DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to communications filed on 09/12/2024.
Claims 1-20 are rejected and pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/12/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yuan et al (US 20250106869 A1) (hereinafter “Yuan”).
Regarding claim 1, Yuan discloses a wireless communication method (see para. [0005] discloses method that support techniques for configuring communications based on unified TCI state information), wherein the method is applicable to a terminal device (see para. [0006] discloses method for wireless communications at a UE), and the method comprises:
receiving first indication information sent by a first transmission reception point (TRP) of a plurality of TRPs (see Fig.2 (TCI configuration indication 215-a) para. [0176] discloses UE may communicate with the network entity over one or more beams 205-a. The beam may be used to transmit TCI configuration indication 215-a); wherein the first indication information is used to indicate or update at least one unified transmission configuration indication (TCI) state (see para. [0176] discloses the TCI configuration indication information may select one code TCI codepoint that may include TCI states for both network entities, in accordance with unified TCI, two unified TCI states may be selected for both entities).
Regarding claim 2, Yuan method (see para. [0005] discloses method that support techniques for configuring communications based on unified TCI state information), wherein if a transmission mode of the plurality of TRPs is a transmission mode of multi-downlink control information multi-physical downlink shared channel (mDCI-mPDSCH) (see para. [0167] discloses UE may receive multiple DCI (mDCI)), the at least one unified TCI state comprises at least one of following:
a joint TCI state (see para. [0165] discloses joint TCI state),
a separate uplink TCI state (see para. [0165] discloses uplink only applicable TCI state), or
a separate downlink TCI state (see para. [0165] discloses downlink only applicable TCI state),
wherein the method further comprises:
determining a first CORESET resource pool to which a CORESET in which downlink control information (DCI) carrying the first indication information is located belongs, as a CORESET resource pool applicable to the at least one unified TCI state (see para. [0165] discloses each unified TCI state may be associated with and CORESETPool Index, in an example a CORESET Pool index may represent a TRP associated with that CORESET pool index).
Regarding claim 3, Yuan discloses a method (see para. [0005] discloses method that support techniques for configuring communications based on unified TCI state information), wherein the method further comprises:
determining a TRP of the plurality of TRPs that corresponds to the CORESET resource pool applicable to the at least one unified TCI state, as a TRP applicable to the at least one unified TCI state (see para. [0165] discloses each unified TCI state may be associated with and CORESETPool Index, in an example a CORESET Pool index may represent a TRP associated with that CORESET pool index).
Regarding claim 4, Yuan discloses a method (see para. [0005] discloses method that support techniques for configuring communications based on unified TCI state information), wherein the method further comprises:
determining that the at least one unified TCI state is a TCI state applicable to at least one of following:
a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) on a CORESET in the first CORESET resource pool (This part is optional),
a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) scheduled by DCI received on a CORESET in the first CORESET resource pool (This part is optional), or
an aperiodic channel state information reference signal (AP-CSI-RS) triggered by DCI received on a CORESET in the first CORESET resource pool (see para. [0167] discloses some implementations where the UE may associate RRC signal with an intended network identifier which selects the unified TCI state, the indicator may be configured according to CORESET. Indicator may be configured according to CSI-RS (aperiodically)).
Regarding claim 5, Yuan discloses a method according (see para. [0005] discloses method that support techniques for configuring communications based on unified TCI state information), wherein the method further comprises:
receiving second indication information sent by the first TRP; wherein the second indication information is used for activating or updating a unified TCI state for each of at least one code point (see para. [0097] discloses second DCI message scheduling a signal and indicating multiple TCI states of the selected unified TCI codepoints are associated with the signal).
Regarding claim 6, Yuan discloses a method (see para. [0005] discloses method that support techniques for configuring communications based on unified TCI state information), wherein the first indication information is used to indicate or update a first code point in the at least one code point (see para. [0006];[0097];[0108] discloses first DCI message indicating a selected unified TCI codepoint from a set).
