Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 9-12, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhu et al. (US App. 20250147550).
In regard to claim 1, Zhu teaches a control method (see at least Abstract) comprising: obtaining a configuration parameter in response to a control instruction (see abstract, motion parameter from preset gesture); and controlling a driver (see Para. 91) to be in a working state corresponding to the control instruction based on the configuration parameter, the driver being configured to drive a display screen to switch between a first state and a second state based on the configuration parameter being in the working state corresponding to the control instruction (see Para. 84, 89-92 motion parameter can include rolled or unrolled state and speed as well as direction for controlling rolling for user experience); the display screen being in the first state corresponds to a first part of the display screen, and the display screen being in the second state corresponds to a second part of the display screen, the second part including the first part, wherein the speed represented by the configuration parameter is different (see Fig. 6, rolling and unrolling screen keeps the first display screen while showing or hiding the second display screen), and a time for the display screen to switch between the first state and the second state is different (see Para. 94 pressing harder changes rolling/unrolling speed to be faster).
Regarding claim 2, Zhu teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Zhu further teaches obtaining a plurality of configuration parameters, each of the plurality of configuration parameters representing different speeds (see Para. 94 pressing harder changes rolling/unrolling speed to be faster); and controlling the driver to be in the working state corresponding to the control instruction based on the configuration parameter includes: controlling the driver to be in the working state corresponding to the control instruction based on the plurality of configuration parameters, the driver being configured to drive the display screen to switch between the first state and the second state based on the plurality of configuration parameters being in the working state corresponding to the control instruction (see Para. 84, 89-92 motion parameter can include rolled or unrolled state and speed as well as direction for controlling rolling for user experience).
Regarding claim 3, Zhu teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Zhu further teaches wherein obtaining the configuration parameter in response to the control instruction includes: obtaining, by a target sensing device (Para. 53), a target parameter in response to the control instruction (Para. 107); and determining the configuration parameter corresponding to the target parameter based on the target parameter; or, obtaining, by the target sensing device, a first target parameter in response to the control instruction (Para. 107); determining a first configuration parameter corresponding to the first target parameter based on the first target parameter satisfying a first range; and obtaining, by the target sensing device, a second target parameter that satisfies a second range (Para. 107-109), and determining a second configuration parameter corresponding to the second target parameter, the second configuration parameter being used to replace the first configuration parameter (see Para. 53, 94, and 107 detecting pressure of touch and pressing harder changes rolling/unrolling speed to be faster).
Regarding claim 6, Zhu teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Zhu further teaches wherein obtaining the configuration parameter in response to the control instruction includes: obtaining at least one configuration parameter included in the control instruction in response to the control instruction (see Para. 53, 94, and 107 detecting pressure of touch and pressing harder changes rolling/unrolling speed to be faster).
In regard to claim 9, Zhu teaches an electronic device (See Abstract and Fig. 1) comprising: a deformable display screen, a first state of the deformable display screen corresponding to a first part of the deformable display screen, a second state of the deformable display screen corresponding to a second part of the deformable display screen, the second part including the first part (see Abstract and Figs. 3A-3B rollable display); a driver, the driver being configured to drive the deformable display screen to switch between the first state and the second state (see Para. 91); and a controller, the controller (See Fig. 1) being configured to: respond to a control instruction, the control instruction including a configuration parameter indicating speed (see Para. 84, 89-92 motion parameter can include rolled or unrolled state and speed as well as direction for controlling rolling for user experience); and control the driver based on the configuration parameter for the driver to be in a working state based on the configuration parameter, wherein: the driver is in the working state based on different configuration parameters, and the deformable display screen is configurated to switch between the first state and the second state at different speeds (see Para. 94 pressing harder changes rolling/unrolling speed to be faster).
