DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5, 7-9, 11-17, 19-21, and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halavi et al US 20120013506 (hereinafter Halavi) in view of Karlsson et al US 6,034,634 (hereinafter Karlsson) and De Win US 20090073042.
Regarding claim 2, Halavi discloses (canceled limitations are not taught by Halavi) a method for communications at a satellite terminal (satellite common ground station 100, see fig. 1, [0023]), the method comprising:
receiving, at the satellite terminal, signals transmitted from one or more first satellites as the one or more first satellites traverse respective orbital paths across the sky relative to the satellite terminal (see fig. 1, [0023], [0027]-[0029], [0036]);
determining a mapping of an attenuation environment surrounding the satellite terminal based at least in part on mapping one or more radio frequency (RF) signal characteristics associated with the signals received from the one or more first satellites with respective positions of the one or more first satellites along their respective orbital paths when transmitting the signals (learning step, where the controller 120 creates a map of the satellites’ inclination path, which involves recording the reception quality of the signal received from the satellite, the state motor which corresponds to the satellites’ position on the inclination path; the controller then creates a tracking table, see [0006], [0026]-[0029]),
determining a boresight alignment for an antenna of the satellite terminal for communication (controller 120 finds the correct motor state value corresponding to the calculated satellite position, and commands the motor 150 to move the antenna to the calculated position, see [0033], [0044])
Halavi does not specifically disclose determining a boresight alignment for an antenna of the satellite terminal for communication with one or more second satellites based at least in part on the mapping of the attenuation environment surrounding the satellite terminal, wherein the one or more second satellites are different from the one or more first satellites; and
communicating with a second satellite of the one or more second satellites via the antenna based at least in part the boresight alignment and configuring a direction of transmission or reception via an array of antenna elements of the antenna.
In a similar field of endeavor, Karlsson discloses determining a boresight alignment for an antenna of a satellite terminal (antenna system 11, see fig. 1, col. 5, lines 39-54) for communication with one or more second satellites (satellite 33, see figs. 3-4, 11-23) based at least in part on the mapping of the attenuation environment surrounding the satellite terminal (the antenna boresight is physically scanned to a positioning vector intermediate the vectors defining the positions of going satellite 31 and coming satellite 33. This is done as it is determined that the going satellite 31 is passing out of view, see figs. 1-4, col. 7, lines 11-35), wherein the one or more second satellites (satellite 33, see figs. 3 and 4) are different from the one or more first satellites (satellite 31, see figs. 3 and 4); and
communicating with a second satellite of the one or more second satellites via the antenna based at least in part the boresight alignment and configuring a direction of transmission or reception via an array of antenna elements of the antenna (handoff, electronic scanning, see figs. 3-4, col. 7, line 26 – col. 8, line 8).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Karlsson with Halavi with a reasonable expectation of success by directing the antenna boresight in a direction of a second satellite, as taught by Karlsson, for the benefit of minimizing an loss in data communication due to any degradation in the RF coverage by a first satellite.
The combination of Halavi and Karlsson does not specifically disclose wherein the mapping of the attenuation environment indicates one or more obstructions between the satellite terminal and the one or more first satellites across two spatial dimensions.
In the same field of endeavor, De Win discloses determining a mapping of an attenuation environment (see figs. 2-4) surrounding a satellite terminal (mobile station with GNSS receiver, see fig. 1, [0023]), the attenuation environment indicates one or more obstructions between the satellite terminal and the one or more first satellites across two spatial dimensions (see figs. 2-4), and the mapping indicates one or more obstructions between the satellite terminal and the one or more first satellites across two spatial dimensions (creation of 3-D polar map with propagation information, see fig. 1, [0026]-[0027]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of De Win with the combination Halavi and Karlsson with a reasonable expectation of success by using creating a polar map of propagation parameters of the satellite signal, which are indicative of the reception conditions at the satellite receiver, as taught by De Win, for the benefit of controlling beam steering at the satellite receiver/terminal.
