DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
An “and” is missing from between just before the last limitation of claims 4, 6, 13, and 14.
Appropriate correction is required, for instance,
Claim 4:
“The method of claim 1, wherein the first application is a messaging application, and the method further comprises, before displaying a representation of a content item:
receiving, by the messaging application, information identifying a plurality of content items as shared content, wherein each of the plurality of content items is of the first type; and
in response to receiving the information identifying the plurality of content items as shared content, displaying, within the second application, representations of the plurality of content items.”
Claim 6:
“The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the input highlighting the representation of the content item further comprises:
receiving a selection of the representation of the content item;
displaying a control menu that includes an affordance for highlighting the representation of the content item;
receiving a selection of the affordance for highlighting the representation of the content item; and
in response to receiving the selection of the affordance for highlighting the representation of the content item, displaying an indication that the representation of the content item has been highlighted.”
Claim 13:
“The method of claim 1, wherein the first application is a messaging application, and the method further comprises:
receiving, in a messaging conversation in the messaging application, information identifying the content item as shared content, wherein a request to share the content item is initiated from a remote messaging application on a remote electronic device;
receiving, in the messaging conversation, information identifying a plurality of content items as shared content, wherein each of the plurality of content items is of the first type;
in response to receiving the information identifying the plurality of content items as shared content, not making the plurality of content items automatically available for display within the second application;
receiving an additional input to highlight the representation of the content item; and
in response to the additional input, marking the content item as highlighted and making the content item available for display in the second application.
Claim 14:
“The method of claim 1, where the first application is a messaging application, and wherein the information identifying the content item as shared content is received in a first messaging conversation of a plurality of messaging conversations in the messaging application, the method further comprising:
receiving an additional input to display information about the first messaging conversation; and
displaying information about the first messaging conversation including an indication that the representation of the content item was highlighted.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 9, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0373415 A1 to Dellinger et al. in view of U.S. Pat. No. 7,783,980 B1 issued to Herold.
As to claim 1, Dellinger teaches a method, including: at an electronic device, the electronic device including a display generation component, and one or more input devices (Device 828), and memory (cloud storage):
displaying a representation of a content item in a first application (first application) of a plurality of applications (“…As shown in FIG. 5B, the transport interface 520 includes: a tags region 521, a local sharing affordance 515 provided to share the content item (e.g., the note in FIG. 5A) with one or more users (not shown) via a local interface (e.g., BLUETOOTH, NFC, WiFi, and/or the like) in response to selection thereof (e.g., with a tap/selection gesture), sharing affordances 512a, 512b, 512c, and 512d (sometimes collectively referred to herein as the “sharing affordances 512”) provided to share the content item (e.g., the note in FIG. 5A) via corresponding communication means (e.g., SMS, email, cloud storage, and others) in response to selection thereof (e.g., with a tap/selection gesture), operation affordances 514a, 514b, 514c, and 514d (sometimes collectively referred to herein as the “operation affordances 514”) provided to perform corresponding operations on the content item (e.g., the note in FIG. 5A) in response to selection thereof (e.g., with a tap/selection gesture), and a cancel affordance 516 provided to dismiss the transport interface 520 in response to selection thereof (e.g., with a tap/selection gesture)…In some embodiments, the device (828): detects, via the one or more input devices, a fifth input that corresponds to selection of a respective transport option affordance among the one or more transport option affordances (e.g., tap or click on the existing tag); and, in response to detecting the selection of the respective transport option affordance: in accordance with a determination that the respective transport option affordance corresponds to sharing the content item via a first application, causes the content item to be shared via the first application; and, in accordance with a determination that the respective transport option affordance corresponds to sharing the content item via a second application different from the first application, causes the content item to be shared via the second application…” paragraphs 0170/0273/0356), where the content item is of a first type (first application that corresponds to the sharing affordance 512a (e.g., a text messaging or SMS application));
while displaying the representation of the content item in the first application, receiving an input selection of the representation of the content item (with one or more users (not shown) via a local interface (e.g., BLUETOOTH, NFC, WiFi, and/or the like) in response to selection thereof (e.g., with a tap/selection gesture), sharing affordances 512a, 512b, 512c, and 512d (sometimes collectively referred to herein as the “sharing affordances 512”) provided to share the content item) (“…As shown in FIG. 5B, the transport interface 520 includes: a tags region 521, a local sharing affordance 515 provided to share the content item (e.g., the note in FIG. 5A) with one or more users (not shown) via a local interface (e.g., BLUETOOTH, NFC, WiFi, and/or the like) in response to selection thereof (e.g., with a tap/selection gesture), sharing affordances 512a, 512b, 512c, and 512d (sometimes collectively referred to herein as the “sharing affordances 512”) provided to share the content item (e.g., the note in FIG. 5A) via corresponding communication means (e.g., SMS, email, cloud storage, and others) in response to selection thereof (e.g., with a tap/selection gesture), operation affordances 514a, 514b, 514c, and 514d (sometimes collectively referred to herein as the “operation affordances 514”) provided to perform corresponding operations on the content item (e.g., the note in FIG. 5A) in response to selection thereof (e.g., with a tap/selection gesture), and a cancel affordance 516 provided to dismiss the transport interface 520 in response to selection thereof (e.g., with a tap/selection gesture)…” paragraphs 0170/0184/0356);
