DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the applicant’s reply filed August 25, 2026. In the applicant’s reply; claims 1 and 14 were amended, claims 15-20 were newly added. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Examiner’s Responses to Applicant’s Remark
Applicants' amendments filed on August 25, 2026 have been fully considered. The amendments overcome the following rejections set forth in the office action mailed on May 27, 2026.
Applicant’s amendments overcome the objection to the title of the specification, and the objection is hereby withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments overcome the rejections of 1-2, 4-5, 7, 9, and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ikemoto et al. (US PGPub US 2012/0275684A1, hereby referred to as “Ikemoto”), and the rejection is hereby withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection, presented below and necessitated by applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 9, 11-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Ikemoto et al. (US PGPub US 2012/0275684A1, hereby referred to as “Ikemoto”) in view of Wu (US Patent US 8,605,303, hereby referred to as “Wu”.
Consider Claims 1 and 14.
Ikemoto teaches:
Claim 1. A sheet recognition unit which recognizes a sheet, the sheet recognition unit comprising: / Claim 14. A sheet recognition method for recognizing a sheet, the sheet recognition method comprising the steps of: (Ikemoto: abstract, In a paper sheet identification apparatus and a paper sheet identification method for identifying a paper sheet, the paper sheet identification apparatus acquires paper sheet information including image data of the paper sheet, and the image data included in the paper sheet information The candidate paper types are narrowed down from the external dimensions based on the above, further narrowed down to four candidate types, and then the same series is excluded to narrow down to two candidates. Then, in parallel with the process of determining one type based on the image data from the four candidate types, the paper sheet identification device performs a true / false determination process for each of the two candidates. )
1. an image acquirer configured to acquire a plurality of types of images of the sheet; and a controller configured: / 14. acquiring a plurality of types of images of the sheet; (Ikemoto: [0058] FIG. 3 is a block diagram of a banknote recognition apparatus 10 according to an embodiment according to the present invention. In FIG. 3, only necessary constituent elements are shown for explaining features of the banknote recognition apparatus 10. [0059] As shown in FIG. 3, the banknote recognition apparatus 10 includes a sensor group 11, a storage unit 12, and a control unit 13. The storage unit 12 stores therein shape information 121, templates 122, and threshold values 123. The control unit 13 includes a sensor-information acquisition unit 131, a denomination recognition unit 132, an authenticity recognition unit 133, a fitness recognition unit 134, a serial-number recognition unit 135, and an overall judgment unit 136. [0060] The sensor group 11 is a set of various sensors that are arranged on a transport path through which banknotes deposited from a not shown inlet are transported, and that detect a physical quantity from a measurement target. [0061] An example of arrangement of the sensor group 11 is explained with reference to FIGS. 4A and 4B. FIGS. 4A and 4B are drawings for explaining the arrangement structure of the sensor group 11 on a transport path 202 in the banknote recognition apparatus 10. In FIGS. 4A and 4B, only necessary constituent elements that are shown for explaining features of the sensor group 11. [0062] FIG. 4A is a top view and FIG. 4B is a side view of the sensor group 11 arranged on the transport path 202. Coordinate axes shown on the right side of FIGS. 4A and 4B are appropriately used in the explanation. Dotted lines in FIGS. 4A and 4B show the same position on the X-axis.)
1. to generate a plurality of types of shape information based on the plurality of types of images, / 14. generating a plurality of types of shape information based on the plurality of types of images; (Ikemoto: [0054] On the other hand, as shown in FIG. 2B, the paper-sheet recognition apparatus according to the present invention narrows down the one hundred denomination candidates to a small number of denomination candidates, for example, four denomination candidates by the simple judgment 1 as described above. Subsequently, the paper-sheet recognition apparatus further narrows down the denomination candidates to, for example, two denominations by the simple judgment 2. [0079]-[0080], [0084] FIG. 5 is a drawing explaining a structure of the denomination recognition unit 132. In FIG. 5, the denomination recognition unit 132 enclosed by the dotted-line is explained. The denomination recognition unit 132 includes a shape judging unit 132 a, a simple judgment unit A 132 b, a simple judgment unit B 132 c, and a detailed denomination judging unit 132 d. [0085] The shape judging unit 132 a detects the size of the banknote based on the image of the banknote acquired by the line sensor 112, and narrows down the number of denomination candidates by using judgment conditions stored in the shape information 121. Concrete judgment conditions are described in detail later. [0086] The simple judgment unit A 132 b creates a rough image based on the image data of the banknote captured by the line sensor 112. Thereafter, the simple judgment unit A 132 b narrows down the number of denomination candidates by comparing the feature pattern of the rough image with the feature patterns of the templates 122 stored previously. [0087] As shown in FIG. 5, the shape judging unit 132 a narrows down the number of the denomination candidates from one hundred to fifty and the simple judgment unit A 132 b further narrows down the number of denomination candidates from fifty to four.)
1. and to select at least one type of shape information from among the plurality of types of shape information so as to execute selective shape determination processing which is determination processing related to a shape of the sheet based on the selected at least one type of shape information. / 14. and selecting at least one type of shape information from among the plurality of types of shape information so as to execute selective shape determination processing which is determination processing related to a shape of the sheet based on the selected at least one type of shape information. (Ikemoto: [0055] Thereafter, the paper-sheet recognition apparatus according to the present invention performs the detailed denomination judgment process only as to the four denomination candidates remaining after the simple judgment 1 and identifies the denomination. Furthermore, the paper-sheet recognition apparatus performs the authenticity recognition process only as to the two denomination candidates remaining after the simple judgment 2. [0105] The concrete judgment conditions stored in the shape information 121 are explained below with reference to FIG. 6. FIG. 6 is a table for explaining an example of the shape information 121. [0106]-[0111] Thus, the shape judging unit 132 a performs a shape judgment process based on the judgment conditions included in the shape information 121. [0112] The shape information 121 includes the upper limits and the lower limits of the banknote width and the banknote length. In an alternative arrangement, instead of concretely specifying the threshold values of the banknote size, the following scheme can be employed. That is, if a difference between the item “banknote width” and the actual detected banknote width and a difference between the item “banknote length” and the actual detected banknote length is respectively less than or equal to respective predetermined threshold values, a judgment can be made that the banknote is of the denomination candidate and the denomination candidates can be narrowed down. [0113] The detailed image and the rough image of the banknote are explained with reference to FIGS. 7A and 7B. FIG. 7A shows the detailed image and FIG. 7B shows the rough image.)
Ikemoto does not teach:
1/14. a plurality of mutually different types of shape information based on the plurality of types of images,
Wu teaches:
Claim 1. A sheet recognition unit which recognizes a sheet, the sheet recognition unit comprising: / Claim 14. A sheet recognition method for recognizing a sheet, the sheet recognition method comprising the steps of: (Wu: abstract A method has been developed for detecting defects in printed images. The method includes operating a printer to print a first printed image and a second image, where the second image is a duplicate of the first printed image. The method further includes generating image data that correspond to the first printed image and the second printed image, and identifying image defects using differences between the image data generated for the first image and the image data generated for the second image. [0018] Referring to FIG. 1, an inkjet imaging system 5 is shown that has been configured to evaluate image data detected from images formed on the surface of an image receiving member during printing operations. For the purposes of this disclosure, the imaging apparatus is in the form of an inkjet printer that employs one or more inkjet printheads and an associated solid ink supply. However, the methods described herein are applicable to any of a variety of other imaging apparatuses that use inkjet ejectors in printheads to form images. Claim 1)
1. an image acquirer configured to acquire a plurality of types of images of the sheet; and a controller configured: / 14. acquiring a plurality of types of images of the sheet; (Wu: column 3 lines 65-67, column 4 lines 1-30, Referring to FIG. 1, an inkjet imaging system 5 is shown that has been configured to evaluate image data detected from images formed on the surface of an image receiving member during printing operations. For the purposes of this disclosure, the imaging apparatus is in the form of an inkjet printer that employs one or more inkjet printheads and an associated solid ink supply. However, the methods described herein are applicable to any of a variety of other imaging apparatuses that use inkjet ejectors in printheads to form images. Column 9 lines 1-55, The imaging system 5 of FIG. 1 is merely illustrative of one embodiment of an imaging system that may detect transient image defects in printed images. Alternative imaging systems including, but not limited to, drop on demand indirect imaging systems, sheet fed imaging systems, and the like may be used as well. FIG. 2 depicts a process 200 for detecting image defects in duplicate printed images generated by a printer. Process 200 generates a set of reference image data for one or more printed images generated during a print job (block 204). In various imaging operations, a set of printed images may be generated multiple times. For example, a print job may produce 10,000 copies of a three page document, with duplicate images of the three pages generated once for each copy of the document. A reference image refers to a set of image data corresponding to the printed image formed on one of the pages in the print job. In some embodiments, the printer may use an optical imaging system to generate reference image data from the first set of images generated for comparison with all subsequent duplicate images. In another embodiment, the printer may generate reference image data for each of the most recent copy of the duplicate images in the print job, and retain the generated image reference data for comparison with the next duplicate image that the printer generates. In this embodiment, the printer replaces the reference image data each time the printer generates image data for a duplicate page and after the printer detects any image defects in the duplicate image. In still another embodiment, the printer may use the original electronic version of the image data received with the print job to compare with image data generated from the printed images after the printer has formed the printed images on the image media.)
