DETAILED ACTION
Election of Species Requirement
This application contains claims directed to the following patentably distinct species. The following is a corrected Election of Species Requirement.
Species 1 of Figures 4, 35, and 36 and dependent claims 2-9, 22-26, 29-31, and 33. Species 1 would be best classified in G05D 1/24.
Species 2 of Figures 29 and 44 and dependent claims 10-21, 28, and 34. Species 2 would be best classified in G05D 2109/254.
Species 3 of Figure 43 and dependent claims 27 and 32. Species 3 would be best classified in B60L 58/12.
The species are independent or distinct because Species 1 is directed to tracking the position/orientation of a UAV. The pertinent Figures/Claims comprise sensors such as Lidar, radar, GPS and cameras to achieve localization. Species 2 is directed to the structural components of a multirotor quadcopter. The pertinent Figures/Claims comprise strut elements, foamed core protective frames, and fiber-reinforced shell components of the UAV. Species 3 is directed to controlling the power supply of a battery of an electric vehicle (UAV). The pertinent Figure/Claims comprise battery power and capacitor power elements.
Therefore, the species have materially different modes of operation, function, and effect and furthermore, the species as claimed do not encompass overlapping subject matter. In addition, these species are not obvious variants of each other based on the current record.
Applicant is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 to elect a single disclosed species, or a single grouping of patentably indistinct species, for prosecution on the merits to which the claims shall be restricted if no generic claim is finally held to be allowable. Currently, independent claim 1 is generic.
There is a serious search and/or examination burden for the patentably distinct species as set forth above because at least the following reason(s) apply:
The species or groupings of patentably indistinct species have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification.
The inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter.
The prior art application to one invention would not likely be applicable to another invention.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of a species to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected species or grouping of patentably indistinct species, including any claims subsequently added. An argument that a claim is allowable or that all claims are generic is considered nonresponsive unless accompanied by an election.
The election may be made with or without traverse. To preserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the election of species requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable on the elected species or grouping of patentably indistinct species.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the species, or groupings of patentably indistinct species from which election is required, are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing them to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the species unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other species.
Upon the allowance of a generic claim, applicant will be entitled to consideration of claims to additional species which depend from or otherwise require all the limitations of an allowable generic claim as provided by 37 CFR 1.141. A telephone call was made to R. Burns Israelsen on 04/16/2026 to request an oral election to the above restriction requirement, but did not result in an election being made.
During an additional telephone conversation with R. Burns Israelsen on 08/24/2026, a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Species 1, claims 2-9, 22-26, 29-31, and 33. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 10-21, 27-28, 32, and 34 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Election/Restriction
Claims 10-21, 27-28, and 32-34 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/22/2026 and additionally the telephone call conducted on 08/24/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-9, 22-26, and 29-31 in the reply filed on 06/22/2026 and additionally the telephone call conducted on 08/24/2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 09/12/2024, 05/14/2025, 08/19/2025, 02/12/2026, 04/22/2026, and 05/12/2026 were filed. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Objection to the Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to
purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention
with the prior art. If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its
organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its
identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps. Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is less than 50 words. A corrected
abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other
text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8-9, 22, 29-31, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bachrach et al. (US 2016/0327950 A1, hereinafter Bachrach)
Claim 1 Discloses:
“An unmanned aerial vehicle, UAV, for flying in a physical environment including:”
Bachrach teaches, (Paragraph [0002], Lines 1-3) “The present disclosure relates generally to methods and systems for the control of unmanned aerial vehicles (UAV)” wherein, (Paragraph [0070], Lines 14-15) “the sensors onboard the FDA 100 travel around the physical environment.”
“a body extending along an axis from a front end to a back end and having a housing, a first mounting structure attached to the body and extending away from the body in a direction to a left side of the axis, a second mounting structure attached to the body and extending away from the body in a direction to a right side of the axis being an opposite direction to the direction to the left side, four propulsion units, in particular rotor assemblies, two of which are mounted to the first mounting structure and two of which are mounted to the second mounting structure,”
Figure 6 of Bachrach teaches a body extending from front to back in the form of the circular center, a left triangular side comprising two rotor assemblies, and a right triangular side comprising two other rotor assemblies, both of which attach to the center, circular body.
“a directional distance measuring module including: a measuring field of view with a main view direction, within which measuring field of view directions and distances to surfaces in the physical environment are measurable by directionally emitting distance measurement radiation into the field of view, a detector unit for detecting distance measurement radiation reflected from a surface, and a distance measurement radiation source, wherein: the directional distance measuring module is integrated in the front end of the body inside the housing, and the distance measurement radiation is directionally emittable by the directional distance measuring module through the housing out of the front end of the body.”
