DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to amendments received on 4/27/2026. Claims 1-25 were previously rejected. Claims 1, 3-4, 7-8, 10-13, 19, 21 and 23-25 have been amended. A complete action on the merits of claims 1-25 follows below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant should note that the large number of references in the attached IDS have been considered by the examiner in the same manner as other documents in Office search files are considered by the examiner while conducting a search of the prior art in a proper field of search. See MPEP 609.05(b). Applicant is requested to point out any particular references in the IDS which they believe may be of particular relevance to the instant claimed invention in response to this office action.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/27/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the Final rejection on 10/29/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The affidavit under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 04/27/2026 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 1-25 based upon Bennett in view of Sachs applied under 35 U.S.C. 103 as set forth in the last Office action because:
Examiner has taken the evidence presented by the applicant into consideration; however, has not found them to be persuasive to overcome the rejection on file. "Applicant respectfully requests that the Office carefully reconsider the proffered evidence of secondary considerations with regard to all the structural features of the claimed invention." Examiner maintains that neither of the evidence presented by the applicant persuade the examiner that the device of the prior art Bennett is not "shaped and sized" to be used in the functional manner recited in the claims.
In response to the determination that there was no nexus between the secondary consideration and the specific structure of the claimed invention Dr. Christopher Gilligan presented two publications that he co-authored as Exhibit D and E. The arguments were on the grounds that “Page 7 of Deckers 2015 explains that lead migration occurred in 13 of the 27 patients, such that commercially-available leads could not be used for this indication. … The leads utilized in the study were commercially available neurostimulation leads that were anchored using structure sleeves attached to muscular facia. Thirteen of the 27 patients in whom an implant was attempted experienced at least one lead migration. With 21 migration events in all and as many as 4 events in a single patient. This high rate suggest commercially available neurostimulation leads should not be used for this application”.
Applicant further argued that “there is clearly a nexus between the secondary consideration of non-obviousness and the specific structure of the claimed invention. Without this new lead design, the Applicant could not have solved the long-felt but unsolved need to treat low back pain”.
Examiner respectfully maintains that Applicant has not addressed the specific lead of prior art Bennett and stated why this lead design is not configured to be used in the claimed functional manner.
Examiner respectfully maintains "weight attached to evidence of secondary considerations by the examiner will depend upon its relevance to the issue of obviousness and the amount and nature of the evidence. Note the great reliance apparently placed on this type of evidence by the Supreme Court in upholding the patent in United States v. Adams, 383 U.S. 39, 148 USPQ 479 (1966)." and thus the declaration has been carefully considered; however, examiner has not found the evidence persuasive to overcome the prior art. Since the instrument as claimed was known from the prior art Bennett, there is not a nexus between the secondary consideration and the specific structure of the claimed invention.
Examiner emphasizes on the fact that the claims are directed to apparatus claims directed to a lead that is required to be used in the functional manner claimed. In order to have nexus between the merits of the claimed invention and the evidence of secondary consideration the elements of the apparatus must be unique and not known in the prior art. Bennett specifically teaches the use of its device in treatment of back pain "In one embodiment, the therapeutic electrical stimulation is adapted to provide a therapeutic stimulation function, the therapeutic stimulation function including a function selected from a group comprising the treatment of (i) shoulder pain, (ii) arm pain, (iii) calf pain, (iv) leg pain, (v) neck pain, (vi) head pain, and (vii) back pain" in [0035]. Moreover, Bennett teaches "method includes identifying a tissue region where pain is perceived including skeletal muscle innervated by a peripheral nerve and including a motor point, placing at least one intramuscular lead having at least one electrode within the skeletal muscle in electrical proximity, but not touching, the motor point, and applying therapeutic electrical stimulation to the at least one electrode according to predefined therapeutic electrical stimulation parameters to affect afferent and/or efferent nerve stimulation within the skeletal muscle and to provide the therapeutic electrical stimulation to the motor point to alleviate pain without any functional nerve stimulation involving the skeletal muscle" in [0028] as well as "the intramuscular lead includes at least one anchoring member to anchor the lead in the muscle" [0033]. It is also noted that Figs. 12A-B (see below) show the instrument of Bennett which looks very similar to that provided to the "specially-designed lead from the 2018 publication" which applicant provides as evidence for "an electrode lead must be specifically structured to be implanted to stimulate efferent motor nerve fibers associated with lower back muscles, e.g., medial branch of the dorsal ramus nerve, as the muscles of the lower back are mobile, creating an environment having high risk of lead dislodgement and muscle damage".
