each resource and compute a reference signal received power (RSRP) and/or receive signal strength indicator (RSSI) for each resource. The PHY layer 304 may also record the signal measurements. & ¶0084 In some aspects, the PHY layer 304 may exclude resources 352 in the resource selection window 344 that are reserved (e.g., based on SCI decoding in the sensing window 342 and/or prediction). The PHY layer 304 may exclude resources 352 in the resource selection window 344 that are to be used for transmissions with a higher traffic priority than the UE 215 (e.g., based on SCI decoding in the sensing window 342 and/or prediction). The PHY layer 304 may exclude resources 352 in the resource selection window 344 based on resources 352 within the sensing window 342 that have signal measurements (e.g., RSRP and/or RSSI) higher than a certain signal threshold. [i.e. based on SCI decoding in the sensing window certain resources are excluded based on meeting an RSRP threshold, which is considered as sidelink control information from the UE meeting a first sub-condition regarding an RSRP threshold condition being met])
(*examiner notes that these limitations were part of a previous alternative limitations that were not examined in this application, as such this further limitation that relies on them is also not being given patentable weight)
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue combined with Kiilerich, and further in view of Hoang et al. (US 2024/0032099 A1), hereinafter referred to as Hoang.
Claim 3 is a method claim that recites similar limitations to device claim 13. Therefore, claim 3 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 13.
Re. Claim 13, Xue combined with Kiilerich teaches claim 11.
Xue further teaches:
wherein the processor, when loading and running the one or more computer programs, (¶186 The memory 1304 may store, or have recorded thereon, instructions 1306. The instructions 1306 may include instructions that, when executed by the processor 1302, cause the processor 1302 to perform the operations described herein with reference to the UEs 115 and/or 215 in connection with aspects of the present disclosure)
is caused to further perform: determining a resource selection window (¶0080 the PHY layer 304 [i.e. element of the UE 215] may determine a sensing window (e.g., the sensing window 342 of FIG. 3B) and a resource selection window (e.g., a resource selection window 344 of FIG. 3B) based on the resource selection trigger.)
and a resource sensing window; (¶0080 the PHY layer 304 [i.e. element of the UE 215] may determine a sensing window (e.g., the sensing window 342 of FIG. 3B) and a resource selection window (e.g., a resource selection window 344 of FIG. 3B) based on the resource selection trigger.)
determining available resources within the resource selection window as an initialized resource set; (¶0082 In the scheme 340, the UE 215 is preconfigured with a sidelink resource pool 350. The sidelink resource pool 350 may span a certain frequency bandwidth in a licensed band. The sidelink resource pool 350 may include a plurality of time-frequency resources 352. [i.e. set of initialized resources] Each resource 352 may include a certain number of symbols (e.g., OFDM symbols) in time and a certain number of frequency subcarriers in frequency. & ¶0084 The PHY layer 304 may identify candidate resources 352 within the resource selection window 344 by examining or analyzing sensing results obtained within the sensing window 342. In FIG. 3B, the candidate resources (available resources) 352 in the resource selection window 344 are shown as empty-filled boxes. [i.e. the candidate resources (available resources) within the resource selection window 344 are part of the preconfigured (initialized) resources] & ¶0148 when reserving a resource (e.g., resource 352) and/or a set of M resources (e.g., set of M resources 456), UE 215 may identify and select from candidate resources within a sidelink resource pool 450 based on several factors. For example, the PHY layer 304 may identify candidate resources based on a combination of SCI decoding, signal measurements, and/or priority information.)