Bachrach teaches, (Paragraph [0036], Lines 1-10) “According to some embodiments, computer vision may include remote sensing technologies such as laser illuminated detection and ranging (LIDAR or LIDAR). For example, an FDA 100 equipped with LIDAR may emit one or more laser beams in a continuous scan up to 360 degrees in all directions around the FDA 100. Light received by the FDA 100 as the laser beams reflect off physical objects in the surrounding physical world may be analyzed to construct a real time 3D computer model of the surrounding physical world,” wherein, (Paragraph [0146], Lines 17-21) “In some embodiments, an optical sensor 134 is located on the front of the device. In some embodiments, the position of the optical sensor 1434 can be changed by the user 102 (e.g., by rotating the lens and the sensor in the device housing) Note: Examiner is interpreting laser light and LIDAR as a form of electromagnetic radiation under broadest reasonable interpretation.
Claim 8 Discloses:
“The UAV according to claim 1, wherein: the UAV includes at least one sensor module generating and/or providing environment data, and/or the directional distance measuring module is configured to provide directional distance information relating to measured distances and directions to an object in the physical environment.”
Bachrach teaches, (Paragraph [0036], Lines 1-10) “According to some embodiments, computer vision may include remote sensing technologies such as laser illuminated detection and ranging (LIDAR or LIDAR). For example, an FDA 100 equipped with LIDAR may emit one or more laser beams in a continuous scan up to 360 degrees in all directions around the FDA 100. Light received by the FDA 100 as the laser beams reflect off physical objects in the surrounding physical world may be analyzed to construct a real time 3D computer model of the surrounding physical world,” wherein, (Paragraph [0037], Lines 1-7) “The computer vision-aided localization and navigation system described above may calculate the position and/or pose of features in the physical world in addition to the position and/or pose of the FDA 100 and/or PMD 104. The position of these features may then be fed into the navigation system such that motion trajectories may be planned that avoid obstacles.”
Claim 9 Discloses:
“The UAV according to claim 1, wherein the directional distance measuring module measures distances and directions based on the light detection and ranging (lidar) principle.”
Bachrach teaches, (Paragraph [0036], Lines 1-10) “According to some embodiments, computer vision may include remote sensing technologies such as laser illuminated detection and ranging (LIDAR or LIDAR). For example, an FDA 100 equipped with LIDAR may emit one or more laser beams in a continuous scan up to 360 degrees in all directions around the FDA 100. Light received by the FDA 100 as the laser beams reflect off physical objects in the surrounding physical world may be analyzed to construct a real time 3D computer model of the surrounding physical world,” wherein, (Paragraph [0037], Lines 1-7) “The computer vision-aided localization and navigation system described above may calculate the position and/or pose of features in the physical world in addition to the position and/or pose of the FDA 100 and/or PMD 104. The position of these features may then be fed into the navigation system such that motion trajectories may be planned that avoid obstacles.”
Claim 22 Discloses:
“The UAV according to claim 1, the UAV including a camera system.”
Bachrach teaches, (Paragraph [0044], Lines 1-3)“According to some embodiments, FDA 100 may comprise multiple high resolution image capture devices 602 (“cameras”).”
Claim 29 Discloses:
“The UAV according to claim 8, wherein the UAV includes: a GNSS receiver module for receiving GNSS positioning signals, a local navigation sensor module generating local navigation sensor signals, and an autonomous navigation control unit, communicatively connected to the GNSS receiver module, at least one sensor module and the local navigation sensor module, and being configured to: continuously receive: GNSS positioning signals, environment data, and local navigation sensor signals, and based thereon, autonomously navigate the UAV.”
Bachrach teaches, (Paragraph [0023], Lines 11-25) “According to the present teaching localization system 200 may include an FDA 100, a GPS system comprising multiple GPS satellites 202, a cellular system comprising multiple cellular antennae 204 (with access to sources of localization data 206), a Wi-Fi system comprising multiple Wi-Fi routers 208 (with access to sources of localization data 206), and a portable multifunction device 104 operated by a user 102. The FDA 100 may comprise components including, but not limited to, an inertial measurement unit (IMU), a GPS receiver, multiple RF receivers and/or transceivers (e.g. cellular LTE, Wi-Fi), and one or more image capture devices. For example, an image capture device may be used to determine position and/or pose through the use of computer vision techniques and or optics-based collision detection and range finding,” wherein, (Paragraph [0070], Lines 14-15) “the sensors onboard the FDA 100 travel around the physical environment,” further wherein, (Paragraph [0022], Line 9) “the FDA 100 may travel autonomously.”
