Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites in line 1 the limitation “a reception subsystem” and in line 12 the limitation “a reception subsystem”. It is unclear whether the two limitations refer to the same reception subsystem or different reception subsystems.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-16 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naghshvarianjahromi2022 (Naghshvarianjahromi et al., “Software-Defined Fiber Optic Communications for Ultrahigh-Speed Optical Pulse Transmission Systems”, IEEE Journal of Selected Topics in Quantum Electronics, Vol. 28, No. 4, 2022) in view of Naghshvarianjahromi2020 (Naghshvarianjahromi et al., “Natural Brain-Inspired Intelligence for Non-Gaussian and Nonlinear Environments with Finite Memory”, Apply. Sci. 2020). Both Naghshvarianjahromi2022 and Naghshvarianjahromi2020 are provided in the IDS dated 9/18/2024.
Regarding claim 11, Naghshvarianjahromi2022 teaches in FIG. 4 a method for NI processing in a reception subsystem for an SDOCS (see Abstract) comprising: receiving, by a perceptor subsystem, perceptions comprising a plurality of transmitted symbols (Yk,mn are the received symbols); determining, based on the received plurality of transmitted symbols, whether a suitable posterior model is available in a posterior storage within the posterior subsystem (in the perceptor, the decision diamond "posterior available?"); when a suitable posterior model is available, retrieving, by one or more posterior processing modules within the posterior subsystem, a posterior model from the posterior storage (following the "yes" flow to "previous posterior selection" box); communicating, by the one or more posterior processing modules, the retrieved posterior model to an adaptive feedback path control (FIG. 4 shows the main feedback channel and internal feedback link; there are other feedback mechanisms as explained below); receiving, by a feedback processing module within the feedback subsystem, the signals comprising the selected prospective action (prospective actions output by the “Planner” box); based on the received signals, determining, by the feedback processing module, an adjustment to implement the selected prospective action (the “Apply action” box at the bottom); and transmitting, by the feedback processing module, signals to perform the determined adjustment to one or more components within a transmission in the SDOCS (Naghshvarianjahromi2022 teaches on page 2, right col, first paragraph adjustment of the modulation format), a reception within the SDOCS, or an input client data source to the SDOCS (Naghshvarianjahromi2022 teaches on page 2, right col, first paragraph changing the data rate).
The difference between Naghshvarianjahromi2022 and the claimed invention is that Naghshvarianjahromi2022 does not teach the details of the feedback subsystem. Naghshvarianjahromi2020 teaches in FIG. 8 estimating, by the adaptive feedback path control module, a bit error rate (BER) using the retrieved posterior model (“select maximum probability, then BER” box in the perceptor); communicating the estimated BER to an executive subsystem; when the estimated BER is below a threshold (decision diamond “BER < threshold”), selecting, by a planning module within the executive subsystem, a prospective action from an executive storage (following the “yes” path to “Select actions” box); testing, by at least one of the planning module and one or more executive processing modules within the executive subsystem, the selected prospective action in a virtual environment ("virtually apply action on environment" box); based on the testing, determining, by at least one of the planning module and one or more executive processing modules, whether the selected prospective action is beneficial (“reward calculation” box); when the selected prospective action is beneficial (reward increase—the “no” path of decision diamond “reward decrease”), communicating, by either the planning module or the one or more executive processing modules, signals comprising the selected prospective action to a feedback subsystem (“Apply action” box).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Naghshvarianjahromi2020 with the system of Naghshvarianjahromi2022 because Naghshvarianjahromi2020 is cited by Naghshvarianjahromi2022 as reference [11] and provides details that are missing from Naghshvarianjahromi2022. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the feedback process, as taught by Naghshvarianjahromi2020, in the system of Naghshvarianjahromi2022.
Regarding claim 12, Naghshvarianjahromi2022 teaches on page 2, right col, first paragraph adjustment of the modulation format and changing the data rate.
Regarding claim 13, it is understood that the symbols must be received before they can be demapped.
Regarding claim 14, Naghshvarianjahromi2020 teaches in FIG. 8 action space module and the select actions module is fed by the action space.
Regarding claim 15, Naghshvarianjahromi2020 teaches in FIG. 8 that if the “BER < Threshold” test result is “No”, the flow goes to “previous model selection”.
Regarding claim 16, Naghshvarianjahromi2022 teaches on FIG. 4 that when the posterior is not available, the flow goes to “3-layered posterior extraction.