and acquiring the first resource set by excluding resources from the initialized resource set by a resource exclusion process, (¶0084 If the remaining candidate resources 352 in the resource selection window 344 is less than 20% of the total resources in the resource selection window 344, the PHY layer 304 may increase the signal threshold and repeat the resource filtering or exclusion until the candidate resources 352 in the resource selection window 344 is about 20% of the total resources 352 in the resource selection window 344. & ¶0107 the PHY layer 304 may exclude resources 352 in the resource selection window 444 that are reserved (e.g., based on SCI decoding in the sensing window 442 and/or prediction). The PHY layer 304 may exclude resources 352 in the resource selection window 444 that are to be used for transmissions with a higher traffic priority than the UE 215 (e.g., based on SCI decoding in the sensing window 442 and/or prediction). The PHY layer 304 may exclude resources 352 in the resource selection window 444 based on resources 352 within the sensing window 442 that have signal measurements (e.g., RSRP and/or RSSI) higher than a certain signal threshold and a predicted resource usage pattern. The PHY layer 304 may perform the resource filtering or exclusion by SCI decoding, priority, and/or signal measurements in the resource selection window 444 in any suitable order. [i.e. resources are excluded from the reserved resources (initialized resource set) to acquire the candidate resource set (first resource set)])
Kiilerich further teaches:
wherein the resource exclusion process comprises a first exclusion process and a second exclusion process, (¶0110 When an NR-V2X resource pool overlaps with an LTE-V2X resource pool, then an NR device, when performing resource selection via mode 2, will have to perform sensing in such a way that it detects the activity of other NR and LTE devices. This means that the NR device will have to monitor the two overlapping resource pools and decode both the LTE SCIs transmitted in the LTE-V2X resource pool and the NR SCIs transmitted in the NR-V2X resource pool. From those SCIs, the NR device becomes aware of future transmissions of other surrounding devices, and from there it can ascertain which resources will be available (i.e., should not be excluded) for its own NR-V2X sidelink transmission(s). [i.e. exclusion process for first and second SCI are the first and second exclusion processes])
wherein the first exclusion process is used to exclude resources based on the first sidelink control information monitored within the resource sensing window, (¶0110 When an NR-V2X resource pool overlaps with an LTE-V2X resource pool, then an NR device, when performing resource selection via mode 2, will have to perform sensing in such a way that it detects the activity of other NR and LTE devices. This means that the NR device will have to monitor the two overlapping resource pools and decode both the LTE SCIs transmitted in the LTE-V2X resource pool and the NR SCIs transmitted in the NR-V2X resource pool. From those SCIs, the NR device becomes aware of future transmissions of other surrounding devices, and from there it can ascertain which resources will be available (i.e., should not be excluded) for its own NR-V2X sidelink transmission(s). This procedure is illustrated in FIG. 13. for the NR overlay configuration depicted in FIG. 12. & ¶0199 the UE may identify the resources to reserve the frequency resource within the resource selection window by examining or analyzing sensing results (e.g. decoded SCI and/or signal measurements) obtained within the sensing window. The UE may filter the resources in the resource selection window based on the decoded SCI, [i.e. SCI from NR device is the first sidelink control information decoded within a sensing window, where resources are filtered/excluded for each decoded SCI (a first exclusion process)])
and the second exclusion process is used to exclude resources based on the second sidelink control information monitored within the resource sensing window; (¶0110 When an NR-V2X resource pool overlaps with an LTE-V2X resource pool, then an NR device, when performing resource selection via mode 2, will have to perform sensing in such a way that it detects the activity of other NR and LTE devices. This means that the NR device will have to monitor the two overlapping resource pools and decode both the LTE SCIs transmitted in the LTE-V2X resource pool and the NR SCIs transmitted in the NR-V2X resource pool. From those SCIs, the NR device becomes aware of future transmissions of other surrounding devices, and from there it can ascertain which resources will be available (i.e. should not be excluded) for its own NR-V2X sidelink transmission(s). This procedure is illustrated in FIG. 13. for the NR overlay configuration depicted in FIG. 12. & ¶0199 the UE may identify the resources to reserve the frequency resource within the resource selection window by examining or analyzing sensing results (e.g. decoded SCI and/or signal measurements) obtained within the sensing window. The UE may filter the resources in the resource selection window based on the decoded SCI, [i.e. SCI from LTE considered the second sidelink control information decoded within a sensing window, where resources are filtered/excluded for each decoded SCI (a second exclusion process)])
wherein different RSRP threshold tables are configured for the first exclusion process and the second exclusion process; (¶0181 The RSRP thresholds used to evaluate if the late-arriving SCIs in the NR-V2X and LTE-V2X sidelink resources pools overlap with the TX's selected PSCCH/PSSCH resource can be: a. the same for both NR-V2X and LTE-V2X and configured as part of the NR-V2X (pre-)configuration; b. different for NR-V2X and LTE-V2X, where the NR-V2X and LTE-V2X RSRPs are separately configured in the NR-V2X (pre-)configuration;)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Xue’s invention of frequency resource reservation for sidelink communication to include Kiilerich’s teaching of the first sidelink control information being different from the second sidelink control information, because it would allow the UE to determine which resources will be available and therefore to not exclude. (see Kiilerich ¶0122)
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: wherein the resource exclusion process further comprises a third exclusion process, wherein the third exclusion process is used to exclude resources based on a non-monitored time unit within the resource sensing window.