Bachrach additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0024], Lines 1-9) “As mentioned earlier, a relative position and/or pose (position +orientation) of the FDA 100, a relative position and/or pose of the subject (e.g. user 102), and/or a relative position and/or pose of a PMD 104 operated by a user 102 may be determined using one or more of the subsystems illustrated in FIG. 2. For example, using only the GPS system 202, a position on the globe may be determined for any device comprising a GPS receiver (e.g. the FDA 100 and/or the PMD 104),” and, (Paragraph [0049], Line 3) “with real-time image processing.”
Claim 30 Discloses:
“The UAV according claim 22, the camera system being configured to provide image data,”
Bachrach teaches, (Paragraph [0035], Lines 5-7) “A plurality of images is captured in sequence as a camera moves through space.”
“and the directional distance measuring module being configured to provide directional distance information.”
Bachrach teaches, (Paragraph [0036], Lines 1-10) “According to some embodiments, computer vision may include remote sensing technologies such as laser illuminated detection and ranging (LIDAR or LIDAR). For example, an FDA 100 equipped with LIDAR may emit one or more laser beams in a continuous scan up to 360 degrees in all directions around the FDA 100. Light received by the FDA 100 as the laser beams reflect off physical objects in the surrounding physical world may be analyzed to construct a real time 3D computer model of the surrounding physical world.”
Claim 31 Discloses:
“The UAV according to claim 22, the UAV including a multipurpose sensor system including: the camera system, an inertial measurement unit (IMU), and a GNSS receiver module,”
Bachrach teaches, (Paragraph [0023], Lines 18-22) “The FDA 100 may comprise components including, but not limited to, an inertial measurement unit (IMU), a GPS receiver, multiple RF receivers and/or transceivers (e.g. cellular LTE, Wi-Fi), and one or more image capture devices,” and that, (Paragraph [0044], Lines 1-3) “According to some embodiments, FDA 100 may comprise multiple high resolution image capture devices 602 (“cameras”).”
“wherein the multipurpose sensor system is configured to generate sensor raw data in the form of: image data from the camera system,”
Bachrach teaches, (Paragraph [0035], Lines 5-7) “A plurality of images is captured in sequence as a camera moves through space.”
“motion data from the inertial measurement unit,”
Bachrach teaches, (Paragraph [0089], Lines 4-7) “Motion data may be captured by a number of sensors onboard PMD 104, including but not limited to a camera and internal motion sensors (IMU, accelerometer, gyroscope, etc.),”
“measurement data, in particular 3D point data, from the directional distance measuring module of the UAV, in particular wherein the directional distance measuring module measures distances and directions to object surfaces based on the light detection and ranging (lidar) principle,”
Bachrach teaches, (Paragraph [0036], Lines 1-10) “According to some embodiments, computer vision may include remote sensing technologies such as laser illuminated detection and ranging (LIDAR or LIDAR). For example, an FDA 100 equipped with LIDAR may emit one or more laser beams in a continuous scan up to 360 degrees in all directions around the FDA 100. Light received by the FDA 100 as the laser beams reflect off physical objects in the surrounding physical world may be analyzed to construct a real time 3D computer model of the surrounding physical world,”
“and global position data from the GNSS receiver module of the UAV.”
Bachrach teaches, (Paragraph [0034], Lines 23-28) “With the calculated distance as well as other position and/or orientation data for the FDA 100 (e.g. data from GPS, WiFi, Cellular, and/or IMU, as discussed above) a relative position and/or orientation may be determined between the FDA 100 and the physical object (e.g. user 102).”
Claim 33 Discloses:
“The UAV according to claim 1, the UAV being configured to receive instructions related to performing a measurement task, autonomously fly, supported by an autonomous navigation control unit, in a physical environment based on the instructions,”
Bachrach teaches, (Paragraph [0023], Lines 11-25) “According to the present teaching localization system 200 may include an FDA 100, a GPS system comprising multiple GPS satellites 202, a cellular system comprising multiple cellular antennae 204 (with access to sources of localization data 206), a Wi-Fi system comprising multiple Wi-Fi routers 208 (with access to sources of localization data 206), and a portable multifunction device 104 operated by a user 102. The FDA 100 may comprise components including, but not limited to, an inertial measurement unit (IMU), a GPS receiver, multiple RF receivers and/or transceivers (e.g. cellular LTE, Wi-Fi), and one or more image capture devices. For example, an image capture device may be used to determine position and/or pose through the use of computer vision techniques and or optics-based collision detection and range finding,” wherein, (Paragraph [0070], Lines 14-15) “the sensors onboard the FDA 100 travel around the physical environment,” further wherein, (Paragraph [0022], Line 9) “the FDA 100 may travel autonomously.”
