DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200281032 A1 (Kawaura), in view of US 20190116504 A1 (Plume) and in further view of US20210096798 A1 (Nakamura).
Regarding Claims 1, 19-20:
A control method for controlling an information processing apparatus, the control method comprising: determining whether it is possible to communicate with an image forming apparatus via a router external to the image forming apparatus and external to the information processing apparatus; and based on it being determined that it is not possible to communicate with the image forming apparatus via the router (Kawaura: Figs. 1-4, system configuration and method for a printer to connect to a PC through a wifi router; [0044]-[0046] "In a case where it is determined in the process in any of steps S303, S308, and S313 that the wireless setting in the printer 101 has failed (No in step S303, S308, or S313), the processing proceeds to step S316. In step S316, the PC 100 displays, as an error display, a failed setting screen 610 as illustrated in FIG. 6B." Kawaura teaches that upon failure to detect the printer via the router, the PC executes predetermined processing including displaying an error/guidance screen. The specific content of messages (i)–(iii) is addressed through Kawaura and Plume in combination);
execute predetermined processing for displaying at least one message among: (i) a message for disabling a band steering function in the router (Plume: e.g., [0115], "In order to troubleshoot with system logs, a log pull can be submitted and accessed through the created link. In addition, the administrator can re-configure the network. This involves rebooting a location, claim/unclaiming an access point device, modifying the SSID, PSK (Password), and the band steering state."; [0131], "Band Steering: Enable or disable band steering for the location."; and [0086]: "FIG. 7 also includes a graph 512 of band steering events network-wide as an aggregate statistic. The band steering events are a movement of clients between bands (2.4 GHz and 5 GHz). The graph 512 illustrates network-wide statistics for band steering failures, successes, and trouble."), (ii) a message for setting each SSID of a plurality of access points in which used frequency bands are different and which are enabled by the router to a different character string (Plume: [0115], "This involves rebooting a location, claim/unclaiming an access point device, modifying the SSID, PSK (Password), and the band steering state."), and (iii) a message for enabling, in a case where the image forming apparatus does not support a first frequency band, a second frequency band different from the first frequency band in the router (Kawaura” [0037] "in a case where the SSID of the predetermined access point uses a frequency band of 5 GHz, but the printer 101 supports only a frequency band of 2.4 GHz, the printer 101 may not be connectable to the predetermined access point."; and [0085] "In step S906, the PC 100 displays, as error display, a non-supported frequency band error screen (640) illustrated in FIG. 6E. As a result, notification to prompt the user to select another SSID is performed.").
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Kawaura with SSID modification as further taught by Plume. The advantage of doing so is for displaying a message to set different SSIDs per frequency band to prevent band-steering-induced cross-band communication failure.
Kawaura does not teach explicitly on establishing the router connection manually. However, Nakamura teaches (Nakamura: e.g., [0090]; "In this embodiment, 'manual setting', 'setting by button of router', or the like can be selected. If, for example, 'manual setting' is selected, the user inputs the SSID and password of the access point 102 to perform connection to the access point 102 by operating the input I/F 239 of the printer 103.", i.e., displaying guidance for the user to operate the printer itself to manually establish connection with the router. It would have been obvious to incorporate this manual operation guidance into Kawaura's failure response).
Regarding Claim 2, Kawaura as modified further teaches:
The control method according to claim 1, further comprising: transmitting, to the image forming apparatus, setting information for connecting with the router, wherein the determination as to whether it is possible to communicate with the image forming apparatus via the router is executed after the setting information has been transmitted to the image forming apparatus (Kawaura: e.g., [0043]-[0044], "in step S309, the PC 100 transmits information instructing the wireless setting to the printer 101. More specifically, in step S309, the PC 100 transmits, to the printer 101, the wireless profile (including SSID and password) of the access point 102... the PC 100 searches the printer 101 using the infra-connection through the access point 102 in step S312, and determines whether the printer 101 has been detected in step S313.", i.e., transmitting wireless setting information (SSID and password) to the printer before performing the infrastructure-connection search to determine whether communication via the router is possible).
Regarding Claim 3, Kawaura as modified further teaches:
The control method according to claim 2, wherein the setting information is transmitted to the image forming apparatus via a connection between the information processing apparatus and the image forming apparatus that does not go through the router, a connection between the information processing apparatus and the router is started after the setting information has been transmitted to the image forming apparatus, and the determination as to whether it is possible to communicate with the image forming apparatus via the router is executed after the connection between the information processing apparatus and the router has been started (Kawaura: e.g., [0040]-[0044], "the PC 100 starts the processing for a wireless setting instruction... the PC 100 disconnects the wireless connection with the access point 102... the PC 100 performs the wireless Ad-hoc connection with the printer 101... in step S309, the PC 100 transmits information instructing the wireless setting to the printer 101... Next, in step S310, the PC 100 disconnects the wireless Ad-hoc connection with the printer 101, and re-establishes connection with the access point 102.", i.e., transmitting setting information via P2P/Ad-hoc connection (not through the router), then reconnecting to the router, then performing the printer detection check).