1. to generate a plurality of types of shape information based on the plurality of types of images, / 14. generating a plurality of types of shape information based on the plurality of types of images; (Wu: column 1 lines 33-56, For example, image quality defects are often detected by printing known test patterns on a print medium and analyzing the test patterns for image defects. Typical test patterns include one or more predefined shapes such as lines, dashes, and geometric figures, contone or halftoned areas that enable a printer to detect image defects and to calibrate one or more components to correct the defects. These test patterns present several disadvantages since they consume print media that could otherwise be used for printing images, and since they must be separated from the printed customer prints during or after the print job. Additionally, transient defects may occur between printing test patterns and avoid detection in the test pattern image data. Being able to detect transient image quality defects from customer generated images without requiring predetermined test patterns or knowledge of the image content would be useful. Column 9 lines 30-55, In addition to generating reference image data for printed images in a print job, process 200 generates image data for each media page after the printer forms printed images on the image receiving member (block 208). In one embodiment, an optical imaging system, such as optical imaging system 54 described above, generates image data from the images formed on the print medium. Process 200 determines if the generated image data for the page is a duplicate of reference image data (block 212). One method for identifying whether image data for a page is a duplicate of reference image data is described in more detail below with reference to FIG. 4. In some embodiments, process 200 identifies duplicate pages with reference to the full image formed on each media sheet. For example, in a print job producing multiple copies of a three page document, the corresponding first, second and third pages of each copy are full-page duplicates. In other embodiments, process 200 may identify duplicate images that may occupy a portion of a page, while other portions of the page are not duplicates. For example, in many documents, a duplicate header image is formed at the top of each page in a print job, even if other portions of the pages do not duplicate one another.)
1./14. generate/generating a plurality of mutually different types of shape information based on the plurality of types of images, and (Wu: Claim 1. 1. A method of detecting defects in printed images comprising:
operating a printer with a controller to form a first printed image and a second printed image on at least one image receiving member, the second printed image being a duplicate of the first printed image;
generating with optical detectors first image data corresponding to the first printed image;
generating with optical detectors second image data corresponding to the second printed image;
generating with the controller at least one segment from the first image data corresponding to the first printed image;
identifying with the controller sizes and shapes of edges for each segment in the first image data corresponding to the first printed image;
generating with the controller at least one segment from the second image data corresponding to the second printed image;
identifying with the controller sizes and shapes of edges for each segment in the second image data corresponding to the second printed image;
identifying with the controller the second printed image as a duplicate of the first printed image in response to a correlation of the sizes and shapes of edges in each segment of the first image data corresponding to the first printed image to the sizes and shapes of edges in each segment of the second image data corresponding to the second printed image exceeding a predetermined threshold;
generating with the controller difference data corresponding to a difference between the first image data corresponding to the first printed image and the second image data corresponding to the second printed image; and
identifying with the controller a defect in the second printed image from the difference data.)
1.14/ select/selecting at least one type of shape information from among the plurality of mutually different types of shape information so as to execute selective shape determination processing (Wu: Claim 1. identifying with the controller sizes and shapes of edges for each segment in the second image data corresponding to the second printed image;
identifying with the controller the second printed image as a duplicate of the first printed image in response to a correlation of the sizes and shapes of edges in each segment of the first image data corresponding to the first printed image to the sizes and shapes of edges in each segment of the second image data corresponding to the second printed image exceeding a predetermined threshold;
generating with the controller difference data corresponding to a difference between the first image data corresponding to the first printed image and the second image data corresponding to the second printed image; and
identifying with the controller a defect in the second printed image from the difference data.
Column 12 lines 15-67, column 13 lines 1-21, FIG. 4 depicts a process 400 for identifying duplicate images in image data generated from printed images formed on multiple pages. Process 400 begins by segmenting the generated image data that corresponds to a page in the print job (block 404). The generated image data may be the same image generated for each printed page during processes 100 and 200 described above. The segmentation process may include a component analysis or entropy analysis to group similar areas of a page together into one or more segments. on page 620A.
Process 400 generates edge maps for each segment in the generated image data (block 408). The edge maps define the positions and arrangement of the outer boundaries of each image segment in the page. The edge maps for the segments are then correlated with edge map templates generated for one or more reference images (block 412). In one embodiment, a two dimensional correlation between the edge maps from the generated image data and the template is calculated. If the two-dimensional correlation produces a value that is above a preset threshold (block 416), the layout of the incoming image is identified as a duplicate of one of the templates (block 420). The threshold used in the correlation may be selected with reference to the confidence of a scanning process, such as the amount of noise in the generated image data and possible skew and rotation of the image receiving member as the image receiving member is being scanned. In the presence of scanning errors, such as skew, the skew error is accounted for when performing the two dimensional correlation. If the skew is detected using skew detection methods known to the art, the scanned image data may be processed to compensate for the skew before the template matching is being performed. In the example shown in FIG. 6, page 620A is the first page of a three page document including pages 624 and 628. Duplicate page 620B includes the same segments 604, 608, and 612 that have a two-dimensional correlation exceeding the predetermined threshold value.
If the two-dimensional correlation is below the threshold for any of the stored templates (block 416), then the incoming image is a new image and its edge map can then be stored as a new template (block 424). In FIG. 6, pages 624 and 628 would fall below the threshold value when compared to a reference image data template for corresponding to page 620A. In one embodiment, a printer stores the edge map templates in a memory instead of the full generated image data for each page to reduce memory usage.
Process 400 is merely an example of one method for identifying duplicate images. Any alternative method suitable for identifying duplicate images generated during a print job may also be used. In some printing applications, the image data for each pixel in one segment or the entire image may be compared. The full image analysis may be performed for each region following the layout comparison. In another embodiment, process 400 may identify an individual image segment that corresponds to a reference template, even if other image segments on a media page do not correspond to the template. In the example of FIG. 6, segment 604 has the same size, shape, and edge map for each of media pages 620A, 624, 628, and 620B. The segment 604 may be identified as a duplicate image, even if the other image segments of the larger images do not duplicate the images on other pages. This segmentation may be useful in identifying transient image defects in documents that have duplicated sections on some or all of the pages in a print job, such as titles or headers present in each page of a print job.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ikemoto’s paper sheet identification method and device with improvements from Wu’s algorithm for content-aware image defect detection in printed images. Both references lend themselves for combination, as they are directed to the same field of endeavor for image correction in printed data The determination of obviousness is predicated upon the following findings: One skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify Ikemoto in order to improve the accuracy of defect detection in banknotes using the algorithm of Wu for content-aware image defect detection in printed images using shape-based segmented regions and thresholding operations. Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in the manner explained above using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a “fundamental” operating principle of Ikemoto, while the teaching of Wu continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result of content-based defect detection using a series of parameters and threshold for enhanced accuracy. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Consider Claim 2.
The combination of Ikemoto and Wu teaches:
Claim 2. The sheet recognition unit according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to select the at least one type of shape information based on a type of the sheet. (Ikemoto: [0055] Thereafter, the paper-sheet recognition apparatus according to the present invention performs the detailed denomination judgment process only as to the four denomination candidates remaining after the simple judgment 1 and identifies the denomination. Furthermore, the paper-sheet recognition apparatus performs the authenticity recognition process only as to the two denomination candidates remaining after the simple judgment 2. [0077] In the present embodiment, as shown in FIGS. 4A and 4B, the banknote passes the sensor group 11 with a long-edge portion thereof parallel to the X-axis. In an alternative arrangement, the banknote can be made to pass the sensor group 11 with a short-edge portion thereof parallel to the X-axis. [0105] The concrete judgment conditions stored in the shape information 121 are explained below with reference to FIG. 6. FIG. 6 is a table for explaining an example of the shape information 121. [0106]-[0111] Thus, the shape judging unit 132 a performs a shape judgment process based on the judgment conditions included in the shape information 121. [0112] The shape information 121 includes the upper limits and the lower limits of the banknote width and the banknote length. In an alternative arrangement, instead of concretely specifying the threshold values of the banknote size, the following scheme can be employed. That is, if a difference between the item “banknote width” and the actual detected banknote width and a difference between the item “banknote length” and the actual detected banknote length is respectively less than or equal to respective predetermined threshold values, a judgment can be made that the banknote is of the denomination candidate and the denomination candidates can be narrowed down. [0113] The detailed image and the rough image of the banknote are explained with reference to FIGS. 7A and 7B. FIG. 7A shows the detailed image and FIG. 7B shows the rough image.)
Consider Claim 4.