receiving an instruction to display a second application that is associated with content of the first type (a second application different from the first application) (“…In some embodiments, the device (828): detects, via the one or more input devices, a fifth input that corresponds to selection of a respective transport option affordance among the one or more transport option affordances (e.g., tap or click on the existing tag); and, in response to detecting the selection of the respective transport option affordance: in accordance with a determination that the respective transport option affordance corresponds to sharing the content item via a first application, causes the content item to be shared via the first application; and, in accordance with a determination that the respective transport option affordance corresponds to sharing the content item via a second application different from the first application, causes the content item to be shared via the second application…As one example, with reference to FIG. 5B, in response to selection of the sharing affordance 512a within the transport interface 520 (not shown), the device 100 causes the content item (e.g., the note in FIG. 5A) to be shared by a first application that corresponds to the sharing affordance 512a (e.g., a text messaging or SMS application). As another example, with reference to FIG. 5B, in response to selection of the sharing affordance 512b within the transport interface 520 (not shown), the device 100 causes the content item (e.g., the note in FIG. 5A) to be shared by a second application that corresponds to the sharing affordance 512b (e.g., an email application)….” paragraphs 0273/0274/0356); and
in response to receiving the instruction, displaying a representation of the content item in the second application (“…In some embodiments, the device (828): detects, via the one or more input devices, a fifth input that corresponds to selection of a respective transport option affordance among the one or more transport option affordances (e.g., tap or click on the existing tag); and, in response to detecting the selection of the respective transport option affordance: in accordance with a determination that the respective transport option affordance corresponds to sharing the content item via a first application, causes the content item to be shared via the first application; and, in accordance with a determination that the respective transport option affordance corresponds to sharing the content item via a second application different from the first application, causes the content item to be shared via the second application…As one example, with reference to FIG. 5B, in response to selection of the sharing affordance 512a within the transport interface 520 (not shown), the device 100 causes the content item (e.g., the note in FIG. 5A) to be shared by a first application that corresponds to the sharing affordance 512a (e.g., a text messaging or SMS application). As another example, with reference to FIG. 5B, in response to selection of the sharing affordance 512b within the transport interface 520 (not shown), the device 100 causes the content item (e.g., the note in FIG. 5A) to be shared by a second application that corresponds to the sharing affordance 512b (e.g., an email application)….” paragraphs 0273/0274/0356).
Dellinger does not explicitly teach while displaying the representation of the content item in the first application, receiving an input highlighting the representation of the content item.
Herold teaches displaying the representation of the content item in the first application, receiving an input highlighting the representation of the content item (The owner selects the items in the list to share by highlighting the items' display box 700A, 700B or 700E.) (“…The user interface 700 also includes identity window 750 that enables the user to share the user's "My Keepers" list with any of the user's friends (other users) listed in identity window 750. Each friend 750A-750E shown in the identity window 750 has a corresponding identity check box 751A-751E. To share an item in the "My Keepers" list with particular friends in the identity window 750, the owner of the "My Keepers" list selects the check box 751A-751E corresponding to the particular friends and selects the keepers that are to be shared…The owner selects the items in the list to share by highlighting the items' display box 700A, 700B or 700E. In this example, the owner of the "My Keepers" list has indicated that the keepers 700A and 700B (which are highlighted relative to display window 700E, as shown by the relative thickness of the border line around each display window) are to be shared with users 750A, 750B and 750E. The notes associated with each of the keepers 700A and 700B are to be shared, as shown by the note check boxes 736A and 736B being checked. In this example, the user has indicated that friends 750A, 750C and 750E are permitted to access keepers 700A and 700B and notes associated with each of the keepers 700A and 700B…” Col. 13, Ln. 51-67, Col. 14 Ln. 1-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Dellinger with the teaching of Herold because the teaching of Herold would improve the system of Dellinger by providing a technique for allowing users to visually select option(s) to action or activity to be carried out.
As to claim 3, Dellinger teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first application is a messaging application available on the electronic device (first application that corresponds to the sharing affordance 512a (e.g., a text messaging or SMS application)), and the method further comprises, before displaying a representation of a content item:
receiving, by the messaging application, the content item (“…As one example, with reference to FIG. 5B, in response to selection of the sharing affordance 512a within the transport interface 520 (not shown), the device 100 causes the content item (e.g., the note in FIG. 5A) to be shared by a first application that corresponds to the sharing affordance 512a (e.g., a text messaging or SMS application). As another example, with reference to FIG. 5B, in response to selection of the sharing affordance 512b within the transport interface 520 (not shown), the device 100 causes the content item (e.g., the note in FIG. 5A) to be shared by a second application that corresponds to the sharing affordance 512b (e.g., an email application)….” Paragraph 0274).
