DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Foreign
Applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f) or 365 (b) is acknowledged, which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Domestic
Applicant’s claim for domestic priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C.120, 121, or 365(c) or 365 (a) of any PCT Application international application is
acknowledged, which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 9/12/2024 and 5/22/2025 have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Double Patenting (Statutory Type)
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
As shown in the table below, which underlines similarities between the claim limitations of the current application and the US Patent:
Claim 1 claims the same invention as that of claims 6 and 7 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12,120,565. Claim 2-6, claim the same invention as that of claims 7-11, respectively, of prior U.S. Patent No. 12,120,565. Claim 7 claims the same invention as that of claim 13 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12,120,565. Claim 8 claims the same invention as that of claim 15 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12,120,565. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Claims from Current Application
Claims from US Patent 12,120,565
1. A terminal apparatus, comprising: one or more processors; and one or more memories that store a computer-readable instruction for causing, when executed by the one or more processors, the one or more processors to function as: an acquisition unit configured to acquire, when performing registration of a position of the terminal apparatus, tracking area identifiers (TAIs) belonging to a TAI list that comprises a plurality of TAIs belonging to a same tracking area to which a residing cell where the terminal apparatus is in standby belongs, wherein the plurality of TAIs indicate tracking areas that can provide an identical network slice; a receiving unit configured to receive, after acquisition of the TAIs belonging to the TAI list from a base station apparatus forming the residing cell, a broadcast signal including a TAI of a neighbor cell adjacent to the residing cell and a cell identifier of the neighbor cell; a determining unit configured to determine whether or not the TAI of the neighbor cell is included in the acquired TAIs belonging to the TAI list; and a setting unit configured to set a priority for selecting the neighbor cell on a basis of a result of the determining.
6. A terminal apparatus, comprising: one or more processors; and one or more memories that store a computer-readable instruction for causing, when executed by the one or more processors, the one or more processors to function as: an acquisition unit configured to acquire, when performing registration of a position of the terminal apparatus, tracking area identifiers (TAIs) belonging to a TAI list that comprises a plurality of TAIs belonging to a same tracking area to which a residing cell where the terminal apparatus is in standby belongs, wherein the plurality of TAIs indicate tracking areas that can provide an identical network slice; a receiving unit configured to receive, after acquisition of the TAIs belonging to the TAI list from a base station apparatus forming the residing cell, a broadcast signal including a TAI of a neighbor cell adjacent to the residing cell and a cell identifier of the neighbor cell; a determining unit configured to determine whether or not the TAI of the neighbor cell is included in the acquired TAIs belonging to the TAI list; and a setting unit configured to set a priority for selecting the neighbor cell on a basis of a result of the determining.
1. A terminal apparatus, comprising: one or more processors; and one or more memories that store a computer-readable instruction for causing, when executed by the one or more processors, the one or more processors to function as: an acquisition unit configured to acquire, when performing registration of a position of the terminal apparatus, tracking area identifiers (TAIs) belonging to a TAI list that comprises a plurality of TAIs belonging to a same tracking area to which a residing cell where the terminal apparatus is in standby belongs, wherein the plurality of TAIs indicate tracking areas that can provide an identical network slice; a receiving unit configured to receive, after acquisition of the TAIs belonging to the TAI list from a base station apparatus forming the residing cell, a broadcast signal including a TAI of a neighbor cell adjacent to the residing cell and a cell identifier of the neighbor cell; a determining unit configured to determine whether or not the TAI of the neighbor cell is included in the acquired TAIs belonging to the TAI list; and a setting unit configured to set a priority for selecting the neighbor cell on a basis of a result of the determining.