The combination of Ikemoto and Wu teaches:
Claim 4. The sheet recognition unit according to claim 1,wherein the controller is configured to execute, before the selective shape determination processing, fixed shape determination processing which is determination processing related to a shape of the sheet based on preset shape information among the plurality of types of shape information. (Ikemoto: [0072] The thickness sensor 114 includes detection shafts that are arranged in a direction perpendicular to the transport direction of the banknote so as to sandwich the banknote passing over the transport path 202. Among the detection shafts, a detection shaft 114 a is movable in the positive and negative directions of the Z-axis whereas a detection shaft 114 b is fixed. [0073] The thickness sensor 114 detects the thickness of the banknote including the thickness of an ink layer on the banknote by detecting displacement of the detection shaft 114 a based on the passage of the banknote between the detection shafts 114 a and 114 b. [0080] The storage unit 12 stores therein country-wise and denomination-wise feature patterns of the banknote as the templates 122, and the threshold values 123 that are required when performing the recognition processes by the authenticity recognition unit 133 and the fitness recognition unit 134. The shape information 121 and the threshold values 123 are described in detail later.)
Consider Claim 5.
The combination of Ikemoto and Wu teaches:
Claim 5. The sheet recognition unit according to claim 4, The sheet recognition unit according to wherein the controller is configured to execute size determination processing of determining a size of the sheet as the fixed shape determination processing. (Ikemoto: [0079] The storage unit 12 is constituted by a storage device such as a non-volatile memory or a hard disk drive. The storage unit 12 stores therein information relating to the banknote size as the shape information 121, in a correlated form with the country and the denomination of the banknote. [0085] The shape judging unit 132 a detects the size of the banknote based on the image of the banknote acquired by the line sensor 112, and narrows down the number of denomination candidates by using judgment conditions stored in the shape information 121. Concrete judgment conditions are described in detail later. [0110]-[0111], [0112] The shape information 121 includes the upper limits and the lower limits of the banknote width and the banknote length. In an alternative arrangement, instead of concretely specifying the threshold values of the banknote size, the following scheme can be employed. That is, if a difference between the item “banknote width” and the actual detected banknote width and a difference between the item “banknote length” and the actual detected banknote length is respectively less than or equal to respective predetermined threshold values, a judgment can be made that the banknote is of the denomination candidate and the denomination candidates can be narrowed down.)
Consider Claim 7.
The combination of Ikemoto and Wu teaches:
Claim 7. The sheet recognition unit according to claim 5, wherein the controller is configured: to determine a type of the sheet based on a result of the size determination processing, and to select one type of shape information from among the plurality of types of shape information based on the determined type so as to re-execute the size determination processing as the selective shape determination processing based on the selected one type of shape information. (Ikemoto: [0079] The storage unit 12 is constituted by a storage device such as a non-volatile memory or a hard disk drive. The storage unit 12 stores therein information relating to the banknote size as the shape information 121, in a correlated form with the country and the denomination of the banknote. [0085] The shape judging unit 132 a detects the size of the banknote based on the image of the banknote acquired by the line sensor 112, and narrows down the number of denomination candidates by using judgment conditions stored in the shape information 121. Concrete judgment conditions are described in detail later. [0110]-[0111], [0112] The shape information 121 includes the upper limits and the lower limits of the banknote width and the banknote length. In an alternative arrangement, instead of concretely specifying the threshold values of the banknote size, the following scheme can be employed. That is, if a difference between the item “banknote width” and the actual detected banknote width and a difference between the item “banknote length” and the actual detected banknote length is respectively less than or equal to respective predetermined threshold values, a judgment can be made that the banknote is of the denomination candidate and the denomination candidates can be narrowed down.)
Consider Claim 9.
The combination of Ikemoto and Wu teaches:
Claim 9. The sheet recognition unit according to claim 1,wherein the controller is configured: to determine a type of the sheet based on a pattern on at least one type of an image included in the plurality of types of images, and to select at least one type of shape information from among the plurality of types of shape information based on the determined type so as to execute the selective shape determination processing based on the selected at least one type of shape information.(Ikemoto: [0039] As shown in (1) of FIG. 1, the paper-sheet recognition apparatus compares a feature pattern of the rough image created from the image data of the banknote captured by the line sensor with a feature pattern of a template stored previously, and narrows down the number of denomination candidates (hereinafter, referred to as “simple judgment 1”). [0040] For example, a case is explained in which templates of one hundred denominations are stored previously in the paper-sheet recognition apparatus. The paper-sheet recognition apparatus narrows down the number of the denomination candidates from one hundred to fifty by the shape judgment and further narrows down the number of denomination candidates from fifty to four by the simple judgment 1. [0041] The remaining four denomination candidates sequentially from the top in a judgment result are, namely, a denomination A-1, a denomination A-2, a denomination B, and a denomination C. The denomination A-1 and the denomination A-2 are variations of banknotes of the same denomination. With regard to the denomination A-1 and the denomination A-2, the engravings on the banknotes is similar; however, the feature patterns of the images on the banknotes are different. [0042] Specifically, even if the money value of the banknotes is the same, the banknotes are classified into the denomination A-1 and the denomination A-2 if the feature patterns of the images obtained are different when a light of a certain wavelength is irradiated. Hereinafter, the banknotes having different feature patterns of the images although the monetary amount thereof is the same will be called “series”. [0043] As shown in (2) of FIG. 1, the paper-sheet recognition apparatus narrows down the number of denominations from four to two as the judgment result by a simple judgment 2 based on the rough image.)
Consider Claim 11.
The combination of Ikemoto and Wu teaches:
Claim 11. The sheet recognition unit according to claim 1, wherein the image acquirer is configured to acquire at least a transmission image and a reflection image of the sheet as the plurality of types of images, and the controller is configured to generate first shape information by detecting an edge of the sheet in the transmission image and also generate second shape information by generating an OR-processed image through OR- processing of the transmission image and the reflection image and detecting an edge of the sheet in the generated OR-processed image. (Ikemoto: [0068] The line sensor 112 includes light receiving units 112 b on the front-face side and the back-face side of the banknote passing over the transport path 202. The light receiving units 112 b receive a light emitted from the light emitting units 112 a and transmitted through the banknote (hereinafter, referred to as “transmitted light”), and a light that is emitted from the light emitting units 112 a and reflected by the banknote surface (hereinafter, referred to as “reflected light”). In the line sensor 112, a combination of the light emitting units 112 a and the light receiving units 112 b is arranged side-by-side in a direction perpendicular to the transport direction of the banknote. [0069] The light emitting units 112 a irradiate the banknote with the green light, the infrared light, etc., the light receiving units 112 b receive the transmitted light or the reflected light, and based on the received transmitted light or the reflected light, the line sensor 112 generates an image data. Specifically, the line sensor 112 detects the banknote size by acquiring a shape of the banknote using the transmitted light, and detects the feature pattern on the front-face side and the back-face side of the banknote using the reflected light. [0070] A white seal is pasted on a surface of a end portion of the line sensor 112 for an adjustment, and an amount of the irradiated light is adjusted based on the reflected light of the seal. Meanwhile, it is allowable to resin the opposite side of the light emitting units 112 a across the transport path 202, and detect a reflected light reflected by the resin, and adjust the amount of the irradiated light based on the detected reflected light. For example, a mirror-polished gray resin can be arranged to detect the light for the adjustment.)
Consider Claim 12.
The combination of Ikemoto and Wu teaches:
Claim 12. The sheet recognition unit according to claim 12, wherein the controller is configured: to execute the selective shape determination processing based on the second shape information in a case where the sheet has a transparent portion in an end, andto execute the selective shape determination processing based on the first shape information in a case where the sheet has no transparent portion in any end. (Ikemoto: [0068] The line sensor 112 includes light receiving units 112 b on the front-face side and the back-face side of the banknote passing over the transport path 202. The light receiving units 112 b receive a light emitted from the light emitting units 112 a and transmitted through the banknote (hereinafter, referred to as “transmitted light”), and a light that is emitted from the light emitting units 112 a and reflected by the banknote surface (hereinafter, referred to as “reflected light”). In the line sensor 112, a combination of the light emitting units 112 a and the light receiving units 112 b is arranged side-by-side in a direction perpendicular to the transport direction of the banknote. [0069] The light emitting units 112 a irradiate the banknote with the green light, the infrared light, etc., the light receiving units 112 b receive the transmitted light or the reflected light, and based on the received transmitted light or the reflected light, the line sensor 112 generates an image data. Specifically, the line sensor 112 detects the banknote size by acquiring a shape of the banknote using the transmitted light, and detects the feature pattern on the front-face side and the back-face side of the banknote using the reflected light. [0070] A white seal is pasted on a surface of a end portion of the line sensor 112 for an adjustment, and an amount of the irradiated light is adjusted based on the reflected light of the seal. Meanwhile, it is allowable to resin the opposite side of the light emitting units 112 a across the transport path 202, and detect a reflected light reflected by the resin, and adjust the amount of the irradiated light based on the detected reflected light. For example, a mirror-polished gray resin can be arranged to detect the light for the adjustment.)
Consider Claim 13.
