DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 11, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 should apparently recite “in response to the input”. Similarly for claims 11 and 19.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites “under different operation modes”. However, a “first operation mode” and a “second operation mode” have been previously introduced. It is unclear whether the “different operation mode” refers to the first or second operation mode. This antecedent basis ambiguity renders the scope of the claim indefinite. Similarly for claim 16.
Prior Art
Listed herein below are the prior art references relied upon in this Office Action:
Kim et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0095833), referred to as Kim herein.
Wang (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0020012), referred to as Wang herein.
Garside et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2009/0273565), referred to as Garside herein.
Sirpal et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2012/0084701), referred to as Sirpal herein.
Examiner’s Note
Strikethrough notation in the pending claims has been added by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 9-10, 12, 17-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim.
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a display method, comprising: displaying a content output window in an output area of an electronic device (Kim, Fig. 1A with ¶0036-¶0037 - electronic device displaying a content area which can receive output from an input device);
in response to a content input trigger operation, displaying an input window with a first presentation attribute value in the output area (Kim, ¶0008, Figs. 1A-1B with ¶0037 - keyboard is shown with transparency in a second layer above the input area. Keyboard appears in response to selection of the first input area. In this case, the content input area is the keyboard content output area),
wherein when the input window with the first presentation attribute value is displayed, the content output window has a second presentation attribute value (Kim, ¶0009, ¶0084 - input window layer has a lower transparency than the output window. Fig. 14 with ¶0086 - keyboard transparency is adjusted when overlapping the content input area); and
in response to an input operation on the input window, displaying a corresponding input content in the content output window (Figs. 1A-1B with ¶0037, ¶0075-¶0077, ¶0086 - selecting a key in the keyboard results in display of the text (corresponding to the key) being displayed in the input area (keyboard content output window)).
Regarding claim 2, Kim the elements of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein displaying the input window with the first presentation attribute value in the output area in response to the content input trigger operation comprises: in response to the content input trigger operation, displaying the input window with a specifically adjusted first presentation attribute value in the output area; or in response to the content input trigger operation, adjusting a presentation attribute value of the content output window to be the second presentation attribute value, and displaying the input window with the first presentation attribute value in the output area; wherein the content output window and the input window are displayed in different parts of the output area, or the content output window and the input window are simultaneously displayed in different display layers of the output area (Kim, ¶0008, Figs.1A-1B with ¶0037 - keyboard is shown with transparency in a second layer above the input area).
Regarding claim 4, Kim the elements of claim 2 above, and further discloses wherein displaying the input window with the specifically adjusted first presentation attribute value in the output area in response to the content input trigger operation comprises: in response to the content input trigger operation, obtaining the first presentation attribute value pre-adjusted for the input window; displaying the input window with the pre-adjusted first presentation attribute value in the output area; and adjusting a content output mode of the content output window to output the input content displayed in the content output window according to the adjusted content output mode (Kim, ¶0008, Figs.1A-1B with ¶0037 - keyboard is shown with transparency in a second layer above the input area. Keyboard appears in response to selection of the first input area. ¶0084 - input window layer has a lower transparency than the second layer. Fig. 14 with ¶0086 - keyboard transparency is adjusted when overlapping the content input area. 1A-1B with ¶0037, ¶0075-¶0077, ¶0086 - selecting a key in the keyboard results in display of the text (corresponding to the key) being displayed in the input area. Fig. 10A-10C, 11 with ¶0077, ¶0082-¶0084 - multiple input display windows (output areas) in response to overlap. Text is displayed in each at the same time).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses a display apparatus, comprising a memory storing a computer program and a processor configured to execute the computer program to: display a content output window in an output area of an electronic device (Kim, Fig. 1A with ¶0036-¶0038, ¶0052 - electronic device displaying a content area which can receive output from an input device. Processor executing instructions stored in memory displaying a GUI on a hardware display);
in response to a content input trigger operation, display an input window with a first presentation attribute value in the output area (Kim, ¶0008, Figs.1A-1B with ¶0037 - keyboard is shown with transparency in a second layer above the input area. Keyboard appears in response to selection of the first input area. In this case, the content input area is the keyboard content output area),
wherein when the input window with the first presentation attribute value is displayed, the content output window has a second presentation attribute value (Kim, ¶0084 - input window layer has a lower transparency than the second layer. Fig. 14 with ¶0086 - keybaord transparency is adjusted when overlapping the content input area); and
in response to an input operation on the input window, display a corresponding input content in the content output window (Figs. 1A-1B with ¶0037, ¶0075-¶0077, ¶0086 - selecting a key in the keyboard results in display of the text (corresponding to the key) being displayed in the input area (keyboard content output window)).