7. A terminal apparatus, comprising: one or more processors; and one or more memories that store a computer-readable instruction for causing, when executed by the one or more processors, the one or more processors to function as: an acquisition unit configured to acquire, when performing registration of a position of the terminal apparatus, tracking area identifiers (TAIs) belonging to a TAI list that comprises a plurality of TAIs belonging to a same tracking area to which a residing cell where the terminal apparatus is in standby belongs, wherein the plurality of TAIs indicate tracking areas that can provide an identical network slice; a receiving unit configured to receive, after acquisition of the TAIs belonging to the TAI list from a base station apparatus forming the residing cell, a broadcast signal including a TAI of a neighbor cell adjacent to the residing cell and a cell identifier of the neighbor cell; a first determining unit configured to determine whether or not the TAI of the neighbor cell is included in the acquired TAIs belonging to the TAI list; a second determining unit configured to determine, on a basis of a result of the determining of the first determining unit, whether a predetermined network slice can be provided in the neighbor cell; and a setting unit configured to set, on a basis of a result of the determining of the second determining unit, a priority for selection of the neighbor cell.
2. The terminal apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: an another determining unit configured to determine, on a basis of a result of the determining of the determining unit, whether a predetermined network slice can be provided in the neighbor cell, wherein the setting unit sets, on a basis of a result of the determining of the second another determining unit, a priority for selection of the neighbor cell.
7. A terminal apparatus, comprising: one or more processors; and one or more memories that store a computer-readable instruction for causing, when executed by the one or more processors, the one or more processors to function as: an acquisition unit configured to acquire, when performing registration of a position of the terminal apparatus, tracking area identifiers (TAIs) belonging to a TAI list that comprises a plurality of TAIs belonging to a same tracking area to which a residing cell where the terminal apparatus is in standby belongs, wherein the plurality of TAIs indicate tracking areas that can provide an identical network slice; a receiving unit configured to receive, after acquisition of the TAIs belonging to the TAI list from a base station apparatus forming the residing cell, a broadcast signal including a TAI of a neighbor cell adjacent to the residing cell and a cell identifier of the neighbor cell; a first determining unit configured to determine whether or not the TAI of the neighbor cell is included in the acquired TAIs belonging to the TAI list; a second determining unit configured to determine, on a basis of a result of the determining of the first determining unit, whether a predetermined network slice can be provided in the neighbor cell; and a setting unit configured to set, on a basis of a result of the determining of the second determining unit, a priority for selection of the neighbor cell.
3. The terminal apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the broadcast signal includes information indicating a frequency used in the neighbor cell.
8. The terminal apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the broadcast signal includes information indicating a frequency used in the neighbor cell.
4. The terminal apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the broadcast signal is System Information Block (SIB).
9. The terminal apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the broadcast signal is System Information Block (SIB).
5. The terminal apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the setting unit sets a priority for when the TAI of the neighbor cell is included in the list higher than a priority for when the TAI of the neighbor cell is not included in the list.
10. The terminal apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the setting unit sets a priority for when the TAI of the neighbor cell is included in the list higher than a priority for when the TAI of the neighbor cell is not included in the list.
6. The terminal apparatus according to claim 1, wherein on a basis of a set priority, the setting unit sets a condition relating to starting a search for a cell corresponding to the priority or a condition relating to movement to a cell corresponding to the priority.
11. The terminal apparatus according to claim 6, wherein on a basis of a set priority, the setting unit sets a condition relating to starting a search for a cell corresponding to the priority or a condition relating to movement to a cell corresponding to the priority.
7. A control method executed by a terminal apparatus, comprising: acquiring, when performing registration of a position of the terminal apparatus, tracking area identifiers (TAIs) belonging to a TAI list that comprises a plurality of TAIs belonging to a same tracking area to which a residing cell where the terminal apparatus is in standby belongs, wherein the plurality of TAIs indicate tracking areas that can provide an identical network slice; receiving, after acquisition of the TAIs belonging to the TAI list from a base station apparatus forming the residing cell, a broadcast signal including a TAI of a neighbor cell adjacent to the residing cell and a cell identifier of the neighbor cell; determining whether or not the TAI of the neighbor cell is included in the acquired TAIs belonging to the TAI list; and setting a priority for selecting the neighbor cell on a basis of a result of the determining.