However, in the analogous art, Hoang teaches:
wherein the resource exclusion process further comprises a third exclusion process, (¶0134 The WTRU may perform resource exclusion, for example, by excluding the non-monitoring resources and/or by increasing the RSRP threshold (e.g., so that the percentage and/or number of available resources in the set A is greater than X1, (e.g., 20%)). The WTRU may initialize set A in the set of candidate slots in the window of candidate slots, for example, for a unicast or groupcast TB. & ¶0243 A WTRU may determine whether to exclude an associated slot in the RSW (resource selection window) due to one or more non-monitored slots in the CPS window. [i.e. a third exclusion process involving non-monitored slots (time units)])
wherein the third exclusion process is used to exclude resources based on a non-monitored time unit within the resource sensing window. (¶0243 A WTRU may determine whether to exclude an associated slot in the RSW (resource selection window) due to one or more non-monitored slots in the CPS (contiguous partial sensing) window. [i.e. the third exclusion process involves excluding resources based on non-monitored slots (a time unit) within the CPS window (resource sensing window)])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Xue and Kiilerich’s invention of frequency resource reservation for sidelink communication to include Hoang’s teaching of excluding resources based on a non-monitored time unit within a resource sensing window, because it would enable the method to determine selectable resources of set of candidate slots by excluding the unavailable resources. (see Hoang ¶0006)
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue combined with Kiilerich, and further in view of Ren et al. (US 2025/0048395 A1), hereinafter referred to as Ren.
Claim 6 is a method claim that recites similar limitations to device claim 16. Therefore, claim 6 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 16.
Re. Claim 16, Xue combined with Kiilerich teaches claim 11.
wherein the resource determined based on the second sidelink control information (¶0072 sidelink communication can be communicated over a PSCCH and a PSSCH. For instance, the PSCCH may carry SCI and the PSSCH may carry SCI and/or sidelink data (e.g., user data). Each PSCCH is associated with a corresponding PSSCH, where SCI in a PSCCH may carry reservation and/or scheduling information for sidelink data transmission in the associated PSSCH. & ¶0154 FIG. 8B illustrates, the first reservation 810 transmitted by the first UE for the frequency resource reservation 454, as well as a second reservation 816 transmitted by a second UE for a second frequency resource reservation 820 over a variable time range 822. [i.e. second reservation is the SCI that indicates the second frequency resource reservation (second resource)]
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: comprises: resources indicated by the second sidelink control information monitored in a second time unit and by the second sidelink control information assumed to be received in Q2 time units corresponding to the second time unit, wherein the Q2 time units are determined based on the second time unit and a resource reservation period indicated in the second sidelink control information, and Q2 is a positive integer.
However, in the analogous art, Ren teaches:
comprises: resources indicated by the second sidelink control information monitored in a second time unit (¶0017 determining the first resource by the first terminal through performing the resource-sensing on detecting the SCI transmitted by the second terminal includes: detecting the SCI transmitted by the second terminal by the first terminal on a second sensing occasion [i.e. second terminal SCI monitored in a second sensing occasion (second time unit)] in a case that the resource-sensing is the continuous partial sensing, wherein the second sensing occasion is a specific duration or slot.)