The combination of Ikemoto and Wu teaches:
Claim 13. A sheet handling device comprising: the sheet recognition unit according to claim 1. (Ikemoto: [0058] FIG. 3 is a block diagram of a banknote recognition apparatus 10 according to an embodiment according to the present invention. In FIG. 3, only necessary constituent elements are shown for explaining features of the banknote recognition apparatus 10. [0059] As shown in FIG. 3, the banknote recognition apparatus 10 includes a sensor group 11, a storage unit 12, and a control unit 13. The storage unit 12 stores therein shape information 121, templates 122, and threshold values 123. The control unit 13 includes a sensor-information acquisition unit 131, a denomination recognition unit 132, an authenticity recognition unit 133, a fitness recognition unit 134, a serial-number recognition unit 135, and an overall judgment unit 136. [0060] The sensor group 11 is a set of various sensors that are arranged on a transport path through which banknotes deposited from a not shown inlet are transported, and that detect a physical quantity from a measurement target. [0061] An example of arrangement of the sensor group 11 is explained with reference to FIGS. 4A and 4B. FIGS. 4A and 4B are drawings for explaining the arrangement structure of the sensor group 11 on a transport path 202 in the banknote recognition apparatus 10. In FIGS. 4A and 4B, only necessary constituent elements that are shown for explaining features of the sensor group 11. [0062] FIG. 4A is a top view and FIG. 4B is a side view of the sensor group 11 arranged on the transport path 202. Coordinate axes shown on the right side of FIGS. 4A and 4B are appropriately used in the explanation. Dotted lines in FIGS. 4A and 4B show the same position on the X-axis.)
Consider Claim 15.
The combination of Ikemoto and Wu teaches:
15. (New) The sheet recognition unit according to claim 3, wherein the defect determination processing includes determining a presence or absence of at least one of a fold, a tear, or a hole in the sheet. (Examiner Note: the fitness recognition unit in banknote recognition apparatus inherently includes and detects a physical quantity from a measurement target, and would detect a fold, tear or hole in the sheet; Ikemoto: [0058] FIG. 3 is a block diagram of a banknote recognition apparatus 10 according to an embodiment according to the present invention. In FIG. 3, only necessary constituent elements are shown for explaining features of the banknote recognition apparatus 10. [0059] As shown in FIG. 3, the banknote recognition apparatus 10 includes a sensor group 11, a storage unit 12, and a control unit 13. The storage unit 12 stores therein shape information 121, templates 122, and threshold values 123. The control unit 13 includes a sensor-information acquisition unit 131, a denomination recognition unit 132, an authenticity recognition unit 133, a fitness recognition unit 134, a serial-number recognition unit 135, and an overall judgment unit 136. [0060] The sensor group 11 is a set of various sensors that are arranged on a transport path through which banknotes deposited from a not shown inlet are transported, and that detect a physical quantity from a measurement target. [0104]-[0110], [0104] In this case, the overall judgment unit 136 obtains a logical product of both the recognition results, that is, judges that the recognition target banknote is “genuine note of denomination B”. In the present embodiment, the recognition result of the authenticity recognition unit 133 is explained; however, a similar process is performed for the recognition results of the fitness recognition unit 134 and the serial-number recognition unit 135. Therefore, the overall judgment unit 136 performs a judgment process by using a fitness recognition result and a serial-number recognition result of the denomination (denomination B) judged by the detailed denomination judging unit 132 d and outputs a result as an overall judgment result. Wu: column 9 lines 31-67, column 10 lines 1-3; In addition to generating reference image data for printed images in a print job, process 200 generates image data for each media page after the printer forms printed images on the image receiving member (block 208). In one embodiment, an optical imaging system, such as optical imaging system 54 described above, generates image data from the images formed on the print medium. Process 200 determines if the generated image data for the page is a duplicate of reference image data (block 212). One method for identifying whether image data for a page is a duplicate of reference image data is described in more detail below with reference to FIG. 4. In some embodiments, process 200 identifies duplicate pages with reference to the full image formed on each media sheet. For example, in a print job producing multiple copies of a three page document, the corresponding first, second and third pages of each copy are full-page duplicates. In other embodiments, process 200 may identify duplicate images that may occupy a portion of a page, while other portions of the page are not duplicates. For example, in many documents, a duplicate header image is formed at the top of each page in a print job, even if other portions of the pages do not duplicate one another. If the generated image data for a page is not a duplicate of one of the reference images, then various image defect analysis techniques may be performed on the generated image data (block 216). One such image defect analysis technique is described in co-pending U.S. patent application Ser. No. 12/906,694 entitled “System and Method for Detecting Missing Inkjets in an Inkjet Printer Using Image Data of Printed Documents Without A Priori Knowledge Of The Documents,” filed on Oct. 18, 2010, and which has the same assignee as the present application. The image defect analysis for a non-duplicate image is appropriate for pages that do not duplicate reference image data.)
Consider Claim 16.
The combination of Ikemoto and Wu teaches:
16. (New) The sheet recognition unit according to claim 11, wherein the controller is configured to generate the first shape information by binarizing the transmission image at a threshold and detecting the edge of the sheet in the binarized transmission image, and to generate the second shape information by binarizing the transmission image and the reflection image at respective thresholds, generating the OR-processed image by OR- processing the two binarized images, and detecting the edge of the sheet in the OR-processed image. (Ikemoto: [0104]-[0110], [0104] In this case, the overall judgment unit 136 obtains a logical product of both the recognition results, that is, judges that the recognition target banknote is “genuine note of denomination B”. In the present embodiment, the recognition result of the authenticity recognition unit 133 is explained; however, a similar process is performed for the recognition results of the fitness recognition unit 134 and the serial-number recognition unit 135. Therefore, the overall judgment unit 136 performs a judgment process by using a fitness recognition result and a serial-number recognition result of the denomination (denomination B) judged by the detailed denomination judging unit 132 d and outputs a result as an overall judgment result. Wu: Claim 1. identifying with the controller sizes and shapes of edges for each segment in the second image data corresponding to the second printed image;
identifying with the controller the second printed image as a duplicate of the first printed image in response to a correlation of the sizes and shapes of edges in each segment of the first image data corresponding to the first printed image to the sizes and shapes of edges in each segment of the second image data corresponding to the second printed image exceeding a predetermined threshold;
generating with the controller difference data corresponding to a difference between the first image data corresponding to the first printed image and the second image data corresponding to the second printed image; and
identifying with the controller a defect in the second printed image from the difference data.
Column 12 lines 15-67, column 13 lines 1-21, FIG. 4 depicts a process 400 for identifying duplicate images in image data generated from printed images formed on multiple pages. Process 400 begins by segmenting the generated image data that corresponds to a page in the print job (block 404). The generated image data may be the same image generated for each printed page during processes 100 and 200 described above. The segmentation process may include a component analysis or entropy analysis to group similar areas of a page together into one or more segments. on page 620A.
Process 400 generates edge maps for each segment in the generated image data (block 408). The edge maps define the positions and arrangement of the outer boundaries of each image segment in the page. The edge maps for the segments are then correlated with edge map templates generated for one or more reference images (block 412). In one embodiment, a two dimensional correlation between the edge maps from the generated image data and the template is calculated. If the two-dimensional correlation produces a value that is above a preset threshold (block 416), the layout of the incoming image is identified as a duplicate of one of the templates (block 420). The threshold used in the correlation may be selected with reference to the confidence of a scanning process, such as the amount of noise in the generated image data and possible skew and rotation of the image receiving member as the image receiving member is being scanned. In the presence of scanning errors, such as skew, the skew error is accounted for when performing the two dimensional correlation. If the skew is detected using skew detection methods known to the art, the scanned image data may be processed to compensate for the skew before the template matching is being performed. In the example shown in FIG. 6, page 620A is the first page of a three page document including pages 624 and 628. Duplicate page 620B includes the same segments 604, 608, and 612 that have a two-dimensional correlation exceeding the predetermined threshold value.
If the two-dimensional correlation is below the threshold for any of the stored templates (block 416), then the incoming image is a new image and its edge map can then be stored as a new template (block 424). In FIG. 6, pages 624 and 628 would fall below the threshold value when compared to a reference image data template for corresponding to page 620A. In one embodiment, a printer stores the edge map templates in a memory instead of the full generated image data for each page to reduce memory usage.
Process 400 is merely an example of one method for identifying duplicate images. Any alternative method suitable for identifying duplicate images generated during a print job may also be used. In some printing applications, the image data for each pixel in one segment or the entire image may be compared. The full image analysis may be performed for each region following the layout comparison. In another embodiment, process 400 may identify an individual image segment that corresponds to a reference template, even if other image segments on a media page do not correspond to the template. In the example of FIG. 6, segment 604 has the same size, shape, and edge map for each of media pages 620A, 624, 628, and 620B. The segment 604 may be identified as a duplicate image, even if the other image segments of the larger images do not duplicate the images on other pages. This segmentation may be useful in identifying transient image defects in documents that have duplicated sections on some or all of the pages in a print job, such as titles or headers present in each page of a print job.)
Consider Claim 17.
