1. This office action, in response to the amendment received 2/24/2026, is a final office action.
Response to Amendments and Arguments
2. The drawings were received on 2/24/2026. These drawings are unacceptable. The drawings do not overcome the previous drawing objection. As stated in the previous drawing objection, the drawings are objected to because the unlabeled rectangular boxes shown in the drawings, in figures 1 and 2, should be provided with descriptive text labels. Amended figures 1 and 2 do not recite descriptive text labels. The objection to the drawings is stated below.
3. Claim 18 is amended. The amendment to claim 18 has overcome the previous rejection of claim 18 under 35 USC 112. The previous rejection of claim 18 under 35 USC 112 is withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claim.
4. Applicant states the previously cited prior art does not disclose the limitations recited in claim 1 on page 9 of the remarks. The examiner disagrees. Wang discloses the systems shown in figures 1, 4 and 5 comprising a first device, an intelligent surface and a second device. Wang discloses multi-user equipment using adaptive phase changing devices as stated in the abstract. Paragraph 0015 discloses the reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) affects the phase, amplitude and coverage of the transformed signal. Thus modifying the surface configuration of the RIS changes how incident signals are transformed when they reflect off the RIS. Paragraph 0024 discloses the base station 120 configures an RIS of the adaptive phase changing device (APD) to direct how the RIS alters signal properties (e.g., direction, phase, spatial width, amplitude, polarization) of the wireless signal. As stated in the previous rejection of claim 1, Wang discloses the claimed invention. Wang discloses an intelligent reflection surface, comprising a plurality of array elements (Figure 5: reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) 180.), wherein each of the plurality of array elements is configured to:
when receiving a first signal sent by a first wireless device, send the first signal to a second wireless device (Figure 5: base station 120 sends a signal to RIS 180 which sends the signal to terminals 504, 506, 508 and 510.) based on an on/off state of an amplitude phase control circuit of the array element (Paragraph 0050: alternatively, the base station deactivates one or more (particular) configurable surface elements used by a preceding surface configuration (e.g., the first surface configuration), such by turning off every other surface configuration element in a row or column and/or turning off one or more perimeter configurable elements in the row and/or column.);
receive adjustment information sent by the first wireless device, wherein the adjustment information is sent by the first wireless device based on response of the second wireless device to the first signal (Figure 5. The terminals will communicate with the base station via signal 520 and from signaling through the RIS 180. Paragraph 0070: the base station 120 regroups the UEs based on various changes in an operating environment, such as respective UE-location changes, signal quality measurement changes, and/or link quality measurement changes among the group of UEs. Based on location changes and/or multicast transmissions to multiple UEs using an APD, the base station 120 directs the APD to apply one or more multi-UE communication surface configurations. As one example of a multi-UE-communication surface configuration that spatially widens the reflection of an incident wireless signal, a base station selects a surface configuration that spatially widens the reflection of an incident wireless signal, a base station selects a surface configuration that turns off some of the configurable surface elements. Since this is a regrouping, a previous grouping with a corresponding surface condition took place previously.);
adjust an on/off state of the amplitude phase control circuit of the array element based on the adjustment information; and when receiving a second signal sent by the first wireless device (Paragraph 0070: the base station 120 regroups the UEs based on various changes in an operating environment, such as respective UE-location changes, signal quality measurement changes, and/or link quality measurement changes among the group of UEs. Based on location changes and/or multicast transmissions to multiple UEs using an APD, the base station 120 directs the APD to apply one or more multi-UE communication surface configurations. As one example of a multi-UE-communication surface configuration that spatially widens the reflection of an incident wireless signal, a base station selects a surface configuration that spatially widens the reflection of an incident wireless signal, a base station selects a surface configuration that turns off some of the configurable surface elements.),
send the second signal to the second wireless device based on the adjusted on/off state of the array element (The communication will utilize the surface configuration that corresponds to the regrouping of the UEs and the location changes.).
