DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “convex portion” of the shaft and isolation wall (claims 2-4 and 8) must be shown/identified or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). It should be noted that the specification and drawings lacks sufficient explanation or a reference numeral to properly identify said portion. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The “convex portion” of the shaft and isolation wall have not been described or illustrated in a way that the portions can be understood, identified and/or precisely oriented/located. First, no reference numerals have been designated to said portions. Furthermore, the specification contains vague and contradictory statements that obscure the nature/orientation/location of the portions. For example, the specification states: “connector 156B has a convex portion protruding from the shaft 155B” [Par 0014]. It also states “connector 159B has a shape protruding from the isolation wall 157C and has a shape that protrudes in a convex shape in the direction approaching the cover 154D” [Par 0023]. At the same time, it states “connector 159B has a convex portion protruding from the shaft 155C” [Par 0023]. Lastly, it is not understood how these convex features would reduce friction and/or reduce contamination. Therefore, the disclosure raises questions of whether the applicant had possession of the apparatus with convex portions at the time of filing.
Claims 2-4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The scope of the claims referencing the convex portions is unascertainable for the reasons set forth above (see Drawings Objection and Rejection under 35 USC 112(a). For examination purposes, it is understood that it refers to the tip of the plunger/shaft that comes in contact with the substrate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2005051188 A.
Re claim 1, JP discloses a substrate transfer apparatus (Fig. 1) comprising: an end effector (Fig. 6 and Fig. 7) comprising: a hand (Q2/V3) that grips a substrate; and a plunger (Q2/V3) that comes into contact with the substrate and performs alignment of the substrate comprising: a contact portion (Q3/V4) that comes into contact with the substrate; a shaft (G7/L8) that moves the contact portion to contact the substrate; and an isolation wall (housing A3) that isolates an internal region from an outside, the internal region comprising a driver (G6/L12) that drives the shaft , wherein the isolation wall comprises a shaft hole (defined by G3) through which the shaft extends into the internal region, and the shaft comprises a cover (V8) in which a first end is connected to the shaft and a second end is connected to the isolation wall (Note: The rotational and axial motion of the prior art teach the alignment function).
Re claim 2, as best understood, JP discloses the substrate transfer apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the shaft comprises a circular pad (Q3/V4) with a convex portion that protrude vertically from a surface of the shaft.
Re claim 3, as best understood, JP discloses the substrate transfer apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the cover is connected via elements Q2/V3 to the convex portion.
Re claim 4, as best understood, JP discloses the substrate transfer apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the cover comprises a plate (flange associated with screws 72) that sandwiches the cover with the convex portion, and the plate is connected via Q2/V3 to the convex portion.
Re claim 5, JP discloses the substrate transfer apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the cover comprises a material that expands and contracts (caused by the relative motion between Q2 and V3).
Re claim 6, JP discloses the substrate transfer apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the cover has an accordion structure (Fig. 6 and Fig. 7).
Re claim 7, JP discloses the substrate transfer apparatus according to claim 6, wherein there is a space between the cover and the shaft (Fig. 7).
Re claim 8, as best understood, JP discloses the substrate transfer apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the cover has a cylindrical shape (Fig 6) and covers a periphery of the shaft (L8) between a convex portion (Q3/V4) to the isolation wall.
Re claim 9, JP discloses the substrate transfer apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the cover is connected to the shaft at the first end sealed from an external environment, and the second end is connected to the isolation wall sealed from the external environment (Fig. 6 and Fig. 7).
Re claim 10, JP discloses the substrate transfer apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the driver that drives the shaft is arranged in the internal region (Fig. 6 and Fig. 7).
Re claim 13, JP discloses a substrate transfer apparatus (Fig. 1) comprising: an end effector (Fig. 6 and Fig. 7) comprising: a hand (Q2/V3) gripping a substrate; and a plunger (Q2/V3) that comes into contact with the substrate and performs alignment of the substrate comprising: a contact portion (Q3/V4) that comes into contact with the substrate; and an isolation wall (housing A3) that isolates an internal region from an outside, the internal region comprising a driver (G6/L12) that drives a shaft (G7/L8), wherein the isolation wall comprises a shaft hole (defined by G3) through which the contact portion extends into the internal region, and the contact portion comprises a cover (V8) in which a first end is connected to the contact portion and a second end is connected to the isolation wall.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2005051188 A in view of Yoshida et al. US 20200246985 A1.
Re claim 11, JP discloses the substrate transfer apparatus according to claim 10, wherein a sensor is arranged in the external region.
JP does not teach a sensor in the internal region.
Yoshida et al., on the other hand, discloses a substrate transfer apparatus (Fig. 1) with a plunger (68). It also teaches that it’s well known to house sensors (90a, 90) within an internal region of the pushing mechanism (60).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to place JP’s sensor in an internal region per the teaching of Yoshida et al. to protect the sensor from external factors (e.g., EMF, contaminants, etc.).
Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2005051188 A in view of JP 2019197799 A
Re claim 12, JP ‘188 does not teach wherein the substrate transfer apparatus is used in a process using a liquid.
JP ‘799, on the other hand, teaches that it is known to use substrate transfer apparatuses can be used in wet environments (wet unit 17; rinsing, and cleaning).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the transfer apparatus of JP ‘188 on a process using liquid to improve the versatility of the device allowing it to be used in rinsing/cleaning environments.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
References D, E, and F teach a substrate transfer apparatus with a pushing mechanism. References G and H teach a shaft cover.
SAUL J. RODRIGUEZ
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3652
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652