DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the pressurized duct, subject matter of claims 9 and 10, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 7-8, and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (CN 114407048 A) in view of Buchstab (US 2013/0226340 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Ma et al. discloses a routing inspection robot for positioning a device and a positioning system for positioning a device, wherein the positioning system has a lifting arm (Figure 3: 15, 17, 21) which is arranged on a base carrier (Figure 3: 13),
the base carrier is arranged on the crawler (Figure 3: 22),
the lifting arm is configured to pivot relative to the base carrier via a pivot axis (Figure 3: foldable pan-tilt arm 4),
and the base carrier is configured to rotate about an axis of rotation relative to the crawler (Figure 3: 13, Specific implementation examples paragraph 9).
Ma et al. does not disclose the base carrier is movable or displaceable along a movement axis relative to the crawler wherein the movement axis extends parallel to the longitudinal axis of the crawler.
Buchstab discloses a transport carrier vehicle with a robotic arm on a base carrier that is movable or displaceable along a movement axis relative to the crawler using a moving bearing device wherein the movement axis extends parallel to the longitudinal axis of the crawler (Figures 1 and 2: transport carrier 1, robotic arm 2, base carrier 3, movement axis 18, moving positioning device 17b Paragraph 53: the base can be moved in the horizontal direction). The base is displaceable for the purpose of increasing the working range of the robotic arm (Paragraphs 52 and 53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to
modify the invention of Ma et al. by including the moving bearing device disclosed by Buchstab to allow the base carrier to be moveable or displaceable relative to the crawler for the purpose of increasing the working range of the robotic arm.
Regarding Claim 3, Ma et al. in view of Buchstab disclose the limitations of claim 2. Ma et al. additionally discloses a receiving unit that is arranged at the free end of the lifting arm for receiving the device (Figure 3: 19).
Regarding Claim 4, Ma et al. in view of Buchstab disclose the limitations of claim 2. Ma et al. additionally discloses the lifting arm has at least two lifting arm sections (Figure 3: 15, 17, 21) which are coupled to one another in an articulated manner (forearm pitch joint 16, jib pitch joint 20), and wherein the free end of one of the two lifting arm sections is arranged on the base carrier in a deflectable or pivotable manner (Figure 3: boom pitch joint 14).
Regarding Claim 7, Ma et al. in view of Buchstab disclose the limitations of claim 3. Ma et al. additionally discloses the receiving unit (Figure 3: 19 and 18) is configured to pivot relative to the lifting arm over a predetermined angular range (Figure 3: pitching joint 18).
Regarding Claim 8, Ma et al. in view of Buchstab disclose the limitations of claim 3. Ma et al. additionally discloses the receiving unit is rotatably mounted at the free end of the lifting arm (Specific implementation examples paragraph 6),
and is designed in two parts, wherein a first part (Figure 3: 18, Specific implementation examples paragraph 6) of the receiving unit is rotatable relative to the second part (Figure 3: 19) of the receiving unit.
Regarding Claim 12, Ma et al. in view of Buchstab disclose the limitations of claim 2. Ma et al. additionally discloses a receiving unit that is arranged at the free end of the lifting arm for receiving the device (Figure 3: 19).
Regarding Claim 13, Ma et al. in view of Buchstab disclose the limitations of claim 2. Ma et al. additionally discloses the lifting arm has at least two lifting arm sections (Figure 3: 15, 17, 21) which are coupled to one another in an articulated manner (forearm pitch joint 16, jib pitch joint 20), preferably via a swivel joint , and wherein the free end of one of the two lifting arm sections is arranged on the base carrier in a deflectable or pivotable manner (Figure 3: boom pitch joint 14).
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (CN 114407048 A) in view of Buchstab (US 2013/0226340 A1) in further view of Su et al. (CN 116034967 A).
Regarding Claim 9, Ma et al. in view of Buchstab disclose the limitations of claim 2. The combination as applied in claim 2 does not disclose a pressurized duct formed in the lifting arm.
Su et al. disclose a crawler with a robotic lifting arm, a pressurized duct formed in the lifting arm, and a spraying unit (Figures 4 and 8 show the mechanical arm 232, crawler, drug delivery tube 12 going through the lifting arm). These components are used for the purpose of improving the quality of spraying (Background Technique Paragraph 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the combination as applied in claim 3 by including a pressurized duct formed in the lifting arm and spraying unit disclosed by Su et al. for the purpose of improving the quality of spraying.
Regarding Claim 10, Ma et al. in view of Buchstab in further view of Su et al. disclose the limitations of claim 9. The combination as applied in claim 9 discloses the pressurized duct is designed as a continuous pressurized duct from one end to the other end of the lifting arm, which is coupled to the crawler on the crawler side (Su et al. Figures 2, 4, and 8 show the drug delivery tube 12 going from the medicine storage box 11 to the spraying unit 4).
Response to Arguments
Regarding the objected drawings, the claims regarding the absolute encoder and gimbal, claims 6, 11, and 15, have been canceled and the drawing objections regarding those features are withdrawn.
The claims regarding the pressurized duct, claims 9 and 10, remain. MPEP 608.02(d) outlines under 37 C.F.R. 1.83(a) “The drawing in a nonprovisional application must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. However, conventional features disclosed in the description and claims, where their detailed illustration is not essential for a proper understanding of the invention, should be illustrated in the drawing in the form of a graphical drawing symbol or a labeled representation (e.g., a labeled rectangular box). In addition, tables that are included in the specification and sequences that are included in sequence listings should not be duplicated in the drawings”.
Regarding objected Abstract, a replacement abstract has been received, and the abstract objection has been withdrawn.
Regarding the Objected Claims, claim 2 has been amended to remove the dashes and claims 1, 5, and 14 have been withdrawn. The claim objections have been withdrawn.
Regarding the Claim Interpretation under 35 U.S.C. §112(f) and the Rejections under 35 U.S.C. §112(a), claims 5, 6, and 14 have been canceled. The rejection has been withdrawn.
Regarding the Rejections under 35 U.S.C. §112(b), claims 3-4, 7-10, 12, and 13 have been amended and claims 1, 5, and 6 have been canceled. The rejection has been withdrawn.
Regarding Rejections under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1), the updates to the claims would overcome the previous rejection therefore new mapping has been applied based on the claim amendments.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kennerknecht et al. (US 2025/0084629 A1).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.K.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3653
/MICHAEL MCCULLOUGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3653