8. A control method executed by a terminal apparatus, comprising: acquiring, when performing registration of a position of the terminal apparatus, tracking area identifiers (TAIs) belonging to a TAI list that comprises a plurality of TAIs belonging to a same tracking area to which a residing cell where the terminal apparatus is in standby belongs, wherein the plurality of TAIs indicate tracking areas that can provide an identical network slice; receiving, after acquisition of the TAIs belonging to the TAI list from a base station apparatus forming the residing cell, a broadcast signal including a TAI of a neighbor cell adjacent to the residing cell and a cell identifier of the neighbor cell; determining whether or not the TAI of the neighbor cell is included in the acquired TAIs belonging to the TAI list; and setting a priority for selecting the neighbor cell on a basis of a result of the determining.
8. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that stores a program for causing a computer included in a terminal apparatus to: acquire, when performing registration of a position of the terminal apparatus, tracking area identifiers (TAIs) belonging to a TAI list that comprises a plurality of TAIs belonging to a same tracking area to which a residing cell where the terminal apparatus is in standby belongs, wherein the plurality of TAIs indicate tracking areas that can provide an identical network slice; receive, after acquisition of the TAIs belonging to the TAI list from a base station apparatus forming the residing cell, a broadcast signal including a TAI of a neighbor cell adjacent to the residing cell and a cell identifier of the neighbor cell; perform determination of whether or not the TAI of the neighbor cell is included in the acquired TAIs belonging to the TAI list; and set a priority for selecting the neighbor cell on a basis of a result of the determination.
15. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that stores a program for causing a computer included in a terminal apparatus to: acquire, when performing registration of a position of the terminal apparatus, tracking area identifiers (TAIs) belonging to a TAI list that comprises a plurality of TAIs belonging to a same tracking area to which a residing cell where the terminal apparatus is in standby belongs, wherein the plurality of TAIs indicate tracking areas that can provide an identical network slice; receive, after acquisition of the TAIs belonging to the TAI list from a base station apparatus forming the residing cell, a broadcast signal including a TAI of a neighbor cell adjacent to the residing cell and a cell identifier of the neighbor cell; perform determination of whether or not the TAI of the neighbor cell is included in the acquired TAIs belonging to the TAI list; and set a priority for selecting the neighbor cell on a basis of a result of the determination.
30. The computing device of claim 29, wherein the area of interest includes at least one of a geographic area, a sub-network, or one or more cells.
10. The computing device of claim 9, wherein the area of interest includes at least one of a geographic area, a sub-network, or one or more cells.
31. A method, comprising: obtaining data on predicted handovers, each from a respective source cell to a respective target cell, for a plurality of user devices in connection with a communications network; obtaining predicted status data of the communications network including at least one of a predicted quantity of user devices served by different cells of the communications network or predicted types of user devices served by different cells of the communications network; analyzing a tradeoff between (a) a cost for pre-allocation of resources in the communications network prior to executing one or more of the predicted handovers and (b) a gain in quality of service associated with the one or more of the predicted handovers, based on at least a subset of the predicted status data; and causing pre-allocation of the resources in the communications network prior to executing the one or more of the predicted handovers based, at least in part, on the analyzing of the tradeoff, wherein at least a portion of the resources pre-allocated is to be used for one or more target cells for the predicted handovers.
11. A method, comprising: obtaining data on predicted handovers, each from a respective source cell to a respective identified target cell, for a plurality of user devices in connection with a communications network; obtaining current status data of the communications network including at least one of a current quantity of user devices served by different cells of the communications network or current types of user devices served by different cells of the communications network; obtaining predicted status data of the communications network including at least one of a predicted quantity of user devices served by different cells of the communications network or predicted types of user devices served by different cells of the communications network; analyzing a tradeoff between a cost for pre-allocation of resources in the communications network related to the predicted handovers and a gain in quality of service by at least pre-allocation of resources to one or more identified target cells for the predicted handovers, based on at least a subset of the current status data and the predicted status data; and causing pre-allocation of the resources in the communications network based, at least in part, on the analyzing of the tradeoff, wherein an allocation of the resources is not implemented until completion of the analyzing of the tradeoff and wherein at least a portion of the resources allocated is to be used for at least one of the one or more identified target cells for the predicted handovers.