Regarding claim 10, Kim the elements of claim 9 above, and further discloses wherein when displaying the input window with the first presentation attribute value in the output area in response to the content input trigger operation, the processor is further configured to: in response to the content input trigger operation, display the input window with a specifically adjusted first presentation attribute value in the output area; or in response to the content input trigger operation, adjust a presentation attribute value of the content output window to be the second presentation attribute value, and display the input window with the first presentation attribute value in the output area; wherein the content output window and the input window are displayed in different parts of the output area, or the content output window and the input window are simultaneously displayed in different display layers of the output area (Kim, ¶0008, Figs.1A-1B with ¶0037 - keyboard is shown with transparency in a second layer above the input area).
Regarding claim 12, Kim the elements of claim 10 above, and further discloses wherein when displaying the input window with the specifically adjusted first presentation attribute value in the output area in response to the content input trigger operation, the processor is further configured to: in response to the content input trigger operation, obtain the first presentation attribute value pre-adjusted for the input window; display the input window with the pre-adjusted first presentation attribute value in the output area; and adjust a content output mode of the content output window to output the input content displayed in the content output window according to the adjusted content output mode (Kim, ¶0008, Figs.1A-1B with ¶0037 - keyboard is shown with transparency in a second layer above the input area. Keyboard appears in response to selection of the first input area. ¶0084 - input window layer has a lower transparency than the second layer. Fig. 14 with ¶0086 - keyboard transparency is adjusted when overlapping the content input area. 1A-1B with ¶0037, ¶0075-¶0077, ¶0086 - selecting a key in the keyboard results in display of the text (corresponding to the key) being displayed in the input area. Fig. 10A-10C, 11 with ¶0077, ¶0082-¶0084 - multiple input display windows (output areas) in response to overlap. Text is displayed in each at the same time).
Regarding claim 17, Kim discloses an electronic device, comprising a body and a display apparatus, wherein the display apparatus includes a memory storing a computer program and a processor configured to execute the computer program to: display a content output window in an output area of an electronic device (Kim, Fig. 1A with ¶0036-¶0038, ¶0052 - electronic device displaying a content area which can receive output from an input device. Processor executing instructions stored in memory displaying a GUI on a hardware display);
in response to a content input trigger operation, display an input window with a first presentation attribute value in the output area (Kim, ¶0008, Figs.1A-1B with ¶0037 - keyboard is shown with transparency in a second layer above the input area. Keyboard appears in response to selection of the first input area. In this case, the content input area is the keyboard content output area),
wherein when the input window with the first presentation attribute value is displayed, the content output window has a second presentation attribute value (Kim, ¶0084 - input window layer has a lower transparency than the second layer. Fig. 14 with ¶0086 - keybaord transparency is adjusted when overlapping the content input area); and
in response to an input operation on the input window, display a corresponding input content in the content output window (Figs. 1A-1B with ¶0037, ¶0075-¶0077, ¶0086 - selecting a key in the keyboard results in display of the text (corresponding to the key) being displayed in the input area (keyboard content output window)).