and by the second sidelink control information assumed to be received in Q2 time units corresponding to the second time unit, (¶0017 determining the first resource by the first terminal through performing the resource-sensing on detecting the SCI transmitted by the second terminal includes: detecting the SCI transmitted by the second terminal by the first terminal on a second sensing occasion in a case that the resource-sensing is the continuous partial sensing, wherein the second sensing occasion is a specific duration or slot. [i.e. a specific slot or duration is considered as Q2 time units that correspond to the second sensing occasion (second time unit)])
wherein the Q2 time units are determined based on the second time unit (¶0148 The second sensing occasion is denoted as L2, and is a continuous duration or a quantity of slots for continuous resource-sensing. [i.e. the quantity of slots (Q2 time units) are determined from the sensing occasion L2 (second time unit)])
and a resource reservation period indicated in the second sidelink control information, (¶0163-¶0164 obtaining indication information included in the SCI, wherein the indication information is configured to indicate information related to the transmission resource of the S-PRS; determining one or more second resources based on the information related to the transmission resource; & ¶0171 the information related to the transmission resource is transmitted in a first field added in a first SCI format, or transmitted in a second SCI format and the second SCI format is dedicated to the information related to the transmission resource. & ¶0166 the information related to the transmission resource includes at least one of the following: [0167] time-frequency information of the resource; [0168] an index of the resource; [0169] a period of the resource; [i.e. the second SCI includes information regarding a period of the transmission resource (resource reservation period)])
and Q2 is a positive integer. (¶0148 The second sensing occasion is denoted as L2, and is a continuous duration or a quantity of slots for continuous resource-sensing. [i.e. a quantity of slots (Q2), wherein a quantity of anything is representative of a positive integer, or simply a number])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Xue and Kiilerich’s invention of frequency resource reservation for sidelink communication to include Ren’s teaching of resources indicated by the second sidelink control information monitored in a second time unit, because it would enable the indication of resources within a sensing window in order to perform the method with power-saving requirements of the terminal. (see Ren ¶0148)
Claims 7-8, 10, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue combined with Kiilerich, and further in view of Hwang et al. (US 2024/0251386 A1), hereinafter referred to as Hwang.
Claims 7-8 and 10 are method claims that recite similar limitations to device claims 17-18 and 20. Therefore, claims 7-8 and 10 are rejected for similar reasons to claims 17-18 and 20.
Re. Claim 17, Xue combined with Kiilerich teaches claim 11.
Xue further teaches:
wherein in a case that the second resource is overlapped with the resource determined based on the first sidelink control information, (¶0048 the first UE may transmit a reservation for the frequency resource to reserve the frequency resource over the variable time range. For example, the UE may transmit the reservation within an SCI via the PSCCH & ¶0051 the first UE may reserve a second frequency resource after reserving the frequency resource. Further, the first UE may reserve the second frequency resource by clustering it with the frequency resource. For instance, the first UE may select the second frequency resource so that it is adjacent to the frequency resource in frequency (e.g., positioned within an adjacent subchannel), time (e.g., positioned within an adjacent slot), or both (e.g., overlapping the frequency resource). [i.e. the second resource is overlapped with the first frequency resource which is determined from SCI via the PSCCH (first sidelink control information)])
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: the RSRP threshold condition being met comprises: a sidelink reference signal received power (SL-RSRP) of a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) corresponding to the first sidelink control information or a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) scheduled by the PSCCH being greater than or equal to a first RSRP threshold, wherein the first RSRP threshold is determined based on the priority indicated by the first sidelink control information and the priority of data transmission.
However, in the analogous art, Hwang teaches:
the RSRP threshold condition being met comprises: (¶0090 the UE 1 may transmit a sidelink control information (SCI) to the UE 2 through a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), and thereafter transmit data based on the SCI to the UE 2 through a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH). & ¶0122 a UE may consider the resources reserved by an LTE SL operation and select an NR SL transmission resource by avoiding the resources under certain conditions (e.g., when the RSRP measurement value is higher compared to the RSRP threshold value).)
wherein the first RSRP threshold is determined based on the priority indicated by the first sidelink control information (¶0093 in NR resource allocation mode 2, a first UE may use SCI to indicate to a second UE the priority of an SL transmission. For example, the second UE may decode the SCI, and the second UE may perform sensing and/or resource (re)selection based on the priority. the SL RSRP threshold may be determined based on the priority of the SL transmission indicated by the SCI received by the second UE from the first UE and the priority of the SL transmission on the resource selected by the second UE.)
