DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yazawa et al. (US 2015/0008544 A1).
Considering claim 1, Yazawa discloses a MEMS sensor comprising:
- a semiconductor substrate 30 (SOI substrate; Figures 1-2; [0047-50]);
- a sensor unit 3a-3d formed on the semiconductor substrate (piezoresistive layers 2; Figure 1; [0051-54])
- a pad unit 9a-9d, 8 formed on the semiconductor substrate (Figure 1; [0053-56]); and
- a connection wiring 7a,7b formed on the semiconductor substrate and connecting the sensor unit 3a-3d and the pad unit 9a-9d (Figures 1 and 3-4; [0052-53], [0058], [0065-68], wherein the connection wiring is a semiconductor wiring formed from a semiconductor material ([0066], 7a,7b formed by doping impurity into an N-type impurity layer making up the silicon substrate; [0057], doping by boron; [0084-86], 7a,7b formed by doping P-type impurity boron into silicon substrate 31).
Considering claim 2, Yazawa discloses the connection wiring is formed from a semiconductor material having a linear expansion coefficient equivalent to that of the semiconductor substrate ([0057], doping by boron with concentration of at least 1017-18/cm3; [0084-86], 7a,7b formed by doping P-type impurity boron into silicon substrate 31, whereby this concentration inherently provides a negligible change in TCE of silicon).
Considering claim 3, Yazawa discloses that the semiconductor substrate is a silicon substrate (SOI substrate; Figures 1-2; [0047-50]), and the connection wiring is formed from silicon (([0066], 7a,7b formed by doping impurity into an N-type impurity layer making up the silicon substrate; [0057], doping by boron; [0084-86], 7a,7b formed by doping P-type impurity boron into silicon substrate 31).
Considering claim 4, Yazawa discloses that the connection wiring is a diffusion wiring formed by introducing an impurity into the semiconductor substrate ([0066], 7a,7b formed by doping impurity into an N-type impurity layer making up the silicon substrate; [0057], doping by boron; [0084-86], 7a,7b formed by doping P-type impurity boron into silicon substrate 31).
Considering claim 6, Yazawa discloses that the connection wiring 7a,7b has same width as the pad unit 8 in plan view (Figure 1). It is noted that Figures 6-7 of the instant invention and [0046-47] merely require a portion of the connection wiring to have the same width as the pad, not the entirety of the connection wiring.
Considering claim 8, Yazawa discloses that the semiconductor substrate includes a diaphragm 21, and the sensor unit 2 is provided on the diaphragm (Figure 1; [0050-52]).
Considering claim 9, Yazawa discloses that the diaphragm is formed in a quadrangular shape in plan view (Figure 1 shows a diaphragm having four side portions, four chambered corners, as required by [0010] of the instant application and “two sides extending parallel to the X direction and two sides extending parallel to the Y direction in plan view” as understood from [0021] of the instant application), and the sensor unit 3a-3d includes a piezoresistive element 2 formed on each side portion of the diaphragm (Figure 1).
Considering claim 10, Yazawa discloses that the plurality of the connection wirings connecting the sensor unit and the pad unit are formed on the semiconductor substrate, and the plurality of connection wirings form a bridge circuit including a piezoresistive element formed on each side portion of the diaphragm (Figure 5; [0060]).
Considering claim 11, Yazawa discloses that a cavity 23 is formed in the semiconductor substrate 31, and the cavity is sealed by the diaphragm 21 (Figures 1-2; [0050]).
Considering claim 12, Yazawa discloses that the semiconductor substrate includes a first semiconductor substrate 32 having a cavity 23 and a second semiconductor substrate 31 having a diaphragm 21 covering the cavity and joined to the first semiconductor substrate, and the sensor unit is provided on the diaphragm (Figures 1-2; [0050]).
Considering claim 13, Yazawa discloses that the MEMS sensor is a pressure sensor ([0048]).
Claims 1-4, 8-10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tojo et al. (US 2008/0204185 A1).
Considering claim 1, Tojo discloses a MEMS sensor comprising:
- a semiconductor substrate 10 (Figures 1-3; [0024-25]);
- a sensor unit 211-214 formed on the semiconductor substrate (Figure 2; [0025-26]);
- a pad unit 251b-254b formed on the semiconductor substrate (Figure 2; [0029-30]); and
- a connection wiring 222 (221-224) formed on the semiconductor substrate and connecting the sensor unit and the pad unit (Figure 2; [0027-33]).
Considering claim 2, Tojo discloses the connection wiring is formed from a semiconductor material having a linear expansion coefficient equivalent to that of the semiconductor substrate ([0024]; [0033-34]).