Regarding claim 10, Zhu teaches all the limitations of claim 9. Zhu further teaches further comprising: a body, the first state of the deformable display screen corresponding to the first part of the deformable display screen being located within a first surface of the body, the second state of the deformable display screen corresponding to the second part of the deformable display screen being located on the first surface of the body and beyond the first surface (see Figs. 3A-3B), the driver being configured to drive the deformable display screen to move relative to the body and switch between the first state and the configuration parameter (see Para. 84, 89-92 motion parameter can include rolled or unrolled state and speed as well as direction for controlling rolling for user experience); or, a first body; and a second body, the deformable display screen being in the first state when the first body and the second body are in a first relative position, the deformable display screen being in the second state when the first body and the second body are in a second relative position, the driver being configured to drive the first body and the second body to switch between the first relative position and the second relative position to cause the deformable display screen to switch between the first state and the second state.
Regarding claim 11, Zhu teaches all the limitations of claim 9. Zhu further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to: respond to the control instruction, the control instruction a plurality of configuration parameters, each of the plurality of configuration parameters representing different speeds (see Para. 53, 94, and 107 detecting pressure of touch and pressing harder changes rolling/unrolling speed to be faster); and control the driver to be in the working state corresponding to the control instruction based on the plurality of configuration parameters, the driver being configured to drive the display screen to switch between the first state and the second state based on the plurality of configuration parameters being in the working state corresponding to the control instruction (see Para. 53, 94, and 107 detecting pressure of touch and pressing harder changes rolling/unrolling speed to be faster).
Regarding claim 12, Zhu teaches all the limitations of claim 9. Zhu further teaches
wherein the controller is further configured to: obtain a target parameter through a target sensing device in response to the control instruction (Para. 53 and 107); and determine the configuration parameter corresponding to the target parameter based on the target parameter (Para. 107-109); or, obtain a first target parameter through the target sensing device in response to the control instruction; determine a first configuration parameter corresponding to the first target parameter based on the first target parameter satisfying a first range; and obtain a second target parameter that satisfies a second range through the target sensing device, and determine a second configuration parameter corresponding to the second target parameter, the second configuration parameter being used to replace the first configuration parameter.
Regarding claim 15, Zhu teaches all the limitations of claim 9. Zhu further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to: obtain at least one configuration parameter included in the control instruction in response to the control instruction (see Para. 53, 94, and 107 detecting pressure of touch and pressing harder changes rolling/unrolling speed to be faster).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US App. 20250147550) in view of Flint et al. (US App. 20160259412).
Regarding claim 8, Zhu teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Zhu is not relied upon to teach further comprising: determining the configuration parameter based on a number of target input operations obtained through an input device per unit time before the control instruction is generated, wherein: the greater the number of target input operations, the greater the speed represented by the configuration parameter. However, Flint teaches further comprising: determining the configuration parameter based on a number of target input operations obtained through an input device per unit time before the control instruction is generated, wherein: the greater the number of target input operations, the greater the speed represented by the configuration parameter (See Abstract and Para. 233 tap multiple times to increase speed).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the speed input of Zhu with the successive taps of Flint for intuitive input by the user (See Para. 4). Examiner also notes Zhu discloses the base product/process of changing speed via user input while Flint teaches the known technique of successive tap inputs to increase speed so as to yield predictable results of tapping to increase speed in the device of Zhu.
Regarding claim 17, Zhu teaches all the limitations of claim 9. Zhu is not relied upon to teach wherein: the configuration parameter is determined based on a number of target input operations obtained through an input device per unit time before the control instruction is generated, the greater the number of target input operations, the greater the speed represented by the configuration parameter.
However, Flint teaches wherein: the configuration parameter is determined based on a number of target input operations obtained through an input device per unit time before the control instruction is generated, the greater the number of target input operations, the greater the speed represented by the configuration parameter (See Abstract and Para. 233 tap multiple times to increase speed).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the speed input of Zhu with the successive taps of Flint for intuitive input by the user (See Para. 4). Examiner also notes Zhu discloses the base product/process of changing speed via user input while Flint teaches the known technique of successive tap inputs to increase speed so as to yield predictable results of tapping to increase speed in the device of Zhu.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 7, 13, 14, 16, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure includes: Pailla et al. (US Pat. 11966260); Li et al. (US App. 20230076158); and Prabhu et al. (US App. 20240302883).
/MATTHEW YEUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625