DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 13-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/02/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 06/02/2026 is acknowledged.
Status of Claims
The following is a non-final office action in response to the communication filed on 06/02/2026.
Claims 1-12 have been examined.
Claims 1-12 are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 09/12/2024, 05/14/2025, 08/19/2025, 02/12/2026, 05/11/2026, and 05/12/2026 were filed. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 7, and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, Lines 1 reads, “A computer implemented method for controlling the power supply of a battery powered UAV,” when it should read,” “A computer implemented method for controlling a power supply of a battery powered UAV,” as this is the first time the power supply limitation is introduced in the claim tree.
Claim 7, Lines 3-4 read, “relate to at least one of the sensor module, the at least one camera and the at least one propulsion unit,” when it should read, in order to both solve resolve antecedent issues, regarding the propulsion unit and grammatical informalities, “relate to the at least one , and the at least one propulsion unit,” OR perhaps written as, “relate to at least one of the sensor modules, the at least one camera, and the at least one propulsion unit,” depending upon Applicant’s desired meaning of the sentence.
Claims 12, Line 1 reads, “A system for controlling the power supply of a battery powered UAV,” when it should read, “A system for controlling a power supply of a battery powered UAV,” as this is the first time the power supply limitation is introduced in the claim tree.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 is indefinite because the scope of the “further threshold,” being claimed is unclear. The further threshold is defined in Claim 7 as, “the further threshold value being equal to the threshold value or different from it,” which is contradictory to the implication that ”further” refers to a lower threshold which is further along a battery draining process and is therefore lower than the “threshold value.” Additionally, it is unclear why the further threshold would be referred to as “further” if it shares the exact same value as the threshold. Additionally, the threshold value does not appear in this particular claim tree, being present in claim 5, which claim 6 does not depend from. Therefore, a plethora of issues prevent claim 6 raise significant doubt as to whether the public would understand the meets and bounds of the claims.
For the purposes of examination, the further threshold will be treated as a threshold that is lesser or equal to a predetermined threshold, the interpretation being derived from the Example given in Paragraphs [00328-00327] of Applicant’s specification, which reads, “According to an embodiment of the eighth aspect of the invention, the UAV is instructed to move to the location in case the battery charge level is below a further threshold value, the further threshold value being equal to the threshold value or different from it. For example, the charge level notification can be displayed in case the charge level is below 25 % and the UAV is instructed to move to the location in case the battery charge level is below 5 %.”
Claim 11 is indefinite because the scope of, (Claim 11, Line 12) “alternatively power the UAV by both battery power or by the capacitor power,” makes it unclear as to whether being powered by the batter/capacitor is being claimed as a potential combination or alternative due to the use of the words “both” and “or.” Therefore, there is significant doubt raised to the public regarding the meets and bounds of the claims. Claim 12 is rejected due to its dependency on claim 11.
For the purposes of examination, Examiner is interpreting the preceding limitation as “alternatively power the UAV by battery power or by the capacitor power.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al., (US 10,611,252 B2, hereinafter Wang) in view of Suvitie. (US 2019/0227683 A1, hereinafter Suvitie)
Claim 1 Discloses:
“A computer implemented method for controlling the power supply of a battery powered UAV on flight in a physical environment,”
Wang teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-3) “Systems and methods are provided for swapping the battery on an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) while providing continuous power to at least one system on the UAV.”
“the method including providing battery charge level information of the battery powering the UAV, determining a battery charge level based on the battery charge level information,”
Wang teaches, (Page 35, Column 24, Lines 66-7 and Page 36, Column 25, Line 1) “The processor may determine the remaining charge on the battery currently in use on the UAV by communicating with a sensor in contact with the battery.”
“… instructing the UAV to move to a location to replace the battery, based on the battery charge level, and instructing the UAV to resume the flight,”
Wang teaches, (Page 36, Column 25, Lines 33-37) “If the battery is below a threshold charge percentage the energy provision station may initiate a battery switching procedure 1705 to replace the battery on board the UAV with a fully or partially charged battery from the battery storage system,” and that, (Page 36, Column 25, Lines 15-17) “When the battery swap or charge has completed the processor may indicate that the UAV may take off from the landing area.”
“instructing the UAV to land at the location whereby the replacement of the battery within a predetermined time window is enabled,”
Wang teaches, (Page 36, Column 25, Lines 55-59) “the time required to swap the battery may be considered in comparison to the time required to charge the battery. A decision to swap the battery or charge the battery may be chosen such that the required time is optimized.”