Applicant states Wang fails to disclose at least the claimed closed loop based adjustment mechanism for adjusting the on/off state of the amplitude phase control of the array element, namely: sending a first signal based on an on/off state of the amplitude phase control circuit, receiving adjustment information that is based on a response to the first signal and adjusting the on/off state of the amplitude phase control circuit as stated on page 9 of the remarks. The examiner disagrees. As stated above and in the rejection of the claim stated below, Wang discloses the limitations as recited in claim 1. Wang discloses sending the first signal to a second wireless device (Figure 5: base station 120 sends a signal to RIS 180 which sends the signal to terminals 504, 506, 508 and 510.) based on an on/off state of an amplitude phase control circuit of the array element (Paragraph 0050: alternatively, the base station deactivates one or more (particular) configurable surface elements used by a preceding surface configuration (e.g., the first surface configuration), such by turning off every other surface configuration element in a row or column and/or turning off one or more perimeter configurable elements in the row and/or column.); receiving adjustment information sent by the first wireless device, wherein the adjustment information is sent by the first wireless device based on response of the second wireless device to the first signal (Figure 5. The terminals will communicate with the base station via signal 520 and from signaling through the RIS 180. Paragraph 0070: the base station 120 regroups the UEs based on various changes in an operating environment, such as respective UE-location changes, signal quality measurement changes, and/or link quality measurement changes among the group of UEs. Based on location changes and/or multicast transmissions to multiple UEs using an APD, the base station 120 directs the APD to apply one or more multi-UE communication surface configurations. As one example of a multi-UE-communication surface configuration that spatially widens the reflection of an incident wireless signal, a base station selects a surface configuration that spatially widens the reflection of an incident wireless signal, a base station selects a surface configuration that turns off some of the configurable surface elements. Since this is a regrouping, a previous grouping with a corresponding surface condition took place previously.) and adjusting an on/off state of the amplitude phase control circuit of the array element based on the adjustment information; and when receiving a second signal sent by the first wireless device (Paragraph 0070: the base station 120 regroups the UEs based on various changes in an operating environment, such as respective UE-location changes, signal quality measurement changes, and/or link quality measurement changes among the group of UEs. Based on location changes and/or multicast transmissions to multiple UEs using an APD, the base station 120 directs the APD to apply one or more multi-UE communication surface configurations. As one example of a multi-UE-communication surface configuration that spatially widens the reflection of an incident wireless signal, a base station selects a surface configuration that spatially widens the reflection of an incident wireless signal, a base station selects a surface configuration that turns off some of the configurable surface elements.) as recited in claim 1.
Applicant states Wang describes measurement based network level optimization triggered by environmental changes. Such measurement updates and location changes are not responsive to a first signal in the sense required by claim 1 nor are they tied to a specific signal exchange as stated in the remarks on page 9. The examiner disagrees that the limitations of claim 1 are not recited in Wang. Wang discloses sending the signal. This is shown in figures 1, 4 and 5. Wang discloses communicating signals by transmitting signals from one device, reflect the signal off the intelligent surface and receiving the reflected signal at the second device. The second device will also communicate in a similar manner of reflecting the signal off the surface so the first device can receive signals from the second device. The reflections will be based on an on/off state of the elements in the surface. Turning on and off the elements of the surface is controlled by a control device. The surface receives adjustment information sent by the first device. Paragraph 0070 discloses the base station selects a surface configuration that spatially widens the reflection of an incident wireless signal, a base station selects a surface configuration that turns off some of the configurable surface elements. Paragraph 0041 discloses the RS 322 of the APD 180 includes one or more configurable surface elements 324 which can be selectively or programmatically configured to control how the RIS 322 reflects directionally. Paragraph 0050 further discloses alternatively, the base station deactivates one or more (particular) configurable surface elements used by a preceding surface configuration (e.g., the first surface configuration), such by turning off every other surface configuration element in a row or column and/or turning off one or more perimeter configurable elements in the row and/or column. Paragraph 0071 discloses the base station selects a surface configuration that turns off some configurable surface elements. Claim 3 also discloses similar information. The adjustment information is sent by the first wireless device based on response of the second wireless device to the first signal. Paragraph 0070 discloses the base station 120 regroups the UEs based on various changes in an operating environment, such as respective UE-location changes, signal quality measurement changes, and/or link quality measurement changes among the group of UEs. Based on location changes and/or multicast transmissions to multiple UEs using an APD, the base station 120 directs the APD to apply one or more multi-UE communication surface configurations. These signal quality measurement changes are based on the communication from the first device through the RIS to the second device to determine how to adjust the RIS to improve or maintain the signal quality measurements or to increase or decrease signal quality measurement changes.