As to claim 4, Dellinger teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first application is a messaging application, and the method further comprises, before displaying a representation of a content item:
receiving, by the messaging application, information identifying a plurality of content items as shared content, wherein each of the plurality of content items is of the first type (Sharing Affordance 512a);
in response to receiving the information identifying the plurality of content items as shared content, displaying, within the second application, representations of the plurality of content items (“…In some embodiments, the device (828): detects, via the one or more input devices, a fifth input that corresponds to selection of a respective transport option affordance among the one or more transport option affordances (e.g., tap or click on the existing tag); and, in response to detecting the selection of the respective transport option affordance: in accordance with a determination that the respective transport option affordance corresponds to sharing the content item via a first application, causes the content item to be shared via the first application; and, in accordance with a determination that the respective transport option affordance corresponds to sharing the content item via a second application different from the first application, causes the content item to be shared via the second application…As one example, with reference to FIG. 5B, in response to selection of the sharing affordance 512a within the transport interface 520 (not shown), the device 100 causes the content item (e.g., the note in FIG. 5A) to be shared by a first application that corresponds to the sharing affordance 512a (e.g., a text messaging or SMS application). As another example, with reference to FIG. 5B, in response to selection of the sharing affordance 512b within the transport interface 520 (not shown), the device 100 causes the content item (e.g., the note in FIG. 5A) to be shared by a second application that corresponds to the sharing affordance 512b (e.g., an email application)….” paragraphs 0273/0274).
As to claim 6, Dellinger teaches the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the input highlighting the representation of the content item further comprises:
receiving a selection of the representation of the content item (Sharing Affordance 512a/b/514);
displaying a control menu that includes an affordance for highlighting the representation of the content item (Transport Interface 520);
receiving a selection of the affordance for highlighting the representation of the content item (Sharing Affordance 512a/b/514);
in response to receiving the selection of the affordance for highlighting the representation of the content item, displaying an indication that the representation of the content item has been highlighted (Transport Interface 520) (“…In some embodiments, the device (828): detects, via the one or more input devices, a fifth input that corresponds to selection of a respective transport option affordance among the one or more transport option affordances (e.g., tap or click on the existing tag); and, in response to detecting the selection of the respective transport option affordance: in accordance with a determination that the respective transport option affordance corresponds to sharing the content item via a first application, causes the content item to be shared via the first application; and, in accordance with a determination that the respective transport option affordance corresponds to sharing the content item via a second application different from the first application, causes the content item to be shared via the second application…As one example, with reference to FIG. 5B, in response to selection of the sharing affordance 512a within the transport interface 520 (not shown), the device 100 causes the content item (e.g., the note in FIG. 5A) to be shared by a first application that corresponds to the sharing affordance 512a (e.g., a text messaging or SMS application). As another example, with reference to FIG. 5B, in response to selection of the sharing affordance 512b within the transport interface 520 (not shown), the device 100 causes the content item (e.g., the note in FIG. 5A) to be shared by a second application that corresponds to the sharing affordance 512b (e.g., an email application)…As yet another example, with reference to FIG. 5B, in response to selection of the operation affordance 514a within the transport interface 520 (not shown), the device 100 causes a first operation that corresponds to the operation affordance 514a (e.g., a copy operation) to be performed on the content item (e.g., the note in FIG. 5A). As yet another example, with reference to FIG. 5B, in response to selection of the operation affordance 514c within the transport interface 520 (not shown), the device 100 causes a second operation that corresponds to the operation affordance 514c (e.g., a print operation) to be performed on the content item (e.g., the note in FIG. 5A)…” paragraphs 0273-0275).
As to claim 9, Dellinger teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first application is a messaging application, the method further comprising, prior to displaying a representation of a content item:
receiving, by the messaging application, information identifying the content items as shared content (“…As one example, with reference to FIG. 5B, in response to selection of the sharing affordance 512a within the transport interface 520 (not shown), the device 100 causes the content item (e.g., the note in FIG. 5A) to be shared by a first application that corresponds to the sharing affordance 512a (e.g., a text messaging or SMS application). As another example, with reference to FIG. 5B, in response to selection of the sharing affordance 512b within the transport interface 520 (not shown), the device 100 causes the content item (e.g., the note in FIG. 5A) to be shared by a second application that corresponds to the sharing affordance 512b (e.g., an email application)….” Paragraph 0274); and
in response to receiving the information, not making the content item automatically available for display within the second application (sets privileges (e.g., read and/or write access) for each of the users in the group of users) (“…As shown in FIG. 6L, the collaborative-items region 692 includes content item representations 694a, 694b, 694c, 694d, 694e, 694f, and 694g (sometimes collectively referred to herein as the “representations 694”). In some embodiments, the representations 694 correspond to content items that are jointly accessible to other users. In some embodiments, the other users correspond to members of a group of users (e.g., a collaboration or project group). For example, the group of users is selected by a project leader or administrator. For example, the project leader or administrator also sets privileges (e.g., read and/or write access) for each of the users in the group of users…” paragraph 0287).