Bennett further addresses the lead migration issue “[0080] Inserting the lead 12 percutaneously allows the lead 12 to be placed quickly and easily, and placing the lead 12 in a peripheral location, i.e., muscle, where it is less likely to be dislodged, addresses the lead migration problems of spinal cord stimulation systems that result in decreased pain relief, and the need for frequent patient visits for reprogramming, and even lead repositioning.” As well as lead design to have a specific shape and size for the functional use “[0083] In the fully implanted system 11, the same or different lead 12 may be used, such as a slightly larger IM lead that may be sized and configured to withstand greater mechanical forces and resist migration during long-term use. A larger IM lead 12 may be sized and configured to withstand forces in excess of those anticipated in flexible regions of the body, such as the shoulder, elbow, neck, and knee.” And “[0146] Alternative embodiments of an IM lead 12 shown in FIGS. 12A and 12B may also include at or near its distal tip or region, one or more anchoring element(s) 70. In the illustrated embodiment, the anchoring element 70 takes the form of an array of shovel-like paddles or scallops or tabs 76 distal to the distal-most electrode 14, although a tab 76 or tabs could also be proximal to the distal and/or proximal most electrode 14. The tabs 76 as shown are sized and configured so they will not cut or score the surrounding tissue. The anchoring element 70 is sized and configured so that, when in contact with the muscle tissue, it takes purchase in the muscle, to resist dislodgement or migration of the electrode out of the correct location in the surrounding muscle. In one embodiment, the anchoring element 70 may be prevented from fully engaging body tissue until after the electrode 14 has been deployed. The electrode may not be deployed until after it has been correctly located during the implantation (lead placement) process, as previously described. In addition, the lead 12 may include one or more ink markings 74, 75 to aid the physician in a predetermined placement.”
Therefore, examiner takes the position that the instrument of Bennett is "shaped and sized" to be used in the functional manner claimed and it includes all of the claimed limitations and therefore, applicant has not provided persuasive evidence that the instrument of Bennett is not shaped and sized to be positioned in the lower back and thus can not be used in the functional manner claimed.
Furthermore, applicant argues that “While paragraph [0037] of Bennett describes that the therapeutic electrical stimulation may be generally applied to target motor points in various muscles, for example, the posterior, anterior, and/or middle deltoid, trapezius, erector spinae, gastrocnemius, occipitailis, gluteus maximus, gluteus medius, iliotibial band, biceps femoris, adductor magnus, semitendinosus, gracilis, semimembranosus, sartorius, pectineus, adductor longus, vastus medialis, vastus lateralis, and rectus femoris (as non-limiting examples), it is important to note that Bennett is completely silent on the multifidus nuscle. As would be understood by a person having ordinary skill in the art, an electrode lead is not a one-size-fits-all device. Referring to a feasibility study (Chae, Yu, and Walker, 2001) and a pilot study (Chae, Yu, and Walker, 2005), Bennett itself at paragraph [0021] acknowledges drawbacks faced with having to deal with placement and containment of multiple leads in different muscle locations. Specifically, an electrode lead must be structured to be implanted to stimulate efferent motor nerve fibers associated with the multifidus muscle, e.g., medial branch of the dorsal ramus nerve, as the muscles of the lower back are mobile, creating an environment having high risk of lead dislodgement and muscle damage. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the lead of Bennett is not structured to be inserted in the lower back region to stimulate "efferent nervous tissue associated with the multifidus muscle to cause contraction of the multifidus muscle" as recited in independent claim 1, and to simply insert the lead of Bennett in the lower back as suggested by the Office action would be unsafe and potentially catastrophic for the patient.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees and maintains that Bennett shows placement of the lead in different areas of the body, thus anticipates having different shapes and sizes to reach different muscles for different functional uses (see the figures below) and claims in claim 5 “A method to alleviate pain, the method comprising: identifying a tissue region where pain is perceived including skeletal muscle innervated by a peripheral nerve and including a motor point, placing at least one intramuscular lead having at least one electrode within the skeletal muscle in electrical proximity, but not touching, the motor point, and applying therapeutic electrical stimulation to the at least one electrode according to predefined therapeutic electrical stimulation parameters to affect afferent and/or efferent nerve stimulation within the skeletal muscle and to provide the therapeutic electrical stimulation to the motor point to alleviate pain without any functional nerve stimulation involving the skeletal muscle” as well as “back pain” in [0035], second, Examiner did not rely on Bennett for teaching placement of the lead in the specific muscle (multifidus muscle) claimed, but rather made an obviousness rejection in view of the teachings of Sachs.
Although examiner takes the position that the lead of Bennett is configured to be placed near a multifidus muscle in order to stimulate the innervating nerves to thereby alleviate or reduce the back pain in a human as shown in Fig. 13 and thus it is interpreted to be specifically designed to have a length to extend from the pulse generator to the efferent motor nerve fibers since it is configured to stimulate the efferent motor nerve fibers to treat back pain and is sized and shaped such that the at least one electrode is positioned to stimulate the efferent motor nerve fibers and would be sized and shaped to reach the multifidus muscle ([0028] and as shown in Figs. 3A-15 the lead is configured to have different lengths and shapes to reach different muscles in the body), Bennett does not in specific show positioning the lead such that it is sized and shaped for the at least one electrode to be positioned to stimulate the efferent motor nerve fibers innervating the multifidus muscle as claimed.
