DETAILED ACTION
2. The following is a Final Office action in response to communications received on March 11, 2026. Claims 1-20 are pending and addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments are sufficient to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections for claims 13-16 set forth in the previous Office Action. Applicant’s amendments are not sufficient to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections for claims 17-20 set forth in the previous Office Action. Claim 17 still recites limitations considered to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The specification still lacks a corresponding structure as set forth in the previous Office Action. Therefore, the rejection is maintained and repeated herein below.
Applicant’s amendments regarding the 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejections set forth in the previous Office Action have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. Applicant has amended the claims in such a way that the scope of the claims has been changed. New art is being used to address the newly added claim limitations. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are rendered moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 is considered to recite limitations that invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The limitations “a machine learning module configured to…” and “a dynamic traffic management module configured to….” are considered to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The specification only merely recites the claim language without providing any detail on the structure of the limitations. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Dependent claims 18-20 are rejected for containing the same indefinite language as parent claim 17 without further remedying the indefinite language.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 6-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hooda et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0177629 and hereinafter referred to as Hooda) in view of Ettema et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,044,675 and hereinafter referred to as Ettema) in view of Blake et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2008/0271151 and hereinafter referred to as Blake).
As to claim 1, Hooda discloses a system for deceptive resistance to adversary cyber operations comprising:
a deception server configured to respond to a cyber threat actor on at least one networking protocol, reroute attack traffic, impersonate an operational server on an operational network using network traffic redirection and network address translation, and log relevant network events of the cyber threat actor (paragraphs [0105], [0106], [0123] and [0124], Hooda teaches a honeypot server in a honeypot network where the server appears to be a legitimate host and the activity is monitored. Additionally traffic redirection and network address translation is performed in the honeypot network);
an analytics server configured to receive and store the logs of the relevant network events from the deception server, and generate dashboards based on the logs to provide visual analytics to an end user (paragraphs [0037], [0038] and [0105], Hooda teaches an analytics engine to provide graphical representations which allow an administrator to secure the network);
manage connections to the deception network from an Internet, and allow administration of the deception network (paragraph [0105], Hooda teaches a LISP mapping system to manage the honeypot network); and
a router configured to route traffic between components of the deception network, and terminate a virtual private network connection to the operational network (paragraphs [0029], [0063], [0105], [0107], [0108] and [0124], Hooda teaches routing traffic in the honeypot network and utilizing a VPN.).
Hooda is not explicitly clear in disclosing a network firewall configured to manage connections to the deception network from an Internet, and allow administration of the deception network (emphasis added); and wherein the deception server is further configured to dynamically vary a deception strategy based at least in part on endpoint activity and or performance as claimed. However, Ettema does disclose
a network firewall configured to manage connections to the deception network from an Internet, and allow administration of the deception network (col. 8 lines 8-20, Ettema teaches a firewall to manage a honey/decoy network.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hooda with the teachings of Ettema for having a network firewall because Hooda already discloses various aspects performed by a firewall and it would be a simple substitution to replace the device of Hooda with the firewall of Ettema to yield the predictable results of managing the honeypot network with a firewall.
The combination of teachings between Hooda and Ettema does not specifically disclose wherein the deception server is further configured to dynamically vary a deception strategy based at least in part on endpoint activity and or performance as claimed. However, Blake does disclose
wherein the deception server is further configured to dynamically vary a deception strategy based at least in part on endpoint activity and or performance (paragraph [0070], Blake teaches a morphing honeypot which changes vulnerabilities based on an activity threshold.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified invention of Hooda with the teachings of Blake for to dynamically varying a deception strategy because this would improve security.
As to claim 3, the combination of teachings between Hooda, Ettema and Blake disclose the system of claim 1, further comprising:
a border router, outside the operational network, to route attack traffic of the cyber threat actor to a Network Address Translation (NAT) service, wherein the attack traffic is isolated from the operational network (paragraphs [0105], [0107] and [0111], Hooda teaches border routers and NAT for routing traffic to an isolated honeypot network); and
the NAT service to: change a destination address of the attack traffic to reflect a deception address of the deception server (paragraphs [0105]-[0107], [0111] and [0123], Hooda teaches NAT on a destination address), and change a source address of a response to the attack traffic to reflect an operational address of the operational server (col. 35 line 49 – col. 36 line 30 and col. 43 lines 40-60, Ettema teaches ensuring external Internet-facing IP addresses are associated with the production network.).
Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of the references as in claim 1 above.
As to claim 6, the combination of teachings between Hooda, Ettema and Blake disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the network firewall is configured to block unauthorized outbound traffic from the deception network (col. 39 line 60 – col. 40 line 15, Ettema teaches blocking outbound traffic.).
Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of the references as in claim 1 above.
As to claim 7, the combination of teachings between Hooda, Ettema and Blake disclose the system of claim 1, further comprising a visualization dashboard on the analytics server that provides real-time monitoring of adversary interactions (paragraphs [0037], [0038] and [0105], Hooda teaches an analytics engine to provide graphical representations which allow an administrator to secure the network.).
As to claim 8, the combination of teachings between Hooda, Ettema and Blake disclose the system of claim 1, further comprising a configuration management interface that allows administrators to customize how the deception network responds to different types of cyber threats (paragraphs [0036], [0037] and [0105], Hooda teaches providing graphical representations which allow an administrator to alter honeypot policies.).
As to claim 9, the combination of teachings between Hooda, Ettema and Blake disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the analytics server includes a feature that generates alerts when abnormal attack patterns are detected (col. 37 lines 17-37, Ettema teaches alerting analysts.).
Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of the references as in claim 1 above.
As to claim 10, the combination of teachings between Hooda, Ettema and Blake disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the router logs all network traffic between the operational and deception networks (paragraphs [0035], [0063], [0105], [0106], [0123] and [0124], Hooda teaches monitoring activity. col. 12 line 63 – col. 13 line 3 and col. 41 lines 11-26, Ettema teaches logging traffic between the real and decoy networks.).
Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of the references as in claim 1 above.
As to claim 11, the combination of teachings between Hooda, Ettema and Blake disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the deception server is hosted on a cloud platform with dynamic scaling capabilities to handle varying levels of attack traffic (paragraphs [0024] and [0108], Hooda teaches a honeypot server in the cloud and provisioning additional resources for the honeypot network.).
As to claim 12, the combination of teachings between Hooda, Ettema and Blake disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the deception network includes several honeypots, each simulating different services or operating systems (col. 10 line 48 – col. 11 line 24 and col. 22 line 64 – col. 23 line 28, Ettema teaches honeypots emulating different services and different operating systems.).
Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of the references as in claim 1 above.
Claim(s) 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hooda, Ettema and Blake as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ries et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0067553 and hereinafter referred to as Ries).
As to claim 2, the combination of teachings between Hooda, Ettema and Blake disclose the system of claim 1. The combination of teachings between Hooda, Ettema and Blake does not specifically disclose wherein the analytics server is on the deception network as claimed. However, Ries does disclose
wherein the analytics server is on the deception network (paragraph [0071], Ries teaches a honeynet contains an analytics server.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified invention of Hooda with the teachings of Ries for having the analytics server on the deception network because Hooda already discloses an analytics device and it is a simple substitution to replace the analytics device of Hooda with the honeynet based analytics server of Ries to yield the predictable results of having an analytics server in a honeypot network.
As to claim 4, the combination of teachings between Hooda, Ettema and Blake disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the deception server is configured to emulate HTTP and FTP protocols (col. 3 lines 20-35, Ettema teaches HTTP and FTP). The combination of teachings between Hooda, Ettema and Blake does not specifically disclose SSH as claimed. However, Ries does disclose SSH (paragraphs [0075] and [0135], Ries teaches SSH honeypot servers.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified invention of Hooda with the teachings of Ries for having SSH because this would increase security.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hooda, Ettema and Blake as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Crabtree et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0370439 and hereinafter referred to as Crabtree).