As to claim 16, Herold teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising, in response to receiving the input: displaying a set of controls, including the control for highlighting the content item (“…The user interface 700 also includes identity window 750 that enables the user to share the user's "My Keepers" list with any of the user's friends (other users) listed in identity window 750. Each friend 750A-750E shown in the identity window 750 has a corresponding identity check box 751A-751E. To share an item in the "My Keepers" list with particular friends in the identity window 750, the owner of the "My Keepers" list selects the check box 751A-751E corresponding to the particular friends and selects the keepers that are to be shared…The owner selects the items in the list to share by highlighting the items' display box 700A, 700B or 700E. In this example, the owner of the "My Keepers" list has indicated that the keepers 700A and 700B (which are highlighted relative to display window 700E, as shown by the relative thickness of the border line around each display window) are to be shared with users 750A, 750B and 750E. The notes associated with each of the keepers 700A and 700B are to be shared, as shown by the note check boxes 736A and 736B being checked. In this example, the user has indicated that friends 750A, 750C and 750E are permitted to access keepers 700A and 700B and notes associated with each of the keepers 700A and 700B…” Col. 13, Ln. 51-67, Col. 14 Ln. 1-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Dellinger with the teaching of Herold because the teaching of Herold would improve the system of Dellinger by providing a technique for allowing users to visually select option(s) to action or activity to be carried out.
As to claim 18, Herold teaches the method of claim 1, wherein highlighting the representation of the content item in the first application comprises marking the representation in the first application to indicate that the content item is highlighted (“…The user interface 700 also includes identity window 750 that enables the user to share the user's "My Keepers" list with any of the user's friends (other users) listed in identity window 750. Each friend 750A-750E shown in the identity window 750 has a corresponding identity check box 751A-751E. To share an item in the "My Keepers" list with particular friends in the identity window 750, the owner of the "My Keepers" list selects the check box 751A-751E corresponding to the particular friends and selects the keepers that are to be shared…The owner selects the items in the list to share by highlighting the items' display box 700A, 700B or 700E. In this example, the owner of the "My Keepers" list has indicated that the keepers 700A and 700B (which are highlighted relative to display window 700E, as shown by the relative thickness of the border line around each display window) are to be shared with users 750A, 750B and 750E. The notes associated with each of the keepers 700A and 700B are to be shared, as shown by the note check boxes 736A and 736B being checked. In this example, the user has indicated that friends 750A, 750C and 750E are permitted to access keepers 700A and 700B and notes associated with each of the keepers 700A and 700B…” Col. 13, Ln. 51-67, Col. 14 Ln. 1-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Dellinger with the teaching of Herold because the teaching of Herold would improve the system of Dellinger by providing a technique for allowing users to visually select option(s) to action or activity to be carried out.
As to claims 19 and 20, see the rejection of claim 1 expect for a display generation component;
one or more input devices;
one or more processors; and
memory storing one or more programs and a computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs
Dellinger teaches a display generation component (Touch-Sensitive Display System 112);
one or more input devices (Touch-Sensitive Display System 112);
one or more processors (Processor(s) 122); and
memory storing one or more programs and a computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs (Memory 102).
Claims 2 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0373415 A1 to Dellinger et al. in view of U.S. Pat. No. 7,783,980 B1 issued to Herold as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Pat. No. 10,120,541 B2 issued to Shaw et al.
As to claim 2, Dellinger teaches the method of claim 1, the second application is different from the first application (“… As one example, with reference to FIG. 5B, in response to selection of the sharing affordance 512a within the transport interface 520 (not shown), the device 100 causes the content item (e.g., the note in FIG. 5A) to be shared by a first application that corresponds to the sharing affordance 512a (e.g., a text messaging or SMS application). As another example, with reference to FIG. 5B, in response to selection of the sharing affordance 512b within the transport interface 520 (not shown), the device 100 causes the content item (e.g., the note in FIG. 5A) to be shared by a second application that corresponds to the sharing affordance 512b (e.g., an email application)…” paragraph 0274).
Shaw teaches wherein the first application (photos application) is not associated with content of the first type (audio file) (“…The device detects (716) activation of a respective option of the plurality of options for responding to the sharing request. FIG. 5V, for example, shows device 100-2 detecting selection of “accept” affordance 558b included in confirmation dialog 557. In accordance with a determination that the respective option is an option to accept the sharing request, the device identifies (718) one or more applications that are compatible with the respective content, and the device performs a preparatory operation that prepares the device to display the respective content on the display using an application that is compatible with the respective content. For example, in response to detecting selection of “accept” affordance 558b in FIG. 5V, device 100-2 identifies one or more applications compatible with the shared content (e.g., a photos application able to present photographs 513a and 513b shared by Jenny) and performs a preparatory operation that prepares the device to display the respective content on the display using an application that is compatible with the respective content (e.g., receives (or downloads) photographs 513a and 513b for presentation in the photos application)…FIG. 5EE, for example, shows device 100-2 displaying installation prompt dialog 580 on user interface 475 in response to receiving a sharing request. In FIG. 5EE, for example, installation prompt dialog 580 includes text indicating that a user different from the user of device 100-2 (e.g., a user named Jenny associated with device 100-1) is attempting to share an audio file (e.g., a file entitled “Essential_Mix.flac”) with the user of device 100-2…” Col. 45 Ln. 14-34, 48-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Dellinger and Herold with the teaching of Shaw because the teaching of Shaw would improve the system of Dellinger and Herold by providing a technique for sharing content items of varying file types and agnostic to the sharing/sending application.