Regarding Claim 4, Kawaura as modified further teaches:
The control method according to claim 1, wherein specific processing for displaying a manual related to establishing a connection between the image forming apparatus and the router by an operation on the image forming apparatus is executed based on it being determined that it is not possible to communicate with the image forming apparatus via the router (Nakamura: e.g., [0090]; "In this embodiment, 'manual setting', 'setting by button of router', or the like can be selected. If, for example, 'manual setting' is selected, the user inputs the SSID and password of the access point 102 to perform connection to the access point 102 by operating the input I/F 239 of the printer 103.", i.e., displaying guidance for the user to operate the printer itself to manually establish connection with the router ).
Regarding Claim 5, Kawaura as modified further teaches:
The control method according to claim 4, wherein the manual indicates establishing a connection between the image forming apparatus and the router by a user selecting an SSID from a list of SSIDs of access points detected by the image forming apparatus, the list being displayed by the image forming apparatus (Kawaura: e.g. [0034], "the user can perform an operation to connect the printer 101 to a desired access point based on display by the display device 248. For example, the user inputs the SSID and password corresponding to the desired access point on the display device 248 of the printer 101, thereby connecting the printer 101 to the desired access point."; Nakamura [0090]: "'manual setting' is selected, the user inputs the SSID and password of the access point 102 to perform connection to the access point 102 by operating the input I/F 239 of the printer 103.")
Regarding Claim 6, Kawaura as modified further teaches:
The control method according to claim 4, wherein the manual indicates establishing a connection between the image forming apparatus and the router according to Wi-Fi Protected Setup (Nakamura: e.g., [0090]: "If 'setting by button of router' is selected, the user presses a WPS button (not shown) of the access point 102 and the input I/F of the printer 103 to cause the printer 103 and the access point 102 to execute a WPS (Wi-Fi Protected Setup) process."; and [0124]: "If 'setting by button of router' is selected, the user presses a WPS button (not shown) of the access point 102 and the input I/F of the printer 103 to cause the printer 103 and the access point 102 to execute a WPS (Wi-Fi Protected Setup) process.", i.e., WPS-based connection guidance as a selectable manual connection method when direct setup fails).
Regarding Claim 7, Kawaura as modified further teaches:
The control method according to claim 4, wherein the manual is a web manual, and the specific processing includes processing for activating a browser and displaying the web manual (Nakamura: e.g., [0069]: "the two-dimensional code 401 may include the URL of the download page of the program (application or the like) of the wireless setting process to be installed on the smartphone 104. Thus, it is possible to readily install the application by imaging the two-dimensional code even if the application is not installed on the smartphone 104.: Kawaura: [0027]-[0030]: "the PC 100 can perform P2P communication with the printer 101 through the USB cable 220 or wireless Ad-hoc connection 223.", i.e., providing URL-based web resources as part of the printer setup guidance).
Regarding Claim 8, Kawaura as modified further teaches:
The control method according to claim 4, wherein the determination as to whether it is possible to communicate with the image forming apparatus via the router is executed again after the specific processing has been executed (Nakamura: e.g., [0123]: "Next, the PC 101 advances the process to step S1109, and searches for the printer 103 for which the wireless LAN setup is complete... The PC 101 advances the process to step S1110, and determines whether the printer 103 is detected.", i.e., re-executing the communication determination check after guidance/remediation steps have been performed).
Regarding Claim 9, Kawaura as modified further teaches:
The control method according to claim 8, wherein the predetermined processing is executed based on it also being determined after the specific processing has been executed that it is not possible to communicate with the image forming apparatus via the router (Nakamura: [0123]–[0125]: "The PC 101 advances the process to step S1110, and determines whether the printer 103 is detected... if the PC 101 determines that the printer 103 cannot be detected (NO in step S1113), the PC 101 advances the process to step S1114, and notifies the user of the failure of the setup.", i.e., executing additional predetermined failure processing (error/guidance display) when the re-determination also indicates communication failure).