Regarding claim 19, Naghshvarianjahromi2020 teaches on page 8 optimize the internal reward.
Regarding claim 20, Naghshvarianjahromi2020 teaches on page 5, last paragraph that the soft decision is no longer needed when the CDS (cognitive dynamic system) is used.
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naghshvarianjahromi2022 and Naghshvarianjahromi2020 as applied to claims 11-16 and 19-20 above, and further in view of Madala et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2025/0023636 A1).
Naghshvarianjahromi2022 and Naghshvarianjahromi2020 have been discussed above in regard to claims 11-16 and 19-20. Regarding claim 17, Naghshvarianjahromi2022 teaches in the Abstract that the posterior can be extracted directly without using the Bayesian equation to obtain a significant reduction of the CDS complexity. The difference between Naghshvarianjahromi2022 and Naghshvarianjahromi2020 and the claimed invention is that Naghshvarianjahromi2022 and Naghshvarianjahromi2020 do not teach a PRBS generator. Madala et al. teaches in paragraph [0028] that test signal may be pseudorandom binary sequence (PRBS) test patterns. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Madala et al. with the modified system of Naghshvarianjahromi2022 and Naghshvarianjahromi2020 because Madala et al. provides the details of implementation that are missing from Naghshvarianjahromi2022 and Naghshvarianjahromi2020. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use PRBS generator to generate training data, as taught by Madala et al., in the modified system of Naghshvarianjahromi2022 and Naghshvarianjahromi2020.
Regarding claim 18, Naghshvarianjahromi2020 teaches on page 9, third paragraph that the CDS can switch between steady state to a pre-adaptive mode where training data is used to train the system.
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naghshvarianjahromi2022 and Naghshvarianjahromi2020 as applied to claims 11 above, and further in view of Bilic et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2022/0180763 A1) and Wei et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2022/0006500 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Naghshvarianjahromi2022 and Naghshvarianjahromi2020 teach a system for natural intelligence (NI) processing in a reception subsystem for a software defined optical communications system (SDOCS) (see Abstract of Naghshvarianjahromi2022) comprising: a perceptor subsystem communicatively coupled to an executive subsystem via interconnections (see FIG. 1 of Naghshvarianjahromi2022), wherein: the perceptor subsystem comprises a posterior storage (Naghshvarianjahromi2022 teaches in FIG. 4 “posterior library” module) and one or more posterior processing modules coupled to each other by perceptor subsystem interconnections (represented by the lines and arrows), and the executive subsystem comprises an executive storage (Naghshvarianjahromi2020 teaches in FIG. 8 “action space” module), one or more executive processing modules and a planning module (Naghshvarianjahromi2020 teaches in FIG. 7 “planner” module which is equivalent to the top part in the executive of FIG. 8 of Naghshvarianjahromi2020) coupled to each other by executive subsystem interconnections; a feedback subsystem communicatively coupled to the executive subsystem, a transmission subsystem, a reception subsystem and an input client data source (Naghshvarianjahromi2022 teaches on page 2, right col, first paragraph adjustment of the modulation format and changing the data rate); an adaptive feedback path control module (“select maximum probability, then BER” box in the perceptor) communicatively coupled to the executive subsystem and the perceptor subsystem, wherein: the perceptor subsystem receives perceptions comprising a plurality of transmitted symbols (Xkn are the transmitted symbols), based on the received plurality of transmitted symbols (Yk,mn are the received symbols), determining whether a suitable posterior model is available in the posterior storage (Naghshvarianjahromi2022 teaches in FIG. 4 the decision diamond “posterior available?”), when a suitable posterior model is available, the one or more posterior processing modules retrieves a posterior model from the posterior storage (following the "yes" flow to "previous posterior selection" box), and the one or more posterior processing modules communicates the retrieved posterior model to the adaptive feedback path control module, the adaptive feedback path control module estimates a bit error rate (BER) using the retrieved posterior model (Naghshvarianjahromi2020 teaches in FIG. 8 “select maximum probability, then BER” box in the perceptor), the adaptive feedback path control module communicates the estimated BER to the executive subsystem, when the estimated BER is below a threshold (decision diamond “BER < threshold”), the planning module selects a prospective action from the executive storage (Naghshvarianjahromi2020 teaches in FIG. 8 selection action from action space), at least one of the planning module and the one or more executive processing modules test the selected prospective action in a virtual environment (Naghshvarianjahromi2020 teaches in FIG. 8 “virtually apply action on environment” module), at least one of the planning module and the one or more executive processing modules determines whether the selected prospective action is beneficial (Naghshvarianjahromi2020 teaches in FIG. 8 “reward calculation” module), when the selected prospective action is beneficial (reward increases), either the planning module or the one or more executive processing modules communicates signals comprising the selected prospective action to the feedback subsystem, and the feedback processing module: receives the signals comprising the selected prospective action, determines, based on the received signals, an adjustment to implement the selected prospective action, and transmits signals to perform the determined adjustment to one or more components within the transmission or the reception, or the input client data source (“Apply action” box).