As to claim 17, Dellinger as modified by Herold teaches the method of claim 1, however it silent with reference to wherein the second application is a music application, a photos application, or a video application.
Shaw teaches wherein the second application is a music application, a photos application, or a video application (Application-Selection Interface 562) (“…FIG. 5Y illustrates displaying application-selection interface 562 on user interface 475 in response to completion of downloading the shared content. In FIG. 5Y, application-selection interface 562 includes affordances 563 for selecting a respective application in which to present (or launch) the shared content from a plurality of applications compatible with the shared content. In FIG. 5Y, for example, application-selection interface 562 includes a “photos” affordance 563a, which, when activated, causes the device to present the shared content in the photos application, a “third party photo app 1” affordance 563b, which, when activated, causes the device to present the shared content in third party photo application 1, a “third party photo app 2” affordance 563c, which, when activated, causes the device to present the shared content in third party photo application 2, and a “third party photo app 3” affordance 563d, which, when activated, causes the device to present the shared content in third party photo application 3. FIG. 5Y also illustrates selection of “Photos” affordance 563a with contact 564 on touch screen 112. In some embodiments, application-selection interface 562 is displayed in user interface 475 the first time a file type is downloaded, and, thereafter, downloads of the same file type use the application selected the first time the file type was downloaded…” Col. 30 Ln. 48-67, Col. 31 Ln. 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Dellinger and Herold with the teaching of Shaw because the teaching of Shaw would improve the system of Dellinger and Herold by providing an application-selection interface for selecting varying number of application for sharing content items.
Claims 5, 7, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0373415 A1 to Dellinger et al. in view of U.S. Pat. No. 7,783,980 B1 issued to Herold as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of W.O. No. 2015165023 A1 to XU.
As to claim 5, Dellinger teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the representations of the plurality of content items is not marked as highlighted in the second application, wherein displaying, in the second application, the representation of the content item and the representations of the plurality of content items further comprises:
displaying, in the second application, the representation of the content item and the representations of the plurality of content items in the second application, where the representation of the content item that was highlighted is displayed first (“…In some embodiments, the device (828): detects, via the one or more input devices, a fifth input that corresponds to selection of a respective transport option affordance among the one or more transport option affordances (e.g., tap or click on the existing tag); and, in response to detecting the selection of the respective transport option affordance: in accordance with a determination that the respective transport option affordance corresponds to sharing the content item via a first application, causes the content item to be shared via the first application; and, in accordance with a determination that the respective transport option affordance corresponds to sharing the content item via a second application different from the first application, causes the content item to be shared via the second application…As one example, with reference to FIG. 5B, in response to selection of the sharing affordance 512a within the transport interface 520 (not shown), the device 100 causes the content item (e.g., the note in FIG. 5A) to be shared by a first application that corresponds to the sharing affordance 512a (e.g., a text messaging or SMS application). As another example, with reference to FIG. 5B, in response to selection of the sharing affordance 512b within the transport interface 520 (not shown), the device 100 causes the content item (e.g., the note in FIG. 5A) to be shared by a second application that corresponds to the sharing affordance 512b (e.g., an email application)….” paragraphs 0273/0274).
Dellinger as modified by Herold does not teach displaying, in the second application, the representation of the content item and the representations of the plurality of content items in a dedicated section
XU teaches displaying, in the second application, the representation of the content item and the representations of the plurality of content items in a dedicated section (use description information of a boundary of the input area as the attention) (“…It should be noted that the sending device may first determine an input area centered on the cursor position in the screen sharing image as the attention area, and use description information of a boundary of the input area as the attention. Description of the area; can also directly send the coordinates of the cursor position And sending the receiving device to indicate that the area where the cursor position is centered is the attention area (ie, the area of interest of the user of the transmitting device), without explicitly determining the attention area.