32. The method of claim 31, further comprising selecting a subset of the predicted handovers for pre-allocation of resources based, at least in part, on the analyzing of the tradeoff.
The method of claim 11, further comprising selecting a subset of the predicted handovers for pre-allocation of resources based, at least in part, on the analyzing of the tradeoff.
33. The method of claim 31, wherein the analyzing comprises determining a threshold applicable to confidence levels associated with the predicted handovers.
13. The method of claim 11, wherein the analyzing comprises determining a threshold applicable to confidence levels associated with the predicted handovers.
34. The method of claim 33, wherein the threshold is determined based further on at least one of a priority, computational capability, communication capability, or desired quality of service associated with individual user devices of the plurality of user devices.
14. The method of claim 13, wherein the threshold is determined based further on at least one of a priority, computational capability, communication capability, or desired quality of service associated with individual user devices of the plurality of user devices.
35. The method of claim 31, further comprising analyzing the tradeoff in accordance with an area of interest.
15. The method of claim 11, further comprising analyzing the tradeoff in accordance with an area of interest.
36. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing contents that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: obtain data on predicted handovers, each from a respective source cell to a respective target cell, for a plurality of user devices in connection with a communications network; obtain predicted status data of the communications network including at least one of a predicted quantity of user devices served by different cells of the communications network or predicted types of user devices served by different cells of the communications network; analyze a tradeoff between (a) a cost for pre-allocation of resources in the communications network prior to implementing one or more of the predicted handovers and (b) a gain in quality of service associated with the one or more of the predicted handovers, based on at least a subset of the predicted status data; and cause pre-allocation of the resources in the communications network prior to implementing the one or more of the predicted handovers based, at least in part, on the analyzing of the tradeoff, wherein at least a portion of the resources pre-allocated is to be used for at least one target cell of the predicted handovers.
16. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing contents that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: obtain data on predicted handovers, each from a respective source cell to a respective identified target cell, for a plurality of user devices in connection with a communications network; obtain current status data of the communications network including at least one of a current quantity of user devices served by different cells of the communications network or current types of user devices served by different cells of the communications network; obtain predicted status data of the communications network including at least one of a predicted quantity of user devices served by different cells of the communications network or predicted types of user devices served by different cells of the communications network; analyze a tradeoff between a cost for pre-allocation of resources in the communications network related to the predicted handovers and a gain in quality of service based on at least a subset of the current status data and the predicted status data; and cause pre-allocation of the resources in the communications network based, at least in part, on the analyzing of the tradeoff, wherein an allocation of the resources is not implemented until completion of the analyzing of the tradeoff and wherein at least a portion of the resources allocated is to be used for at least an identified target cell of the predicted handovers.
37. The computer-readable storage medium of claim 36, wherein the contents further cause the one or more processors to select a subset of the predicted handovers for pre-allocation of resources based, at least in part, on the analyzing of the tradeoff.
17. The computer-readable storage medium of claim 16, wherein the contents further cause the one or more processors to select a subset of the predicted handovers for pre-allocation of resources based, at least in part, on the analyzing of the tradeoff.
38. The computer-readable storage medium of claim 36, wherein the analyzing of the tradeoff comprises determining a threshold applicable to confidence levels associated with the predicted handovers.
18. The computer-readable storage medium of claim 16, wherein the analyzing of the tradeoff comprises determining a threshold applicable to confidence levels associated with the predicted handovers.
39. The computer-readable storage medium of claim 38, wherein the threshold is determined based further on at least one of a priority, computational capability, communication capability, or desired quality of service associated with individual user devices of the plurality of user devices.
19. The computer-readable storage medium of claim 18, wherein the threshold is determined based further on at least one of a priority, computational capability, communication capability, or desired quality of service associated with individual user devices of the plurality of user devices.
40. The computer-readable storage medium of claim 36, wherein the contents further cause the one or more processors to analyze the tradeoff in accordance with an area of interest.