The combination of Ikemoto and Wu teaches:
17. (New) The sheet recognition unit according to claim 1, wherein the image acquirer is configured to acquire at least a first transmission image and a second transmission image of the sheet, captured using mutually different quantities of light applied to the sheet, as the plurality of types of images, and the controller is configured to generate at least one type of shape information of the plurality of mutually different types of shape information based on at least one of the first transmission image or the second transmission image. (Wu: column 8 lines 30-67, column 9 lines 1-30; The imaging system 5 may also include an optical imaging system 54 that is configured in a manner similar to that described above for the imaging of the printed web. The optical imaging system is configured to detect, for example, the presence, intensity, and/or location of ink drops jetted onto the receiving member by the inkjets of the printhead assembly. The optical imaging system may include an array of optical detectors mounted to a bar or other longitudinal structure that extends across the width of an imaging area on the image receiving member. In one embodiment in which the imaging area is approximately twenty inches wide in the cross-process direction and the printheads print at a resolution of 600 dpi in the cross process direction, over 12,000 optical detectors are arrayed in a single row along the bar to generate a single scanline of digital image data across the imaging member. The optical detectors are configured in association in one or more light sources that direct light towards the surface of the image receiving member. The optical detectors receive the light generated by the light sources after the light is reflected from the image receiving member. The magnitude of the electrical signal generated by an optical detector in response to light being reflected by the bare surface of the image receiving member is larger than the magnitude of a signal generated in response to light reflected from a drop of ink on the image receiving member. This difference in the magnitude of the generated signal may be used to identify the positions of ink drops on an image receiving member. The reader should note, however, that lighter colored inks, such as yellow, cause optical detectors to generate lower contrast signals with respect to the signals received from unlinked portions than darker colored inks, such as black. The magnitudes of the electrical signals generated by the optical detectors may be converted to digital values by an appropriate analog/digital converter.
The imaging system 5 of FIG. 1 is merely illustrative of one embodiment of an imaging system that may detect transient image defects in printed images. Alternative imaging systems including, but not limited to, drop on demand indirect imaging systems, sheet fed imaging systems, and the like may be used as well.
FIG. 2 depicts a process 200 for detecting image defects in duplicate printed images generated by a printer. Process 200 generates a set of reference image data for one or more printed images generated during a print job (block 204). In various imaging operations, a set of printed images may be generated multiple times. For example, a print job may produce 10,000 copies of a three page document, with duplicate images of the three pages generated once for each copy of the document. A reference image refers to a set of image data corresponding to the printed image formed on one of the pages in the print job. In some embodiments, the printer may use an optical imaging system to generate reference image data from the first set of images generated for comparison with all subsequent duplicate images. In another embodiment, the printer may generate reference image data for each of the most recent copy of the duplicate images in the print job, and retain the generated image reference data for comparison with the next duplicate image that the printer generates. In this embodiment, the printer replaces the reference image data each time the printer generates image data for a duplicate page and after the printer detects any image defects in the duplicate image. In still another embodiment, the printer may use the original electronic version of the image data received with the print job to compare with image data generated from the printed images after the printer has formed the printed images on the image media.)
Consider Claim 18.
The combination of Ikemoto and Wu teaches:
18. (New) The sheet recognition unit according to claim 12, wherein the transparent portion is a clear window that transmits light applied to the sheet, and the sheet further includes an opaque portion, the transparent portion being formed from a polymer and the opaque portion being formed from paper. (Wu: column 6 lines 30-67, column 7 lines 1-62, Following the printing zone 20 along the media path are one or more “mid-heaters” 30. A mid-heater 30 may use contact, radiant, conductive, and/or convective heat to control a temperature of the media. The mid-heater 30 brings the ink placed on the media to a temperature suitable for desired properties when the ink on the media is sent through the spreader 40. In one embodiment, a useful range for a target temperature for the mid-heater is about 35° C. to about 80° C. The mid-heater 30 has the effect of equalizing the ink and substrate temperatures to within about 15° C. of each other. Lower ink temperature gives less line spread while higher ink temperature causes show-through (visibility of the image from the other side of the print). The mid-heater 30 adjusts substrate and ink temperatures to 0° C. to 20° C. above the temperature of the spreader.
Following the mid-heaters 30, a fixing assembly 40 is configured to apply heat and/or pressure to the media to fix the images to the media. The fixing assembly may include any suitable device or apparatus for fixing images to the media including heated or unheated pressure rollers, radiant heaters, heat lamps, and the like. In the embodiment of the FIG. 1, the fixing assembly includes a “spreader” 40, that applies a predetermined pressure, and in some implementations, heat, to the media. The function of the spreader 40 is to take what are essentially droplets, strings of droplets, or lines of ink on web W and smear them out by pressure and, in some systems, heat, so that spaces between adjacent drops are filled and image solids become uniform. In addition to spreading the ink, the spreader 40 may also improve image permanence by increasing ink layer cohesion and/or increasing the ink-web adhesion. The spreader 40 includes rollers, such as image-side roller 42 and pressure roller 44, to apply heat and pressure to the media. Either roll can include heat elements, such as heating elements 46, to bring the web W to a temperature in a range from about 35° C. to about 80° C. In alternative embodiments, the fixing assembly may be configured to spread the ink using non-contact heating (without pressure) of the media after the print zone. Such a non-contact fixing assembly may use any suitable type of heater to heat the media to a desired temperature, such as a radiant heater, UV heating lamps, and the like.
In one practical embodiment, the roller temperature in spreader 40 is maintained at a temperature to an optimum temperature that depends on the properties of the ink such as 55° C.; generally, a lower roller temperature gives less line spread while a higher temperature causes imperfections in the gloss. Roller temperatures that are too high may cause ink to offset to the roll. In one practical embodiment, the nip pressure is set in a range of about 500 to about 2000 psi lbs/side. Lower nip pressure gives less line spread while higher pressure may reduce pressure roller life.
The spreader 40 may also include a cleaning/oiling station 48 associated with image-side roller 42. The station 48 cleans and/or applies a layer of some release agent or other material to the roller surface. The release agent material may be an amino silicone oil having viscosity of about 10-200 centipoises. Only small amounts of oil are required and the oil carried by the media is only about 1-10 mg per A4 size sheet. In one possible embodiment, the mid-heater 30 and spreader 40 may be combined into a single unit, with their respective functions occurring relative to the same portion of media simultaneously. In another embodiment the media is maintained at a high temperature as it is printed to enable spreading of the ink.
The coating station 95 applies a clear ink to the printed media using one or more clear ink ejectors 98. This clear ink helps protect the printed media from smearing or other environmental degradation following removal from the printer. The overlay of clear ink acts as a sacrificial layer of ink that may be smeared and/or offset during handling without affecting the appearance of the image underneath. The coating station 95 may apply the clear ink with either a roller or a printhead 98 ejecting the clear ink in a pattern. Clear ink for the purposes of this disclosure is functionally defined as a substantially clear overcoat ink that has minimal impact on the final printed color, regardless of whether or not the ink is devoid of all colorant. In one embodiment, the clear ink utilized for the coating ink comprises a phase change ink formulation without colorant. Alternatively, the clear ink coating may be formed using a reduced set of typical solid ink components or a single solid ink component, such as polyethylene wax, or polywax. As used herein, polywax refers to a family of relatively low molecular weight straight chain poly ethylene or poly methylene waxes. Similar to the colored phase change inks, clear phase change ink is substantially solid at room temperature and substantially liquid or melted when initially jetted onto the media. The clear phase change ink may be heated to about 100° C. to 140° C. to melt the solid ink for jetting onto the media.
Following passage through the spreader 40 the printed media may be wound onto a roller for removal from the system (simplex printing) or directed to the web inverter 84 for inversion and displacement to another section of the rollers for a second pass by the printheads, mid-heaters, spreader, and coating station. The duplex printed material may then be wound onto a roller for removal from the system by rewind unit 90. Alternatively, the media may be directed to other processing stations that perform tasks such as cutting, binding, collating, and/or stapling the media or the like.)
Consider Claim 20.
The combination of Ikemoto and Wu teaches:
20. (New) The sheet recognition unit according to claim 9, wherein the controller is configured to determine the type of the sheet based on both the pattern on the at least one type of the image and a result of size determination processing of determining a size of the sheet.(Wu: column 7 lines 15-53, The spreader 40 may also include a cleaning/oiling station 48 associated with image-side roller 42. The station 48 cleans and/or applies a layer of some release agent or other material to the roller surface. The release agent material may be an amino silicone oil having viscosity of about 10-200 centipoises. Only small amounts of oil are required and the oil carried by the media is only about 1-10 mg per A4 size sheet. In one possible embodiment, the mid-heater 30 and spreader 40 may be combined into a single unit, with their respective functions occurring relative to the same portion of media simultaneously. In another embodiment the media is maintained at a high temperature as it is printed to enable spreading of the ink.