Embodiment 3: The transmitting device uses, as the attention area, an area in which an image content that is updated in an image displayed in the shared area is located, and acquires information for describing an area in which the image content is located as the attention area. Description. For example, if the shared area on the screen of the current sending device is playing a video, only the content of the playing area in the shared area changes, and the content of the area for displaying the player menu in the shared area is unchanged. Then, the play area can be determined as the attention area. Step 230: The sending device sends the screen sharing image and image auxiliary information to the receiving device, where the image auxiliary information includes description information of the attention area. In a specific implementation, the sending device encapsulates the content of the screen sharing image and the description information of the attention area into the data frame shared by the screen, and sends the data frame to the receiving device. The description information of the attention area may be encapsulated in a frame header of the data frame, or may be encapsulated in the frame data of the data frame, for example, encapsulated in front of the screen shared image in the frame data, as shown in the following table…Step 240: The receiving device determines, in the screen sharing image, an area to be displayed including at least a part of the attention area according to the description information…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Dellinger and Herold with the teaching of XU because the teaching of XU would improve the system of Dellinger and Herold by providing a technique for managing and dedicating a specific area for displaying information.
As to claim 7, Dellinger as modified by Herold teaches the method of claim 6, however is silent with reference to while displaying a user interface of the second application, automatically displaying the highlighted content item and a highlight indicator associated with the content item, the highlighter indicator indicating that the content item has been highlighted.
XU teaches while displaying a user interface of the second application, automatically displaying the highlighted content item and a highlight indicator associated with the content item, the highlighter indicator indicating that the content item has been highlighted (use description information of a boundary of the input area as the attention) (“…It should be noted that the sending device may first determine an input area centered on the cursor position in the screen sharing image as the attention area, and use description information of a boundary of the input area as the attention. Description of the area; can also directly send the coordinates of the cursor position And sending the receiving device to indicate that the area where the cursor position is centered is the attention area (ie, the area of interest of the user of the transmitting device), without explicitly determining the attention area.
Embodiment 3: The transmitting device uses, as the attention area, an area in which an image content that is updated in an image displayed in the shared area is located, and acquires information for describing an area in which the image content is located as the attention area. Description. For example, if the shared area on the screen of the current sending device is playing a video, only the content of the playing area in the shared area changes, and the content of the area for displaying the player menu in the shared area is unchanged. Then, the play area can be determined as the attention area. Step 230: The sending device sends the screen sharing image and image auxiliary information to the receiving device, where the image auxiliary information includes description information of the attention area. In a specific implementation, the sending device encapsulates the content of the screen sharing image and the description information of the attention area into the data frame shared by the screen, and sends the data frame to the receiving device. The description information of the attention area may be encapsulated in a frame header of the data frame, or may be encapsulated in the frame data of the data frame, for example, encapsulated in front of the screen shared image in the frame data, as shown in the following table…Step 240: The receiving device determines, in the screen sharing image, an area to be displayed including at least a part of the attention area according to the description information…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Dellinger and Herold with the teaching of XU because the teaching of XU would improve the system of Dellinger and Herold by providing a technique for managing and dedicating a specific area for displaying information.
As to claim 8, Dellinger as modified by Herold does not teach method of claim 7, however is silent with reference to wherein the highlighted content item and the highlight indicator are displayed in a dedicated section in the user interface of the second application, the dedicated section displaying other content items of the first type that are highlighted.
XU teaches wherein the highlighted content item and the highlight indicator are displayed in a dedicated section in the user interface of the second application, the dedicated section displaying other content items of the first type that are highlighted (use description information of a boundary of the input area as the attention) (“…It should be noted that the sending device may first determine an input area centered on the cursor position in the screen sharing image as the attention area, and use description information of a boundary of the input area as the attention. Description of the area; can also directly send the coordinates of the cursor position And sending the receiving device to indicate that the area where the cursor position is centered is the attention area (ie, the area of interest of the user of the transmitting device), without explicitly determining the attention area.
Embodiment 3: The transmitting device uses, as the attention area, an area in which an image content that is updated in an image displayed in the shared area is located, and acquires information for describing an area in which the image content is located as the attention area. Description. For example, if the shared area on the screen of the current sending device is playing a video, only the content of the playing area in the shared area changes, and the content of the area for displaying the player menu in the shared area is unchanged. Then, the play area can be determined as the attention area. Step 230: The sending device sends the screen sharing image and image auxiliary information to the receiving device, where the image auxiliary information includes description information of the attention area. In a specific implementation, the sending device encapsulates the content of the screen sharing image and the description information of the attention area into the data frame shared by the screen, and sends the data frame to the receiving device. The description information of the attention area may be encapsulated in a frame header of the data frame, or may be encapsulated in the frame data of the data frame, for example, encapsulated in front of the screen shared image in the frame data, as shown in the following table…Step 240: The receiving device determines, in the screen sharing image, an area to be displayed including at least a part of the attention area according to the description information…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Dellinger and Herold with the teaching of XU because the teaching of XU would improve the system of Dellinger and Herold by providing a technique for managing and dedicating a specific area for displaying information.
As to claim 10, Dellinger as modified by Herold teaches the method of claim 1, however it is silent with reference to wherein:
the representation of the content item is displayed in a shared content section of a plurality of sections of the second application; and
the representation of the content item is displayed in a highlighted section of a plurality of sections of the second application indicating that the content item was highlighted.