Regarding claim 14, Halavi discloses (canceled limitations are not taught by Halavi) a satellite terminal for communications in a satellite communication system (satellite common ground station 100, see fig. 1, [0023]), the satellite terminal comprising:
an antenna ([0008]-[0009], [0014]-[0016]);
one or more processors (120, see fig. 1, [0031]);
one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors (inherent feature storing commands/instructions for the processor, see fig. 1, [0023]-[0024], [0031]); and
instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the one or more processors to cause the satellite terminal to:
receive, at the satellite terminal, signals transmitted from one or more first satellites as the one or more first satellites traverse respective orbital paths across the sky relative to the satellite terminal (see fig. 1, [0023], [0027]-[0029], [0036]);
determine a mapping of an attenuation environment surrounding the satellite terminal based at least in part on mapping one or more radio frequency (RF) signal characteristics associated with the signals received from the one or more first satellites with respective positions of the one or more first satellites along their respective orbital paths when transmitting the signals and on applying spatial filtering for interpolating the one or more RF signal characteristics between the respective positions (learning step, where the controller 120 creates a map of the satellites’ inclination path, which involves recording the reception quality of the signal received from the satellite, the state motor which corresponds to the satellites’ position on the inclination path; the controller then creates a tracking table, see [0006], [0026]-[0029]),
determine a boresight alignment for an antenna of the satellite terminal for communication (controller 120 finds the correct motor state value corresponding to the calculated satellite position, and commands the motor 150 to move the antenna to the calculated position, see [0033], [0044])
Halavi does not specifically disclose determining a boresight alignment for an antenna of the satellite terminal for communication with one or more second satellites based at least in part on the mapping of the attenuation environment surrounding the satellite terminal, wherein the one or more second satellites are different from the one or more first satellites; and
communicating with a second satellite of the one or more second satellites via the antenna based at least in part the boresight alignment and configuring a direction of transmission or reception via an array of antenna elements of the antenna.
In a similar field of endeavor, Karlsson discloses determining a boresight alignment for an antenna of a satellite terminal (antenna system 11, see fig. 1, col. 5, lines 39-54) for communication with one or more second satellites (satellite 33, see figs. 3-4, 11-23) based at least in part on the mapping of the attenuation environment surrounding the satellite terminal (the antenna boresight is physically scanned to a positioning vector intermediate the vectors defining the positions of going satellite 31 and coming satellite 33. This is done as it is determined that the going satellite 31 is passing out of view, see figs. 1-4, col. 7, lines 11-35), wherein the one or more second satellites (satellite 33, see figs. 3 and 4) are different from the one or more first satellites (satellite 31, see figs. 3 and 4); and
communicating with a second satellite of the one or more second satellites via the antenna based at least in part the boresight alignment and configuring a direction of transmission or reception via an array of antenna elements of the antenna (handoff, electronic scanning, see figs. 3-4, col. 7, line 26 – col. 8, line 8).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Karlsson with Halavi with a reasonable expectation of success by directing the antenna boresight in a direction of a second satellite, as taught by Karlsson, for the benefit of minimizing an loss in data communication due to any degradation in the RF coverage by a first satellite.
The combination of Halavi and Karlsson does not specifically disclose wherein the mapping of the attenuation environment indicates one or more obstructions between the satellite terminal and the one or more first satellites across two spatial dimensions.
In the same field of endeavor, De Win discloses determining a mapping of an attenuation environment (see figs. 2-4) surrounding a satellite terminal (mobile station with GNSS receiver, see fig. 1, [0023]), the attenuation environment indicates one or more obstructions between the satellite terminal and the one or more first satellites across two spatial dimensions (see figs. 2-4), and the mapping indicates one or more obstructions between the satellite terminal and the one or more first satellites across two spatial dimensions (creation of 3-D polar map with propagation information, see fig. 1, [0026]-[0027]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of De Win with the combination Halavi and Karlsson with a reasonable expectation of success by using creating a polar map of propagation parameters of the satellite signal, which are indicative of the reception conditions at the satellite receiver, as taught by De Win, for the benefit of controlling beam steering at the satellite receiver/terminal.
Regarding claims 3 and 15 as applied to claims 2 and 14, the combination of Halavi, Karlsson, and De Win disclose the claimed invention. Halavi further discloses wherein mapping the one or more RF signal characteristics associated with the signals received from the one or more first satellites with the respective positions of the one or more first satellites along their respective orbital paths when transmitting the signals comprises: associating measurements of the signals taken at the satellite terminal with location information of the one or more first satellites (learning step, where the controller 120 creates a map of the satellites’ inclination path, which involves recording the reception quality of the signal received from the satellite, the state motor which corresponds to the satellites’ position on the inclination path; the controller then creates a tracking table, see [0006], [0026]-[0029]).