The coating station 95 applies a clear ink to the printed media using one or more clear ink ejectors 98. This clear ink helps protect the printed media from smearing or other environmental degradation following removal from the printer. The overlay of clear ink acts as a sacrificial layer of ink that may be smeared and/or offset during handling without affecting the appearance of the image underneath. The coating station 95 may apply the clear ink with either a roller or a printhead 98 ejecting the clear ink in a pattern. Clear ink for the purposes of this disclosure is functionally defined as a substantially clear overcoat ink that has minimal impact on the final printed color, regardless of whether or not the ink is devoid of all colorant. In one embodiment, the clear ink utilized for the coating ink comprises a phase change ink formulation without colorant. Alternatively, the clear ink coating may be formed using a reduced set of typical solid ink components or a single solid ink component, such as polyethylene wax, or polywax. As used herein, polywax refers to a family of relatively low molecular weight straight chain poly ethylene or poly methylene waxes. Similar to the colored phase change inks, clear phase change ink is substantially solid at room temperature and substantially liquid or melted when initially jetted onto the media. The clear phase change ink may be heated to about 100° C. to 140° C. to melt the solid ink for jetting onto the media. Ikemoto: [0033] FIG. 1 is a drawing for explaining an overview of the paper-sheet recognition apparatus and the paper-sheet recognition method according to the present invention. In FIG. 1, a case is explained as an example in which the present invention is applied to a paper-sheet recognition apparatus that handles banknotes. However, the present invention can be applied to a paper-sheet recognition apparatus that handles any other paper sheets, such as, checks, drafts, and gift coupons. [0034] In the paper-sheet recognition apparatus and the paper-sheet recognition method according to the present invention, as shown in FIG. 1, a banknote size is detected from a captured image of the banknote, and the number of candidate denominations are narrowed down based on the detected banknote size. Furthermore, in the paper-sheet recognition apparatus and the paper-sheet recognition method, a simple judgment is performed using image data of low resolution (hereinafter, referred to as “rough image”) created from image data of the banknote and the number of denomination candidates are further narrowed down to a small number.)
Claims 3, 6, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikemoto et al. (US PGPub US 2012/0275684A1, hereby referred to as “Ikemoto”), in view of Wu (US Patent US 8,605,303, hereby referred to as “Wu”, further in view of Ikemoto2 et al. (US PGPub US 2015/0213620), hereby referred to as “Ikemoto2”.
Consider Claim 3.
The combination of Ikemoto and Wu teaches:
The sheet recognition unit according to Claim 1.
The combination of Ikemoto and Wu does not teach:
wherein the controller is configured to execute defect determination processing of determining a defect in the sheet as the selective shape determination processing
Ikemoto2 teaches:
Claim 3. The sheet recognition unit according to claim 1, (Ikemoto2: abstract, A banknote is irradiated with lights of plural wavelengths. Images of the banknote for each wavelength are acquired. An IR ratio image having a pixel value that is a ratio of a pixel value of the image acquired by the visible light to a corresponding pixel value of the image acquired by the infrared light is generated. The banknote image and the IR ratio image are corrected by a coefficient corresponding to the banknote type, the banknote orientation, and the wavelength. From the banknote image or the IR ratio image, by using the information pertaining to the banknote type, the banknote orientation, and the wavelength, intermediate evaluation values are calculated for each wavelength. Mahalanobis distance is calculated based on the intermediate evaluation values, an average value and a variance-covariance matrix of the intermediate evaluation values, and a degree of soiling is determined based on the Mahalanobis distance.)
3. wherein the controller is configured to execute defect determination processing of determining a defect in the sheet as the selective shape determination processing.(Examiner Note: In accordance with the written disclosure in paragraph [0080], the “presence or absence of a fold, a tear, a hole, or other defects in the banknote BN may be determined” and the determination of a “fold” and a “authenticity and fitness” in Ikemoto2 is analogous in scope to the defect determination of the instant claimed feature; Ikemoto2: [0044] The identifying and counting unit 20 that identifies and counts the banknotes fed by the feeding unit 16 into the interior of the housing 12 is arranged on the transport path 18. As shown in FIG. 3, the identifying and counting unit 20 includes a line sensor 21, a thickness detection sensor 20 b, and a magnetic sensor 20 c. The line sensor 21 is arranged sandwiching a transport path of the banknote and includes a light source that emits light and a photodetecting sensor that measures a strength of received light. The line sensor 21 is capable of measuring strength of the light that is reflected by the banknote and a strength of the light that is transmitted through the banknote when the banknote is irradiated with lights of plural wavelengths emitted by the light emitting unit. A detailed structure of the line sensor 21 is explained later. The thickness detection sensor 20 b detects a thickness of the banknote passing through the thickness detection sensor 20 b. The thickness detection sensor 20 b detects if there is any fold in the banknote, or if two or more banknotes have been fed at a time, or if a tape, etc., is stuck to any part of the banknote, etc., based on the detected thickness of the banknote. The magnetic sensor 20 c detects a magnetic field of magnetic components present in an ink, etc., used for printing the banknote passing through the magnetic sensor 20 c. The magnetic sensor 20 c calculates a detection value pertaining to the magnetic property of the banknote. The identifying and counting unit 20 identifies the authenticity, fitness, denomination, etc., of the banknote, and whether any transport abnormality has occurred, and also counts the banknotes, based on respective detection results of the line sensor 21, the thickness detection sensor 20 b, and the magnetic sensor 20 c.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination of Ikemoto and Wu for paper sheet identification method and device with improvements from the banknote processing algorithm suggested by Ikemoto2. Both references appear to be from the same inventor and lend themselves for combination, as they are directed to the same field of endeavor for image analysis of banknotes. The determination of obviousness is predicated upon the following findings: One skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify the combination of Ikemoto and Wu in order to improve the accuracy of visual perception and detection of banknotes using the algorithm of Ikemoto2. Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in the manner explained above using known engineering design, interface and programming techniques, without changing a “fundamental” operating principle of the combination of Ikemoto and Wu, while the teaching of Ikemoto2 continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result of enhancing the accuracy of visual perception and detection of banknotes by incorporating in known defect detection parameters. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Consider Claim 6.
The combination of Ikemoto and Wu teaches:
6. The sheet recognition unit according to claim 5, wherein the controller is configured: to determine a type of the sheet based on a result of the size determination processing, and to select at least one type of shape information from among the plurality of types of shape information based on the determined type. (Ikemoto: [0079] The storage unit 12 is constituted by a storage device such as a non-volatile memory or a hard disk drive. The storage unit 12 stores therein information relating to the banknote size as the shape information 121, in a correlated form with the country and the denomination of the banknote. [0085] The shape judging unit 132 a detects the size of the banknote based on the image of the banknote acquired by the line sensor 112, and narrows down the number of denomination candidates by using judgment conditions stored in the shape information 121. Concrete judgment conditions are described in detail later. [0110]-[0111], [0112] The shape information 121 includes the upper limits and the lower limits of the banknote width and the banknote length. In an alternative arrangement, instead of concretely specifying the threshold values of the banknote size, the following scheme can be employed. That is, if a difference between the item “banknote width” and the actual detected banknote width and a difference between the item “banknote length” and the actual detected banknote length is respectively less than or equal to respective predetermined threshold values, a judgment can be made that the banknote is of the denomination candidate and the denomination candidates can be narrowed down.)
The combination of Ikemoto and Wu does not teach:
so as to execute defect determination processing of determining a defect in the sheet as the selective shape determination processing based on the selected at least one type of shape information
Ikemoto2 teaches:
Claim 6. The sheet recognition unit according to claim 5,wherein the controller is configured: to determine a type of the sheet based on a result of the size determination processing, (Ikemoto2: abstract, A banknote is irradiated with lights of plural wavelengths. Images of the banknote for each wavelength are acquired. An IR ratio image having a pixel value that is a ratio of a pixel value of the image acquired by the visible light to a corresponding pixel value of the image acquired by the infrared light is generated. The banknote image and the IR ratio image are corrected by a coefficient corresponding to the banknote type, the banknote orientation, and the wavelength. From the banknote image or the IR ratio image, by using the information pertaining to the banknote type, the banknote orientation, and the wavelength, intermediate evaluation values are calculated for each wavelength. Mahalanobis distance is calculated based on the intermediate evaluation values, an average value and a variance-covariance matrix of the intermediate evaluation values, and a degree of soiling is determined based on the Mahalanobis distance.)
6. and to select at least one type of shape information from among the plurality of types of shape information based on the determined type (Ikemoto2: [0042] As shown in FIG. 3, a banknote presence detection sensor 15 is arranged in the feeding hopper 14. The banknote presence detection sensor 15 detects the presence/absence of the banknote in the feeding hopper 14. Specifically, the banknote presence detection sensor 15 is a reflective optical sensor integrally constituted with a light emitting unit and a photodetecting unit. When a banknote is present in the feeding hopper 14, the light emitted by the light emitting unit is reflected by the banknote and reaches the photodetecting unit, and when no banknote is present in the feeding hopper 14, no light is reflected nor reaches the photodetecting unit. In this manner, the banknote presence detection sensor 15 detects whether a banknote is present in the feeding hopper 14.)