The rejections of the claims are stated below.
Priority
5. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
6. The drawings are objected to because the unlabeled rectangular boxes shown in the drawings, in figures 1 and 2, should be provided with descriptive text labels. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1, 7-11, 13-17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al (US 2024/0171239).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses an intelligent reflection surface, comprising a plurality of array elements (Figure 5: reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) 180.), wherein each of the plurality of array elements is configured to:
when receiving a first signal sent by a first wireless device, send the first signal to a second wireless device (Figure 5: base station 120 sends a signal to RIS 180 which sends the signal to terminals 504, 506, 508 and 510.) based on an on/off state of an amplitude phase control circuit of the array element (Paragraph 0050: alternatively, the base station deactivates one or more (particular) configurable surface elements used by a preceding surface configuration (e.g., the first surface configuration), such by turning off every other surface configuration element in a row or column and/or turning off one or more perimeter configurable elements in the row and/or column.);
receive adjustment information sent by the first wireless device, wherein the adjustment information is sent by the first wireless device based on response of the second wireless device to the first signal (Figure 5. The terminals will communicate with the base station via signal 520 and from signaling through the RIS 180. Paragraph 0070: the base station 120 regroups the UEs based on various changes in an operating environment, such as respective UE-location changes, signal quality measurement changes, and/or link quality measurement changes among the group of UEs. Based on location changes and/or multicast transmissions to multiple UEs using an APD, the base station 120 directs the APD to apply one or more multi-UE communication surface configurations. As one example of a multi-UE-communication surface configuration that spatially widens the reflection of an incident wireless signal, a base station selects a surface configuration that spatially widens the reflection of an incident wireless signal, a base station selects a surface configuration that turns off some of the configurable surface elements. Since this is a regrouping, a previous grouping with a corresponding surface condition took place previously.);
adjust an on/off state of the amplitude phase control circuit (Paragraph 0050: alternatively, the base station deactivates one or more (particular) configurable surface elements used by a preceding surface configuration (e.g., the first surface configuration), such by turning off every other surface configuration element in a row or column and/or turning off one or more perimeter configurable elements in the row and/or column.) of the array element based on the adjustment information; and when receiving a second signal sent by the first wireless device (Paragraph 0070: the base station 120 regroups the UEs based on various changes in an operating environment, such as respective UE-location changes, signal quality measurement changes, and/or link quality measurement changes among the group of UEs. Based on location changes and/or multicast transmissions to multiple UEs using an APD, the base station 120 directs the APD to apply one or more multi-UE communication surface configurations. As one example of a multi-UE-communication surface configuration that spatially widens the reflection of an incident wireless signal, a base station selects a surface configuration that spatially widens the reflection of an incident wireless signal, a base station selects a surface configuration that turns off some of the configurable surface elements.),
send the second signal to the second wireless device based on the adjusted on/off state of the amplitude phase control circuit of the array element (The communication will utilize the surface configuration that corresponds to the regrouping of the UEs and the location changes.).
Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses a signal sending method, applied to a first wireless device, the method comprising:
sending a first signal to a second wireless device through an intelligent reflection surface having a plurality of array elements (Figure 5: base station 120 sends a signal to RIS 180 which sends the signal to terminals 504, 506, 508 and 510.) wherein the plurality of array elements sends the first signal to the second wireless device based on an on/off state of an amplitude phase control circuit of the array element (Paragraph 0050: alternatively, the base station deactivates one or more (particular) configurable surface elements used by a preceding surface configuration (e.g., the first surface configuration), such by turning off every other surface configuration element in a row or column and/or turning off one or more perimeter configurable elements in the row and/or column.);
sending adjustment information to the intelligent reflection surface based on response of the second wireless device to the first signal, wherein the adjustment information is used to adjust on/off states of amplitude phase control circuits (Paragraph 0050: alternatively, the base station deactivates one or more (particular) configurable surface elements used by a preceding surface configuration (e.g., the first surface configuration), such by turning off every other surface configuration element in a row or column and/or turning off one or more perimeter configurable elements in the row and/or column.) of the plurality of array elements of the intelligent reflection surface (Figure 5. The terminals will communicate with the base station via signal 520 and from signaling through the RIS 180. Paragraph 0070: the base station 120 regroups the UEs based on various changes in an operating environment, such as respective UE-location changes, signal quality measurement changes, and/or link quality measurement changes among the group of UEs. Based on location changes and/or multicast transmissions to multiple UEs using an APD, the base station 120 directs the APD to apply one or more multi-UE communication surface configurations. As one example of a multi-UE-communication surface configuration that spatially widens the reflection of an incident wireless signal, a base station selects a surface configuration that spatially widens the reflection of an incident wireless signal, a base station selects a surface configuration that turns off some of the configurable surface elements. Since this is a regrouping, a previous grouping with a corresponding surface condition took place previously.); and
sending a second signal to the second wireless device through the intelligent reflection surface with the on/off states of the amplitude phase control circuits of the plurality of array elements adjusted based on the adjustment information (Paragraph 0070: the base station 120 regroups the UEs based on various changes in an operating environment, such as respective UE-location changes, signal quality measurement changes, and/or link quality measurement changes among the group of UEs. Based on location changes and/or multicast transmissions to multiple UEs using an APD, the base station 120 directs the APD to apply one or more multi-UE communication surface configurations. As one example of a multi-UE-communication surface configuration that spatially widens the reflection of an incident wireless signal, a base station selects a surface configuration that spatially widens the reflection of an incident wireless signal, a base station selects a surface configuration that turns off some of the configurable surface elements. The communication will utilize the surface configuration that corresponds to the regrouping of the UEs and the location changes.).
Regarding claim 8, Wang discloses sending initial configuration information to the intelligent reflection surface, wherein the initial configuration information is used to perform initial configuration on the on/off states of the amplitude phase control circuits of the plurality of array elements (Figure 7: indicate multi-UE-communication surface configuration 730.); and sending the first signal to the second wireless device through the intelligent reflection surface configured with initial configuration information (Figure 7: transmit a multi-UE-communication 735.).
Regarding claim 9, Wang discloses wherein the sending adjustment information to the intelligent reflection surface based on response of the second wireless device to the first signal (Figure 5. The terminals will communicate with the base station via signal 520 and from signaling through the RIS 180. Paragraph 0070: the base station 120 regroups the UEs based on various changes in an operating environment, such as respective UE-location changes, signal quality measurement changes, and/or link quality measurement changes among the group of UEs. Based on location changes and/or multicast transmissions to multiple UEs using an APD, the base station 120 directs the APD to apply one or more multi-UE communication surface configurations.) comprises: when receiving no response signal of the second wireless device to the first signal within a duration, sending the adjustment information to the intelligent reflection surface based on the initial configuration information (When no regrouping is necessary or when no location changes have occurred for a period of time, the adjusted surface configuration based on location changes will not be necessary and will not be applied.).
Regarding claim 10, Wang discloses when receiving a response signal of the second wireless device to the first signal within a duration, sending the adjustment information to the intelligent reflection surface based on a signal strength of the response signal and the initial configuration information (Figure 5. The terminals will communicate with the base station via signal 520 and from signaling through the RIS 180. Paragraph 0070: the base station 120 regroups the UEs based on various changes in an operating environment, such as respective UE-location changes, signal quality measurement changes, and/or link quality measurement changes among the group of UEs. Based on location changes and/or multicast transmissions to multiple UEs using an APD, the base station 120 directs the APD to apply one or more multi-UE communication surface configurations. As one example of a multi-UE-communication surface configuration that spatially widens the reflection of an incident wireless signal, a base station selects a surface configuration that spatially widens the reflection of an incident wireless signal, a base station selects a surface configuration that turns off some of the configurable surface elements. UE location changes, signal quality measurement changes and/or link quality measurement changes are based on the signal strength of the transmissions from the UEs.).