20. The computer-readable storage medium of claim 16, wherein the contents further cause the one or more processors to analyze the tradeoff in accordance with an area of interest.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the second another determining unit” in line 6 of the respective claims. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Three-Prong Test
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is modified by functional language and is linked by a transition word without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function, and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) are: in regards to the terminal, “acquisition unit configured to acquire…”, “receiving unit configured to receive…”, “determining unit configured to determine…” and “setting unit configured to set…” in claim 1, “another determining unit configured to determine…” in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Lou, et al (US PG Publication 2019/0289528), hereafter Lou.
Regarding claim 1, Lou teaches
a terminal apparatus, comprising
([0296] and Fig. 19 A terminal device 1900, including):
one or more processors
([0297] processor 1903); and
one or more memories that store a computer-readable instruction for causing, when executed by the one or more processors
([0307] The memory 1902 may be further configured to store a program instruction. The processor 1903 may invoke the program instruction stored in the memory 1902, to perform the step or the optional implementation in the embodiment shown in FIG. 2, so that the terminal device 1900 implements the function),
the one or more processors to function as:
an acquisition unit configured to acquire, when performing registration of a position of the terminal apparatus, tracking area identifiers (TAIs) belonging to a TAI list that comprises a plurality of TAIs belonging to a same tracking area to which a residing cell where the terminal apparatus is in standby belongs
([0094] A terminal device in an idle state learns of information about a coverage area of a required network slice
[0106] 201. The terminal device obtains a network slice service area identifier from a serving access network device corresponding to a serving cell in which the terminal device is located, where the network slice service area identifier is used to indicate an area served a network slice
[0111] The network slice service area identifier may be a group of cell identifiers or a tracking area (TA) TA identifier list),
wherein the plurality of TAIs indicate tracking areas that can provide an identical network slice
([0107] The serving access network device may further send network slice service area identification information to the terminal device, which may obtain one or more network slice service area identifiers
[0116] 202. The terminal device determines a target cell based on network slice configuration information and the network slice service area identifier, where the network slice configuration information includes a correspondence among a network slice, an area, and a service
[0123] For example, a network slice 1 needs to cover TA1, TA2, and TA3, a network slice 2 needs to cover TA2, TA4, and TA5
(Plurality of TAs covered by same/identical slice, for example TA2 covered by same network slice 1 as TA1));
a receiving unit configured to receive, after acquisition of the TAIs belonging to the TAI list from a base station apparatus forming the residing cell, a broadcast signal including a TAI of a neighbor cell adjacent to the residing cell and a cell identifier of the neighbor cell
([0107] The serving access network device may further send network slice service area identification information to the terminal device, which may obtain one or more network slice service area identifiers
[0111] Further, the network slice service area identifier may be a group of cell identifiers
[0116] 202. The terminal device determines a target cell based on network slice configuration information and the network slice service area identifier);
a determining unit configured to determine whether or not the TAI of the neighbor cell is included in the acquired TAIs belonging to the TAI list
([0107] The serving access network device may further send network slice service area identification information to the terminal device, which may obtain one or more network slice service area identifiers
[0111] Further, the network slice service area identifier may be a tracking area (TA) TA identifier list
[0116] 202. The terminal device determines a target cell based on network slice configuration information and the network slice service area identifier); and
a setting unit configured to set a priority for selecting the neighbor cell on a basis of a result of the determining
([0116] 202. The terminal device determines a target cell based on network slice configuration information and the network slice service area identifier
[0117] The terminal device may use the received network slice configuration information and the received network slice service area identification information as a standard for cell selection and reselection. When performing cell reselection, the terminal device may preferentially reselect a cell corresponding to the cell identifier
[0120] 203. The terminal device accesses the target cell).
Regarding claim 2, Lou teaches the terminal apparatus according to claim 1,
further comprising:
an another determining unit configured to determine, on a basis of a result of the determining of the determining unit, whether a predetermined network slice can be provided in the neighbor cell, wherein the setting unit sets, on a basis of a result of the determining of the second another determining unit, a priority for selection of the neighbor cell
([0117] The terminal device may use the received network slice configuration information and the received network slice service area identification information as a standard for cell selection and reselection. When performing cell reselection, the terminal device may preferentially reselect a cell corresponding to the cell identifier
[0120] 203. The terminal device accesses the target cell
[0123] For example, a network slice 1 needs to cover TA1, TA2, and TA3, a network slice 2 needs to cover TA2, TA4, and TA5).
