DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments/Amendments
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed 7/6/2026. Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-12, 14, and 17-20 are pending. Claims 1, 4, 5, 7-9, 14, and 17-19 have been amended.
The rejection of claims 3-11, and 13-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, are withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of claims 1-5, 12, and 14-16 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Burrows (US 2008/0271765) is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendments.
Claims 1-11 and 16 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oblinger et al. (US 2011/0155190) in view of Burrows (US 2008/0271765). Applicant argues that Oblinger does not meet the claims because washing water is only supplied through a single intermediate connecting nipple 17 and the washing water flow path is not formed in the receiving space of Oblinger. The Examiner respectfully disagrees because the claims do not require these functions. Instead, the claims require “a flow path connection portion having a receiving space defined therein into which the first supply nipple and the second supply nipple are inserted” and “a connection pipe having a first end communicating with the receiving space of the flow path connection portion.” Oblinger is considered to broadly and reasonably disclose these features because the second part-coupling (Figure 3: 10) receives the connection pieces (11-13), and the feed pipe (4) is connected to the opening (20) which is inside the second part-coupling, so is inherently in communication with the second part-coupling. Also note that the inside of the opening (20) is also in fluid communication with the rest of the inside of second part-coupling (10) when in the disconnected state (Figure 3).
In response to Applicant’s amendments, new/modified ground(s) of rejection are applied below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Blanchard et al. (US 2012/0285491).
Regarding claim 1, Blanchard discloses a dish washer comprising: a tub having a washing space defined therein (5); a rack disposed in the washing space so as to extend from or retract into the washing space, wherein a dish is mounted on the rack, and a vertical level of the rack is adjustable (16, 17); a spraying arm disposed under the rack so as to spray washing water to the rack, wherein the spraying arm is movable together with the rack when the vertical level of the rack is adjusted (48; paragraphs 4, 29, 33); a water guide defining a supply flow path therein through which the washing water to be supplied to the spraying arm flows (120); and a spraying arm holder constructed to supply the spraying arm and to guide the washing water supplied thereto from the water guide to the spraying arm (204b 209), wherein the water guide has a first supply hole and a second supply hole defined therein communicating with the spraying arm holder so as to supply the washing water flowing along the supply flow path to the spraying arm holder (154, 155), wherein the dish washer further comprises a connector detachably connecting the spraying arm holder and the water guide to each other (160, 180, 189, 195), wherein the connector includes: a main body extending in a vertical direction and attached to the water guide (158); a first supply nipple protruding horizontally from the main body, wherein a first open end in a horizontal direction of the first supply nipple communicates with the first supply hole, and a second open end in the horizontal direction of the first supply nipple faces toward the spraying arm holder (161); and a second supply nipple protruding horizontally from the main body, wherein a first open end in the horizontal direction of the second supply nipple communicates with the second supply hole, and a second open end in the horizontal direction of the second supply nipple faces toward the spraying arm holder (162), wherein the spraying arm holder includes: a flow path connection portion having a receiving space defined therein into which the first supply nipple and the second supply nipple are inserted (Figures 4, 6: 180, 182); and a connection pipe having a first end communicating with the receiving space of the flow path connection portion and a second end coupled to the spraying arm (202), and wherein each of the first supply nipple and the second supply nipple is in a constant inserted state into the receiving space regardless of the vertical level of the rack (see interior of 180; paragraph 32).
Regarding claims 12 and 14, Blanchard discloses wherein the first supply hole and the second supply hole are arranged in a horizontal line (154, 155); where the first and second supply nipples are arranged in a horizontal line (161, 162).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, and 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oblinger et al. (US 2011/0155190; cited by Applicant) in view of by Burrows (US 2008/0271765; cited by Applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Oblinger discloses a dish washer comprising: a tub having a washing space defined therein (paragraph 33); a rack disposed in the washing space so as to extend from or retract into the washing space, wherein a dish is mounted on the rack, and a vertical level of the rack is adjustable (paragraph 33); a spraying arm disposed under the rack, wherein the spraying arm is movable together with the rack when the vertical level of the rack is adjusted (3; see element 5; paragraph 33); a water guide defining a supply flow path therein through which the washing water to be supplied to the spraying arm flows (7, 9); and a spraying arm holder constructed to supply the spraying arm and to guide the washing water supplied thereto from the water guide to the spraying arm (4, 5), wherein the water guide has a first supply hole and a second supply hole defined therein communicating with the spraying arm holder so as to supply the washing water flowing along the supply flow path to the spraying arm holder (openings 14 at 11-13); wherein the dish washer further comprises a connector detachably connecting the spraying arm holder and the water guide to each other (9), wherein the connector includes: a main body extending in a vertical direction and attached to the water guide (Figures 2-4: 9); a first supply nipple protruding horizontally from the main body, wherein a first open end in a horizontal direction of the first supply nipple communicates with the first supply hole, and a second open end in the horizontal direction of the first supply nipple faces toward the spraying arm holder (12 or 13); and a second supply nipple protruding horizontally from the main body, wherein a first open end in the horizontal direction of the second supply nipple communicates with the second supply hole, and a second open end in the horizontal direction of the second supply nipple faces toward the spraying arm holder (11 or 12); wherein the spraying arm holder includes: a flow path connection portion having a receiving space defined therein into which the first supply nipple and the second supply nipple are inserted (10); and a connection pipe having one end communicating with the receiving space of the flow path connection portion and a second end coupled to the spraying arm (4), wherein each of the first supply nipple and the second supply nipple is in a constant inserted state into the receiving space regardless of the vertical level of the rack (Figures 3-4: see elements 10, 12, 13).