Regarding claim 18, Kim the elements of claim 17 above, and further discloses wherein when displaying the input window with the first presentation attribute value in the output area in response to the content input trigger operation, the processor is further configured to: in response to the content input trigger operation, display the input window with a specifically adjusted first presentation attribute value in the output area; or in response to the content input trigger operation, adjust a presentation attribute value of the content output window to be the second presentation attribute value, and display the input window with the first presentation attribute value in the output area; wherein the content output window and the input window are displayed in different parts of the output area, or the content output window and the input window are simultaneously displayed in different display layers of the output area (Kim, ¶0008, Figs.1A-1B with ¶0037 - keyboard is shown with transparency in a second layer above the input area).
Regarding claim 20, Kim the elements of claim 18 above, and further discloses wherein when displaying the input window with the specifically adjusted first presentation attribute value in the output area in response to the content input trigger operation, the processor is further configured to: in response to the content input trigger operation, obtain the first presentation attribute value pre-adjusted for the input window; display the input window with the pre-adjusted first presentation attribute value in the output area; and adjust a content output mode of the content output window to output the input content displayed in the content output window according to the adjusted content output mode (Kim, ¶0008, Figs.1A-1B with ¶0037 - keyboard is shown with transparency in a second layer above the input area. Keyboard appears in response to selection of the first input area. ¶0084 - input window layer has a lower transparency than the second layer. Fig. 14 with ¶0086 - keyboard transparency is adjusted when overlapping the content input area. 1A-1B with ¶0037, ¶0075-¶0077, ¶0086 - selecting a key in the keyboard results in display of the text (corresponding to the key) being displayed in the input area. Fig. 10A-10C, 11 with ¶0077, ¶0082-¶0084 - multiple input display windows (output areas) in response to overlap. Text is displayed in each at the same time).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 7, 11, 15, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Wang.
Regarding claim 3, Kim the elements of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein displaying the corresponding input content in the content output window in response to the input operation on the input window comprises:
However, Kim appears not to expressly disclose the limitations shown in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang discloses a transparent virtual keyboard (Wang, Abstract), including
wherein displaying the corresponding input content in the content output window in response to the input operation on the input window comprises: in response to then input operation on the input window, adjusting a display transparency of at least one of the display layers of the output area, such that a first display transparency of a first display layer is different from a second display transparency of a second display layer; and displaying the input window in the first display layer of the output area, and controlling the content output window to be displayed in the second display layer of the output area, such that the input window has the first display transparency, and the content output window has the second display transparency (Wang, Fig. 4 with ¶0036-¶0037, ¶0048 - adjusting the keyboard transparency in response to key presses and silence periods).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the transparency of Kim to reduce or increase transparency in response to user input timing based on the teachings of Wang. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce power consumption and enable users to better view the screen content when not actively typing (Wang, ¶0007-¶0008).
Regarding claim 7, Kim the elements of claim 1 above. However, Kim appears not to expressly disclose in response to a presentation attribute adjustment operation on the input window, adjusting the presentation attribute value of the input window to a fourth presentation attribute value; and/or in response to a presentation attribute adjustment operation on the content output window, adjusting the presentation attribute value of the content output window to a fifth presentation attribute value.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang discloses a transparent virtual keyboard (Wang, Abstract), including
in response to a presentation attribute adjustment operation on the input window, adjusting the presentation attribute value of the input window to a fourth presentation attribute value; and/or in response to a presentation attribute adjustment operation on the content output window, adjusting the presentation attribute value of the content output window to a fifth presentation attribute value (Wang, Fig. 4 with ¶0036-¶0037, ¶0048 - adjusting the keyboard transparency in response to key presses and silence periods).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the transparency of Kim to reduce or increase transparency in response to user input timing based on the teachings of Wang. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce power consumption and enable users to better view the screen content when not actively typing (Wang, ¶0007-¶0008).