Bachrach additionally teaches that, (Abstract, Lines 7-9) “a user may input a touch gesture via a touch display of a PMD that corresponds with a flight path to be autonomously flown by the FDA.”
“while autonomously flying: scan and thereby measure the physical environment by the directional distance measuring module, generate measurement data in the form of 3D point data, view the physical environment by the camera system and generate image data, sense the physical environment by at least one sensor module and/or by a multipurpose sensor system of the UAV and generate sensor data, and provide measurement data, image data and sensor data: for generating 3D point cloud data representing the physical environment of the UAV, and to the autonomous navigation control unit for supporting the autonomous flying of the UAV.”
Bachrach teaches, (Paragraph [0022], Lines 9-10) “the FDA 100 may travel autonomously to capture audio, images, and/or video,” wherein, (Paragraph [0036]) “According to some embodiments, computer vision may include remote sensing technologies such as laser illuminated detection and ranging (LIDAR or LIDAR). For example, an FDA 100 equipped with LIDAR may emit one or more laser beams in a continuous scan up to 360 degrees in all directions around the FDA 100. Light received by the FDA 100 as the laser beams reflect off physical objects in the surrounding physical world may be analyzed to construct a real time 3D computer model of the surrounding physical world … Further, images captured by cameras (e.g., as described earlier) may be combined with the laser constructed 3D models to form textured 3D models that may be further analyzed in real time or near real time for physical object recognition (e.g. by using computer vision algorithms).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bachrach in view of Day et al. (US 2024/0337732 A1, hereinafter Day)
Claim 2 Discloses:
“The UAV according to claim 1, wherein the directional distance measuring module having a deflector unit deflecting distance measurement radiation from the distance measurement radiation source through the housing into the field of view.”
Bachrach does not explicitly teach the directional distance measuring module having a deflector unit deflecting distance measurement radiation from the distance measurement radiation source through the housing into the field of view.
However, Bachrach does teach, (Paragraph [0036], Lines 1-10) “an FDA 100 equipped with LIDAR may emit one or more laser beams in a continuous scan up to 360 degrees in all directions around the FDA 100.”
It would have been obvious to arrive at the totality of the preceding limitations in light of Day.
Day is relevant to the Applicant’s disclosure due to teaching, (Paragraph [0027], Lines 1-10) “a LIDAR system may include: at least one housing mountable on a vehicle; a light source within the at least one housing configured to project light for illuminating an object in an environment of the vehicle; a scanning unit configured to deflect light from the light source in order to scan at least part of the environment of the vehicle; at least one sensor within the at least one housing configured to detect reflections of the projected light; and at least one processor configured to determine a distance between the vehicle and the object,” wherein, (Paragraph [0113], Lines 7-9) “LIDAR system 100 may also be used in autonomous/semi-autonomous aerial-vehicles (for example, UAV, drones, quadcopters, and any other airborne vehicle or device).”
With regards to the limitations of Claim 2, Day teaches, (Paragraph [0466], Lines 4-13) “the disclosed LIDAR system may be distributed such that a front-end unit of the system, while not necessarily related to the front of a vehicle, may provide an optical gateway to an environment of the LIDAR system of the vehicle (e.g., at least a deflector for projecting laser light to an environment of interest), and a separate back-end unit, spaced apart from the front-end unit and not necessarily related to or located near the back of the vehicle, that may include other components of the LIDAR system (e.g., one or more LIDAR processing units),” wherein, (Paragraph [0468], Lines 4-9) “In some cases, the conduit connecting the front-end and back-end units may also include optical components to transfer light from one component to another (e.g., laser light for projection from the back-end to the front-end and/or received reflected light from the front-end to the back-end for sensing).”
Day additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0463], Lines 4-19) “the disclosed LIDAR systems may be deployed on a vehicle to provide ranging information relative to objects in an environment of the vehicle. For example, in some cases, it may be desirable to provide one or more optical gateways to the LIDAR system (e.g., deflector elements that may both project laser light to an environment of the vehicle and receive reflected laser light from the environment of the vehicle) at locations around a perimeter of a vehicle envelope that may offer relatively unimpeded field of views to areas of interest within a vehicle environment. Such locations may include, for example, areas in and/or around the front, sides, roof, or rear of a vehicle (e.g., on or within a vehicle front or rear bumper, grill, headlight assembly, taillight assembly, or any other fixture associated with the vehicle).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the UAV with 360 degree LIDAR functionality of Bachrach, with the explicit directional distance measuring module having a deflector unit deflecting distance measurement radiation from the distance measurement radiation source through the housing into the field of view as taught by Day, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of projecting light between front and back end components through a housing in order to properly image subjects towards the front of an applicable vehicle, such as a UAV. As Day describes, (Paragraph [0463], Lines 4-19) “in some cases, it may be desirable to provide one or more optical gateways to the LIDAR system ... Such locations may include, for example, areas in and/or around the front … of a vehicle.”