XU teaches wherein:
the representation of the content item is displayed in a shared content section of a plurality of sections of the second application (use description information of a boundary of the input area as the attention); and
the representation of the content item is displayed in a highlighted section of a plurality of sections of the second application indicating that the content item was highlighted (use description information of a boundary of the input area as the attention) (“…It should be noted that the sending device may first determine an input area centered on the cursor position in the screen sharing image as the attention area, and use description information of a boundary of the input area as the attention. Description of the area; can also directly send the coordinates of the cursor position And sending the receiving device to indicate that the area where the cursor position is centered is the attention area (ie, the area of interest of the user of the transmitting device), without explicitly determining the attention area.
Embodiment 3: The transmitting device uses, as the attention area, an area in which an image content that is updated in an image displayed in the shared area is located, and acquires information for describing an area in which the image content is located as the attention area. Description. For example, if the shared area on the screen of the current sending device is playing a video, only the content of the playing area in the shared area changes, and the content of the area for displaying the player menu in the shared area is unchanged. Then, the play area can be determined as the attention area. Step 230: The sending device sends the screen sharing image and image auxiliary information to the receiving device, where the image auxiliary information includes description information of the attention area. In a specific implementation, the sending device encapsulates the content of the screen sharing image and the description information of the attention area into the data frame shared by the screen, and sends the data frame to the receiving device. The description information of the attention area may be encapsulated in a frame header of the data frame, or may be encapsulated in the frame data of the data frame, for example, encapsulated in front of the screen shared image in the frame data, as shown in the following table…Step 240: The receiving device determines, in the screen sharing image, an area to be displayed including at least a part of the attention area according to the description information…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Dellinger and Herold with the teaching of XU because the teaching of XU would improve the system of Dellinger and Herold by providing a technique for managing and dedicating a specific area for displaying information.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0373415 A1 to Dellinger et al. in view of U.S. Pat. No. 7,783,980 B1 issued to Herold as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0337276 A1 to Nelson et al.
As to claim 11, Delinger as modified by Herold teaches the method of claim 1, however it is silent with reference to wherein the first application is a messaging application, and the method further comprises:
receiving a search request having search criteria;
in response to receiving the search request, concurrently displaying:
representations of one or more content items that are not marked as highlighted, and the representation of the content item that is marked as highlighted, wherein the representation of the content item that is marked as highlighted appears more prominently as compared to the representations of one or more content items that are not marked as highlighted.
Nelson teaches wherein the first application is a messaging application (messaging application), and the method further comprises:
receiving a search request having search criteria (Search System 104/user can request (e.g., via a GUI element 1900, 1901 of FIGS. 19A-19B));
in response to receiving the search request, concurrently displaying (The messaging application may display the historical items in chronological order in some implementations. Although the historical items may be placed in chronological order, the items may be placed in other locations in the messaging application. In some implementations, the historical items (e.g., cards) in the messaging session can be organized according to metadata associated with the historical items, such as by category, product type, action (e.g., cards for movie tickets, cards for buying clothes, cards for buying shoes, etc.), or in another way. In these cases, the user can browse through the historical items (e.g., cards) by selecting the category, product type, action, or other organization unit and/or by swiping through the items (e.g., left/right/up/down)/ At 2208, the messaging application displays the historical items in the messaging session. At 2210, the messaging application responds to user interaction with the historical items, such as swiping of the historical items (e.g., left/right/up/down), searching of the historical items (e.g., FIG. 16), and selection of the historical items. For example, the user device 100-1 may launch the session application referenced in the historical item to the state represented by the historical item in response to user selection of the historical item):
representations of one or more content items that are not marked as highlighted, and the representation of the content item that is marked as highlighted, wherein the representation of the content item that is marked as highlighted appears more prominently as compared to the representations of one or more content items that are not marked as highlighted (historical items) (“…In some implementations, the messaging application may insert historical items at the explicit request of the user. For example, the user can request (e.g., via a GUI element 1900, 1901 of FIGS. 19A-19B) that the historical items be included in the messaging session. In response to selection of the GUI element (e.g., 1900, 1901), the messaging application may retrieve the historical items. In some implementations, the GUI element (e.g., 1900, 1901) may be used to make a general request for historical items. A general request for historical items may be a request for all relevant historical items (e.g., all historical items for the application contact). With respect to FIGS. 19A-19B, a general request for historical items may be a request for any historical items for the ZAPPOS!® application. In some implementations, the GUI element may be configured to receive a user's request for historical items of a specific category. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 19B, the user may interact with the GUI element 1901 in order to request that specific categories of historical items be included in the messaging session (e.g., shared, purchased, customer service, or clicked historical items). A category of historical item may refer to a subset of the general historical items that may be retrieved and inserted into the messaging session. Example categories of historical items may include, but are not limited to, a shared category (e.g., items shared with a personal contact or on a social network), a purchased category (e.g., items purchased by the user), a customer service category (e.g., items associated with the application contact's customer service), a clicked category (e.g., historical items interacted with by the user, such as an advertisement or link), an item type category (e.g., a type of product in an item, such as shoes, shirts, pants, etc.), and a vendor category (e.g., a vendor name such as NIKE®). Categorical selection of historical items can help improve user experience by limiting the display of historical items to those categories in which the user is interested. In some implementations, the user may interact with the GUI element 1900, 1901 in different manners in order to make the general/categorical selection. For example, the user may double tap the history GUI 1901 in order to select a general historical request. In this example, the user may single tap the history GUI 1901 to access a drop down menu from which categories may be selected. In some cases, selecting a category may cause the user device 100-1 to download all the general historical items locally to the user device 100-1 and then limit the display of the historical items to the selected category…The messaging application may display the historical items in chronological order in some implementations. Although the historical items may be placed in chronological order, the items may be placed in other locations in the messaging application. In some implementations, the historical items (e.g., cards) in the messaging session can be organized according to metadata associated with the historical items, such as by category, product type, action (e.g., cards for movie tickets, cards for buying clothes, cards for buying shoes, etc.), or in another way. In these cases, the user can browse through the historical items (e.g., cards) by selecting the category, product type, action, or other organization unit and/or by swiping through the items (e.g., left/right/up/down)…” paragraphs 0065-0070/0077).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Dellinger and Herold with the teaching of Nelson because the teaching of Nelson would improve the system of Dellinger and Herold by providing a search mechanism for search for and displaying historical content items for sharing.
