DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7, 8, filed 08/26/26, with respect to claims 1 - 20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1 – 20 under 35 U.S.C 101 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 08/26/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Venkata does not appear to teach the use of a provider framework that includes an index containing metadata or keywords that provide contextual support for processing user inputs, and provides access to a plurality of provider implementations that operate as providers, wherein each provider operates on the user inputs together with hits provided by the index (Amendment, pages 8 – 10).
The examiner disagrees, since Venkata et al. disclose “Enterprise computer system 160 may include presentation server 168. Presentation server 168 may provide a presentation service, such as Business Intelligence Presentation Service (BIPS) provided by Oracle® corporation. Data analytic system 150 may communicate results of a query to presentation server 168. The results may be communicated with a best-suited visual representation for the results. Presentation server 168 can generate a report for display in a graphical interface (e.g., graphical interface 106). The report may indicate the results of the query according to the visual representation…Reference data structure 700 may be a reference data index in reference store 140. Reference data structure 700 may be defined with one or more keywords that have meaning when combined with other strings of characters (e.g., words) in an input string. The keywords may have meaning within a subject area. Each record in data structure 700 may correspond to a different keyword and an associated hint. One or more hints may be associated with a keyword to determine whether any words following the keyword have meaning in relation to the keyword. The keywords may be defined with respect to a subject area. Each of the keywords may be defined with respect to a particular subject area, or may have a specific meaning in a subject area. As such, multiple reference indices may be defined for different subject areas, where the keyword has a different meaning. The reference index may be chosen for a particular subject area (paragraphs 93 -96, 164).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 –3, 7 – 10, 14 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Venkata et al. (US PAP 2020/0117658).
As per claims 1, 8, and 15, Venkata et al. teach a system for providing a data analytics workbook assistant and integration with data analytics environments, comprising:
a computer comprising a microprocessor (paragraphs 15, 463);
a data analytics system or environment running on the computer, wherein the data analytics system or environment is operable to receive from a user, via a user interface, an input comprising a natural language expression or request to prepare a data visualization (“A data analytic system”; paragraphs 12 – 14, 326- 329);
a provider framework that: includes an index containing metadata or keywords that provide contextual support for processing user inputs; and provides access to a plurality of provider implementations that operate as providers, wherein each provider operates on the user inputs together with hits provided by the index (“Data analytic system 150 may communicate results of a query to presentation server 168. The results may be communicated with a best-suited visual representation for the results. Presentation server 168 can generate a report for display in a graphical interface (e.g., graphical interface 106). The report may indicate the results of the query according to the visual representation…Reference data structure 700 may be a reference data index in reference store 140. Reference data structure 700 may be defined with one or more keywords that have meaning when combined with other strings of characters (e.g., words) in an input string.”; paragraphs 93 -96, 164);
wherein, in response to receiving the input comprising a natural language expression or request to prepare a data visualization, the data analytics system or environment determines and operates with a selected provider operating as an implementation of a provider framework, to interpret the input along with the hits provided by the index, and provide natural language processing capabilities (“query system 500 may determine a best-suited visualization for displaying the results of the query. Output data 504 may include information indicating the visualization for displaying the results of the query.”; paragraphs 28 -30, 139, 326- 329); and
wherein the selected provider operating as the implementation of the provider framework processes a text input or a speech input of the input, to generate, modify, or interact with the data visualization (“The computer system may provide a presentation service to that can generate a graphical visualization for presentation of results produced for the query. In some embodiments, query system 500 may determine a best-suited visualization for displaying the results of the query. Output data 504 may include information indicating the visualization for displaying the results of the query.”: paragraphs 28 -30, 139).
As per claims 2, 9, and 16, Venkata et al. further disclose the data analytics system or environment comprises an Oracle Analytics Cloud (OAC) environment; and wherein the provider comprises an Oracle Digital Assistant (ODA) environment (“Enterprise computer system 160 may include intelligence server computer 170. Intelligence server 170 may provide an intelligence service, such as Oracle Business Intelligence service provided by Oracle® corporation. Data analytic system 150 may communicate with intelligence server 170 to obtain data from one or more data sources. Intelligence server 170 may aggregate data from one or more data sources 110 and a create a physical mapping of data to data sources. Data analytic system 150 can request data from intelligence server 170 for crawling to generate data index 142. In some embodiments, data analytic system 150 may communicate with intelligence server 170 via presentation server 168.”; paragraph 96).
As per claims 3, 10, and 17, Venkata et al. further disclose the data analytics system or environment comprises a workbook assistant provided by or for use with the data analytics environment in generating data visualizations associated with datasets (“Data analytic system 150 may communicate with intelligence server 170 to obtain data from one or more data sources. Intelligence server 170 may aggregate data from one or more data sources 110 and a create a physical mapping of data to data sources.”; paragraphs 94 – 98).
As per claims 7, 14, Venkata et al. further disclose the data analytics system or environment and the digital assistant are provided or communicate as part of a cloud environment (“data analytic system 150 may be implemented as an enterprise computing system or a cloud computing system”; paragraphs 84, 85).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 – 6, 11 – 13, and 18 – 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As per claims 4, 11, and 18, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest the data analytics system or environment receives as the input a natural language (NL) expression, the input NL expression being associated with a context; wherein the NL expression is sent to the selected provider operating as the implementation of the provider framework which provides natural language processing (NLP) of the input NL expression, and provides a data indicative of resolved intent and entities; and wherein a search component finds a most relevant dataset based upon the data indicative of resolved intent and entities, which is returned to a data visualization (DV) environment for rendering within a user interface.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LEONARD SAINT-CYR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2658