Claim 3 Discloses:
“The UAV according to claim 1, the deflector unit deflecting distance measurement radiation, reflected from a surface through the housing, to the detector unit.”
Bachrach does not explicitly teach the deflector unit deflecting distance measurement radiation, reflected from a surface through the housing, to the detector unit.
However, it would have been obvious to arrive at the totality of the preceding limitations in light of Day.
Day teaches, (Paragraph [0466], Lines 4-13) “the disclosed LIDAR system may be distributed such that a front-end unit of the system, while not necessarily related to the front of a vehicle, may provide an optical gateway to an environment of the LIDAR system of the vehicle (e.g., at least a deflector for projecting laser light to an environment of interest), and a separate back-end unit, spaced apart from the front-end unit and not necessarily related to or located near the back of the vehicle, that may include other components of the LIDAR system (e.g., one or more LIDAR processing units),” wherein, (Paragraph [0468], Lines 4-9) “In some cases, the conduit connecting the front-end and back-end units may also include optical components to transfer light from one component to another (e.g., laser light for projection from the back-end to the front-end and/or received reflected light from the front-end to the back-end for sensing),” further wherein, (Paragraph [0468], Lines 13-18) “In some embodiments, the back-end unit may include a processing unit with a processor and the front-end units may include a projecting unit including a scanning unit with a light deflector and an actuator. One or more light sources may be located in the front-end units or the back-end units.”
Day additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0017], Lines 7-10) “The at least one processor may be further configured to receive from a group of detectors a plurality of input signals indicative of reflections of the projected light from the field of view.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the UAV with 360 degree LIDAR functionality of Bachrach, with the explicit structure of a deflector unit deflecting distance measurement radiation, reflected from a surface through the housing, to the detector unit as taught by Day, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of projecting light between front and back end components through a housing in order to properly image subjects, for example towards the front of an applicable vehicle, such as a UAV. As Day describes, (Paragraph [0463], Lines 4-19) “in some cases, it may be desirable to provide one or more optical gateways to the LIDAR system ... Such locations may include, for example, areas in and/or around the front … of a vehicle.”
Claim 4 Discloses:
“The UAV according to claim 1, the deflector unit being mounted to rotate around a first rotation axis and a second rotation axis being transverse to the first rotation axis.”
Bachrach does not explicitly teach the deflector unit being mounted to rotate around a first rotation axis and a second rotation axis being transverse to the first rotation axis.
However, Bachrach does teach, (Paragraph [0036], Lines 1-10) “an FDA 100 equipped with LIDAR may emit one or more laser beams in a continuous scan up to 360 degrees in all directions around the FDA 100.”
It would have been obvious to arrive at the totality of the preceding limitations in light of Day.
Day teaches, (Paragraph [0027], Lines 10-17) “The scanning unit may include: a movable MEMS mirror configured to pivot about at least one axis; a plurality of actuators configured to cause pivoting of the movable MEMS mirror about the at least one axis in at least one first direction; a plurality of restraining springs configured to facilitate pivoting of the movable MEMS mirror about the at least one axis in a second direction different from the first direction,” wherein, (Paragraph [0148], Lines 20-24) “A person skilled in the art would appreciate that a LIDAR system with a rotation mechanism for synchronically rotating one or more light sources or one or more sensors, may use this synchronized rotation instead of (or in addition to) steering an internal light deflector.” Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the deflector unit has capability to rotate around a first rotation axis relative to a second rotation axis being transverse to the first rotation axis.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the UAV with 360 degree LIDAR functionality of Bachrach, with the explicit structure/methodology of the deflector unit being mounted to rotate around a first rotation axis and a second rotation axis being transverse to the first rotation axis as taught by Day, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the well-known benefits of using the deflector unit to image various angles that are desired to be imaged. As Day describes, (Paragraph [0483], Lines 26-29) “In some embodiments, front-end units 2210 or a component within front-end units 2210 may be rotatable so as to change a FOV of the unit (e.g. rotating/moving the FOV 90° to the left, right, up, or down).”