Oblinger does not expressly disclose wherein the spraying arm sprays washing water to the rack.
Burrows discloses a dishwasher having a mid-level spray arm attached to an underside of an upper rack and is configured to spray water both upwardly and downwardly (paragraph 19).
Because it is known in the art to spray washing water upwardly to a rack, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, cleaning dishes in the rack, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the spraying arm sprays washing water to the rack.
Claims 2, 4, and 5 are considered to be met by the combination of Oblinger, in view of Burrows, as applied above and which results in: wherein the first supply hole and the second supply hole are arranged vertically (Oblinger: Figure 2: 14); wherein the second supply nipple is disposed under the first supply nipple, wherein the first supply nipple and the second supply nipple are arranged consecutively along the vertical direction (Oblinger: 11-13); wherein the first supply nipple and the second supply nipple have the same shape and size (Oblinger: 11-13).
Claims 7-9 are considered to be met by the combination of Oblinger, in view of Burrows, as applied above and which results in: wherein each of the second open end of the first supply nipple and the second open end of the second supply nipple is spaced from an inner surface of the flow path connection portion defining the receiving space (Oblinger: portions of 12 and 13 spaced from portions of the walls of 10); wherein the connector further includes a plurality of dummy nipples respectively disposed on top of the first supply nipple and under the second supply nipple, wherein one of a first end and a second end each of the plurality of dummy nipples is blocked, wherein the plurality of dummy nipples, the first supply nipple, and the second supply nipple are arranged in a line along a vertical direction (Oblinger: see uppermost and lowermost elements 21; note the configuration of the connection pieces 11-13 and covers 21 when connected in the central connected state as in Figure 6); wherein the water guide further includes a third supply hole constructed to communicate with the spraying arm holder and supply washing water flowing along the supply flow path to the spraying arm holder, wherein the connector further includes a third supply nipple having a first open end communicating with the third supply hole and a second open end connected to the main body (Oblinger: 11 and corresponding element 14).
Claims 10-11 are considered to be met by the combination of Oblinger, in view of Burrows, as applied above and which results in: wherein the third supply nipple, the first supply hole and the second supply hole are arranged in a line along a vertical direction (Oblinger: 11-13); wherein each of the first supply nipple, the second supply nipple, and the third supply nipple is in a constant inserted state into the receiving space regardless of the vertical level of the rack (Oblinger: see 10 and 11-13; note Figures 5-7).
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blanchard et al. (US 2012/0285491) in view of Agrawal (US 2019/0290099) and Dries (US 2014/0196756).
Regarding claim 17, Blanchard discloses wherein the spraying arm holder includes: a cover coupled to one open surface of the flow path connection portion and having a plurality of first receiving holes into which the first supply nipple and the second supply nipple are respectively inserted (195, 197); and a sealing member attached to one surface of the cover and made of an elastic material, wherein the sealing member has a plurality of second receiving holes defined therein respectively at positions corresponding to positions of the plurality of first receiving holes (189, 190; paragraph 28).
Blanchard does not expressly disclose wherein an inner diameter of each of the second receiving holes is smaller than an inner diameter of each of the first receiving holes.
Agrawal discloses a conduit docking assembly for a dishwasher appliance including a docking station (260) having a docking port (300) and docking assembly (200) having a sealing plate (230) having upper and lower apertures (242, 244), and wherein sealing members (246, 248) are attached to the sealing plate to be disposed about the upper and lower apertures to seal around respective docking ports of the docking station (260; paragraph 37). Dries discloses an adjustable dishwasher conduit valve system including a docking station (250) having a base protrusion (258), a mid-level spray arm assembly (200) having a closure plate (214) with upper and lower apertures (246, 248), and a gasket (236) with an upper and lower aperture (238, 240). The gasket includes lips (264, 266) with an inner diameter smaller than the apertures of the closure plate and capable of forming a seal with the docking station (Figure 5; paragraph 36).
Because it is known in the art to have the sealing member sealed to the docking ports, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, providing sealing using the sealing member at each nipple, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have wherein an inner diameter of each of the second receiving holes is smaller than an inner diameter of each of the first receiving holes.
Regarding claims 18-19, modified Blanchard is relied upon as above and further results in: wherein the sealing member includes an insertion portion protruding toward each first receiving hole and defining an inner diameter of each second receiving hole, wherein the inner diameter of each second receiving hole defined in the insertion portion is smaller than each of an outer diameter of the first supply nipple and an outer diameter of the second supply nipple (Dries: 264, 266; also see Agrawal: 246, 248); wherein when each of the first supply nipple and the second supply nipple has been inserted into each second receiving hole, each insertion portion is elastically deformed (Dries: paragraphs 29, 36; Agrawal: paragraph 37).
Regarding claim 20, modified Blanchard is relied upon as above, but does not expressly disclose wherein the cover includes a guide protrusion protruding toward the sealing member so as to guide an attachment position of the sealing member to the cover, wherein the sealing member has a guide hole defined therein into which the guide protrusion is inserted. Rather, Blanchard discloses that the rear portion of the manifold (180) includes a central boss (Figure 6: 254) for mounting of the cover member (195), wherein the boss is shown as including a hole (Figure 6). Since the flapper member (189) is between the manifold (180) and cover member (195), and the boss has a hole for mounting, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a protrusion to couple to the boss, which must also pass through the flapper member, yielding wherein the cover includes a guide protrusion protruding toward the sealing member so as to guide an attachment position of the sealing member to the cover, wherein the sealing member has a guide hole defined therein into which the guide protrusion is inserted. The modification would predictably allow the cover member to be coupled to the boss in a way that is suggested by the drawings.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DAVID G. CORMIER
Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/DAVID G CORMIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711