Regarding claims 4 and 16 as applied to claims 2 and 14, the combination of Halavi, Karlsson, and De Win disclose the claimed invention. Halavi further discloses
wherein the location information is determined from a lookup table or an orbital calculation (learning step, where the controller 120 creates a map of the satellites’ inclination path, which involves recording the reception quality of the signal received from the satellite, the state motor which corresponds to the satellites’ position on the inclination path; the controller then creates a tracking table, see [0006], [0026]-[0029]).
Regarding claims 5 and 17 as applied to claims 2 and 14, the combination of Halavi, Karlsson, and De Win disclose the claimed invention. Karlsson further discloses wherein the second satellite is associated with a low earth orbit or a medium earth orbit (col. 7, lines 42-52).
Regarding claims 7 and 19 as applied to claims 2 and 14, the combination of Halavi, Karlsson, and De Win disclose the claimed invention. Halavi further discloses wherein the one or more RF signal characteristics associated with the signals comprises one or more of: RF signal strength, RF signal attenuation, RF signal interference, RF signal-to- noise ratio, or RF signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio, or any combination thereof (see [0027]).
Regarding claims 8 and 20 as applied to claims 2 and 14, the combination of Halavi, Karlsson, and De Win disclose the claimed invention. Halavi further discloses applying spatial filtering for interpolating the one or more RF signal characteristics between the respective positions (see figs. 2 and 3, [0029]-[0034]).
Regarding claims 9 and 21 as applied to claims 2 and 14, the combination of Halavi, Karlsson, and De Win disclose the claimed invention. Halavi further discloses wherein interpolating the one or more RF signal characteristics between the respective positions comprises: performing a linear interpolation, a polynomial interpolation, an exponential interpolation, or a combination thereof (see figs. 2 and 3, [0029]-[0034]).
Regarding claims 11 and 23 as applied to claims 2 and 14, the combination of Halavi, Karlsson, and De Win disclose the claimed invention. Halavi further discloses wherein the one or more RF signal characteristics comprises a binary characteristic (see [0027]).
Regarding claims 12 and 24 as applied to claims 2 and 14, the combination of Halavi, Karlsson, and De Win disclose the claimed invention. Karlsson further discloses wherein the satellite terminal is mobile (see col. 5, lines 39-49).
Regarding claims 13 and 25 as applied to claims 12 and 24, the combination of Halavi, Karlsson, and De Win disclose the claimed invention. Karlsson further discloses
wherein the satellite terminal is associated with a boat, aircraft, or ground-based vehicle (see col. 5, lines 39-49).
Claims 6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halavi et al US 20120013506 (hereinafter Halavi) in view of Karlsson et al US 6,034,634 (hereinafter Karlsson) and De Win US 20090073042 as applied to claims 6 and 14 above, and further in view of Bidigare et al US 20110188586 (hereinafter Bidigare).
Regarding claims 6 and 18 as applied to claims 4 and 14, Halavi as modified by Karlsson and De Win disclose receiving the signals transmitted from the one or more satellites via an antenna of the satellite terminal that is configured for unidirectional communications (see Halavi, fig. 1, [0023]). However, the combination of Halavi, Karlsson and De Win does not specifically disclose that the antenna is a second antenna of the satellite terminal. In the same field of endeavor, Bidigare discloses a satellite terminal receiving signals from one or more satellites, wherein the satellite terminal comprises first and second antennas configured for receiving communications (nodes in a second subset of ground nodes 214 are each equipped with multiple receive antennas, see figs. 1 and 2, [0029]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Bidigare with the Halavi as modified by Karlsson and De Win with a reasonable expectation of success by providing multiple receive antennas for receiving satellite signals, as disclosed by Bidigare, for the benefit of providing higher data capacity.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Norin et al US 7,663,543 discloses a system for aligning an antenna selector with satellites in a satellite configuration.
Tekawy et al US 20070046537 discloses spot beam antenna boresight calibration using GPS receivers.
/OLUMIDE AJIBADE AKONAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648