“and while the battery is being replaced within the predetermined time window, to switch between a battery powered and capacitor powered supply mode, and to selectively deactivate predetermined power consuming units of the UAV, such that an uninterrupted power supply is provided, while the battery is being replaced, in particular while switching between the battery powered and capacitor powered supply mode.”
Wang teaches, (Page 28, Column 10, Lines 17-20) “The energy provision station 202 may have an on board power source 208. The on board power source may be a battery, capacitor, electric generator, wind turbine, hydro turbine, or solar power generator. The on board power source may be used to provide power to the UAV while a battery is removed from the UAV such that continuous power is provided to the UAV while the battery is exchanged for a fully or partially charged battery from the battery storage unit,” wherein, (Page 30, Column 13, Lines 31-32) “In a second mode the first battery may not provide power to the propulsion unit,” further wherein, (Page 30, Column 13, Lines 34-35) “The second mode may require that the UAV is landed.”
“displaying by a mobile control device having a touch sensitive display, a charge level notification based on the battery charge level,”
Wang does not explicitly teach displaying a charge level notification based on the battery charge level.
However, Wang does teach that, (Page 38, Column 29, Lines 35-37) “The terminal can include a suitable display unit for viewing information of the movable object, carrier, and/or payload,” wherein, (Page 38, Column 29, Lines 18-20) “The terminal can include a user interface, such as a keyboard, mouse, joystick, touchscreen, or display.”
Suvitie does explicitly teach displaying a charge level notification based on the battery charge level.
Suvitie teaches that, “FIG. 1 depicts a vehicle management environment configured to support management of unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs) by a vehicle management system;” wherein, (Paragraph [0059], Lines 36-39) “the GUIs 300 of FIGS. 3A and 3B also include a battery status indictor object for UAV2 as the battery level of UAV2 has fallen to a threshold level of 50% of the battery remaining.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the touchscreen display unit capable of presenting information related to a UAV as taught by Wang, with the system of Suvitie which explicitly comprises a batter status indicator in the context of UAV management, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the well-known safety benefits of presenting a low battery indicating to an operator so that decision may be made to prevent a potential crash due to low power. As Suvitie describes, (Paragraph [0046], Lines 22-28) “For example, battery status information of a given UAV 102-x may only be presented where the amount of battery charge remaining for the given UAV 102-x is below a threshold minimum value (e.g., as an indicator that the battery of the UAV 102 is dangerously low and, thus, that the given UAV 102-x may be in danger of running out of power and crashing).”
Claim 2 Discloses:
“The method according to claim 1, wherein the battery powered UAV is powered by a single battery.”
Wang teaches, (Page 29, Column 11, Lines 30-35) “One or more components of the UAV may be powered by a battery. For example the entire UAV may be powered by a battery or only a propulsion unit, controller, communication unit, Inertial Measure Unit (IMU), and/or other sensors may be powered by a battery. Battery can refer to a single battery or a pack of two or more batteries.”
Claim 3 Discloses:
“The method according to claim 1, including providing an operability of the UAV after replacement of the battery, wherein the operability of the UAV relates to at least one of resuming the flight and transmitting recorded flight data.”
Wang teaches, (Page 36, Column 25, Lines 33-37) “If the battery is below a threshold charge percentage the energy provision station may initiate a battery switching procedure 1705 to replace the battery on board the UAV with a fully or partially charged battery from the battery storage system,” and that, (Page 36, Column 25, Lines 15-17) “When the battery swap or charge has completed the processor may indicate that the UAV may take off from the landing area.”
Claim 4 Discloses:
“The method according to claim 1, wherein the location is one of a launch point from where the UAV has been launched and a location from where the UAV is controlled by the mobile control device.”
Wang teaches, (Page 31, Column 15, Lines 43-52) “The method of swapping of a battery on a UAV by an energy provision station may include the steps of landing the UAV at the energy provision station … and causing the UAV to take off of from the energy provision station,” wherein, (Page 31, Column 16, Lines 54-55) “The UAV may take off and land on the energy provision station landing area vertically.”
Claim 5 Discloses:
“The method according to claim 1, wherein the charge level notification is displayed in case the battery charge level is below a threshold value.”
Wang does not explicitly teach methodology wherein the charge level notification is displayed in case the battery charge level is below a threshold value.
However, Wang does teach (Page 38, Column 29, Lines 35-37) “The terminal can include a suitable display unit for viewing information of the movable object, carrier, and/or payload,” and that, (Page 31, Column 16, Lines 40-43) “the UAV may be directed to land at the energy provision station if the state of charge of the battery falls beneath a predetermined threshold.”
Suvitie does explicitly teach methodology wherein the charge level notification is displayed in case the battery charge level is below a threshold value.