In the same field of invention, Sachs teaches “Target muscles for lead placement include muscles associated with local segmental control of a motion segment, including the deep multifidus, …” in Col. 3, ll. 67-Col. 4, ll. 6 and “One embodiment of a device for facilitation of spinal stabilization would use a sensor of multifidus activity (or activity of another muscle of the local muscle system) that would trigger a piggyback stimulation on top of a patient's native contraction. Stimulus amplitudes may be set to achieve a strong muscle contraction, or may be used simply as a sensory reminder. As the patient's motor control improves, stimulation amplitude may be decreased to provide only a sensory cue as to when the multifidus should contract … embodiments of our device may use stimulation parameters to improve motor control of spine stabilization muscles” in Col. 4, ll. 55-Col. 5, ll. 22, “the implanted pulse generator 10 is shown near the lead system 12 that places electrodes (not shown) within the multifidus muscle structures” Col. 6, ll. 41-43, Figs. 1C-2 and “FIG. 4 shows a flowchart describing a process or method carried out with the implantable pulse generator. Modern programmable devices are well known and the flowchart is sufficient to enable one to carry out this embodiment of the invention” Col. 7, ll. 47-51, also see Claims 1, 9, 19, 29, 44 and 58 of Sachs, especially claim 1 “programming the pulse generator to rehabilitate function of one or more of the multifidus, transverse abdominus, quadratus lumborum, psoas major, internus abdominus, obliquus externus abdominus, and erector spinae muscles; delivering, according to the programming, electrical stimulation from the pulse generator to nervous tissue associated with segmental control of the lumbar spine via the one or more electrodes, thereby improving lumbar spine stability”; therefore, in view of the teachings of Sachs, it has been known to place the lead at the multifidus muscle in a human back and therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the current invention that either the lead of Bennett has a length and is sized and shaped to be positioned at the multifidus muscle as claimed or alternatively, it would have been obvious to have the lead specifically designed to have a shape and sized to be placed at the multifidus muscle such that the electrode of Bennett is positioned near the multifidus muscle to stimulate efferent motor nerve fibers innervating a multifidus muscle supporting spinal stability of the human and applying electrical stimulation through the at least one electrode to stimulate efferent motor nerve fibers innervating the multifidus muscle to cause contraction and thereby alleviating or reducing the back pain of the human at that specific area in light of the teachings of Sachs.
Finally Applicant argues that “As further evidence of long-felt but unsolved need, Jensen et al., Mechanisms of spinal cord stimulation for the treatment of pain: Still in the dark after 50 years, Eur J Pain (2019) 23:652-659 explains that, "Despite the value of spinal cord stimulation (SCS) in treating some patients with focal neuropathic pain, technological advances in stimulator design and treatment protocols have not correlated with significant improvements in clinical outcomes." (Exhibit C, attached hereto). As the "Still in the dark after 50 years" title implies, there is still a long-felt but unsolved need to address back pain, even in the field of electrical stimulators.”
Although an affidavit or declaration which states only conclusions may have some probative value, such an affidavit or declaration may have little weight when considered in light of all the evidence of record in the application. In re Brandstadter, 484 F.2d 1395, 179 USPQ 286 (CCPA 1973).
An affidavit of an applicant as to the advantages of their claimed invention, while less persuasive than that of a disinterested person, cannot be disregarded for this reason alone. Ex parte Keyes, 214 USPQ 579 (Bd. App. 1982); In re McKenna, 203 F.2d 717, 97 USPQ 348 (CCPA 1953).
IV. PROBATIVE VALUE OF COMMERCIAL SUCCESS OR LONG FELT NEED EVIDENCE
Objective evidence of commercial success or long felt need and failure of others may be given less weight if the record shows that the applicant or patent owner has a strong market power or blocking patent depending on the facts of record. "A patent has been called a 'blocking patent' where practice of a later invention would infringe the earlier patent. The existence of such a blocking patent may deter non-owners and non-licensees from investing the resources needed to make, develop, and market such a later, 'blocked' invention, because of the risk of infringement liability and associated monetary or injunctive remedies. If the later invention is eventually patented by an owner or licensee of the blocking patent, that potential deterrent effect is relevant to understanding why others had not made, developed, or marketed that 'blocked' invention and, hence, to evaluating objective indicia of the obviousness of the later patent." Acorda Therapeutics, Inc. V. Roxane Lab., Inc., 903 F.3d 1310, 1337, 128 USPQ2d 1001, 1021 (Fed. Cir. 2018). "Such a blocking patent therefore can be evidence that can discount the significance of evidence that nobody but the blocking patent's owners or licensees arrived at, developed, and marketed the invention covered by the later patent at issue in litigation. But the magnitude of the diminution in incentive in any context-in particular, whether it was great enough to have actually deterred activity that otherwise would have occurred-is 'a fact-specific inquiry." Id. at 1339, 128 USPQ2d at 1022. While having record evidence of such a blocking patent may not be common, examiners should be aware of its potential impact in evaluating secondary evidence of nonobviousness. In any Office action, examiners should articulate why there is any discounting of the weight of the secondary consideration evidence when addressing the evidence."
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18, 20-21 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bennett (US Pub. No. 2010/0036454) in view of Sachs (US Patent No. 8,428,728).