Regarding claim 11, Wang discloses wherein the adjustment information comprises configuration content, a configuration mode, a quantity of to-be-configured array elements, and an initial to-be-configured array element, the configuration content comprises a plurality of pieces of bit data configured for the to-be-configured array elements, and the configuration mode indicates a to-be-configured array element corresponding to each of the plurality of pieces of bit data (Figure 5. The terminals will communicate with the base station via signal 520 and from signaling through the RIS 180. Paragraph 0070: the base station 120 regroups the UEs based on various changes in an operating environment, such as respective UE-location changes, signal quality measurement changes, and/or link quality measurement changes among the group of UEs. Based on location changes and/or multicast transmissions to multiple UEs using an APD, the base station 120 directs the APD to apply one or mor multi-UE communication surface configurations. As one example of a multi-UE-communication surface configuration that spatially widens the reflection of an incident wireless signal, a base station selects a surface configuration that spatially widens the reflection of an incident wireless signal, a base station selects a surface configuration that turns off some of the configurable surface elements. The content of the signaling of the selected surface can be labelled in any manner without limiting the claim in terms of scope.).
Regarding claim 13, Wang discloses a signal sending apparatus, comprising: a processor; and a non-transitory memory storing a program code for execution by the processor (Paragraph 0034: the base station 120 also includes processors 258 and computer readable storage media 312), the program code comprising instructions for:
sending a first signal to a second wireless device through an intelligent reflection surface, wherein the intelligent reflection surface comprises a plurality of array elements (Figure 5: base station 120 sends a signal to RIS 180 which sends the signal to terminals 504, 506, 508 and 510.) and the plurality of array elements send the first signal to the second wireless device based on an on/off state of an amplitude phase control circuit of the array element (Paragraph 0050: alternatively, the base station deactivates one or more (particular) configurable surface elements used by a preceding surface configuration (e.g., the first surface configuration), such by turning off every other surface configuration element in a row or column and/or turning off one or more perimeter configurable elements in the row and/or column.); and
sending adjustment information to the intelligent reflection surface based on response of the second wireless device to the first signal, wherein the adjustment information is used to adjust on/off states of the plurality of array elements (Figure 5. The terminals will communicate with the base station via signal 520 and from signaling through the RIS 180. Paragraph 0070: the base station 120 regroups the UEs based on various changes in an operating environment, such as respective UE-location changes, signal quality measurement changes, and/or link quality measurement changes among the group of UEs. Based on location changes and/or multicast transmissions to multiple UEs using an APD, the base station 120 directs the APD to apply one or mor multi-UE communication surface configurations. As one example of a multi-UE-communication surface configuration that spatially widens the reflection of an incident wireless signal, a base station selects a surface configuration that spatially widens the reflection of an incident wireless signal, a base station selects a surface configuration that turns off some of the configurable surface elements. Since this is a regrouping, a previous grouping with a corresponding surface condition took place previously.), wherein
sending a second signal to the second wireless device through the intelligent reflection surface with the on/off states of the plurality of array elements adjusted (Paragraph 0070: the base station 120 regroups the UEs based on various changes in an operating environment, such as respective UE-location changes, signal quality measurement changes, and/or link quality measurement changes among the group of UEs. Based on location changes and/or multicast transmissions to multiple UEs using an APD, the base station 120 directs the APD to apply one or more multi-UE communication surface configurations. As one example of a multi-UE-communication surface configuration that spatially widens the reflection of an incident wireless signal, a base station selects a surface configuration that spatially widens the reflection of an incident wireless signal, a base station selects a surface configuration that turns off some of the configurable surface elements. The communication will utilize the surface configuration that corresponds to the regrouping of the UEs and the location changes.), wherein the plurality of array elements send the second signal to the second wireless device based on an on/off state of an amplitude phase control circuit of the array element (Paragraph 0050: alternatively, the base station deactivates one or more (particular) configurable surface elements used by a preceding surface configuration (e.g., the first surface configuration), such by turning off every other surface configuration element in a row or column and/or turning off one or more perimeter configurable elements in the row and/or column.)
Regarding claim 14, Wang discloses sending initial configuration information to the intelligent reflection surface, wherein the initial configuration information is used to perform initial configuration on the on/off states of the plurality of array elements (Figure 7: indicate multi-UE-communication surface configuration 730.); and sending the first signal to the second wireless device through the intelligent reflection surface configured with initial configuration information (Figure 7: transmit a multi-UE-communication 735.).