Regarding claim 3, Lou teaches the terminal apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the broadcast signal includes information indicating a frequency used in the neighbor cell
([0113] The network slice service area identification information includes but is not limited to the following related information: information about a different frequency list supported by a cell).
Regarding claim 4, Lou teaches the terminal apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the broadcast signal is System Information Block (SIB)
([0108] The network slice service area identification information may be a
system message sent by using a radio resource control (RRC) message, and the system message may be included in an existing system message block as a newly-added field, or may be used as a new system message block and sent to the terminal device).
Regarding claim 5, Lou teaches the terminal apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the setting unit sets a priority for when the TAI of the neighbor cell is included in the list higher than a priority for when the TAI of the neighbor cell is not included in the list
([0107] The serving access network device may further send network slice service area identification information to the terminal device, which may obtain one or more network slice service area identifiers
[0111] Further, the network slice service area identifier may be a tracking area (TA) TA identifier list
[0116] 202. The terminal device determines a target cell based on network slice configuration information and the network slice service area identifier
[0117] When performing cell reselection, the terminal device may preferentially reselect a cell corresponding to the cell identifier
[0120] 203. The terminal device accesses the target cell).
Regarding claim 6, Lou teaches the terminal apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein on a basis of a set priority, the setting unit sets a condition relating to starting a search for a cell corresponding to the priority or
a condition relating to movement to a cell corresponding to the priority
([0094] When the terminal device moves, service continuity of the network slice for the terminal device is improved. Specifically, a terminal device in an idle state learns of information about a coverage area of a required network slice, so that the terminal device can increase a priority for selecting or reselecting cells covered by the required network slice, to access these cells as much as possible).
Regarding claim 7, Lou teaches
control method executed by a terminal apparatus, comprising:
acquiring, when performing registration of a position of the terminal apparatus, tracking area identifiers (TAIs) belonging to a TAI list that comprises a plurality of TAIs belonging to a same tracking area to which a residing cell where the terminal apparatus is in standby belongs
([0094] A terminal device in an idle state learns of information about a coverage area of a required network slice
[0106] 201. The terminal device obtains a network slice service area identifier from a serving access network device corresponding to a serving cell in which the terminal device is located, where the network slice service area identifier is used to indicate an area served a network slice
[0111] The network slice service area identifier may be a group of cell identifiers or a tracking area (TA) TA identifier list),
wherein the plurality of TAIs indicate tracking areas that can provide an identical network slice
([0107] The serving access network device may further send network slice service area identification information to the terminal device, which may obtain one or more network slice service area identifiers
[0116] 202. The terminal device determines a target cell based on network slice configuration information and the network slice service area identifier, where the network slice configuration information includes a correspondence among a network slice, an area, and a service
[0123] For example, a network slice 1 needs to cover TA1, TA2, and TA3, a network slice 2 needs to cover TA2, TA4, and TA5
(Plurality of TAs covered by same/identical slice, for example TA2 covered by same network slice 1 as TA1));
receiving, after acquisition of the TAIs belonging to the TAI list from a base station apparatus forming the residing cell, a broadcast signal including a TAI of a neighbor cell adjacent to the residing cell and a cell identifier of the neighbor cell
([0107] The serving access network device may further send network slice service area identification information to the terminal device, which may obtain one or more network slice service area identifiers
[0111] Further, the network slice service area identifier may be a group of cell identifiers
[0116] 202. The terminal device determines a target cell based on network slice configuration information and the network slice service area identifier);
determining whether or not the TAI of the neighbor cell is included in the acquired TAIs belonging to the TAI list
([0107] The serving access network device may further send network slice service area identification information to the terminal device, which may obtain one or more network slice service area identifiers
[0111] Further, the network slice service area identifier may be a tracking area (TA) TA identifier list
[0116] 202. The terminal device determines a target cell based on network slice configuration information and the network slice service area identifier); and
setting a priority for selecting the neighbor cell on a basis of a result of the determining.