Regarding claim 11, Kim the elements of claim 9 above, and further discloses wherein when displaying the corresponding input content in the content output window
However, Kim appears not to expressly disclose the limitations shown in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang discloses a transparent virtual keyboard (Wang, Abstract), including
wherein displaying the corresponding input content in the content output window in response to the input operation on the input window comprises: in response to then input operation on the input window, adjusting a display transparency of at least one of the display layers of the output area, such that a first display transparency of a first display layer is different from a second display transparency of a second display layer; and displaying the input window in the first display layer of the output area, and controlling the content output window to be displayed in the second display layer of the output area, such that the input window has the first display transparency, and the content output window has the second display transparency (Wang, Fig. 4 with ¶0036-¶0037, ¶0048 - adjusting the keyboard transparency in response to key presses and silence periods).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the transparency of Kim to reduce or increase transparency in response to user input timing based on the teachings of Wang. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce power consumption and enable users to better view the screen content when not actively typing (Wang, ¶0007-¶0008).
Regarding claim 15, Kim the elements of claim 9 above. However, Kim appears not to expressly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to: in response to a presentation attribute adjustment operation on the input window, adjust the presentation attribute value of the input window to a fourth presentation attribute value; and/or in response to a presentation attribute adjustment operation on the content output window, adjust the presentation attribute value of the content output window to a fifth presentation attribute value.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang discloses a transparent virtual keyboard (Wang, Abstract), including
in response to a presentation attribute adjustment operation on the input window, adjusting the presentation attribute value of the input window to a fourth presentation attribute value; and/or in response to a presentation attribute adjustment operation on the content output window, adjusting the presentation attribute value of the content output window to a fifth presentation attribute value (Wang, Fig. 4 with ¶0036-¶0037, ¶0048 - adjusting the keyboard transparency in response to key presses and silence periods).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the transparency of Kim to reduce or increase transparency in response to user input timing based on the teachings of Wang. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce power consumption and enable users to better view the screen content when not actively typing (Wang, ¶0007-¶0008).
Regarding claim 19, Kim the elements of claim 17 above, and further discloses wherein when displaying the corresponding input content in the content output window in response to the input operation on the input window, the processor is further configured to:
However, Kim appears not to expressly disclose the limitations shown in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang discloses a transparent virtual keyboard (Wang, Abstract), including
wherein displaying the corresponding input content in the content output window in response to the input operation on the input window comprises: in response to then input operation on the input window, adjusting a display transparency of at least one of the display layers of the output area, such that a first display transparency of a first display layer is different from a second display transparency of a second display layer; and displaying the input window in the first display layer of the output area, and controlling the content output window to be displayed in the second display layer of the output area, such that the input window has the first display transparency, and the content output window has the second display transparency (Wang, Fig. 4 with ¶0036-¶0037, ¶0048 - adjusting the keyboard transparency in response to key presses and silence periods).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the transparency of Kim to reduce or increase transparency in response to user input timing based on the teachings of Wang. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce power consumption and enable users to better view the screen content when not actively typing (Wang, ¶0007-¶0008).
Claim(s) 5-6, and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Garside.
Regarding claim 5, Kim the elements of claim 1 above. However, Kim appears not to expressly disclose in response to a state switching operation on the input window, controlling the input window to switch from a current display state to a hidden state, wherein in the hidden state of the input window, a response to an editing operation of the input window is prohibited, and the content output window has a third presentation attribute value.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Garside discloses a software keyboard (Garside, Abstract with ¶0050), including
in response to a state switching operation on the input window, controlling the input window to switch from a current display state to a hidden state, wherein in the hidden state of the input window, a response to an editing operation of the input window is prohibited, and the content output window has a third presentation attribute value (Garside, Figs. 5D-5F with ¶0062-¶0064 - closing the software keyboard results in removing the keyboard and restoring the content view to the view prior to the keyboard being displayed. ¶0061, ¶0065 - the keyboard is available for data input when fully deployed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the keyboard of Kim to provide a close icon that removes the keyboard and restores the view of the content based on the teachings of Garside. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable the user to save screen real estate when the user has finished inputting data (Garside, ¶0062).