Regarding claim 7, Yuan discloses a method (see para. [0005] discloses method that support techniques for configuring communications based on unified TCI state information), wherein the transmission mode of the plurality of TRPs is the transmission mode of multi-downlink control information multi-physical downlink shared channel (mDCI-mPDSCH) (see para [0130];[0167] discloses the case of multiple DCI (mDCI)); mDCI may include an indicator and the indicator may be configured according to physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)), and the second indication information further comprises a CORESET resource pool to which a CORESET applicable to the at least one code point belongs (see para. [0167];[0177] discloses TCI indicator may be configured according to CORESET).
Regarding claim 8, Yuan discloses a method (see para. [0005] discloses method that support techniques for configuring communications based on unified TCI state information), wherein the second indication information is used to activate or update at least one of following for each code point:
a plurality of joint TCI states (see Table 1, para. [0173]-[0175] discloses TCI indication message may indicate mapping of one or more unified TCI states to unified TCI codepoints; fourth codepoint map to first joint TCI state and second joint TCI state);
at least one joint TCI state and at least one separate uplink TCI state (see Table 1, para. [0173]-[0175] discloses TCI indication message may indicate mapping of one or more unified TCI states to unified TCI codepoints; a third codepoint may map to an uplink-only applicable TCI state and a joint TCI state);
at least one joint TCI state and at least one separate downlink TCI state (see Table 1, para. [0173]-[0175] discloses TCI indication message may indicate mapping of one or more unified TCI states to unified TCI codepoints; a second codepoint may map to a downlink-only applicable TCI state and a joint TCI state); or
at least one separate uplink TCI state and at least one separate downlink TCI state (see Table 1, para. [0173]-[0175] discloses TCI indication message may indicate mapping of one or more unified TCI states to unified TCI codepoints; a fifth codepoint may map to a first downlink-only applicable TCI state, a second downlink-only applicable TCI state, and an uplink-only applicable TCI state).
Regarding claim 9, Yuan discloses a method (see para. [0005] discloses method that support techniques for configuring communications based on unified TCI state information), wherein the second indication information indicates one of following:
whether an ith code point in the at least one code point comprises both a separate downlink (DL) TCI state and a separate uplink (UL) TCI state (see Table 1, para. [0173]-[0175] discloses TCI indication message may indicate mapping of one or more unified TCI states to unified TCI codepoints; a fifth codepoint may map to a first downlink-only applicable TCI state, a second downlink-only applicable TCI state, and an uplink-only applicable TCI state);
the ith code point comprises or does not comprise a 2nd joint TCI state (see Table 1, TCI codepoints comprise or do not comprise a 2nd joint TCI state);
the ith code point comprises or does not comprise a 2nd pair of separate TCI states (see Table 1, TCI codepoints comprise or do not comprise a 2nd pair of separate TCI states); or
the ith code point comprises or does not comprise an (X+1)th separate TCI state, wherein X is an integer greater than 0 (see Table 1, TCI codepoints comprise or do not comprise an (X+1)th separate TCI state).
Regarding claim 10, Yuan discloses a wireless communication method (see para. [0005] discloses method that support techniques for configuring communications based on unified TCI state information), wherein the method is applicable to a first transmission reception point (TRP) of a plurality of TRPs (see para. [0013];[0016];0018];[0020] discloses method associated with network entities), and the method comprises:
sending first indication information to a terminal device; wherein the first indication information is used to indicate or update at least one unified transmission configuration indication (TCI) state (see Fig.2 (TCI configuration indication 215-a) para. [0006];[0176] discloses control message indicating a configuration for a signal, the configuration indicates whether the signal is associate with one or more unified TCI states; UE may communicate with the network entity over one or more beams 205-a. The beam may be used to transmit TCI configuration indication 215-a).