Regarding Claim 1, Bennett teaches a system to treat back pain ([0035] and [0057]), the system comprising:
a lead 12 having a proximal region and a distal region (Figs. 12A-B), the lead comprising a coiled structure ([0141]-[0145] and Figs. 12A-B);
at least one electrode 14 at the distal region (electrodes 14, Figs. 12A-B and [0147]), the at least one electrode adapted to be placed within a human such that the at least one electrode is positioned to stimulate efferent motor nerve fibers innervating a muscle supporting spinal stability of the human ([0028]-[0037], [0058]-[0059], [0158]-[0160] and claim 5);
at least one fixation anchor at the distal region (anchoring element 70), the at least one fixation anchor adapted to be angled relative to a longitudinal axis of the lead in a deployed state to anchor the lead so that the at least one electrode is positioned to stimulate the efferent motor nerve fibers (Figs. 12A-B and [0144]-[0150]); and
a pulse generator 28 configured to be coupled to the at least one electrode via the lead, the pulse generator comprising a processor programmed to perform electrical stimulation through the at least one electrode to stimulate efferent motor nerve fibers innervating the muscle to cause contraction of the muscle (“applying therapeutic electrical stimulation to the at least one electrode according to predefined therapeutic electrical stimulation parameters to affect afferent and/or efferent nerve stimulation within the skeletal muscle and to provide the therapeutic electrical stimulation to the motor point to alleviate pain without any functional nerve stimulation involving the skeletal muscle” [0028], [0069]-[0073] and [0144]-[0150], especially [0154] teaching “Control of the stimulator and stimulation parameters may be provided by one or more external controllers. In the case of an external stimulator, the controller may be integrated with the external stimulator. The implanted pulse generator external controller (i.e., clinical programmer) may be a remote unit that uses RF (Radio Frequency) wireless telemetry communications (or an inductively coupled telemetry) to control the implanted pulse generator”);
although examiner takes the position that the lead of Bennett is configured to be placed near a multifidus muscle in order to stimulate the innervating nerves to thereby alleviate or reduce the back pain in a human as shown in Fig. 13 and thus it is interpreted to be specifically designed to have a length to extend from the pulse generator to the efferent motor nerve fibers since it is configured to stimulate the efferent motor nerve fibers to treat back pain and is sized and shaped such that the at least one electrode is positioned to stimulate the efferent motor nerve fibers and would be sized and shaped to reach the multifidus muscle ([0028] and as shown in Figs. 3A-15 the lead is configured to have different lengths and shapes to reach different muscles in the body), Bennett does not in specific show positioning the lead such that it is sized and shaped for the at least one electrode to be positioned to stimulate the efferent motor nerve fibers innervating the multifidus muscle as claimed.
In the same field of invention, Sachs teaches “Target muscles for lead placement include muscles associated with local segmental control of a motion segment, including the deep multifidus, …” in Col. 3, ll. 67-Col. 4, ll. 6 and “One embodiment of a device for facilitation of spinal stabilization would use a sensor of multifidus activity (or activity of another muscle of the local muscle system) that would trigger a piggyback stimulation on top of a patient's native contraction. Stimulus amplitudes may be set to achieve a strong muscle contraction, or may be used simply as a sensory reminder. As the patient's motor control improves, stimulation amplitude may be decreased to provide only a sensory cue as to when the multifidus should contract … embodiments of our device may use stimulation parameters to improve motor control of spine stabilization muscles” in Col. 4, ll. 55-Col. 5, ll. 22, “the implanted pulse generator 10 is shown near the lead system 12 that places electrodes (not shown) within the multifidus muscle structures” Col. 6, ll. 41-43, Figs. 1C-2 and “FIG. 4 shows a flowchart describing a process or method carried out with the implantable pulse generator. Modern programmable devices are well known and the flowchart is sufficient to enable one to carry out this embodiment of the invention” Col. 7, ll. 47-51, also see Claims 1, 9, 19, 29, 44 and 58 of Sachs, especially claim 1 “programming the pulse generator to rehabilitate function of one or more of the multifidus, transverse abdominus, quadratus lumborum, psoas major, internus abdominus, obliquus externus abdominus, and erector spinae muscles; delivering, according to the programming, electrical stimulation from the pulse generator to nervous tissue associated with segmental control of the lumbar spine via the one or more electrodes, thereby improving lumbar spine stability”; therefore, in view of the teachings of Sachs, it has been known to place the lead at the multifidus muscle in a human back and therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the current invention that either the lead of Bennett has a length and is sized and shaped to be positioned at the multifidus muscle as claimed or alternatively, it would have been obvious to have the lead specifically designed to have a shape and sized to be placed at the multifidus muscle such that the electrode of Bennett is positioned near the multifidus muscle to stimulate efferent motor nerve fibers innervating a multifidus muscle supporting spinal stability of the human and applying electrical stimulation through the at least one electrode to stimulate efferent motor nerve fibers innervating the multifidus muscle to cause contraction and thereby alleviating or reducing the back pain of the human at that specific area in light of the teachings of Sachs.
Regarding Claim 2, Bennett in view of Sachs teaches wherein the at least one electrode 14 is configured to be positioned to stimulate efferent motor nerve fibers of a medial branch of a dorsal ramus nerve innervating the multifidus muscle ([0028]-[0037], [0058]-[0059] and [0158]-[0160] of Bennett teaches the lead configured to be used to stimulate efferent motor nerve fibers and therefore, the lead is configured to be placed within a human such that the at least one electrode is positioned to stimulate efferent motor nerve fibers of a medial branch of a dorsal ramus nerve innervating the multifidus muscle, also see Col. 2, ll. 34-51, Col. 7, ll. 4-24 and claims 19 & 58 of Sachs).
Regarding Claim 3, Bennett teaches wherein the processor (the controller of the pulse generator 28) is programmed to apply the electrical stimulation through the at least one electrode 14 to stimulate the efferent motor nerve fibers without targeting stimulation of afferent nerve fibers ([0028] teaches “applying therapeutic electrical stimulation to the at least one electrode according to predefined therapeutic electrical stimulation parameters to affect afferent and/or efferent nerve stimulation within the skeletal muscle and to provide the therapeutic electrical stimulation to the motor point to alleviate pain without any functional nerve stimulation involving the skeletal muscle”; therefore, depending on the predefined parameters certain nerve fibers are stimulated without target stimulating the others).