and the priority of data transmission. (¶0093 the SL RSRP threshold may be determined based on the priority of the SL transmission indicated by the SCI received by the second UE from the first UE and the priority of the SL transmission on the resource selected by the second UE.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Xue and Kiilerich’s invention of frequency resource reservation for sidelink communication to include Hwang’s teaching of a second RSRP threshold being determined based on priority of SCI and sidelink transmission, because it would enable the terminal to perform sensing and resource reselection based on the priority. (see Hwang ¶0093)
Re. Claim 18, Xue combined with Kiilerich teaches claim 11.
Xue further teaches:
wherein in a case that the second resource is overlapped with the resource determined based on the second sidelink control information, (¶0072 sidelink communication can be communicated over a PSCCH and a PSSCH. For instance, the PSCCH may carry SCI and the PSSCH may carry SCI and/or sidelink data (e.g., user data). Each PSCCH is associated with a corresponding PSSCH, where SCI in a PSCCH may carry reservation and/or scheduling information for sidelink data transmission in the associated PSSCH. & ¶0154 FIG. 8B illustrates, the first reservation 810 transmitted by the first UE for the frequency resource reservation 454, as well as a second reservation 816 transmitted by a second UE for a second frequency resource reservation 820 over a variable time range 822. [i.e. second reservation is the second sidelink control information (SCI) that indicates the second frequency resource reservation (second resource)] The second UE may transmit the second reservation 816 as generally described above with reference to FIG. 8A and the second reservation 812. In this way, the second UE may preempt the first frequency reservation 454 based on a higher-priority second frequency resource reservation 820 and may share a portion of the first frequency resource reservation 454 based on an equal or lower priority second frequency resource reservation 820 with respect to the first frequency resource reservation 454. To that end, the variable time range 822 of the second frequency resource reservation 820 may overlap the variable time range 458 of the frequency resource reservation 454. [i.e. second frequency resource reservation (second resource) is overlapped by another resource reservation])
the RSRP threshold condition being met (¶0078 For signal measurements, the PHY layer 304 may receive a signal from each resource and compute a reference signal received power (RSRP) and/or receive signal strength indicator (RSSI) for each resource. The PHY layer 304 may also record the signal measurements. & ¶0084 In some aspects, the PHY layer 304 may exclude resources 352 in the resource selection window 344 that are reserved (e.g., based on SCI decoding in the sensing window 342 and/or prediction). The PHY layer 304 may exclude resources 352 in the resource selection window 344 that are to be used for transmissions with a higher traffic priority than the UE 215 (e.g., based on SCI decoding in the sensing window 342 and/or prediction). The PHY layer 304 may exclude resources 352 in the resource selection window 344 based on resources 352 within the sensing window 342 that have signal measurements (e.g., RSRP and/or RSSI) higher than a certain signal threshold. [i.e. based on SCI decoding in the sensing window certain resources are excluded based on meeting an RSRP threshold, which is considered as sidelink control information from the UE meeting a first sub-condition regarding an RSRP threshold condition being met])
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: comprises: a sidelink reference signal received power (SL-RSRP) of a physical sidelink control channel (PSSCH) scheduled by the second sidelink control information being greater than or equal to a second RSRP threshold, wherein the second RSRP threshold is determined based on the priority indicated by the second sidelink control information and the priority of data transmission.
