DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the motor" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US PG PUB 2012/0187661).
[CLAIM 1] Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a braking (control) system for a wheeled device, the braking system comprising: an electric generator (Exemplary generators 20-22) having a drive shaft coupled to an axle of a wheel of the device (Kim recites in paragraph [0023] Each of the rear wheels 8 and 10 may be rotatably installed at a fixed plate 8a (or other fixture) that is attached onto the frame 2. The shafts of the rear wheels 8 and 10 may be operatively connected with a respective shaft for each of the generators 20 and 22 (or other means for creating energy or power) via a gear mechanism, a connection means, or the like. This disclosure by Kim encompasses connections e.g. gears, belts and/or drive components); an electrical circuit (Kim, FIG 2) coupled to the generator, the electrical circuit comprising a switch (Switch 60 in FIG 2 is exemplary and can be multi-functional as desired) and a plurality of selectable electrically resistive paths (Kim, FIG 2 includes an electric schematic for the suppression of acceleration) with different resistivities (Resistors inherently have graduated resistance for variation in circuits), wherein the switch allows for one of the different electrically resistive paths to be connected to the generator at a time (Switch 60 in FIG 2 is exemplary and can be multi-functional to selectively restrict resistance).
[CLAIM 2] Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the braking system of claim 1 wherein the drive shaft is coupled to the axle with a drive belt (Motors/generators ultimately connect to wheels directly or through gear reducers via shaft, axle, chain or belt).
[CLAIM 3] Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses the braking system of claim 1 wherein the drive shaft is coupled to the axle with a gearing ratio such that one turn of the wheel turns the motor three times (Gear ratio can be modified to perform any desired deceleration/acceleration to control motion).
[CLAIM 4] Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses the braking system of claim 1 wherein the generator is a brushless AC generator (Brushless generators are readily selectable from known generators based on desired vehicle application).
[CLAIM 5] Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses the braking system of claim 1 wherein the plurality of selectable electrically resistive paths comprises three electrically resistive paths (Kim, FIG 2 illustrates an exemplary electrical circuit for device control based on user function that is operable to have plural conductive paths and designed resistance).
[CLAIM 6] Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses the braking system of claim 1 wherein one of the electrically resistive paths has infinite electrical resistance, and a second of the electrically resistive paths is an electrical short (Kim, FIG 2 illustrates an exemplary electrical circuit for device control based on user function that is operable to have plural conductive paths and designed resistance levels. The circuit design such as Kim being mindful of selective shorting/fuse use).
[CLAIM 7] Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses the braking system of claim 6 wherein a third of the electrically resistive paths has an electrical resistance of about 47 Ohms (Resistance value is selectable from the known resistor ratings based on each application).
[CLAIM 8] Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses the braking system of claim 1 wherein the switch is a double pole triple throw switch (The switch of the Kim device is exemplary and can have any number of poles to satisfy a designed electrical circuit).
[CLAIM 9] Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses an assistive mobility device comprising: a frame (Kim, FIG 1) configured to provide support for a user while walking; a plurality of wheels (Kim, FIG 1) coupled to the frame and configured to enable motion of the frame to provide mobility assistance to the user while walking (Kim, FIG 1); an electric generator (Kim, exemplary generators 20-22) having a drive shaft coupled to an axle of a wheel of the plurality of wheels (Kim recites in paragraph [0023] Each of the rear wheels 8 and 10 may be rotatably installed at a fixed plate 8a (or other fixture) that is attached onto the frame 2. The shafts of the rear wheels 8 and 10 may be operatively connected with a respective shaft for each of the generators 20 and 22 (or other means for creating energy or power) via a gear mechanism, a connection means, or the like. This disclosure by Kim encompasses, connections e.g. gears, belts and/or drive components); an electrical circuit (Kim, FIG 2) coupled to the generator (Generators 20-22), the electrical circuit comprising a switch (Kim, FIG 2, switch 60) and a plurality of selectable electrically resistive paths with different resistivities (Kim, FIG 2 can have any desired resistance for circuit legs to provide the desired current to each component), wherein the switch (60) allows for one of the different electrically resistive paths to be connected to the generator at a time (Circuit function can be readily modified to have desired output using known/selectable components).
[CLAIM 10] Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses the assistive mobility device of claim 9 further comprising a handle (Kim, FIG 1) wherein the switch is disposed on the handle (Controls can be mounted based on each ergonomic need/application for known devices such as walkers).
[CLAIM 11] Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses the assistive mobility device of claim 10 wherein the handle comprises a grip (4) and a setting of the switch is changed by rotating the grip (Grips and switches conventionally operate in unison for device control that prevents operator error).
[CLAIM 12] Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses the assistive mobility device of claim 10 wherein the handle further includes colored indicators to indicate a level of rolling resistance (Any desired coding can be employed for operator clarity/simplicity).
[CLAIM 13] Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses the assistive mobility device of claim 9 wherein the generator is a brushless AC generator (Brushless generators are readily selectable from known generators based on desired vehicle application).
[CLAIM 14] Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses the assistive mobility device of claim 9 wherein the plurality of selectable electrically resistive paths comprises three electrically resistive paths (Kim, FIG 2 illustrates an exemplary electrical circuit for device control based on user function that is operable to have plural conductive paths and designed resistance).
[CLAIM 15] Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses the assistive mobility device of claim 9 wherein one of the electrically resistive paths has infinite electrical resistance, and a second of the electrically resistive paths is an electrical short (Kim, FIG 2 illustrates an exemplary electrical circuit for device control based on user function that is operable to have plural conductive paths and designed resistance levels. The circuit design such as Kim being mindful of selective shorting/fuse use).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and can be found on the attached Notice of References Cited.
/JAMES J TRIGGS/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/MARC Q JIMENEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615