Regarding Claim 4, Bennett in view of Sachs teaches wherein the processor (the controller of the pulse generator 28) is programmed to apply the electrical stimulation through the at least one electrode 14 to stimulate afferent nerve fibers associated with the multifidus muscle to reduce pain signals traveling towards the human’s brain ([0028] teaches “applying therapeutic electrical stimulation to the at least one electrode according to predefined therapeutic electrical stimulation parameters to affect afferent and/or efferent nerve stimulation within the skeletal muscle and to provide the therapeutic electrical stimulation to the motor point to alleviate pain without any functional nerve stimulation involving the skeletal muscle”; therefore, the predefined parameters are programmed to stimulate efferent motor nerve fibers in skeletal muscle, also see [0084] of Bennett, also see Col. 2, ll. 23-51 and Col. 4, ll. 14-Col. 5, ll. 43 and claim 1 “programming the pulse generator to rehabilitate function of one or more of the multifidus, transverse abdominus, quadratus lumborum, psoas major, internus abdominus, obliquus externus abdominus, and erector spinae muscles; delivering, according to the programming, electrical stimulation from the pulse generator to nervous tissue associated with segmental control of the lumbar spine via the one or more electrodes, thereby improving lumbar spine stability” of Sachs for positioning the lead in the multifidus muscle).
Regarding Claim 5, Bennett in view of Sachs teaches wherein the at least one electrode is configured to be positioned to stimulate a peripheral nerve to reduce the pain signals ([0073] and [0084] of Bennett, also see Figs. 1C-2 and Col. 3, ll. 37-59 and Claims 44 & 58 of Sachs).
Regarding Claim 6, Bennett in view of Sachs teaches wherein the at least one electrode comprises a plurality of electrodes (more than one electrode 14 shown in Fig. 12B of Bennett also see Claims 1, 9, 19, 29, 44 and 58 of Sachs).
Regarding Claim 7, Bennett in view of Sachs teaches wherein the processor (the controller of the pulse generator 28) is programmed to apply the electrical stimulation through the at least one electrode to improve neural drive ([0125], [0154] and [0163]-[0166] of Bennett, also see Col. 4, ll. 43-Col. 5, ll. 22, Col. 7, ll. 36-61 and Claims 1, 9, 19, 29, 44 and 58 of Sachs).
Regarding Claim 8, Bennett teaches wherein the pulse generator 28 is programmed to apply the electrical stimulation through the at least one electrode to stimulate the efferent nervous tissue to cause muscle contractions during a predetermined number of sessions ([0028]-[0030], [0058]-[0068], [0078] and “The trial period may range from minutes to hours to days to weeks to months, and in one embodiment the trial period may be between 3 and 21 days. Alternatively, it may be desirable to use a percutaneous system(s) as a therapy without proceeding to a fully implantable system. The duration of therapy for a percutaneous system may range from minutes to days to weeks to months to multiple years, and one embodiment includes a duration ranging from 1 to 12 weeks” in [0098]).
Regarding Claim 9, Bennett teaches wherein the predetermined number of sessions is over a period of weeks ([0098]).
Regarding Claim 10, Bennett teaches wherein the processor is programmed to apply the electrical stimulation through the at least one electrode to stimulate the efferent nervous tissue at a stimulation rate selected from a range of 12-30 Hz ([0157] and [0159]).
Regarding Claim 11, Bennett teaches wherein the processor is programmed to apply the electrical stimulation through the at least one electrode to stimulate the efferent nervous tissue at an amplitude selected from less than 50 mA ([0158]).
Regarding Claim 12, Bennett in view of Sachs teaches wherein the at least one electrode comprises a first electrode and a second electrode (more than one electrode 14 in Fig. 12B), and wherein the processor is programmed to apply the electrical stimulation through the first electrode and the second electrode simultaneously ([0012], [0026], [0057], [0074] and [0117]-[0119] of Bennett, also see Claims 9-27 and 44-70 of Sachs).
Regarding Claim 13, Bennett teaches wherein the at least one electrode comprises a first electrode and a second electrode (more than one electrode 14 shown in Fig. 12B), and wherein the processor is programmed to apply the electrical stimulation through the first electrode and the second electrode in a time-wise interleaved manner([0115]).
Regarding Claim 14, Bennett in view of Sachs teaches further comprising an additional electrode lead configured to be coupled to the pulse generator([0025], [0057], [0074] and Figs. 1B-C of Bennett, also see “lead or leads will likely be placed in muscle and the electrical stimulation will activate the nerves associated with the muscle” in Col. 3, ll. 62-64 of Sachs).
Regarding Claim 15, Bennett in view of Sachs teaches wherein the at least one fixation anchor 70 is at a distal tip of the lead 12, the at least one fixation anchor angled proximally relative to the longitudinal axis of the lead in the deployed state (Figs. 12A-B of Bennett, also see “lead system 12 is placed along the bony structures and in an embodiment is anchored to the bone. Both active and passive fixation anchors are contemplated as well as glue based fixation features” in Col. 7, ll. 66-Col. 8, ll. 2 and Claims 1 and 29 of Sachs).