Suvitie teaches that, “FIG. 1 depicts a vehicle management environment configured to support management of unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs) by a vehicle management system;” wherein, (Paragraph [0059], Lines 36-39) “the GUIs 300 of FIGS. 3A and 3B also include a battery status indictor object for UAV2 as the battery level of UAV2 has fallen to a threshold level of 50% of the battery remaining.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the touchscreen display unit capable of presenting information related to a UAV as taught by Wang, with the system of Suvitie which explicitly comprises a batter status indicator which appears when a battery levels falls below a threshold in the context of UAV management, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the well-known safety benefits of presenting a low battery indicating to an operator so that decision may be made to prevent a potential crash due to low power. As Suvitie describes, (Paragraph [0046], Lines 22-28) “For example, battery status information of a given UAV 102-x may only be presented where the amount of battery charge remaining for the given UAV 102-x is below a threshold minimum value (e.g., as an indicator that the battery of the UAV 102 is dangerously low and, thus, that the given UAV 102-x may be in danger of running out of power and crashing).”
Claim 6 Discloses:
“The method according to claim 1, wherein the UAV is instructed to move to the location in case the battery charge level is below a further threshold value, the further threshold value being equal to the threshold value or different from it.”
Wang teaches, (Page 31, Column 16, Lines 40-43) “the UAV may be directed to land at the energy provision station if the state of charge of the battery falls beneath a predetermined threshold,” wherein, (Page 36, Column 25, Lines 6-13) “The decision to charge or swap the battery onboard the UAV may be based on a threshold percentage of remaining charge. The threshold value may be 50%, 40%, 30%, 20%, 10%, or 5% remaining charge. The threshold may be fixed, or it may be variable as a function of battery age, battery type, flight conditions, ambient temperature, or distance to the next energy provision station.”
Claim 7 Discloses:
“The method according to claim 1, the battery powered UAV having at least one sensor module, at least one camera and at least one propulsion unit, wherein the predetermined power consuming units relate to at least one of the sensor module, the at least one camera and the at least one propulsion unit.”
Wang teaches, (Page 35, Column 24, Lines 66-7 and Page 36, Column 25, Line 1) “The processor may determine the remaining charge on the battery currently in use on the UAV by communicating with a sensor in contact with the battery.”
Wang additionally teaches, (Page 29, Column 11, Lines 47-63) “The first battery may provide power to the propulsion unit and to a power consuming unit. The power consuming unit may be a non-propulsion unit … The power consuming unit may be one or more of the following … vision sensors (e.g., imaging devices capable of detecting visible, infrared, or ultraviolet light, such as cameras), proximity sensors (e.g., ultrasonic sensors, lidar, time-of-flight cameras).”
Claim 8 Discloses:
“The method according to claim 7, the at least one sensor module being a directional distance measuring module.”
Wang teaches, (Page 29, Column 11, Lines 47-63) “The first battery may provide power to the propulsion unit and to a power consuming unit. The power consuming unit may be a non-propulsion unit … The power consuming unit may be one or more of the following … vision sensors (e.g., imaging devices capable of detecting visible, infrared, or ultraviolet light, such as cameras), proximity sensors (e.g., ultrasonic sensors, lidar, time-of-flight cameras),” wherein, (Page 29, Column 12, Lines 4-7) “Sensors of different types may measure different types of signals or information (e.g., position, orientation, velocity, acceleration, proximity, pressure, etc.)”
Claim 10 Discloses:
“A computer program product comprising machine readable program code stored in a non-transitory machine readable medium, which when executed by processing units related to a mobile control device having a touch sensitive display and/or a UAV enables controlling the power supply of a battery powered UAV, according to the method of claim 1.”
Wang teaches, (Page 39, Column 32, Lines 19-26) “FIG. 20 is a schematic illustration by way of block diagram of a system 2000 for controlling a movable object, in accordance with embodiments. The system 2000 can be used in combination with any suitable embodiment of the systems, devices, and methods disclosed herein. The system 2000 can include a sensing module 2002, processing unit 2004, non-transitory computer readable medium 2006, control module 2008, and communication module 2010,” wherein, (Page 39, Column 32, Lines 42-44) “The processing unit 2004 can have one or more processors, such as a programmable processor (e.g., a central processing unit (CPU)).”
Claim 11 Discloses:
“A system for controlling the power supply of a battery powered UAV on flight in a physical environment, the system including: a UAV”
Wang teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-3) “Systems and methods are provided for swapping the battery on an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) while providing continuous power to at least one system on the UAV,” wherein, (Page 25, Column 3, Lines 35-36) “The method may further comprise supporting the UAV on the UAV landing area of an energy provision station.”