As to claim 5, the combination of teachings between Hooda, Ettema and Blake disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the analytics server further comprises machine learning algorithms (paragraph [0039], Hooda teaches machine learning algorithms used by the analytics engine.). The combination of teachings between Hooda, Ettema and Blake does not specifically disclose to automatically detect and categorize attack patterns based on adversary behavior as claimed. However, Crabtree does disclose
to automatically detect and categorize attack patterns based on adversary behavior (paragraphs [0107]-[0108], Crabtree teaches collecting data using a honeypot and classifying attacks using machine learning.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified invention of Hooda with the teachings of Crabtree for categorizing attack patterns based on adversary behavior because this would increase security.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hooda et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0177629 and hereinafter referred to as Hooda) in view of Blake et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2008/0271151 and hereinafter referred to as Blake).
As to claim 13, Hooda discloses a method for deploying a cloud-hosted deceptive defense system, comprising:
simulating network resources on a deception server hosted on a cloud platform (paragraphs [0105]-[0108], Hooda teaches a honeypot server in a cloud environment), wherein simulating network resources comprises responding to a cyber threat actor, rerouting attack traffic, impersonating an operational server on an operational network using network traffic redirection and network address translation, logging network events of the cyber threat actor, (paragraphs [0105], [0106], [0123] and [0124], Hooda teaches a honeypot server in a honeypot network where the server appears to be a legitimate host and the activity is monitored. Additionally traffic redirection and network address translation is performed in the honeypot network);
redirecting unauthorized traffic to a deception server through a network address translation service (paragraphs [0105]-[0108], Hooda teaches using NAT to redirect potential attacker traffic to the honeypot server);
capturing and logging interactions with adversaries to analyze patterns of attack, wherein the patterns of attack provide insight of an attacker’s tactics and persistence strategies to develop the deception strategy (paragraphs [0105]-[0108], Hooda teaches monitoring/tracking potential attacker actions on the honeypot server – Note: the wherein clause here merely states an intended use/result and is therefore, not ascribed patentable weight (see MPEP 2111.04)); and
isolating the deception network from a secure network infrastructure to prevent unauthorized access (paragraphs [0105]-[0108] and [0124], Hooda teaches isolating the honeypot network from the real internal network.).
Hooda does not specifically disclose dynamically varying a deception strategy based at least in part on endpoint activity and or performance as claimed. However, Blake does disclose
dynamically varying a deception strategy based at least in part on endpoint activity and or performance (paragraph [0070], Blake teaches a morphing honeypot which changes vulnerabilities based on an activity threshold.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hooda with the teachings of Blake for to dynamically varying a deception strategy because this would improve security.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hooda and Blake as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Payne (U.S. Patent No. 12,301,614).
As to claim 14, the combination of teachings between Hooda and Blake disclose the method of claim 13, wherein a network events recorded include detailed information about a adversary’s location (paragraphs [0105]-[0108], Hooda teaches monitoring/tracking potential attacker locations.). The combination of teachings between Hooda and Blake does not specifically disclose a adversary’s network infrastructure as claimed. However, Payne does disclose a adversary’s network infrastructure (col. 28 lines 6-46, Payne teaches recording data of a cyber attacker’s network infrastructure.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified invention of Hooda with the teachings of Payne for recording the adversary’s network infrastructure because this would increase security.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hooda and Blake as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Sellers et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0092165 and hereinafter referred to as Sellers).
As to claim 15, the combination of teachings between Hooda and Blake disclose method of claim 13. The combination of teachings between Hooda and Blake does not specifically disclose wherein a reports generated include specific recommendations for improving network defenses based on observed adversary tactics as claimed. However, Sellers does disclose
wherein a reports generated include specific recommendations for improving network defenses based on observed adversary tactics (paragraphs [0062]-[0063], Sellers teaches generating reports and recommendations for security actions.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified invention of Hooda with the teachings of Sellers for having specific recommendations for improving network defenses because this would increase security.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hooda and Blake as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Vasseur et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0326598 and hereinafter referred to as Vasseur).