([0116] 202. The terminal device determines a target cell based on network slice configuration information and the network slice service area identifier
[0117] The terminal device may use the received network slice configuration information and the received network slice service area identification information as a standard for cell selection and reselection. When performing cell reselection, the terminal device may preferentially reselect a cell corresponding to the cell identifier
[0120] 203. The terminal device accesses the target cell).
Regarding claim 8, Lou teaches
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that stores a program for causing a computer included in a terminal apparatus to
([0296] and Fig. 19 A terminal device 1900, including):
[0297] processor 1903
[0307] The memory 1902 may be further configured to store a program instruction. The processor 1903 may invoke the program instruction stored in the memory 1902, to perform the step or the optional implementation in the embodiment shown in FIG. 2, so that the terminal device 1900 implements the function
[0324] The computer instructions may be stored in a computer-readable storage medium. The usable medium may be a magnetic medium (for example, a floppy disk, a hard disk, or a magnetic tape), an optical medium (for example, a DVD), or the like):
acquire, when performing registration of a position of the terminal apparatus, tracking area identifiers (TAIs) belonging to a TAI list that comprises a plurality of TAIs belonging to a same tracking area to which a residing cell where the terminal apparatus is in standby belongs
([0094] A terminal device in an idle state learns of information about a coverage area of a required network slice
[0106] 201. The terminal device obtains a network slice service area identifier from a serving access network device corresponding to a serving cell in which the terminal device is located, where the network slice service area identifier is used to indicate an area served a network slice
[0111] The network slice service area identifier may be a group of cell identifiers or a tracking area (TA) TA identifier list),
wherein the plurality of TAIs indicate tracking areas that can provide an identical network slice
([0107] The serving access network device may further send network slice service area identification information to the terminal device, which may obtain one or more network slice service area identifiers
[0116] 202. The terminal device determines a target cell based on network slice configuration information and the network slice service area identifier, where the network slice configuration information includes a correspondence among a network slice, an area, and a service
[0123] For example, a network slice 1 needs to cover TA1, TA2, and TA3, a network slice 2 needs to cover TA2, TA4, and TA5
(Plurality of TAs covered by same/identical slice, for example TA2 covered by same network slice 1 as TA1));
receive, after acquisition of the TAIs belonging to the TAI list from a base station apparatus forming the residing cell, a broadcast signal including a TAI of a neighbor cell adjacent to the residing cell and a cell identifier of the neighbor cell
([0107] The serving access network device may further send network slice service area identification information to the terminal device, which may obtain one or more network slice service area identifiers
[0111] Further, the network slice service area identifier may be a group of cell identifiers
[0116] 202. The terminal device determines a target cell based on network slice configuration information and the network slice service area identifier);
perform determination of whether or not the TAI of the neighbor cell is included in the acquired TAIs belonging to the TAI list
([0107] The serving access network device may further send network slice service area identification information to the terminal device, which may obtain one or more network slice service area identifiers
[0111] Further, the network slice service area identifier may be a tracking area (TA) TA identifier list
[0116] 202. The terminal device determines a target cell based on network slice configuration information and the network slice service area identifier); and
set a priority for selecting the neighbor cell on a basis of a result of the determination.
([0116] 202. The terminal device determines a target cell based on network slice configuration information and the network slice service area identifier
[0117] The terminal device may use the received network slice configuration information and the received network slice service area identification information as a standard for cell selection and reselection. When performing cell reselection, the terminal device may preferentially reselect a cell corresponding to the cell identifier
[0120] 203. The terminal device accesses the target cell).
Conclusion
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art not Applied
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Landais, et al (US PG Publication 2022/0369219), hereafter Landais, teaches
configuring UEs to select a site and/or slice specific N3IWF based on a site-specific Tracking Area Identifier (TAI) broadcast by the site's cells and/or network slice selection assistance information. Tracking Area Code within the TAI is configured in the cells and broadcast by the cells.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/FRANK E DONADO/Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641