Regarding Claim 10, Kawaura as modified further teaches:
The control method according to claim 9, wherein the predetermined processing includes processing for displaying a predetermined screen for accepting an operation for displaying the at least one message, and based on the operation for displaying the at least one message being accepted in the predetermined screen, processing for displaying a manual that displays the at least one message is executed (Kawaura: [0046]: "In step S316, the PC 100 displays, as an error display, a failed setting screen 610 as illustrated in FIG. 6B. When the user presses a 'next' button 611 in the failed setting screen 610, the PC 100 terminates the wireless setting instruction processing in step S315.", i.e., displaying a predetermined screen (failed setting screen 610) which accepts user input; Nakamura [0120]: "FIG. 14 shows a two-dimensional bar code screen 1400 displayed by the PC 101 that executes the setup program." .i.e., displaying a subsequent screen providing further guidance based on user operation).
Regarding Claim 11, Kawaura as modified further teaches:
The control method according to claim 10, wherein the manual that displays the at least one message is a web manual, and the processing for displaying the manual that displays the at least one message includes processing for activating a browser (Nakamura: [0069]: "the two-dimensional code 401 may include the URL of the download page of the program (application or the like) of the wireless setting process to be installed on the smartphone 104. Thus, it is possible to readily install the application by imaging the two-dimensional code even if the application is not installed on the smartphone 104." i.e., URL-based web resource access as a guidance delivery mechanism).
Regarding Claim 12, Kawaura as modified further teaches:.
The control method according to claim 10, wherein the predetermined screen is capable of accepting an operation for selecting a connection method of connecting the image forming apparatus and the router, and in a case where the operation for selecting the connection method has been accepted, a selection screen for selecting a connection method in a connection between the image forming apparatus and the router is displayed (Nakamura: [0090]: "In this embodiment, 'manual setting', 'setting by button of router', or the like can be selected."; [0116]: "This embodiment assumes that if the user instructs to execute the setup program, the PC 101 automatically searches for the printer 103 that stands by for the wireless LAN setup by direct wireless connection. However, the PC 101 that has executed the setup program may present a plurality of options to perform the wireless LAN setup of the printer 103 and prompt the user to select one of the options. A process in which the PC 101 prompts the user to select a wireless LAN setup method for the printer 103 will be described later with reference to FIG. 18.". i.e., presenting a selection screen (FIG. 18) for selecting among multiple wireless LAN connection setup methods for the printer).
.Regarding Claim 13, Kawaura as modified further teaches:
The control method according to claim 12, wherein the selection screen includes at least one option among a wireless connection, a USB connection, and a wired LAN connection (Kawaura: [0089]: "In addition thereto, short-range wireless communication such as universal serial bus (USB) connection, Ethernet cable connection, and near field radio communication (NFC) can be applied as the above-described wireless Ad-hoc connection.")
.Regarding Claim 14, Kawaura as modified further teaches:
The control method according to claim 13, further comprising: prompting establishment of a connection between the router and the image forming apparatus, the connection corresponding to the option selected in the selection screen; and the determination as to whether it is possible to communicate with the image forming apparatus via the router is executed again after the prompting has been executed (Nakamura: [0124]–[0125]: "In step S1111, the PC 101 executes another wireless LAN setup method. In this embodiment, 'manual setting', 'setting by button of router', or the like can be selected... Next, the PC 101 advances the process to step S1112, and searches for the printer 103 for which the wireless LAN setup is complete... The PC 101 advances the process to step S1113, and determines whether the printer 103 is detected.". i.e., prompting the user to execute an alternative connection method (corresponding to the selected option), then re-executing the printer detection check)
Regarding Claim 15, Kawaura as modified further teaches:.
The control method according to claim 4, wherein the determination as to whether it is possible to communicate with the image forming apparatus via the router is executed again after the predetermined processing has been executed (Nakamura: [0123]: "the PC 101 advances the process to step S1109, and searches for the printer 103 for which the wireless LAN setup is complete... The PC 101 advances the process to step S1110, and determines whether the printer 103 is detected.")
Regarding Claim 16, Kawaura as modified further teaches:
The control method according to claim 15, wherein based on it being determined again that it is not possible to communicate with the image forming apparatus via the router, processing for transmitting, to the image forming apparatus, setting information for connecting with the router via a connection between the information processing apparatus and the image forming apparatus that does not go through the router is executed (Kawaura: [0060], "displays the access point selection screen 500 again in step S403", which loops back to transmitting data via Ad-hoc [0024]-[0025], i.e., repeatedly transmitting the setting information over the direct, non-router connection upon successive attempts)..
Regarding Claim 17, Kawaura as modified further teaches:
The control method according to claim 1, wherein the image forming apparatus is an apparatus that executes at least one of printing and scanning (Kawaura: [0017]: "a printer that prints an image is described as an example of a communication apparatus according to the present exemplary embodiment.")
Regarding Claim 18, Kawaura as modified further teaches:
The control method according to claim 1, wherein the band steering function is a Wi-Fi Agile Multiband function (Plume: [0131]).
Conclusion
/ZHITONG CHEN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649