As to claim 16, the combination of teachings between Hooda and Blake disclose method of claim 13. The combination of teachings between Hooda and Blake does not specifically disclose wherein the network address translation service adjusts a rerouting based on the detected type of cyber attack as claimed. However, Vasseur does disclose
wherein the network address translation service adjusts a rerouting based on the detected type of cyber attack (paragraph [0069], Vasseur teaches adjusting routing based on an attack type.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified invention of Hooda with the teachings of Vasseur for adjusting the rerouting based on the detected type of cyber attack because this would increase security.
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hooda et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0177629 and hereinafter referred to as Hooda in view of Crabtree et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0370439 and hereinafter referred to as Crabtree) in view of Blake et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2008/0271151 and hereinafter referred to as Blake).
As to claim 17, Hooda discloses a cyber adversary activity isolation and analysis system, comprising:
a deception network configured to respond to a cyber threat actor and reroute attack traffic away from an operational network (paragraphs [0105]-[0108], [0123] and [0124], Hooda teaches an isolated honeypot network that appears to be a legitimate host network and traffic is routed to the honeypot network);
a deception server configured to simulate real network services and capture adversary behavior across multiple networking protocols (paragraphs [0105]- [0108], [0123] and [0124], Hooda teaches a honeypot server in the honeypot network where the server appears to be a legitimate host and the activity is monitored); and
wherein the patterns of attack provide insight of an attacker’s tactics and persistence strategies to develop the deception strategy (Note: the wherein clause here merely states an intended use/result and is therefore, not ascribed patentable weight (see MPEP 2111.04));
a dynamic traffic management module configured to adjust network redirection in real time to maintain deception quality (paragraphs [0024], [0105]- [0108], [0123] and [0124], Hooda teaches dynamic provisioning of resources for the honeypot network based on current resources.). Even though Hooda does generally disclose machine learning (paragraph [0039]) and identifying attack patterns (paragraph [0105]), Hooda is not explicitly clear on disclosing a machine learning module configured to analyze logged adversary behavior to identify patterns of attack; and wherein the deception server is further configured to dynamically vary a deception strategy based at least in part on endpoint activity and or performance as claimed. However, Crabtree does disclose
a machine learning module configured to analyze logged adversary behavior to identify patterns of attack (paragraphs [0024], [0107] and [0108], Crabtree teaches machine learning for identifying patterns of attacks.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hooda with the teachings of Crabtree for having a machine learning module that analyzes logged adversary behavior to identify patterns of attack because this would increase security.
The combination of teachings between Hooda and Crabtree does not specifically disclose wherein the deception server is further configured to dynamically vary a deception strategy based at least in part on endpoint activity and or performance as claimed. However, Blake does disclose
wherein the deception server is further configured to dynamically vary a deception strategy based at least in part on endpoint activity and or performance (paragraph [0070], Blake teaches a morphing honeypot which changes vulnerabilities based on an activity threshold.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified invention of Hooda with the teachings of Blake for to dynamically varying a deception strategy because this would improve security.
As to claim 18, the combination of teachings between Hooda, Crabtree and Blake disclose the system of claim 17, wherein the machine learning module is trained to distinguish between automated and human-operated cyber attacks based on interaction data (paragraphs [0020], [0024], [0107], [0108] and [0153], Crabtree teaches determining human and nonhuman bad actors.).
Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of the references as in claim 17 above.
As to claim 19, the combination of teachings between Hooda, Crabtree and Blake disclose the system of claim 17, wherein the dynamic traffic management module is further configured to prioritizes high risk attack traffic to specialized honeypots (paragraphs [0088], [0091] and [0093], Crabtree teaches identifying risky traffic and employing honeypots.).
Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of the references as in claim 17 above.
As to claim 20, the combination of teachings between Hooda, Crabtree and Blake disclose the system of claim 17, wherein the machine learning module is further configured to predict future attack methods by analyzing past adversarial behavior (paragraphs [0021] and [0121], Crabtree teaches using machine learning to forecast attacks.).
Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of the references as in claim 17 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THADDEUS J PLECHA/Examiner, Art Unit 2438