Regarding claim 11, Yuan discloses a method (see para. [0005] discloses method that support techniques for configuring communications based on unified TCI state information), wherein if a transmission mode of the plurality of TRPs is a transmission mode of multi-downlink control information multi-physical downlink shared channel (mDCI-mPDSCH) (see para. [0167] discloses UE may receive multiple DCI (mDCI)), the at least one unified TCI state comprises at least one of following:
a joint TCI state (see para. [0165] discloses joint TCI state),
a separate uplink TCI state (see para. [0165] discloses uplink only applicable TCI state), or
a separate downlink TCI state (see para. [0165] discloses downlink only applicable TCI state),
wherein the method further comprises:
determining a first CORESET resource pool to which a CORESET in which downlink control information (DCI) carrying the first indication information is located belongs, as a CORESET resource pool applicable to the at least one unified TCI state (see para. [0165] discloses each unified TCI state may be associated with and CORESETPool Index, in an example a CORESET Pool index may represent a TRP associated with that CORESET pool index).
Regarding claim 12, Yuan discloses a method (see para. [0005] discloses method that support techniques for configuring communications based on unified TCI state information), wherein the method further comprises:
determining a TRP of the plurality of TRPs that corresponds to the CORESET resource pool applicable to the at least one unified TCI state, as a TRP applicable to the at least one unified TCI state (see para. [0165] discloses each unified TCI state may be associated with and CORESETPool Index, in an example a CORESET Pool index may represent a TRP associated with that CORESET pool index).
Regarding claim 13, Yuan discloses a method (see para. [0005] discloses method that support techniques for configuring communications based on unified TCI state information), wherein the method further comprises:
determining that the at least one unified TCI state is a TCI state applicable to at least one of following:
a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) on a CORESET in the first CORESET resource pool (This part is optional),
a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) scheduled by DCI received on a CORESET in the first CORESET resource pool (This part is optional), or
an aperiodic channel state information reference signal (AP-CSI-RS) triggered by DCI received on a CORESET in the first CORESET resource pool (see para. [0167] discloses some implementations where the UE may associate RRC signal with an intended network identifier which selects the unified TCI state, the indicator may be configured according to CORESET. Indicator may be configured according to CSI-RS (aperiodically))..
Regarding claim 14, Yuan discloses a method (see para. [0005] discloses method that support techniques for configuring communications based on unified TCI state information), wherein the method further comprises:
sending second indication information to the terminal device; wherein the second indication information is used for activating or updating a unified TCI state for each of at least one code point (see para. [0097] discloses second DCI message scheduling a signal and indicating multiple TCI states of the selected unified TCI codepoints are associated with the signal).
Regarding claim 15, Yuan discloses a method (see para. [0005] discloses method that support techniques for configuring communications based on unified TCI state information), wherein the first indication information is used to indicate or update a first code point in the at least one code point (see para. [0006];[0097];[0108] discloses first DCI message indicating a selected unified TCI codepoint from a set).
Regarding claim 16, Yuan discloses a method (see para. [0005] discloses method that support techniques for configuring communications based on unified TCI state information), wherein the transmission mode of the plurality of TRPs is the transmission mode of multi-downlink control information multi-physical downlink shared channel (mDCI-mPDSCH) (see para [0130];[0167] discloses the case of multiple DCI (mDCI)); mDCI may include an indicator and the indicator may be configured according to physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)), and
the second indication information further comprises a CORESET resource pool to which a CORESET applicable to the at least one code point belongs (see para. [0167];[0177] discloses TCI indicator may be configured according to CORESET).
