Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung et al (20120161805) hereinafter, Jung.
In regards to claim 1, Jung teaches a display device comprising (abstract):
A display device and a method of testing the display device. The display device includes a substrate including both a display region on which pixel cells are located and a peripheral region; test pads, main pins connected to the pixel cells, and dummy pins that are respectively connected to the test pads, the test pads, the main pins, and the dummy pins being on the peripheral region of the substrate, and visual test lines on the peripheral region of the substrate. The visual test lines include a first portion connected to the main pins and a second portion connected to the test pads, and the first and second portions are disconnected from each other. (abstract)
a first pad group comprising first pads spaced apart in a first direction;(Fig. 5a (158a, etc))
a second pad group spaced apart from the first pad group in a second direction crossing the first direction (fig. 5a (156 above)), and comprising second pads spaced apart in the first direction (fig. 5a (156a left to right);
inspection lines between the first pads, extending in the second direction, spaced apart in the first direction, and respectively connected to the second pads (fig. 5a lines from test pads 142, 141, etc that extend vertically between 158as to 156a); and
a dummy pad between adjacent ones of the inspection lines (fig. 5a (151, 152a, 154a, 153a).
In regards to claim 10, Jung teaches display device comprising:
a substrate comprising a display area, and a non-display area adjacent to the display area; a light-emitting element and a light-receiving element in the display area above the substrate;(fig. 1 substrate)(fig. 2 (110)(fig. 5a (114 and area outside))
a first pad group in the non-display area above the substrate, and comprising first pads spaced apart in a first direction; (Fig. 5a (158a, etc))
inspection lines between the first pads, extending in a second direction crossing the first direction, and spaced apart in the first direction; and (fig. 5a lines from test pads 142, 141, etc that extend vertically between 158as to 156a);
dummy pads respectively between adjacent ones of the inspection lines. (fig. 5a (151, 152a, 154a, 153a).
In regards to claim 2, Jung teaches display device of claim 1, wherein the dummy pad is spaced apart from the first pads in the first direction (fig. 5a (at least 152a /154a from 158s in left to right direction).
In regards to claim 3, Jung teaches display device of claim 1, wherein the inspection lines and the dummy pad are alternately arranged (fig. 5a inspection lines on left side, dummy pad in middle and alternating with inspection lines on right side).
In regards to claim 4, Jung teaches display device of claim 1, wherein a length of the first pads in the second direction is substantially equal to a length of the dummy pad in the second direction (fig. 5a (158a and 152a substantially equal).
In regards to claim 5, Jung teaches display device of claim 1, wherein the first pads and the dummy pad comprise a same material. “Thus, the main pins 156 and 158 and the dummy pins 151 to 154 may be formed of the same material.” [0056]
In regards to claim 9, Jung teaches display device of claim 1, further comprising an integrated circuit above the second pad group (Fig.1 (130)).
In regards to claim 11, Jung teaches display device of claim 10, wherein the dummy pads are spaced apart from the first pads in the first direction. (fig. 5a (at least 152a /154a from 158s in left to right direction).
In regards to claim 12, Jung teaches display device of claim 10, wherein the inspection lines and the dummy pads are alternately arranged. (fig. 5a inspection lines on left side, dummy pad in middle and alternating with inspection lines on right side).
In regards to claim 13, Jung teaches display device of claim 10, wherein a length of the first pads in the second direction is equal to a length of the dummy pads in the second direction. (fig. 5a (158a and 152a substantially equal).
In regards to claim 14, Jung teaches display device of claim 10, wherein the first pads and the dummy pads comprise a same material. [0056]
In regards to claim 16, Jung teaches display device of claim 10, further comprising a second pad group in the non-display area above the substrate, spaced apart from the first pad group in the second direction, and comprising second pads arranged in the first direction, wherein the inspection lines are respectively connected to the second pads.(fig. 5a (156as and lines from 141-144))
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Cho et al (2021/0305351) hereinafter, Cho.
In regards to claim 6, Jung fails to teach the display device of claim 1, wherein a thickness of the first pads and the dummy pad is greater than a thickness of the inspection lines.
However, Cho teaches wherein the pad are thicker than traces. (fig. 5 (51/50) vs 63/62))Cho
It would have been obvious to modify the pads of Jung to provide wherein a thickness of the first pads and the dummy pad is greater than a thickness of the inspection lines as suggested by Cho in order to provide a better connection at the pad because of the torque applied by heavier chips.
In regards to claim 15, Jung in view of Cho teaches, see rational of claim 6, the display device of claim 10, wherein a thickness of the first pads and the dummy pads is greater than a thickness of the inspection lines. (fig. 5 (51/50) vs 63/62))Cho
Claim(s) 7-8, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Lee 2014/0003022, hereinafter, Lee.
In regards to claim 7, Jung fails to teach the display device of claim 1, further comprising a printed circuit board above the first pad group and the dummy pad. Examiner notes (fig. 1 (130))
However, Lee teaches further comprising a printed circuit board above the first pad group and the dummy pad [0037-0038].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Jung to further include comprising a printed circuit board above the first pad group and the dummy pad as taught by Lee in order to electrically connect the pcb to pads and drive the display [0038-0040]
In regards to claim 8, Jung in view of Lee teaches the display device of claim 7, further comprising an anisotropic conductive film between the first pad group and the printed circuit board.[0037] Lee
In regards to claim 17, Jung in view of Lee teaches, see rational of claim 7, display device of claim 16, further comprising: a printed circuit board above the first pad group and the dummy pads; and an integrated circuit above the second pad group.(fig. 1 (130)) Jung in view of [0038-0040] Lee
In regards to claim 18, Jung in view of Lee teaches display device of claim 17, wherein the second pads are electrically connected to the light-receiving element. (fig. 5a 170 ([0057]) Jung
In regards to claim 19, Jung in view of Lee teaches display device of claim 18, further comprising a readout line above the substrate and electrically connected to the integrated circuit, wherein the second pads are electrically connected to the light-receiving element through the readout line. (fig. 5a 170 ([0057]) Jung
In regards to claim 20, Jung in view of Lee teaches display device of claim 17, further comprising an anisotropic conductive film between the first pad group and the printed circuit board. .(fig. 1 (130)) Jung in view of [0037-0040] Lee
Conclusion
/GRANT SITTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622