DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to communications: Application filed on September 12, 2024, and Drawings filed on September 12, 2024.
2. Claims 1–20 are pending in this case. Claim 1, 8, 15 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to claim 1, applicant claims the limitation of wherein the system supports complex follow-up interactions or questions that pertain to previous responses combined with a curated data, wherein resulting insights are incorporated into a visualization project.
The term “previous responses” lacks antecedent basis. A response was not defined. It is unclear whether the responses are generated by the device or the use. It is unclear what constitutes “resulting insights”. It is unclear as to what it results from. It is clear what constitutes “curated data”. It is unclear whether it is related to “dataset located by a search component” or not or whether it is from a different dataset. For the purpose of a compact prosecution previous responses is interpreted as data generated by the device.
Claims 8 and 15 are rejected for the same reason.
With regard to claim 4 applicant claims the aspect of wherein the data analytics system or environment is an Oracle Analytics Cloud (OAC) environment; and wherein the digital assistant system or environment is an Oracle Digital Assistant (ODA) environment.
These limitations improperly use trademarks to identify the claimed data analytics system and digital assistant system. A product or service associated with a trademark may change over time and the use of a trademark to define claim scope renders the boundary of the claim uncertain. A person ordinary skill I the art would not be able to determine the structural function or operational boundaries of a Oracle analytic cloud environment or an Oracle digital assistant environment form the claim language. For the purpose of a compact prosecution the claim with be interpreted as an Analytics Cloud environment and a digital Assistant environment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tory, Pub. No.: 20220365969 A1.
With regard to claim 1:
Tory discloses a system for providing a chat-to-visualization user interface for use with a data analytics workbook assistant (See fig. 3A wherein the analytic workbook assistant provide data visualization based on natural language input from the user), comprising: a computer comprising one or more microprocessors, at which a data analytics system or environment is provided (see paragraph 9 In accordance with some implementations, a method executes at an electronic device with a display, one or more processors, and memory. ); wherein the data analytics environment receives, via a user interface that allows a user to interact with the system using a chat-like conversation (see fig 3a part 302 for chat like conversation), an input comprising one or more of a natural language (NL) expression and an instruction, which is processed by a digital assistant of the data analytics system or environment ( See fig. 3a and paragraph 71 a user provides a first natural language command 302 (“show me children aboard who survived”). In some implementations, the computing device 200 responds by determining first keywords in the first natural language command 302 and determining user intent based on the first keywords. ); wherein, based upon the received input and the processing thereof, a data is generated comprising a resolved intent and entities (see paragraph 71 In this example, the computing device determines the user intent to generate a data visualization that includes the attributes “Age” and “Survived” and the determined first keywords may include, for example, “show,” “children,” and “survived.” ), and a dataset is located by a search component (paragraph 102 the computer displays (610) an initial data visualization according to a visual specification that specifies the data source, a plurality of visual variables, and a plurality of data fields from the data source. ); and wherein the system supports complex follow-up interactions or questions that pertain to previous responses combined with a curated data (See paragraph 73 A user may provide a second natural language command 304 (“break this down by sex and age”). In response, the computing device 200 modifies the visual specification based on second keyword(s) determined from the second natural language command 304 and a user intent that is determined based on the second keyword(s).), wherein resulting insights are incorporated into a visualization project (see paragraph 73 The computing device 200 then provides a second data visualization 314. The second data visualization 314 retains the attributes “Children Aboard?” and “Survived?” from the first data visualization 312, while adding data attributes “Sex” and “Age” in a way that preserves the previous structure of the bar chart in the first data visualization 312 (namely, a stacked bar chart that is further split into age bins).).
With regard to claims 2 and 9 and 16:
Tory discloses the system of claim 1, wherein, based upon the relevant dataset, a project is generated (paragraph 102 the computer displays (610) an initial data visualization according to a visual specification that specifies the data source, a plurality of visual variables, and a plurality of data fields from the data source. ); and wherein the generated project is received at a virtualization environment for rendering (see fig. 4a and paragraph 85 wherein the user can start a project about showing the number gold medals demographics).
With regard to claims 3 and 10 and 17:
Tory discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the generated project is displayed via one or more graphical user interfaces accessible by the data analytics environment (see fig. 4a for displayed data set for the project that include gold metals by ear and gender).
With regard to claims 4 and 11 and 18:
Tory discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the data analytics system or environment is an Oracle Analytics Cloud (OAC) environment; and wherein the digital assistant system or environment is an Oracle Digital Assistant (ODA) environment (see paragraph 43 A data source 102 that is used by the interactive data visualization application to generate data visualizations may be stored locally (e.g., on the same device that is displaying the user interface) or may be stored externally (e.g., on a database server or in the cloud). A data source 102 may be stored in a database or stored as one or more files (e.g., .CSV files) in a file system.).
With regard to claims 5 and 12 and 19:
Tory discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the data analytics system or environment includes a workbook assistant provided by or for use with the data analytics environment in generating data visualizations associated with datasets (See paragraph 70 and Figure 3 which illustrate how intent in analytical conversation is used to drive effective visualization responses, according to some implementations. The examples shown in FIGS. 3A-3C are related to a data source that has information about passengers on the Titanic.).
With regard to claims 6 and 13 and 20:
Tory discloses The system of claim 1, wherein the received is associated with a context (See paragraph 45 the data visualization application maintains context from either existing data visualizations or from the natural language command in order to provide consistent modifications to the data visualization); wherein a NL expression of the received input is sent to the digital assistant, which provides natural language processing (NLP) of the NL expression ( See fig. 3a and paragraph 71 a user provides a first natural language command 302 (“show me children aboard who survived”). In some implementations, the computing device 200 responds by determining first keywords in the first natural language command 302 and determining user intent based on the first keywords. );, and provides a data indicative of resolved intent and entities (see paragraph 71 In this example, the computing device determines the user intent to generate a data visualization that includes the attributes “Age” and “Survived” and the determined first keywords may include, for example, “show,” “children,” and “survived.” ),; and wherein the search component locates a most relevant dataset, which is returned to a data visualization (DV) environment for rendering within a user interface (paragraph 102 the computer displays (610) an initial data visualization according to a visual specification that specifies the data source, a plurality of visual variables, and a plurality of data fields from the data source. ).
With regard to claims 7 and 14:
Tory discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the data analytics system or environment and digital assistant are provided or communicate as part of a cloud environment (paragraph 43 A data source 102 that is used by the interactive data visualization application to generate data visualizations may be stored locally (e.g., on the same device that is displaying the user interface) or may be stored externally (e.g., on a database server or in the cloud). A data source 102 may be stored in a database or stored as one or more files (e.g., .CSV files) in a file system.).
Claim 8 is rejected for the same reason as claim 1.
Claim 15 is rejected for the same reason as claim 1.
Pertinent Arts
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ciminelli, Patent Number: 12639052 B2, discloses a method for generating and editing user interfaces via chat and/or sketches are provided. A first textual input and/or sketch associated with a desire to modify a design of a user interface may be received.
Jaganmohan, Patent Number: 10943072 B1: discloses a method for an artificial intelligence (AI)-based, conversational insight and action platform for user context and intent-based natural language processing and data insight generation. Using artificial intelligence and semantic analysis techniques, a knowledge graph is generated from structured data, and a word embedding is generated from unstructured data.
Conclusion
/DI XIAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178