Claim 5 Discloses:
“The UAV according to claim 4, the first rotation axis being aligned or parallel, to the axis along which the body extends.”
Bachrach does not explicitly teach the first rotation axis being aligned or parallel, to the axis along which the body extends.
However, Bachrach does teach, (Paragraph [0036], Lines 1-10) “an FDA 100 equipped with LIDAR may emit one or more laser beams in a continuous scan up to 360 degrees in all directions around the FDA 100.”
It would have been obvious to arrive at the totality of the preceding limitations in light of Day.
Day teaches, (Paragraph [0471], Lines 16-19) “In some embodiments, it may be desirable for the LIDAR system to have an optical gateway at the front of a vehicle (e.g., in order to scan an FOV forward of the vehicle),” wherein the vehicle can be viewed extending front to back in a conventional manner in, for example, Figure 1A.
Subsequently, for example, Day teaches, (Paragraph [0483], Lines 26-29) “In some embodiments, front-end units 2210 or a component within front-end units 2210 may be rotatable so as to change a FOV of the unit (e.g. rotating/moving the FOV 90° to the left, right, up, or down).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the UAV with 360 degree LIDAR functionality of Bachrach, with the explicit structure/methodology the first rotation axis being aligned or parallel, to the axis along which the body extends as taught by Day, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the well-known benefits of using the deflector unit to image various angles that are desired to be imaged. As Day describes, (Paragraph [0483], Lines 26-29) “In some embodiments, front-end units 2210 or a component within front-end units 2210 may be rotatable so as to change a FOV of the unit (e.g. rotating/moving the FOV 90° to the left, right, up, or down).” Additionally, a UAV body which explicitly extends from front to back in the same manner the vehicle of Day extends front to back, as opposed to the more circular body extension of Bachrach, is an extremely well-known configuration in the art. (See for example Figure 1A of Gohl et al. (US 9,630,714 B1))
Claim 6 Discloses:
“The UAV according to claim 1, the radiation source including an array of single emitting radiation sources.”
Bachrach does not explicitly teach the radiation source including an array of single emitting radiation sources.
It would have been obvious to arrive at the totality of the preceding limitations in light of Day.
Day teaches, (Paragraph [0487], Lines 1-9) “a controllable light deflector (e.g., such as deflector 114) of a LIDAR front-end unit may include any structures or components suitable for directing light to a LIDAR field of view. In some embodiments, the light deflector may include a MEMS mirror. In some embodiments, the light deflector may include an optical phased array (OPA), a mechanical mirror, a rotatable polygon prism, a crystal, or any other form of controllable deflector.”
Day additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0125], Lines 1-7) “FIG. 2B illustrates an example of a monostatic configuration of LIDAR system 100 including a plurality projecting units 102. The term “monostatic configuration” broadly refers to LIDAR system configurations in which the projected light exiting from the LIDAR system and the reflected light entering the LIDAR system pass through substantially similar optical paths.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the UAV with 360 degree LIDAR functionality of Bachrach, with the explicit structure/methodology of the radiation source including an array of single emitting radiation sources as taught by Day, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of scanning a broader field of view with multiple emitting sources, rather than a singular emitting source. As Day describes, (Paragraph [0126], Lines 3-10) “In one embodiment, the plurality of light sources 112 (including two or more light sources) may project light with substantially the same wavelength and each light source 112 is generally associated with a differing area of the field of view (denoted in the figure as 120A, 120B, and 120C). This enables scanning of a broader field of view than can be achieved with a light source 112.”
Claim 7 Discloses:
“The UAV according to claim 6, the radiation source being configured to emit by the single emitting radiation sources radiation combining into the distance measurement radiation according to the phased array principle.”
Day teaches, (Paragraph [0487], Lines 1-9) “a controllable light deflector (e.g., such as deflector 114) of a LIDAR front-end unit may include any structures or components suitable for directing light to a LIDAR field of view. In some embodiments, the light deflector may include a MEMS mirror. In some embodiments, the light deflector may include an optical phased array (OPA), a mechanical mirror, a rotatable polygon prism, a crystal, or any other form of controllable deflector,” and that, (Paragraph [0487], Lines 27-31) “Each deflector deployed in a front-end unit may include one or more light deflectors. In some embodiments, each light deflector associated with each front-end unit may include an array of light deflectors.”