6. so as to execute defect determination processing of determining a defect in the sheet as the selective shape determination processing based on the selected at least one type of shape information. (Examiner Note: In accordance with the written disclosure in paragraph [0080], the “presence or absence of a fold, a tear, a hole, or other defects in the banknote BN may be determined” and the determination of a “fold” and a “authenticity and fitness” in Ikemoto2 is analogous in scope to the defect determination of the instant claimed feature; Ikemoto2: [0044] The identifying and counting unit 20 that identifies and counts the banknotes fed by the feeding unit 16 into the interior of the housing 12 is arranged on the transport path 18. As shown in FIG. 3, the identifying and counting unit 20 includes a line sensor 21, a thickness detection sensor 20 b, and a magnetic sensor 20 c. The line sensor 21 is arranged sandwiching a transport path of the banknote and includes a light source that emits light and a photodetecting sensor that measures a strength of received light. The line sensor 21 is capable of measuring strength of the light that is reflected by the banknote and a strength of the light that is transmitted through the banknote when the banknote is irradiated with lights of plural wavelengths emitted by the light emitting unit. A detailed structure of the line sensor 21 is explained later. The thickness detection sensor 20 b detects a thickness of the banknote passing through the thickness detection sensor 20 b. The thickness detection sensor 20 b detects if there is any fold in the banknote, or if two or more banknotes have been fed at a time, or if a tape, etc., is stuck to any part of the banknote, etc., based on the detected thickness of the banknote. The magnetic sensor 20 c detects a magnetic field of magnetic components present in an ink, etc., used for printing the banknote passing through the magnetic sensor 20 c. The magnetic sensor 20 c calculates a detection value pertaining to the magnetic property of the banknote. The identifying and counting unit 20 identifies the authenticity, fitness, denomination, etc., of the banknote, and whether any transport abnormality has occurred, and also counts the banknotes, based on respective detection results of the line sensor 21, the thickness detection sensor 20 b, and the magnetic sensor 20 c.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination of Ikemoto and Wu for paper sheet identification method and device with improvements from the banknote processing algorithm suggested by Ikemoto2. Both references appear to be from the same inventor and lend themselves for combination, as they are directed to the same field of endeavor for image analysis of banknotes. The determination of obviousness is predicated upon the following findings: One skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify the combination of Ikemoto and Wu in order to improve the accuracy of visual perception and detection of banknotes using the algorithm of Ikemoto2. Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in the manner explained above using known engineering design, interface and programming techniques, without changing a “fundamental” operating principle of the combination of Ikemoto and Wu, while the teaching of Ikemoto2 continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result of enhancing the accuracy of visual perception and detection of banknotes by incorporating in known defect detection parameters. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Consider Claim 8.
The combination of Ikemoto and Wu teaches:
Claim 8. The sheet recognition unit according to claim 7, wherein the controller is configured, after executing the size determination processing as the selective shape determination processing, to select at least one type of shape information from among the plurality of types of shape information (Ikemoto: [0079] The storage unit 12 is constituted by a storage device such as a non-volatile memory or a hard disk drive. The storage unit 12 stores therein information relating to the banknote size as the shape information 121, in a correlated form with the country and the denomination of the banknote. [0085] The shape judging unit 132 a detects the size of the banknote based on the image of the banknote acquired by the line sensor 112, and narrows down the number of denomination candidates by using judgment conditions stored in the shape information 121. Concrete judgment conditions are described in detail later. [0110]-[0111], [0112] The shape information 121 includes the upper limits and the lower limits of the banknote width and the banknote length. In an alternative arrangement, instead of concretely specifying the threshold values of the banknote size, the following scheme can be employed. That is, if a difference between the item “banknote width” and the actual detected banknote width and a difference between the item “banknote length” and the actual detected banknote length is respectively less than or equal to respective predetermined threshold values, a judgment can be made that the banknote is of the denomination candidate and the denomination candidates can be narrowed down.)
The combination of Ikemoto and Wu does not teach:
based on the determined type so as to execute defect determination processing of determining a defect in the sheet as the selective shape determination processing based on the selected at least one type of shape information.
Ikemoto2 teaches:
Claim 8. The sheet recognition unit according to claim 7, (Ikemoto2: abstract, A banknote is irradiated with lights of plural wavelengths. Images of the banknote for each wavelength are acquired. An IR ratio image having a pixel value that is a ratio of a pixel value of the image acquired by the visible light to a corresponding pixel value of the image acquired by the infrared light is generated. The banknote image and the IR ratio image are corrected by a coefficient corresponding to the banknote type, the banknote orientation, and the wavelength. From the banknote image or the IR ratio image, by using the information pertaining to the banknote type, the banknote orientation, and the wavelength, intermediate evaluation values are calculated for each wavelength. Mahalanobis distance is calculated based on the intermediate evaluation values, an average value and a variance-covariance matrix of the intermediate evaluation values, and a degree of soiling is determined based on the Mahalanobis distance.)
8. wherein the controller is configured, after executing the size determination processing as the selective shape determination processing, to select at least one type of shape information from among the plurality of types of shape information (Ikemoto2: [0042] As shown in FIG. 3, a banknote presence detection sensor 15 is arranged in the feeding hopper 14. The banknote presence detection sensor 15 detects the presence/absence of the banknote in the feeding hopper 14. Specifically, the banknote presence detection sensor 15 is a reflective optical sensor integrally constituted with a light emitting unit and a photodetecting unit. When a banknote is present in the feeding hopper 14, the light emitted by the light emitting unit is reflected by the banknote and reaches the photodetecting unit, and when no banknote is present in the feeding hopper 14, no light is reflected nor reaches the photodetecting unit. In this manner, the banknote presence detection sensor 15 detects whether a banknote is present in the feeding hopper 14.)
8. based on the determined type so as to execute defect determination processing of determining a defect in the sheet as the selective shape determination processing based on the selected at least one type of shape information. (Examiner Note: In accordance with the written disclosure in paragraph [0080], the “presence or absence of a fold, a tear, a hole, or other defects in the banknote BN may be determined” and the determination of a “fold” and a “authenticity and fitness” in Ikemoto2 is analogous in scope to the defect determination of the instant claimed feature; Ikemoto2: [0044] The identifying and counting unit 20 that identifies and counts the banknotes fed by the feeding unit 16 into the interior of the housing 12 is arranged on the transport path 18. As shown in FIG. 3, the identifying and counting unit 20 includes a line sensor 21, a thickness detection sensor 20 b, and a magnetic sensor 20 c. The line sensor 21 is arranged sandwiching a transport path of the banknote and includes a light source that emits light and a photodetecting sensor that measures a strength of received light. The line sensor 21 is capable of measuring strength of the light that is reflected by the banknote and a strength of the light that is transmitted through the banknote when the banknote is irradiated with lights of plural wavelengths emitted by the light emitting unit. A detailed structure of the line sensor 21 is explained later. The thickness detection sensor 20 b detects a thickness of the banknote passing through the thickness detection sensor 20 b. The thickness detection sensor 20 b detects if there is any fold in the banknote, or if two or more banknotes have been fed at a time, or if a tape, etc., is stuck to any part of the banknote, etc., based on the detected thickness of the banknote. The magnetic sensor 20 c detects a magnetic field of magnetic components present in an ink, etc., used for printing the banknote passing through the magnetic sensor 20 c. The magnetic sensor 20 c calculates a detection value pertaining to the magnetic property of the banknote. The identifying and counting unit 20 identifies the authenticity, fitness, denomination, etc., of the banknote, and whether any transport abnormality has occurred, and also counts the banknotes, based on respective detection results of the line sensor 21, the thickness detection sensor 20 b, and the magnetic sensor 20 c.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination of Ikemoto and Wu for paper sheet identification method and device with improvements from the banknote processing algorithm suggested by Ikemoto2. Both references appear to be from the same inventor and lend themselves for combination, as they are directed to the same field of endeavor for image analysis of banknotes. The determination of obviousness is predicated upon the following findings: One skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify the combination of Ikemoto and Wu in order to improve the accuracy of visual perception and detection of banknotes using the algorithm of Ikemoto2. Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in the manner explained above using known engineering design, interface and programming techniques, without changing a “fundamental” operating principle of the combination of Ikemoto and Wu, while the teaching of Ikemoto2 continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result of enhancing the accuracy of visual perception and detection of banknotes by incorporating in known defect detection parameters. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Consider Claim 10.
The combination of Ikemoto and Wu teaches:
Claim 10. The sheet recognition unit according to claim 10, wherein the controller is configured: to select one type of shape information from among the plurality of types of shape information based on the determined type so as to execute size determination processing of determining a size of the sheet as the selective shape determination processing based on the selected one type of shape information (Ikemoto: [0079] The storage unit 12 is constituted by a storage device such as a non-volatile memory or a hard disk drive. The storage unit 12 stores therein information relating to the banknote size as the shape information 121, in a correlated form with the country and the denomination of the banknote. [0085] The shape judging unit 132 a detects the size of the banknote based on the image of the banknote acquired by the line sensor 112, and narrows down the number of denomination candidates by using judgment conditions stored in the shape information 121. Concrete judgment conditions are described in detail later. [0110]-[0111], [0112] The shape information 121 includes the upper limits and the lower limits of the banknote width and the banknote length. In an alternative arrangement, instead of concretely specifying the threshold values of the banknote size, the following scheme can be employed. That is, if a difference between the item “banknote width” and the actual detected banknote width and a difference between the item “banknote length” and the actual detected banknote length is respectively less than or equal to respective predetermined threshold values, a judgment can be made that the banknote is of the denomination candidate and the denomination candidates can be narrowed down.)