Regarding claim 15, Wang discloses when no response signal of the second wireless device to the first signal is received, sending the adjustment information to the intelligent reflection surface based on the initial configuration information (Figure 5. The terminals will communicate with the base station via signal 520 and from signaling through the RIS 180. Paragraph 0070: the base station 120 regroups the UEs based on various changes in an operating environment, such as respective UE-location changes, signal quality measurement changes, and/or link quality measurement changes among the group of UEs. Based on location changes and/or multicast transmissions to multiple UEs using an APD, the base station 120 directs the APD to apply one or more multi-UE communication surface configurations. When no regrouping is necessary or when no location changes have occurred, the adjusted surface configuration based on location changes will not be necessary and will not be applied.).
Regarding claim 16, Wang discloses when a response signal of the second wireless device to the first signal is received, sending the adjustment information to the intelligent reflection surface based on a signal strength of the response signal and the initial configuration information (Figure 5. The terminals will communicate with the base station via signal 520 and from signaling through the RIS 180. Paragraph 0070: the base station 120 regroups the UEs based on various changes in an operating environment, such as respective UE-location changes, signal quality measurement changes, and/or link quality measurement changes among the group of UEs. Based on location changes and/or multicast transmissions to multiple UEs using an APD, the base station 120 directs the APD to apply one or more multi-UE communication surface configurations. As one example of a multi-UE-communication surface configuration that spatially widens the reflection of an incident wireless signal, a base station selects a surface configuration that spatially widens the reflection of an incident wireless signal, a base station selects a surface configuration that turns off some of the configurable surface elements. UE Location changes, signal quality measurement changes and/or link quality measurement changes are based on the signal strength of the transmissions from the UEs.).
Regarding claim 17, Wang discloses wherein the adjustment information comprises configuration content, a configuration mode, a quantity of to-be-configured array elements, and an initial to-be-configured array element, the configuration content comprises a plurality of pieces of bit data configured for the to-be-configured array elements, and the configuration mode indicates a to-be-configured array element corresponding to each of the plurality of pieces of bit data (Figure 5. The terminals will communicate with the base station via signal 520 and from signaling through the RIS 180. Paragraph 0070: the base station 120 regroups the UEs based on various changes in an operating environment, such as respective UE-location changes, signal quality measurement changes, and/or link quality measurement changes among the group of UEs. Based on location changes and/or multicast transmissions to multiple UEs using an APD, the base station 120 directs the APD to apply one or more multi-UE communication surface configurations. As one example of a multi-UE-communication surface configuration that spatially widens the reflection of an incident wireless signal, a base station selects a surface configuration that spatially widens the reflection of an incident wireless signal, a base station selects a surface configuration that turns off some of the configurable surface elements. The content of the signaling of the selected surface can be labelled in any manner. The content of the signaling of the selected surface can be labelled in any manner without limiting the claim in terms of scope.).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, the intelligent reflection surface comprising the plurality of array elements is not a component of the recited signal sending apparatus. The signal sending apparatus sends signals to a second wireless device through the intelligent reflection surface. Claims 19 and 20 recite the components of that intelligent reflection surface. Since the surface is not a component of the recited apparatus, the components of the external surface does not limit the recited apparatus in terms of scope. The description of claims 19 and 20 do not limit the recited apparatus in terms of structure or require steps to be performed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US 2024/0171239) in view of Rimalapudi et al (US 2022/0123803).
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses the surface stated above. Wang discloses the adaptive phase changing device 180 in figure 3. The surface comprises a panel with a plurality of antenna elements as shown in the figure. Paragraph 0070 discloses the base station 120 regroups the UEs based on various changes in an operating environment, such as respective UE-location changes, signal quality measurement changes, and/or link quality measurement changes among the group of UEs. Based on location changes and/or multicast transmissions to multiple UEs using an APD, the base station 120 directs the APD to apply one or more multi-UE communication surface configurations. As one example of a multi-UE-communication surface configuration that spatially widens the reflection of an incident wireless signal, a base station selects a surface configuration that spatially widens the reflection of an incident wireless signal, a base station selects a surface configuration that turns off some of the configurable surface elements. Therefore, each of the surface elements comprise an amplitude phase control circuit and a signaling communication circuit. Wang does not state each of the elements comprise a passive integrated circuit (IC).