Regarding claim 6, Kim as modified discloses the elements of claim 5 above, and further discloses wherein controlling the input window to switch from the current display state to the hidden state in response to the state switching operation on the input window comprises: in response to an exit trigger operation on the input window, controlling the output area not to display the input window (Garside, Figs. 5D-5F with ¶0062 - closing the software keyboard results in removing the keyboard and restoring the content view to the view prior to the keyboard being displayed);
in response to a trigger operation of inquiring the input content displayed in the content output window, controlling the output area not to display the input window (Garside, ¶0035-¶0036, ¶0047, ¶0055 - user can select and highlight items when in the pre-activation state); and
when a first display transparency of a first display layer where the input window is located is smaller than a second display transparency of a second display layer where the content output window is located, and the first display layer is located above the second display layer, in response to a layer adjustment operation on an input window panel, controlling the input window to be displayed in the second display layer, and the content output window to be displayed in the first display layer (Kim, Fig. 10C with ¶0082-¶0084 - output layer is shown at a greater transparency than the keyboard input window. The output layer is adjusted based on overlap location and typing input. Abstract, ¶0014-¶0015 - the third layer is over the second layer).
Regarding claim 13, Kim the elements of claim 9 above. However, Kim appears not to expressly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to: in response to a state switching operation on the input window, control the input window to switch from a current display state to a hidden state, wherein in the hidden state of the input window, a response to an editing operation of the input window is prohibited, and the content output window has a third presentation attribute value.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Garside discloses a software keyboard (Garside, Abstract with ¶0050), including
in response to a state switching operation on the input window, controlling the input window to switch from a current display state to a hidden state, wherein in the hidden state of the input window, a response to an editing operation of the input window is prohibited, and the content output window has a third presentation attribute value (Garside, Figs. 5D-5F with ¶0062 - closing the software keyboard results in removing the keyboard and restoring the content view to the view prior to the keyboard being displayed. ¶0061, ¶0065 - the keyboard is available for data input when fully deployed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the keyboard of Kim to provide a close icon that removes the keyboard and restores the view of the content based on the teachings of Garside. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable the user to save screen real estate when the user has finished inputting data (Garside, ¶0062).
Regarding claim 14, Kim as modified discloses the elements of claim 13 above, and further discloses wherein when controlling the input window to switch from the current display state to the hidden state in response to the state switching operation on the input window, the processor is further configured to: in response to an exit trigger operation on the input window, control the output area not to display the input window; in response to a trigger operation of inquiring the input content displayed in the content output window, control the output area not to display the input window; and when a first display transparency of a first display layer where the input window is located is smaller than a second display transparency of a second display layer where the content output window is located, and the first display layer is located above the second display layer, in response to a layer adjustment operation on an input window panel, control the input window to be displayed in the second display layer, and the content output window to be displayed in the first display layer (Garside, Figs. 5D-5F with ¶0062 - closing the software keyboard results in removing the keyboard and restoring the content view to the view prior to the keyboard being displayed);
in response to a trigger operation of inquiring the input content displayed in the content output window, controlling the output area not to display the input window (Garside, ¶0035-¶0036, ¶0047, ¶0055 - user can select and highlight items when in the pre-activation state); and
when a first display transparency of a first display layer where the input window is located is smaller than a second display transparency of a second display layer where the content output window is located, and the first display layer is located above the second display layer, in response to a layer adjustment operation on an input window panel, controlling the input window to be displayed in the second display layer, and the content output window to be displayed in the first display layer (Kim, Fig. 10C with ¶0082-¶0084 - output layer is shown at a greater transparency than the keyboard input window. The output layer is adjusted based on overlap location and typing input. Abstract, ¶0014-¶0015 - the third layer is over the second layer).