Considering claim 3, Tojo discloses that the semiconductor substrate is a silicon substrate, and the connection wiring is formed from silicon ([0024]; [0033]).
Considering claim 4, Tojo discloses that the connection wiring is a diffusion wiring formed by introducing an impurity into the semiconductor substrate ([0033]).
Considering claim 8, Yazawa discloses that the semiconductor substrate includes a diaphragm 11, and the sensor unit is provided on the diaphragm (Figures 1-3; [0025-26]).
Considering claim 9, Yazawa discloses that the diaphragm is formed in a quadrangular shape in plan view (Figure 2), and the sensor unit includes a piezoresistive element formed on each side portion of the diaphragm (Figure 2; [0025-26]).
Considering claim 10, Tojo discloses that the plurality of the connection wirings connecting the sensor unit and the pad unit are formed on the semiconductor substrate, and the plurality of connection wirings form a bridge circuit including a piezoresistive element formed on each side portion of the diaphragm ([0027-28]).
Considering claim 13, Tojo discloses that the MEMS sensor is a pressure sensor ([0024-26]).
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sato et al. (US 2010/0242618 A1).
Considering claim 1, Sato discloses a MEMS sensor comprising:
- a semiconductor substrate 1 ([0044]; [0050]);
- a sensor unit 7 formed on the semiconductor substrate ([0043-46])
- a pad unit 12 formed on the semiconductor substrate ([0047]; [0056]); and
- a connection wiring 7a formed on the semiconductor substrate and connecting the sensor unit 7 and the pad unit 12 ([0046-47]; [0055-56]).
Considering claim 2, Sato discloses the connection wiring is formed from a semiconductor material having a linear expansion coefficient equivalent to that of the semiconductor substrate ([0044]; [0046]; [0050]).
Considering claim 3, Sato discloses that the semiconductor substrate is a silicon substrate ([0044]; [0050]), and the connection wiring is formed from silicon ([0044]; [0046]).
Considering claim 5, Sato discloses that the connection wiring is a polycrystalline
silicon wiring formed from polycrystalline silicon ([0046]; [0055]).
Considering claim 8, Sato discloses that the semiconductor substrate includes a diaphragm 5 ([0044]), and the sensor unit 7 is provided on the diaphragm ([0043-46]).
Considering claim 9, Sato discloses that the diaphragm 5 is formed in a quadrangular shape in plan view (Figure 1), and the sensor unit 7 includes a piezoresistive element formed on each side portion of the diaphragm (Figure 1; [0080], polysilicon has piezoresistance).
Considering claim 10, Sato discloses that the plurality of the connection wirings connecting the sensor unit and the pad unit are formed on the semiconductor substrate, and the plurality of connection wirings form a bridge circuit including a piezoresistive element formed on each side portion of the diaphragm (Figure 3; [0046-47]).
Considering claim 13, Sato discloses that the MEMS sensor is a pressure sensor ([0043-44]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yazawa et al. (US 2015/0008544 A1) in view of Suresh (US 2020/0278265 A1). It is noted that any combination of Suresh with Tojo or Sato would also be applicable for the same rationale.
Considering claim 7, Yazawa discloses that a plurality of the sensor units 3a-3d and a plurality of the pad units 9a-9d are formed on the semiconductor substrate, a plurality of the connection wirings 7a,7b connecting the sensor unit and the pad unit are formed on the semiconductor substrate (Figure 1), but fails to explicitly disclose that the connection wirings are formed to have equivalent electric resistance values.
However, Suresh teaches the technique of balancing electrical resistance values of Wheatstone bridge connection leads ([0161-162]; [0147-148]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize connection wirings that are formed to have equivalent electric resistance values, as taught by Suresh, in the invention by Yazawa. The motivation for doing so, as understood from Yazawa, it to provide a balanced initial bridge so that actual measurement mismatches will indicate sensor damage ([0161], [0169]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO 2017/073207 A1 discloses a semiconductor based pressure sensor having a plurality of piezoresistive sensors on a diaphragm, whereby diffusion wirings connect one end of piezoresistive sensors with metal wirings and pad portions.
Inoue discloses silicon based pressure sensor having a plurality of piezoresistive sensors connected by diffusion wiring to terminal pads.
Kurtz teaches providing bridge balance by customizing the resistance of contact leads.
CN 1433094 A discloses a semiconductor pressure sensor having piezoresistive sensors connected to terminal pads with highly doped connecting leads.
/JONATHAN M DUNLAP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855 August 31, 2026