Regarding claim 17, Yuan discloses a method (see para. [0005] discloses method that support techniques for configuring communications based on unified TCI state information), wherein the second indication information is used to activate or update at least one of following for each code point:
a plurality of joint TCI states (see Table 1, para. [0173]-[0175] discloses TCI indication message may indicate mapping of one or more unified TCI states to unified TCI codepoints; fourth codepoint map to first joint TCI state and second joint TCI state);
at least one joint TCI state and at least one separate uplink TCI state (see Table 1, para. [0173]-[0175] discloses TCI indication message may indicate mapping of one or more unified TCI states to unified TCI codepoints; a third codepoint may map to an uplink-only applicable TCI state and a joint TCI state);
at least one joint TCI state and at least one separate downlink TCI state (see Table 1, para. [0173]-[0175] discloses TCI indication message may indicate mapping of one or more unified TCI states to unified TCI codepoints; a second codepoint may map to a downlink-only applicable TCI state and a joint TCI state); or
at least one separate uplink TCI state and at least one separate downlink TCI state (see Table 1, para. [0173]-[0175] discloses TCI indication message may indicate mapping of one or more unified TCI states to unified TCI codepoints; a fifth codepoint may map to a first downlink-only applicable TCI state, a second downlink-only applicable TCI state, and an uplink-only applicable TCI state).
Regarding claim 18, Yuan discloses a method (see para. [0005] discloses method that support techniques for configuring communications based on unified TCI state information), wherein the second indication information indicates one of following:
whether an ith code point in the at least one code point comprises both a separate downlink (DL) TCI state and a separate uplink (UL) TCI state (see Table 1, para. [0173]-[0175] discloses TCI indication message may indicate mapping of one or more unified TCI states to unified TCI codepoints; a fifth codepoint may map to a first downlink-only applicable TCI state, a second downlink-only applicable TCI state, and an uplink-only applicable TCI state);
the ith code point comprises or does not comprise a 2nd joint TCI state (see Table 1, TCI codepoints comprise or do not comprise a 2nd joint TCI state);
the ith code point comprises or does not comprise a 2nd pair of separate TCI states (see Table 1, TCI codepoints comprise or do not comprise a 2nd pair of separate TCI states); or
the ith code point comprises or does not comprise an (X+1)th separate TCI state, wherein X is an integer greater than 0 (see Table 1, TCI codepoints comprise or do not comprise an (X+1)th separate TCI state).
Regarding claim 19, Yuan discloses a terminal device, comprising:
a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program (see Fig. 9, para. [0007];[0061];[0087];[0298]-[0303] discloses a wireless communication apparatus at a UE include processor, memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory, that may be execute by the processor), and the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory to cause the terminal device (see Fig. 9, para. [0007];[0061];[0087];[0298]-[0303] discloses a wireless communication apparatus at a UE include processor, memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory, that may be execute by the processor) to perform:
receiving first indication information sent by a first transmission reception point (TRP) of a plurality of TRPs (see Fig.2 (TCI configuration indication 215-a) para. [0176] discloses UE may communicate with the network entity over one or more beams 205-a. The beam may be used to transmit TCI configuration indication 215-a); wherein the first indication information is used to indicate or update at least one unified transmission configuration indication (TCI) state (see para. [0176] discloses the TCI configuration indication information may select one code TCI codepoint that may include TCI states for both network entities, in accordance with unified TCI, two unified TCI states may be selected for both entities).
Regarding claim 20, Yuan discloses a network device (see Fig. 10, para. [0034]-[0036];[0143]; discloses apparatus at network entity, including processor, memory coupled with processor and instructions stored in the memory, that may be executable by the processor), comprising:
a processor and a memory (see Fig. 10, para. [0034]-[0036];[0143]; discloses apparatus at network entity, including processor, memory coupled with processor and instructions stored in the memory, that may be executable by the processor), wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory to cause the network device to perform the method according to claim 10 (see Fig.2 (TCI configuration indication 215-a) para. [0006];[0176] discloses control message indicating a configuration for a signal, the configuration indicates whether the signal is associate with one or more unified TCI states; UE may communicate with the network entity over one or more beams 205-a. The beam may be used to transmit TCI configuration indication 215-a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
KHOSHNEVISAN et al (US 20230254815 A1) discloses mDCI based multi TRP with unified TCI.
/LUIS GUILLERMO LEMA LEMOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/PAO SINKANTARAKORN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409