Regarding Claim 16, Bennett in view of Sachs teaches wherein the at least one fixation anchor consists of a single fixation anchor 70 (Figs. 12A-B of Bennett, also see “lead system 12 is placed along the bony structures and in an embodiment is anchored to the bone. Both active and passive fixation anchors are contemplated as well as glue based fixation features” in Col. 7, ll. 66-Col. 8, ll. 2 and Claims 1 and 29 of Sachs).
Regarding Claim 17, Bennett teaches wherein the at least one fixation anchor is at least one barb (Figs. 11A-B and [0145]).
Regarding Claim 18, Bennett teaches wherein the lead is formed from flexible metal and an outer polymeric cover ([0140]).
Regarding Claim 20, Bennett in view of Sachs teaches wherein the pulse generator is configured to be implanted ([0154] and Fig. 3B of Bennett and Col. 6, ll. 41-43 and Fig. 1c of Sachs).
Regarding Claim 21, Bennett in view of Sachs teaches wherein the processor is programmed to transmit data associated with the pulse generator to an external control system ([0154] of Bennett and Fig. 2 of Sachs).
Regarding Claim 24, Bennett teaches a system to treat back pain ([0035] and [0057]), the system comprising:
a lead having a proximal region and a distal region, the lead comprising a coiled structure([0141]-[0145] and Figs. 12A-B);
at least one electrode at the distal region(electrode(s) 14, Figs. 12A-B and [0147]), the at least one electrode adapted to be placed within a human such that the at least one electrode is positioned to stimulate efferent motor nerve fibers associated with a muscle supporting spinal stability of the human and afferent sensory nerve fibers associated with the muscle ([0028]-[0037], [0058]-[0059] and [0158]-[0160] teaches the lead configured to be placed in a muscle of a human and used to stimulate efferent motor nerve fibers and therefore, the lead is configured to be placed within a human such that the at least one electrode is positioned to stimulate efferent motor nerve fibers associated with a multifidus muscle supporting spinal stability of the human and afferent sensory nerve fibers associated with the multifidus muscle);
at least one fixation anchor (anchoring element(s) 70) at the distal region(Figs. 12A-B), the at least one fixation anchor adapted to be angled relative to a longitudinal axis of the lead in a deployed state to anchor the lead so that the at least one electrode is positioned to stimulate the efferent motor nerve fibers and the afferent sensory nerve fibers (Figs. 12A-B and [0144]-[0150]); and
a pulse generator 28 configured to be coupled to the at least one electrode via the lead, the pulse generator comprising a processor programmed to perform electrical stimulation through the at least one electrode to stimulate efferent motor nerve fibers innervating the muscle to cause contraction of the muscle (“applying therapeutic electrical stimulation to the at least one electrode according to predefined therapeutic electrical stimulation parameters to affect afferent and/or efferent nerve stimulation within the skeletal muscle and to provide the therapeutic electrical stimulation to the motor point to alleviate pain without any functional nerve stimulation involving the skeletal muscle” [0028], [0069]-[0073] and [0144]-[0150], especially [0154] teaching “Control of the stimulator and stimulation parameters may be provided by one or more external controllers. In the case of an external stimulator, the controller may be integrated with the external stimulator. The implanted pulse generator external controller (i.e., clinical programmer) may be a remote unit that uses RF (Radio Frequency) wireless telemetry communications (or an inductively coupled telemetry) to control the implanted pulse generator”);
although examiner takes the position that the lead of Bennett is configured to be placed near a multifidus muscle in order to stimulate the innervating nerves to thereby alleviate or reduce the back pain in a human as shown in Fig. 13 and thus it is interpreted to be specifically designed to have a length to extend from the pulse generator to the efferent motor nerve fibers since it is configured to stimulate the efferent motor nerve fibers to treat back pain and is sized and shaped such that the at least one electrode is positioned to stimulate the efferent motor nerve fibers and would be sized and shaped to reach the multifidus muscle ([0028] and as shown in Figs. 3A-15 the lead is configured to have different lengths and shapes to reach different muscles in the body), Bennett does not in specific show positioning the lead such that it is sized and shaped for the at least one electrode to be positioned to stimulate the efferent motor nerve fibers innervating the multifidus muscle as claimed.
In the same field of invention, Sachs teaches “Target muscles for lead placement include muscles associated with local segmental control of a motion segment, including the deep multifidus, …” in Col. 3, ll. 67-Col. 4, ll. 6 and “One embodiment of a device for facilitation of spinal stabilization would use a sensor of multifidus activity (or activity of another muscle of the local muscle system) that would trigger a piggyback stimulation on top of a patient's native contraction. Stimulus amplitudes may be set to achieve a strong muscle contraction, or may be used simply as a sensory reminder. As the patient's motor control improves, stimulation amplitude may be decreased to provide only a sensory cue as to when the multifidus should contract … embodiments of our device may use stimulation parameters to improve motor control of spine stabilization muscles” in Col. 4, ll. 55-Col. 5, ll. 22, “the implanted pulse generator 10 is shown near the lead system 12 that places electrodes (not shown) within the multifidus muscle structures” Col. 6, ll. 41-43, Figs. 1C-2 and “FIG. 4 shows a flowchart describing a process or method carried out with the implantable pulse generator. Modern programmable devices are well known and the flowchart is sufficient to enable one to carry out this embodiment of the invention” Col. 7, ll. 47-51, also see Claims 1, 9, 19, 29, 44 and 58 of Sachs, especially claim 1 “programming the pulse generator to rehabilitate function of one or more of the multifidus, transverse abdominus, quadratus lumborum, psoas major, internus abdominus, obliquus externus abdominus, and erector spinae muscles; delivering, according to the programming, electrical stimulation from the pulse generator to nervous tissue associated with segmental control of the lumbar spine via the one or more electrodes, thereby improving lumbar spine stability”; therefore, in view of the teachings of Sachs, it has been known to place the lead at the multifidus muscle in a human back and therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the current invention that either the lead of Bennett has a length and is sized and shaped to be positioned at the multifidus muscle as claimed or alternatively, it would have been obvious to have the lead specifically designed to have a shape and sized to be placed at the multifidus muscle such that the electrode of Bennett is positioned near the multifidus muscle to stimulate efferent motor nerve fibers innervating a multifidus muscle supporting spinal stability of the human and applying electrical stimulation through the at least one electrode to stimulate efferent motor nerve fibers innervating the multifidus muscle to cause contraction and thereby alleviating or reducing the back pain of the human at that specific area in light of the teachings of Sachs.