“having a UAV powering system supplying the UAV with power, including a capacitor, and a battery charge level information generator, wherein the powering system is configured to provide: battery charge level information of the battery powering the UAV, a switchability between a battery powered and capacitor powered supply mode, and a selective deactivatability to selectively deactivate predetermined power consuming units of the UAV, and alternatively power the UAV both by battery power or by capacitor power, such that an uninterrupted power supply is provided, while the battery is being replaced, in particular while switching between the battery powered and capacitor powered supply mode,”
Wang teaches, (Page 28, Column 10, Lines 17-20) “The energy provision station 202 may have an on board power source 208. The on board power source may be a battery, capacitor, electric generator, wind turbine, hydro turbine, or solar power generator. The on board power source may be used to provide power to the UAV while a battery is removed from the UAV such that continuous power is provided to the UAV while the battery is exchanged for a fully or partially charged battery from the battery storage unit,” wherein, (Page 30, Column 13, Lines 31-32) “In a second mode the first battery may not provide power to the propulsion unit,” further wherein, (Page 30, Column 13, Lines 34-35) “The second mode may require that the UAV is landed.”
“and a computer program product according to claim 10.”
Wang teaches, (Page 39, Column 32, Lines 19-26) “FIG. 20 is a schematic illustration by way of block diagram of a system 2000 for controlling a movable object, in accordance with embodiments. The system 2000 can be used in combination with any suitable embodiment of the systems, devices, and methods disclosed herein. The system 2000 can include a sensing module 2002, processing unit 2004, non-transitory computer readable medium 2006, control module 2008, and communication module 2010,” wherein, (Page 39, Column 32, Lines 42-44) “The processing unit 2004 can have one or more processors, such as a programmable processor (e.g., a central processing unit (CPU)).”
Claims 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Suvitie, further in view of Bachrach et al. (US 2016/0327950 A1, hereinafter Bachrach)
Claim 9 Discloses:
“The method according to claim 1, wherein the UAV includes: a body extending along an axis from a front end to a back end and having a housing, a first mounting structure attached to the body and extending away from the body in a direction to a left side of the axis, a second mounting structure attached to the body and extending away from the body in a direction to a right side of the axis being an opposite direction to the direction to the left side, four propulsion units or rotor assemblies, two of which are mounted to the first mounting structure and two of which are mounted to the second mounting structure,”
The UAVs of Wang and Suvitie do not explicitly teach the preceding first mounting structure and second mounting structure wherein a directional distance measuring module is integrated in the front end of the body inside the housing.
However, Wang does teach, “Fig. 18 [which] illustrates an unmanned aerial vehicle,” with a body extending along an axis from a front end to a back end comprising, (Page 37, Column 28, Line 46) “four rotors 1802, 1804, 1806, and 1808,” which may further house, (Page 39, Column 32, Lines 27-33) “The sensing module 2002 [which] can utilize different types of sensors … Different types of sensors may sense different types of signals or signals from different sources. For example, the sensors can include inertial sensors, GPS sensors, proximity sensors (e.g., lidar) or vision/image sensors (e.g., a camera).”
Bachrach does explicitly teach the preceding first mounting structure and second mounting structure wherein a directional distance measuring module is integrated in the front end of the body inside the housing.
Figure 6 of Bachrach teaches a body extending from front to back in the form of the circular center, a left triangular side comprising two rotor assemblies, and a right triangular side comprising two other rotor assemblies, both of which attach to the center, circular body.
“a directional distance measuring module including: a measuring field of view with a main view direction, within which measuring field of view directions and distances to surfaces in the physical environment are measurable by directionally emitting distance measurement radiation into the field of view, a detector unit for detecting distance measurement radiation reflected from a surface, and a distance measurement radiation source, wherein: the directional distance measuring module is integrated in the front end of the body inside the housing, and the distance measurement radiation is directionally emittable by the directional distance measuring module through the housing out of the front end of the body.”