The difference between Naghshvarianjahromi2022 and Naghshvarianjahromi2020 and the claimed invention is that Naghshvarianjahromi2022 and Naghshvarianjahromi2020 do not teach “wherein: the feedback subsystem comprises a feedback processing module communicatively coupled to a feedback subsystem database, further wherein: the feedback processing module comprises a feedback subsystem firmware running on a feedback subsystem processor”. Bilic et al. teaches in FIG. 1 and paragraph [0050] feedback database; Wei et al. teaches in paragraph [0136] and FIG. 7 feedback module 715 which includes firmware that can be executed by a processor. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Bilic et al. and Wei et al. with the modified system of Naghshvarianjahromi2022 and Naghshvarianjahromi2020 because Bilic et al. and Wei et al. provide details of implementation that are missing from Naghshvarianjahromi2022 and Naghshvarianjahromi2020. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include database in the feedback subsystem and run firmware on a feedback subsystem processor, as taught by Bilic et al. and Wei et al., in the modified system of Naghshvarianjahromi2022 and Naghshvarianjahromi2020.
Regarding claim 2, Naghshvarianjahromi2022 teaches on page 2, right col, first paragraph adjustment of the modulation format and changing the data rate; Naghshvarianjahromi2020 teaches on page 5, last paragraph that the soft decision (SD) forward error correction (FEC) is no longer needed when the CDS (cognitive dynamic system) is used.
Regarding claim 3, Naghshvarianjahromi2022 teaches in FIG. 4 posterior library from where posterior model is loaded.
Regarding claim 4, Naghshvarianjahromi2020 teaches in FIG. 8 action space module and the select actions module is fed by the action space.
Regarding claim 5, Naghshvarianjahromi2020 teaches in FIG. 8 that if the “BER < Threshold” test result is “No”, the flow goes to “previous model selection”.
Regarding claim 6, Naghshvarianjahromi2022 teaches on FIG. 4 that when the posterior is not available, the flow goes to “3-layered posterior extraction.
Regarding claim 9, Naghshvarianjahromi2020 teaches on page 8 optimize the internal reward.
Regarding claim 10, Naghshvarianjahromi2020 teaches on page 9, third paragraph that the CDS can switch between steady state to a pre-adaptive mode where training data is used to train the system.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naghshvarianjahromi2022, Naghshvarianjahromi2020, Bilic et al. and Wei et al. as applied to claims 1-6 and 9-10 above, and further in view of Madala et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2025/0023636 A1).
Naghshvarianjahromi2022, Naghshvarianjahromi2020, Bilic et al. and Wei et al. have been discussed above in regard to claims 1-6 and 9-10. The difference between Naghshvarianjahromi2022, Naghshvarianjahromi2020, Bilic et al. and Wei et al. and the claimed invention is that Naghshvarianjahromi2022, Naghshvarianjahromi2020, Bilic et al. and Wei et al. do not teach a PRBS generator. Madala et al. teaches in paragraph [0028] that test signal may be pseudorandom binary sequence (PRBS) test patterns. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Madala et al. with the modified system of Naghshvarianjahromi2022, Naghshvarianjahromi2020, Bilic et al. and Wei et al. because Madala et al. provides the details of implementation that are missing from Naghshvarianjahromi2022, Naghshvarianjahromi2020, Bilic et al. and Wei et al. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use PRBS generator to generate training data, as taught by Madala et al., in the modified system of Naghshvarianjahromi2022, Naghshvarianjahromi2020, Bilic et al. and Wei et al.
Regarding claim 8, Naghshvarianjahromi2020 teaches on page 9, third paragraph that the CDS can switch between steady state to a pre-adaptive mode where training data is used to train the system.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 and 11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 7 of copending Application No. 19/064,547 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because, except for intended use recited in the preamble, they recite essentially the same limitations.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
skl15 July 2026
/SHI K LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635