However, in the analogous art, Hwang teaches:
comprises: a sidelink reference signal received power (SL-RSRP) of a physical sidelink control channel (PSSCH) scheduled by the second sidelink control information being greater than (¶0090 the UE 1 may transmit a sidelink control information (SCI) to the UE 2 through a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), and thereafter transmit data based on the SCI to the UE 2 through a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH). & ¶0122 a UE may consider the resources reserved by an LTE SL operation and select an NR SL transmission resource by avoiding the resources under certain conditions (e.g., when the RSRP measurement value is higher compared to the RSRP threshold value).)
wherein the second RSRP threshold is determined based on the priority indicated by the second sidelink control information (¶0093 in NR resource allocation mode 2, a first UE may use SCI to indicate to a second UE the priority of an SL transmission. For example, the second UE may decode the SCI, and the second UE may perform sensing and/or resource (re)selection based on the priority. the SL RSRP threshold may be determined based on the priority of the SL transmission indicated by the SCI received by the second UE from the first UE and the priority of the SL transmission on the resource selected by the second UE.)
and the priority of data transmission. (¶0093 the SL RSRP threshold may be determined based on the priority of the SL transmission indicated by the SCI received by the second UE from the first UE and the priority of the SL transmission on the resource selected by the second UE.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Xue and Kiilerich’s invention of frequency resource reservation for sidelink communication to include Hwang’s teaching of a second RSRP threshold being determined based on priority of SCI and sidelink transmission, because it would enable the terminal to perform sensing and resource reselection based on the priority. (see Hwang ¶0093)
Re. Claim 20, Xue combined with Kiilerich teaches claim 11.
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: wherein the first sidelink control information is sidelink control information in a new radio (NR) system, and the second sidelink control information is sidelink control information in a long-term evolution (LTE) system.
However, in the analogous art, Hwang teaches:
wherein the first sidelink control information is sidelink control information in a new radio (NR) system, (¶0100-¶0101 a transmitting UE may transmit the SCI to a receiving UE on the PSCCH. the transmitting UE may transmit the first SCI to the receiving UE through the PSCCH. For example, the transmitting UE may transmit the second SCI to the receiving UE on the PSCCH and/or the PSSCH. & ¶0120-¶0122 a UE may be allowed to perform transmission and/or reception operations of sidelink (SL) channels/signals based on different radio access technologies (RATs) (e.g., long term evolution (LTE) and/or new radio (NR)) on a single carrier or cell. when transmission and/or reception operations of SL channels/signals based on different RATs are performed on a single carrier or cell, when a UE tries to perform NR SL operations, the UE may need to avoid the resources occupied by LTE SL operations. this is to enable a UE to perform resource (re)selection based on LTE SCI and/or LTE DCI and/or NR SCI and/or NR DCL & ¶0179 Referring to FIG. 13, in step S1310, a second device may receive, from a first device, new radio (NR) sidelink control information (SCI) for scheduling of a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) through a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), based on a sidelink (SL) resource)
and the second sidelink control information is sidelink control information in a long-term evolution (LTE) system. (¶0100-¶0101 a transmitting UE may transmit the SCI to a receiving UE on the PSCCH. the transmitting UE may transmit the first SCI to the receiving UE through the PSCCH. For example, the transmitting UE may transmit the second SCI to the receiving UE on the PSCCH and/or the PSSCH. & ¶0120-¶0122 a UE may be allowed to perform transmission and/or reception operations of sidelink (SL) channels/signals based on different radio access technologies (RATs) (e.g., long term evolution (LTE) and/or new radio (NR)) on a single carrier or cell. when transmission and/or reception operations of SL channels/signals based on different RATs are performed on a single carrier or cell, when a UE tries to perform NR SL operations, the UE may need to avoid the resources occupied by LTE SL operations. this is to enable a UE to perform resource (re)selection based on LTE SCI and/or LTE DCI and/or NR SCI and/or NR DCL& ¶0126 a UE performing an NR SL operation may perform a procedure to receive LTE SL control information and exclude a candidate resource within the resource selection window of NR SL that overlaps a reserved resource derived based on the LTE SL control information from available resources)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Xue and Kiilerich’s invention of frequency resource reservation for sidelink communication to include Hwang’s teaching of first and second sidelink control information being from both New Radio (NR) and Long-term Evolution (LTE) systems, respectively, because it would enable the UE to perform resource reselection based on the SCI. (see Hwang ¶0122)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Osawa et al. (US 2021/0321421 A1); ¶0039 sidelink communication with both LTE and NR; ¶0053 overlapping resources for LTE and NR; relevant to claims 1, 3, 9, and 10.
/G.A.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417