Regarding Claim 25, Bennett teaches wherein the processor is programmed to apply the electrical stimulation through the at least one electrode to stimulate the efferent nervous tissue at a stimulation rate selected from a range of 12-30 Hz ([0157] and [0159]).
Claims 19 and 22-23 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Bennett in view of Sachs and further in view of Boveja (US Pub. No. 2005/0137644).
Regarding Claim 19, Bennett in view of Sachs teaches wherein the pulse generator is configured to be programmed with a circuitry module to apply the electrical stimulation through the at least one electrode to stimulate the efferent motor nerve fibers ([0028] teaches “applying therapeutic electrical stimulation to the at least one electrode according to predefined therapeutic electrical stimulation parameters to affect afferent and/or efferent nerve stimulation within the skeletal muscle and to provide the therapeutic electrical stimulation to the motor point to alleviate pain without any functional nerve stimulation involving the skeletal muscle”; thereby, the pulse generator is configured to be programmed with a circuitry module to apply a predetermined therapeutic electrical stimulation parameters to affect efferent nerve stimulation within the skeletal muscle, and although teaches in addition, it is also configured to be programmed to affect afferent nerve stimulation “affect afferent and/or efferent nerve stimulation” in [0028], Bennett is silent in teaching wherein processor is programmed with at least one additional circuitry module for additional therapeutic modalities.
In the same field of invention, Boveja teaches “A further advantage of the system and method of the current disclosure is that the external stimulator (with an optional telemetry module) can be remotely interrogated and programmed over the internet. This eliminates the need for patient to visit physicians office or clinic every time the device needs to be re-programmed” in [0033] as well as “pre-packaged or "customized" programs are stored in the memory unit 71” [0101 and the use of multiple modules in [0103]; thereby allowing the processor to be programmed with at least one additional circuitry module for additional therapeutic modalities besides those already programmed in the memory in order to allow for a wider range of therapeutic applications using the implantable device.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the field of the invention prior to the effective filing date of the current invention to allow the processor to be programmed with different circuitry modules for additional therapeutic modalities in order to allow for a wider range of therapeutic applications using the implantable device.
Regarding Claim 22, Bennett teaches wherein the pulse generator is wirelessly in communication with an external controller and passive charging ([0154]); however, does not specifically show or teach receiving power from the external control system to charge a battery of the pulse generator (e.g., a rechargeable battery); however, Boveja teaches a rechargeable battery in [0091], [0101] and [0122].
Regarding Claim 23, Bennett teaches wherein the pulse generator is configured to be programmed to transmit data associated with the pulse generator ([0154] teaches “Control of the stimulator and stimulation parameters may be provided by one or more external controllers. In the case of an external stimulator, the controller may be integrated with the external stimulator. The implanted pulse generator external controller (i.e., clinical programmer) may be a remote unit that uses RF (Radio Frequency) wireless telemetry communications (or an inductively coupled telemetry) to control the implanted pulse generator”; therefore, the external controller (i.e., clinical programmer) and wireless communication is here interpreted to be a computer running monitoring and control software, also see [0149]); however, Bennett is silent in specifically stating or showing a computer running monitoring and control software; however, Boveja teaches the use of a computer running monitoring and control software used to program the implantable device and update/ re-loading of a new set of programs ([0101]-[0103] and [0109]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 1 and 24 as addressed by the Applicant have been accepted and thus the rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments directed to the affidavit have been addressed above.
The evidence and arguments submit have been taken into consideration by the examiner; however, they are not sufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 1-18, 20-21 and 24-25 under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Bennett (US Pub. No. 2010/0036454) in view of Sachs (US Patent No. 8,428,728) as set forth in the prior Office action dated 10/29/2025.
It is noted that there has been no evidence presented in the affidavit to prove the incapability of the use of the lead as disclosed by Bennett in the functional recitation of the claim (ex.g., specific sizes, angles, sensors, ...).