Bachrach teaches, (Paragraph [0036], Lines 1-10) “According to some embodiments, computer vision may include remote sensing technologies such as laser illuminated detection and ranging (LIDAR or LIDAR). For example, an FDA 100 equipped with LIDAR may emit one or more laser beams in a continuous scan up to 360 degrees in all directions around the FDA 100. Light received by the FDA 100 as the laser beams reflect off physical objects in the surrounding physical world may be analyzed to construct a real time 3D computer model of the surrounding physical world.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the UAV system of Wang with that of a UAV system comprising a directional LIDAR within a conventional structural drone configuration which is known in the art as evidenced by Bachrach, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the reference would yield the benefits of 360 degree three-dimensional imaging in order to provide a wide breadth, detailed image. As Bachrach describes, (Paragraph [0036], Lines 6-17) “Light received by the FDA 100 as the laser beams reflect off physical objects in the surrounding physical world may be analyzed to construct a real time 3D computer model of the surrounding physical world. Such 3D models may be analyzed to identify particular physical objects (e.g. a user 102) in the physical world for tracking. Further, images captured by cameras (e.g., as described earlier) may be combined with the laser constructed 3D models to form textured 3D models that may be further analyzed in real time or near real time for physical object recognition (e.g. by using computer vision algorithms).” Additionally, Wang describes that, (Page 38, Column 30, Lines 8-11) “One of skill in the art would appreciate that any of the embodiments described herein in the context of aircraft systems can be applied to any suitable movable object (e.g., an UAV).”
Claim 12 Discloses:
“A system according to claim 11, wherein the UAV includes: a body extending along an axis from a front end to a back end and having a housing, a first mounting structure attached to the body and extending away from the body in a direction to a left side of the axis, a second mounting structure attached to the body and extending away from the body in a direction to a right side of the axis being an opposite direction to the direction to the left side, four propulsion units or rotor assemblies, two of which are mounted to the first mounting structure and two of which are mounted to the second mounting structure,”
The UAVs of Wang and Suvitie do not explicitly teach the preceding first mounting structure and second mounting structure wherein a directional distance measuring module is integrated in the front end of the body inside the housing.
However, Wang does teach, “Fig. 18 [which] illustrates an unmanned aerial vehicle,” with a body extending along an axis from a front end to a back end comprising, (Page 37, Column 28, Line 46) “four rotors 1802, 1804, 1806, and 1808,” which may further house, (Page 39, Column 32, Lines 27-33) “The sensing module 2002 [which] can utilize different types of sensors … Different types of sensors may sense different types of signals or signals from different sources. For example, the sensors can include inertial sensors, GPS sensors, proximity sensors (e.g., lidar) or vision/image sensors (e.g., a camera).”
Bachrach does explicitly teach the preceding first mounting structure and second mounting structure wherein a directional distance measuring module is integrated in the front end of the body inside the housing.
Figure 6 of Bachrach teaches a body extending from front to back in the form of the circular center, a left triangular side comprising two rotor assemblies, and a right triangular side comprising two other rotor assemblies, both of which attach to the center, circular body.
“a directional distance measuring module including a measuring field of view with a main view direction, within which measuring field of view directions and distances to surfaces in the physical environment are measurable by directionally emitting distance measurement radiation into the field of view, a detector unit for detecting distance measurement radiation reflected from a surface, and a distance measurement radiation source, wherein: the directional distance measuring module is integrated in the front end of the body inside the housing, and the distance measurement radiation is directionally emittable by the directional distance measuring module through the housing out of the front end of the body.”
Bachrach teaches, (Paragraph [0036], Lines 1-10) “According to some embodiments, computer vision may include remote sensing technologies such as laser illuminated detection and ranging (LIDAR or LIDAR). For example, an FDA 100 equipped with LIDAR may emit one or more laser beams in a continuous scan up to 360 degrees in all directions around the FDA 100. Light received by the FDA 100 as the laser beams reflect off physical objects in the surrounding physical world may be analyzed to construct a real time 3D computer model of the surrounding physical world.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the UAV system of Wang with that of a UAV system comprising a directional LIDAR within a conventional structural drone configuration which is known in the art as evidenced by Bachrach, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the reference would yield the benefits of 360 degree three-dimensional imaging in order to provide a wide breadth, detailed image. As Bachrach describes, (Paragraph [0036], Lines 6-17) “Light received by the FDA 100 as the laser beams reflect off physical objects in the surrounding physical world may be analyzed to construct a real time 3D computer model of the surrounding physical world. Such 3D models may be analyzed to identify particular physical objects (e.g. a user 102) in the physical world for tracking. Further, images captured by cameras (e.g., as described earlier) may be combined with the laser constructed 3D models to form textured 3D models that may be further analyzed in real time or near real time for physical object recognition (e.g. by using computer vision algorithms).” Additionally, Wang describes that, (Page 38, Column 30, Lines 8-11) “One of skill in the art would appreciate that any of the embodiments described herein in the context of aircraft systems can be applied to any suitable movable object (e.g., an UAV).”
RELEVANT, BUT NOT CITED PRIOR ART
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Henry et al., (US 2022/0014675 A1) discloses, (Paragraph [0037], Lines 13-15) “a battery charge level indicator 410 indicates the current condition of the battery on the UAV 102.”
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER V GENTILE/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/TYLER D PAIGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664