Day additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0156], Lines 7-15) “processing unit 108 may analyze reflected light 206 to determine the average power across an entire return pulse, and the photon distribution/signal may be determined over the return pulse period (“pulse shape”). In the illustrated example, the outputs of any detection elements 402 may not be transmitted directly to processor 408, but rather combined (e.g. summed) with signals of other detectors of the region 404 before being passed to processor 408.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the UAV with 360 degree LIDAR functionality of Bachrach, with the explicit structure/methodology the radiation source being configured to emit by the single emitting radiation sources radiation combining into the distance measurement radiation according to the phased array principle as taught by Day, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of a more accurate LIDAR detection. As Day describes, (Paragraph [0433], Lines 9-12) “Each projected light pulse may result in a corresponding received reflected light pulse at the sensor. In turn, each received reflected light pulse may result in a discrete, observable sensor pixel,” and that, (Paragraph [0409]) “input signals corresponding to sensor pixel outputs all acquired from a particular region of the LIDAR FOV (e.g., FOV pixel C4 in FIG. 19B) may be binned together … individually, the sensor pixel outputs may each fall below a detection threshold, may exhibit poor signal to noise ratios, or exhibit another characteristic rendering a positive detection determination or an accurate range determination to be difficult or impossible. In such cases, sensor pixel outputs may be binned together, and the sensor pixel outputs may be summed, for example. Binning sensor pixel outputs by summing, for example, may result in a combined output that exceeds a detection threshold, offers a better signal to noise ratio, enables more accurate ranging, etc.”
Claims 23-24 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bachrach in view of Wan et al. (US 2018/0186472 A1, hereinafter Wan)
Claim 23 Discloses:
“The UAV according to claim 22, the camera system including a plurality of cameras arranged peripherally at the UAV, with: each camera having a field of view with a fixed orientation in relation to the UAV and directed away from the UAV, one front camera facing forward, one top camera facing up, one bottom camera facing down, and at least one side camera facing sideways, wherein the cameras are arranged such that: each field of view overlaps to a predefined degree at least one adjacent field of view, and the camera system provides an all-round view to the physical environment.”
Bachrach teaches, (Paragraph [0021], Lines 8-13) “The FDA 100 as shown in FIG. 1 may include propulsion and control surfaces 110 (e.g. powered rotors) for maintaining controlled flight, sensors for automated navigation and flight control 112 (e.g. an omni-directional camera ball—described in more detail herein), sensors 114 for capturing images (including video),” and that in relation to Figure 6, (Paragraph [0044], Lines 1-5) “According to some embodiments, FDA 100 may comprise multiple high resolution image capture devices 602 (“cameras”) with spatial offsets from each other, thereby providing the capability to capture a full view of the world in all directions.”
Therefore, Bachrach portrays outwardly facing cameras which may serve under broadest reasonable interpretation as cameras facing forward and sideways.
However Bachrach does not explicitly teach the bottom camera facing down and the top camera facing up present in the preceding claim.
Wan does teach the bottom camera facing down and the top camera facing up.
Wan teaches, (Paragraph [0021], Lines 1-9) “In both exemplary UAVs, the 360-degree camera system comprises a top lens 212 coupled to a top camera 213 and mounted to a top portion of the UAV body 210 and a bottom lens 214 coupled to a bottom camera 215 and mounted to a bottom portion of the UAV body 210. In one embodiment, the top lens 212 and bottom lens 214 have angles of view α and β, respectively, and the collective angle of view for these lenses is equal to or greater than 360 degrees.”
Wan additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0022], Lines 1-4) “Once images are captured with the top lens 112 and the bottom lens 114, they are then stitched together to form a composite image showing the entire 360-degree spherical space surrounding the UAV 200.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the UAV system capable of generating an all-round view as taught by Bachrach, with the top and bottom cameras of Wan, in order to yield predictable results.
The rationale for combining the references would be to acquire top and bottom viewing angle of the UAV which could be applied to an all-round view. As Wan describes, (Paragraph [0021], Lines 5-9) “In one embodiment, the top lens 212 and bottom lens 214 have angles of view α and β, respectively, and the collective angle of view for these lenses is equal to or greater than 360 degrees.”
Claim 24 Discloses:
“The UAV according to claim 23, wherein: the front camera is mounted to one of the mounting structures, and the at least one side camera is mounted to one of the mounting structures of the UAV.”
Bachrach teaches in reference to Figure 6, (Paragraph [0044], Lines 1-5) “According to some embodiments, FDA 100 may comprise multiple high resolution image capture devices 602 (“cameras”) with spatial offsets from each other, thereby providing the capability to capture a full view of the world in all directions.”
Claim 26 Discloses:
“The UAV according to any of claims 23, wherein the directional distance measuring module is configured to measure a distance and direction to an object surface of the physical environment of the UAV, and at least part of which is within at least one field of view of a camera.”