Claim(s) 8, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Sirpal.
Regarding claim 8, Kim the elements of claim 1 above. However, Kim appears not to expressly disclose obtaining status information of the electronic device; and determining an operation mode of the electronic device according to the status information; wherein: the operation mode includes a first operation mode and a second operation mode; in the first operation mode, a first screen of the electronic device enters an operational state; in the second operation mode, a second screen of the electronic device enters an operational state, and the output area of the first screen is smaller than the output area of the second screen; under different operation modes, the output area in the operational state of the electronic device is different; and displaying the content output window in the output area of the electronic device includes: in response to the electronic device being in the first operation mode, displaying the content output window in the output area of the first screen of the electronic device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Sirpal discloses a virtual keyboard (Spiral Abstract), including
obtaining status information of the electronic device; and determining an operation mode of the electronic device according to the status information; wherein: the operation mode includes a first operation mode and a second operation mode; in the first operation mode, a first screen of the electronic device enters an operational state; in the second operation mode, a second screen of the electronic device enters an operational state, and the output area of the first screen is smaller than the output area of the second screen; under different operation modes, the output area in the operational state of the electronic device is different; and displaying the content output window in the output area of the electronic device includes: in response to the electronic device being in the first operation mode, displaying the content output window in the output area of the first screen of the electronic device (Sirpal, Figs. 7-10 with ¶0177-¶0185 - in single screen operating mode, the virtual keyboard is presented on the single screen. In response to opening the keyboard, the keyboard size is expanded).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the virtual keyboard of Kim to adjust size in response to operating mode based on the teachings of Sirpal. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable greater utilization of foldable screen devices, enabling greater flexibility and portability (Sirpal, ¶0002-¶0005).
Regarding claim 16, Kim the elements of claim 9 above. However, Kim appears not to expressly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to: obtain status information of the electronic device; and determine an operation mode of the electronic device according to the status information; wherein: the operation mode includes a first operation mode and a second operation mode; in the first operation mode, a first screen of the electronic device enters an operational state; in the second operation mode, a second screen of the electronic device enters an operational state, and the output area of the first screen is smaller than the output area of the second screen; under different operation modes, the output area in the operational state of the electronic device is different; and displaying the content output window in the output area of the electronic device includes: in response to the electronic device being in the first operation mode, displaying the content output window in the output area of the first screen of the electronic device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Sirpal discloses a virtual keyboard (Spiral Abstract), including
obtaining status information of the electronic device; and determining an operation mode of the electronic device according to the status information; wherein: the operation mode includes a first operation mode and a second operation mode; in the first operation mode, a first screen of the electronic device enters an operational state; in the second operation mode, a second screen of the electronic device enters an operational state, and the output area of the first screen is smaller than the output area of the second screen; under different operation modes, the output area in the operational state of the electronic device is different; and displaying the content output window in the output area of the electronic device includes: in response to the electronic device being in the first operation mode, displaying the content output window in the output area of the first screen of the electronic device (Sirpal, Figs. 7-10 with ¶0177-¶0185 - in single screen operating mode, the virtual keyboard is presented on the single screen. In response to opening the keyboard, the keyboard size is expanded).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the virtual keyboard of Kim to adjust size in response to operating mode based on the teachings of Sirpal. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable greater utilization of foldable screen devices, enabling greater flexibility and portability (Sirpal, ¶0002-¶0005).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References are at least relevant as indicated in the corresponding summary.
Burrell (US Patent Application Publication 2012/0176320) – keyboard sizing adjustment.
Deng et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0039884) – floating virtual keyboard.
Hu (WO 2023/071718) – floating virtual keyboard overlapping content and content overlapping the keyboard.
Liang et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2025/0123744) – virtual keyboard size adjustment.
Sailors et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0018587) – virtual keyboard transparency adjustment.
/DANIEL W PARCHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174