The combination of Ikemoto and Wu does not teach:
and to select at least one type of shape information from among the plurality of types of shape information based on the determined type so as to execute defect determination processing of determining a defect in the sheet as the selective shape determination processing based on the selected at least one type of shape information.
Ikemoto2 teaches:
Claim 10. The sheet recognition unit according to claim 10, wherein the controller is configured: to select one type of shape information from among the plurality of types of shape information (Ikemoto2: abstract, A banknote is irradiated with lights of plural wavelengths. Images of the banknote for each wavelength are acquired. An IR ratio image having a pixel value that is a ratio of a pixel value of the image acquired by the visible light to a corresponding pixel value of the image acquired by the infrared light is generated. The banknote image and the IR ratio image are corrected by a coefficient corresponding to the banknote type, the banknote orientation, and the wavelength. From the banknote image or the IR ratio image, by using the information pertaining to the banknote type, the banknote orientation, and the wavelength, intermediate evaluation values are calculated for each wavelength. Mahalanobis distance is calculated based on the intermediate evaluation values, an average value and a variance-covariance matrix of the intermediate evaluation values, and a degree of soiling is determined based on the Mahalanobis distance.)
10. based on the determined type so as to execute size determination processing of determining a size of the sheet as the selective shape determination processing based on the selected one type of shape information, (Ikemoto2: [0042] As shown in FIG. 3, a banknote presence detection sensor 15 is arranged in the feeding hopper 14. The banknote presence detection sensor 15 detects the presence/absence of the banknote in the feeding hopper 14. Specifically, the banknote presence detection sensor 15 is a reflective optical sensor integrally constituted with a light emitting unit and a photodetecting unit. When a banknote is present in the feeding hopper 14, the light emitted by the light emitting unit is reflected by the banknote and reaches the photodetecting unit, and when no banknote is present in the feeding hopper 14, no light is reflected nor reaches the photodetecting unit. In this manner, the banknote presence detection sensor 15 detects whether a banknote is present in the feeding hopper 14.)
10. and to select at least one type of shape information from among the plurality of types of shape information based on the determined type so as to execute defect determination processing of determining a defect in the sheet as the selective shape determination processing based on the selected at least one type of shape information. (Examiner Note: In accordance with the written disclosure in paragraph [0080], the “presence or absence of a fold, a tear, a hole, or other defects in the banknote BN may be determined” and the determination of a “fold” and a “a1uthenticity and fitness” in Ikemoto2 is analogous in scope to the defect determination of the instant claimed feature; Ikemoto2: [0044] The identifying and counting unit 20 that identifies and counts the banknotes fed by the feeding unit 16 into the interior of the housing 12 is arranged on the transport path 18. As shown in FIG. 3, the identifying and counting unit 20 includes a line sensor 21, a thickness detection sensor 20 b, and a magnetic sensor 20 c. The line sensor 21 is arranged sandwiching a transport path of the banknote and includes a light source that emits light and a photodetecting sensor that measures a strength of received light. The line sensor 21 is capable of measuring strength of the light that is reflected by the banknote and a strength of the light that is transmitted through the banknote when the banknote is irradiated with lights of plural wavelengths emitted by the light emitting unit. A detailed structure of the line sensor 21 is explained later. The thickness detection sensor 20 b detects a thickness of the banknote passing through the thickness detection sensor 20 b. The thickness detection sensor 20 b detects if there is any fold in the banknote, or if two or more banknotes have been fed at a time, or if a tape, etc., is stuck to any part of the banknote, etc., based on the detected thickness of the banknote. The magnetic sensor 20 c detects a magnetic field of magnetic components present in an ink, etc., used for printing the banknote passing through the magnetic sensor 20 c. The magnetic sensor 20 c calculates a detection value pertaining to the magnetic property of the banknote. The identifying and counting unit 20 identifies the authenticity, fitness, denomination, etc., of the banknote, and whether any transport abnormality has occurred, and also counts the banknotes, based on respective detection results of the line sensor 21, the thickness detection sensor 20 b, and the magnetic sensor 20 c.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination of Ikemoto and Wu for paper sheet identification method and device with improvements from the banknote processing algorithm suggested by Ikemoto2. Both references appear to be from the same inventor and lend themselves for combination, as they are directed to the same field of endeavor for image analysis of banknotes. The determination of obviousness is predicated upon the following findings: One skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify the combination of Ikemoto and Wu in order to improve the accuracy of visual perception and detection of banknotes using the algorithm of Ikemoto2. Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in the manner explained above using known engineering design, interface and programming techniques, without changing a “fundamental” operating principle of the combination of Ikemoto and Wu, while the teaching of Ikemoto2 continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result of enhancing the accuracy of visual perception and detection of banknotes by incorporating in known defect detection parameters. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Claims 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikemoto et al. (US PGPub US 2012/0275684A1, hereby referred to as “Ikemoto”), in view of Wu (US Patent US 8,605,303, hereby referred to as “Wu”, further in view of Examiner’s Official Notice.
Consider Claim 19.
The combination of Ikemoto and Wu teaches:
19. (New) The sheet recognition unit according to claim 18, wherein the transparent portion has an infrared transmittance (Ikemoto: [0063] As shown in FIGS. 4A and 4B, the banknote deposited in a not shown inlet is transported in a positive direction of the X-axis and into the sensor group 11 arranged on the transport path 202 (see an arrow 201). Timing sensors 111-1, line sensors 112, a fluorescence sensor 113, a thickness sensor 114, a magnetic sensor 115, and timing sensors 111-2 are sequentially arranged in this order from a front-end portion toward an back-end portion in a transport direction 201. The banknote deposited in the banknote recognition apparatus 10 passes each sensor in the sequence described above.
[0064] As shown in FIG. 4B, the timing sensors 111-1 include, for example, an emitting unit 111-1 b that is arranged on a negative side of the Z-axis of the transport path 202, and a light receiving unit 111-1 a that is arranged on the positive side of the X-axis. The light emitting unit 111-1 b emits an infrared light and the light receiving unit 111-1 a receives the infrared light. [0065] The moment a leading edge of the banknote passes the timing sensors 111-1, i.e., the infrared light emitted from the light emitting unit 111-1 b is blocked by the banknote. This indicates that the timing sensors 111-1 detect a commencement of passage of the banknote. [0066] The moment a trailing edge of the banknote passes the timing sensors 111-1, the blocking of the infrared light during the passage of the banknote is detected by the light receiving unit 111-1 a, which is indicative of the timing sensors 111-1 detecting end of passage of the banknote. [0067] As shown in FIG. 4B, the line sensor 112 includes light emitting units 112 a that emit a green light, an infrared light, etc., on a front-face side and a back-face side of the banknote passing over the transport path 202. [0068] The line sensor 112 includes light receiving units 112 b on the front-face side and the back-face side of the banknote passing over the transport path 202. The light receiving units 112 b receive a light emitted from the light emitting units 112 a and transmitted through the banknote (hereinafter, referred to as “transmitted light”), and a light that is emitted from the light emitting units 112 a and reflected by the banknote surface (hereinafter, referred to as “reflected light”). In the line sensor 112, a combination of the light emitting units 112 a and the light receiving units 112 b is arranged side-by-side in a direction perpendicular to the transport direction of the banknote. [0069] The light emitting units 112 a irradiate the banknote with the green light, the infrared light, etc., the light receiving units 112 b receive the transmitted light or the reflected light, and based on the received transmitted light or the reflected light, the line sensor 112 generates an image data. Specifically, the line sensor 112 detects the banknote size by acquiring a shape of the banknote using the transmitted light, and detects the feature pattern on the front-face side and the back-face side of the banknote using the reflected light.)
The combination of Ikemoto and Wu teaches the use of infrared lights in the overall combination for banknote processing. Examiner takes Official Notice that the range for an infrared transmittance of ranging from 30% to 90%, and the opaque portion has an infrared transmittance of 10% or lower, would be inclusive in ranges that would obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to try with a reasonable expectation of success. Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in the manner explained above using known engineering design, interface and programming techniques, without changing a “fundamental” operating principle of the combination of Ikemoto and Wu, while the values presented would ensure that the transmittance values for the opaque portion would inherently have to be lower, while the non-opaque portion would be more transparent and allow a higher range to be transmitted. The range of these values would fall within the realm of an expected range for success, and would and it would have a reasonable expectation of success when applied to the combination of teaching of Ikemoto and Wu, which continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result of enhancing the accuracy of visual perception and detection of banknotes. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TAHMINA N. ANSARI
Examiner
Art Unit 2674
September 24, 2026
/TAHMINA N ANSARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2674