Rimalapudi discloses the communication system shown in figure 1. The communication system uses an intelligent reflecting surface 200 as stated in the abstract. Paragraph 0049 discloses embodiments may be described and illustrated in terms of blocks which carry out a described function or functions. These blocks are physically implemented by analog and/or digital circuits such as logic gates, integrated circuits, memory circuits, passive electronic components and the like. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the teaching of Rimalapudi into the surface of Wang to implement well known signal components to carry out the functions of the surface.
Regarding claim 4, the combination discloses wherein each array element further comprises an antenna configured to transmit a signal adjusted by the amplitude phase control circuit (Wang: paragraph 0071: the behavior/operation of the APD is similar to an antenna array.).
9. Claims 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US 2024/0171239) in view of Rimalapudi et al (US 2022/0123803) further in view of Jian et al (US 2024/0171224).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Wang and Rimalapudi discloses the surface stated above. The combination does not disclose wherein the passive IC further comprises an energy collection circuit coupled to both the signaling communication circuit and the amplitude phase control circuit; and the energy collection circuit is configured to collect energy of an electromagnetic wave in an ambient environment, and supply power to the amplitude phase control circuit and the signaling communication circuit by using the collected energy.
Jian discloses a system comprising an intelligent reflecting device 124 as shown in figure 1. Paragraphs 0084 and 0103 discloses signal energy from a given user device may be collected and converted into the energy supply of the intelligent reflecting device 124. By collecting this energy, the intelligent reflecting device can be powered, reducing the cost of operating the device. For this reason, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Jian into the surface of the combination of Wang and Rimalapudi.
10. Claim 5 is are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US 2024/0171239) in view of Rimalapudi et al (US 2022/0123803) further in view of Zhuang (US 2013/0044035).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Wang and Rimalapudi discloses the surface stated above. The combination does not disclose wherein the antenna comprises a metal patch and a substrate, the substrate comprises an insulation layer and a metal layer, one end of the passive IC is connected to the metal patch, and another end of the passive IC is connected to the metal layer of the substrate through the insulation layer of the substrate.
Zhuang discloses the antenna shown in figure 6. Paragraph 0134 discloses the antenna with three metal radiating patches in which a third metal radiating patch 18 and a third dielectric substrate are further arranged between a second metal radiating patch and the first metal radiating patch. The third metal radiating match is parallel to the first metal radiating patch and insulated from the second metal radiating patch and the hollow metal support. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the antenna of Zhuang into the surface of the combination of Wang and Rimalapudi. By utilizing known antennas, the cost and complexity of the surface can be reduced.
11. Claim 6 is are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US 2024/0171239) in view of Rimalapudi et al (US 2022/0123803) in view of Zhuang (US 2013/0044035) further in view of Vos et al (US 2013/0176176).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Wang, Rimalapudi and Zhuang discloses the surface as stated above. The combination does not disclose wherein a material of the insulation layer of the substrate is a flexible material.
Vos discloses the antenna array as stated in the abstract. Paragraph 0007 discloses in some embodiments, an additional flexible insulation layer is created over the antenna array. The flexible substrate and/or the flexible insulation layer may be adhesive on one side making the antenna array an applique that may be applied to the surface of the vehicle. This is also shown in figure 6. By utilizing flexible insulation in the insulation layer, additional components can be utilized to provide the insulation necessary in the antenna, reducing cost of the circuit. For these reasons, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Vos in the surface of the combination of Wang, Rimalapudi and Zhuang.
12. Claims 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US 2024/0171239) in view of Zhu et al (US 2022/0407222).
Regarding claim 12 and 18, Wang discloses the apparatus and method as stated above. Wang does not disclose the first device is an RFID reader/writer and the second device is an RFID tag.
Zhu discloses the operation of an intelligent reflecting surface as stated in the abstract. Figures 1, 3-5, 7 and 9-11(a) show transceivers communicating via the IRS. Paragraphs 0108 and 0118 discloses the radio interface may correspond to a plurality of radio access technologies including one or more of: RFID. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the use of IRS communication in RFID interfaces as taught by Zhu into the apparatus and method of Wang. By implementing the many types of communication, the system can be more robust and achieve the advantages of the IRS communication.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN M BURD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632 3/24/2026