As to claim 12, Delinger as modified by Herold teaches the method of claim 11, however it is silent with reference to wherein the search request is for content in one of the first application, the second application, or both the first and second applications.
Nelson teaches wherein the search request is for content in one of the first application, the second application, or both the first and second applications (messaging application) (“…In some implementations, the messaging application may insert historical items at the explicit request of the user. For example, the user can request (e.g., via a GUI element 1900, 1901 of FIGS. 19A-19B) that the historical items be included in the messaging session. In response to selection of the GUI element (e.g., 1900, 1901), the messaging application may retrieve the historical items. In some implementations, the GUI element (e.g., 1900, 1901) may be used to make a general request for historical items. A general request for historical items may be a request for all relevant historical items (e.g., all historical items for the application contact). With respect to FIGS. 19A-19B, a general request for historical items may be a request for any historical items for the ZAPPOS!® application. In some implementations, the GUI element may be configured to receive a user's request for historical items of a specific category. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 19B, the user may interact with the GUI element 1901 in order to request that specific categories of historical items be included in the messaging session (e.g., shared, purchased, customer service, or clicked historical items). A category of historical item may refer to a subset of the general historical items that may be retrieved and inserted into the messaging session. Example categories of historical items may include, but are not limited to, a shared category (e.g., items shared with a personal contact or on a social network), a purchased category (e.g., items purchased by the user), a customer service category (e.g., items associated with the application contact's customer service), a clicked category (e.g., historical items interacted with by the user, such as an advertisement or link), an item type category (e.g., a type of product in an item, such as shoes, shirts, pants, etc.), and a vendor category (e.g., a vendor name such as NIKE®). Categorical selection of historical items can help improve user experience by limiting the display of historical items to those categories in which the user is interested. In some implementations, the user may interact with the GUI element 1900, 1901 in different manners in order to make the general/categorical selection. For example, the user may double tap the history GUI 1901 in order to select a general historical request. In this example, the user may single tap the history GUI 1901 to access a drop down menu from which categories may be selected. In some cases, selecting a category may cause the user device 100-1 to download all the general historical items locally to the user device 100-1 and then limit the display of the historical items to the selected category…The messaging application may display the historical items in chronological order in some implementations. Although the historical items may be placed in chronological order, the items may be placed in other locations in the messaging application. In some implementations, the historical items (e.g., cards) in the messaging session can be organized according to metadata associated with the historical items, such as by category, product type, action (e.g., cards for movie tickets, cards for buying clothes, cards for buying shoes, etc.), or in another way. In these cases, the user can browse through the historical items (e.g., cards) by selecting the category, product type, action, or other organization unit and/or by swiping through the items (e.g., left/right/up/down)…” paragraphs 0065-0070/0077).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Dellinger and Herold with the teaching of Nelson because the teaching of Nelson would improve the system of Dellinger and Herold by providing a search mechanism for search for and displaying historical content items for sharing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The closest prior art of records, (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0373415 A1 to Dellinger et al., U.S. Pat. No. 10,120,541 B2 issued to Shaw et al. and U.S. Pat. No. 7,783,980 B1 issued to Herold), taken alone or in combination do not specifically disclose or suggest the claimed recitations (claims 13-15), when taken in the context of claims as a whole.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0291822 A1 to Ahuja et al. and directed to a method at a first electronic device with a display and an input device includes: displaying a message input area along with a graphical input stream in a first application, where the graphical input stream includes a source of predefined graphical images and a source for a coded character set.
/CHARLES E ANYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2194