Examiner makes reference to section IV. Probative Value of Commercial Success or Long Felt Need Evidence which states "Objective evidence of commercial success or long felt need and failure of others may be given less weight if the record shows that the applicant or patent owner has a strong market power or blocking patent depending on the facts of record. “A patent has been called a ‘blocking patent’ where practice of a later invention would infringe the earlier patent. The existence of such a blocking patent may deter non-owners and non-licensees from investing the resources needed to make, develop, and market such a later, ‘blocked’ invention, because of the risk of infringement liability and associated monetary or injunctive remedies. If the later invention is eventually patented by an owner or licensee of the blocking patent, that potential deterrent effect is relevant to understanding why others had not made, developed, or marketed that ‘blocked’ invention and, hence, to evaluating objective indicia of the obviousness of the later patent.” Acorda Therapeutics, Inc. v. Roxane Lab., Inc., 903 F.3d 1310, 1337, 128 USPQ2d 1001, 1021(Fed. Cir. 2018). “Such a blocking patent therefore can be evidence that can discount the significance of evidence that nobody but the blocking patent’s owners or licensees arrived at, developed, and marketed the invention covered by the later patent at issue in litigation. But the magnitude of the diminution in incentive in any context—in particular, whether it was great enough to have actually deterred activity that otherwise would have occurred—is ‘a fact-specific inquiry.” Id. At 1339, 128 USPQ2d at 1022. While having record evidence of such a blocking patent may not be common, examiners should be aware of its potential impact in evaluating secondary evidence of nonobviousness. In any Office action, examiners should articulate why there is any discounting of the weight of the secondary consideration evidence when addressing the evidence."
As well as MPEP 716.02 Allegations of Unexpected Results [R-08.2012] which states "Any differences between the claimed invention and the prior art may be expected to result in some differences in properties. The issue is whether the properties differ to such an extent that the difference is really unexpected. In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986) (differences in sedative and anticholinergic effects between prior art and claimed antidepressants were not unexpected). In In re Waymouth, 499 F.2d 1273, 1276, 182 USPQ 290, 293 (CCPA 1974), the court held that unexpected results for a claimed range as compared with the range disclosed in the prior art had been shown by a demonstration of “a marked improvement, over the results achieved under other ratios, as to be classified as a difference in kind, rather than one of degree.” Compare In re Wagner, 371 F.2d 877, 884, 152 USPQ 552, 560 (CCPA 1967) (differences in properties cannot be disregarded on the ground they are differences in degree rather than in kind); Ex parte Gelles, 22 USPQ2d 1318, 1319 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992) (“we generally consider a discussion of results in terms of ‘differences in degree’ as compared to ‘differences in kind’ . . . to have very little meaning in a relevant legal sense”).
As far as the pending apparatus claims are concerned, it does not appear that the structure of the current invention would result in unexpected results over that of Bennett since they both have the claimed elements and size and configuration of back surgery (as evidenced by Figs. 12A-B and [0035] of Bennett “the therapeutic electrical stimulation is adapted to provide a therapeutic stimulation function, the therapeutic stimulation function including a function selected from a group comprising the treatment of (i) shoulder pain, (ii) arm pain, (iii) calf pain, (iv) leg pain, (v) neck pain, (vi) head pain, and (vii) back pain’).
Applicant argues that the programming language (as amended in claims 1 and 24) “constitutes a structural difference from a genetic pulse generator used to apply electrical stimulation. See, e.g., In re Bernhart, 417 F.2d 1395, 1399-1400, 163 USPQ 611, 615- 16 (CCPA 1969) ("[I]f a machine is programmed in a certain new and unobvious way, it is physically different from the machine without that program; its memory elements are differently arranged.") The foregoing case teaches that programming a previously-known controller/pulse generator to perform a new, useful, and non-obvious function-to cause contraction of the multifidus muscle to thereby alleviate/reduce back pain, as claimed-transforms that pulse generator into aphysically different device, and more importantly, constitutes patentably distinguishable structure that is not taught by generic, previously known pulse generators”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and maintains that since the generator of Bennett is programmable as evidenced by paragraph [0154] teaching “Control of the stimulator and stimulation parameters may be provided by one or more external controllers. In the case of an external stimulator, the controller may be integrated with the external stimulator. The implanted pulse generator external controller (i.e., clinical programmer) may be a remote unit that uses RF (Radio Frequency) wireless telemetry communications (or an inductively coupled telemetry) to control the implanted pulse generator” and teaches applying specific treatments, energy, frequency ranges thus the processor is programmed to carry the treatment as disclosed (see [0028], [0069], [0157]-[0160] and claim 5. Therefore, in view of the teachings of Sachs, one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the current invention would have been motivated to program the generator in the claimed manner without departing from the scope of the invention.
Moreover, Sachs specifically teaches “the implanted pulse generator 10 is shown near the lead system 12 that places electrodes (not shown) within the multifidus muscle structures” Col. 6, ll. 41-43, Figs. 1C-2 and Claims 1, 9, 19, 29, 44 and 58 of Sachs; therefore, in view of the teachings of Sachs, it has been known to place the lead at the multifidus muscle in a human back and therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the current invention that either the lead of Bennett is sized and shaped to be positioned at the multifidus muscle as claimed or alternatively, it would have been obvious to have the lead shaped and sized to be placed at the multifidus muscle such that the electrode of Bennett is positioned near the multifidus muscle to stimulate efferent motor nerve fibers innervating a multifidus muscle supporting spinal stability of the human and applying electrical stimulation through the at least one electrode to stimulate efferent motor nerve fibers innervating the multifidus muscle to cause contraction and thereby alleviating or reducing the back pain of the human at that specific area in light of the teachings of Sachs.
Therefore applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive.
Conclusion
/KHADIJEH A VAHDAT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794