Bachrach teaches, (Paragraph [0036], Lines 1-10) “According to some embodiments, computer vision may include remote sensing technologies such as laser illuminated detection and ranging (LIDAR or LIDAR). For example, an FDA 100 equipped with LIDAR may emit one or more laser beams in a continuous scan up to 360 degrees in all directions around the FDA 100. Light received by the FDA 100 as the laser beams reflect off physical objects in the surrounding physical world may be analyzed to construct a real time 3D computer model of the surrounding physical world,” wherein, (Paragraph [0037], Lines 1-7) “The computer vision-aided localization and navigation system described above may calculate the position and/or pose of features in the physical world in addition to the position and/or pose of the FDA 100 and/or PMD 104. The position of these features may then be fed into the navigation system such that motion trajectories may be planned that avoid obstacles,” and that, (Paragraph [0036], Lines 12-14) “Further, images captured by cameras (e.g., as described earlier) may be combined with the laser constructed 3D models.”
Bachrach additionally teaches in reference to Figure 6, (Paragraph [0044], Lines 1-5) “According to some embodiments, FDA 100 may comprise multiple high resolution image capture devices 602 (“cameras”) with spatial offsets from each other, thereby providing the capability to capture a full view of the world in all directions.”
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bachrach in view of Wan, further in view of Bry et al. (US 2021/0245860 A1, hereinafter Bry)
Claim 25 Discloses:
“The UAV according to claim 23, wherein at least one of the cameras is mounted at a mounting structure and a protective frame at a location where the protective frame is attached to the mounting structure.”
Bachrach and Wan do not explicitly teach wherein at least one of the cameras is mounted at a mounting structure and a protective frame at a location where the protective frame is attached to the mounting structure.
However it would have been obvious to arrive at the totality of the preceding limitations in light of Bry.
Bry is relevant to the Applicant’s disclosure due to teaching, (Paragraph [0004], Lines 1-2) “an example implementation of an autonomous unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV),” wherein, (Paragraph [0141]) “UAV system 1300 may also include one or more proximity sensors 1330… Proximity sensors 1330 may generally include remote sensing technology for proximity detection, range measurement, target identification, etc. For example, proximity sensors 1330 may include radar, sonar, and LIDAR.”
Regarding the limitations of Claim 25, Bry teaches, (Paragraph [0104], Lines 6-20) “To protect the image capture device from damage, a protective element can be added to offset the image capture device from any surface such as the ground. FIG. 8A shows a side view of an example assembly 813 that includes such a protective element. Specifically, the example assembly 813 includes an arm 803 and rotor housing 804 that houses a rotor 810 and a downward-facing image capture device 814 (e.g., similar to downward facing image capture device 314b of FIG. 3C). The example assembly 813 further includes a protective structural element 890 that is arranged along a surface of the UAV, for example, along a surface of housing 804 and/or rotor arm 803 in proximity to the image capture device 814 such that an outer surface of the image capture device 814 (e.g., a lens) does not contact a surface 880 (e.g., the ground) when the UAV contacts the surface 880.”
Bry additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0111], Lines 12-27) “As shown in FIG. 8D, UAV 800 includes multiple upward facing image capture devices 814a, 814b, and 814c. Image capture device 814a is arranged on a top surface at the end of a first rotor arm 819a, image capture device 814b is arranged on a top surface at the end of a second rotor arm 819b, and image capture device 814c is arranged on a top surface of a central body 821 of the UAV 800. Each image capture device includes a corresponding pair of protective structural elements similar to protective structural element 890 of FIG. 8A. Specifically, a first pair of protective structural elements 890a are arranged proximate to image capture device 814a, a second pair of protective structural elements 890b are arranged proximate to image capture device 814b, and a third pair of protective structural elements 890c are arranged proximate to image capture device 814c.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordain skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the UAV system capable of generating an all-round view as taught by Bachrach, with the top and bottom cameras of Wan, with the explicit structure/methodology wherein at least one of the cameras is mounted at a mounting structure and a protective frame at a location where the protective frame is attached to the mounting structure as taught by Bry, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the reference would yield the well-known benefits of providing protection from damage for the cameras located proximate to each rotor of the UAV. As Bry describes, (Paragraph [0104], Lines 6-20) “The example assembly 813 further includes a protective structural element 890 that is arranged along a surface of the UAV, for example, along a surface of housing 804 and/or rotor arm 803 in proximity to the image capture device 814 such that an outer surface of the image capture device 814 (e.g., a lens) does not contact a surface 880 (e.g., the ground) when the UAV contacts the surface 880.”
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER V GENTILE/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/KITO R ROBINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664