DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1 in the reply filed on 4/28/26 is acknowledged.
Applicant has indicated claims 5-9 are canceled and thus withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species 2, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/28/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 and all claims depending therefrom are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “and the first threaded piece is moved left and right relative to the first adjustment hole”, which appears to be an active method step. The claim is drawn to an installation, not a method. Thus it is unclear what is encompassed by the claimed limitation, rendering the scope indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Wang (20130025232).
Claim 1. Wang discloses a frame strip installation structure, comprising:
a frame strip (20), a side of the frame strip is provided with a cavity (as seen in figure 2 where there is a cavity on the rear side) with an opening;
an installation seat (60), configured to be adhesively installed on a wall;
a connector (72), which is respectively connected the installation seat and the frame strip;
wherein the opening of the cavity is faced to the wall, both the installation seat and the connector are accommodated in the cavity (as seen in figure 9);
wherein the connector has an adjustable state and a locking state (as noted in the disclosure);
when the connector is in the adjustable state, the frame strip is moved relative to the installation seat so as to adjust an installation position relative to the wall, and when the connector is in the locking state, the frame strip is fixed relative to the installation seat (as seen in the figures and disclosure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2,3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (20130025232).
Claim 2. Wang discloses the frame strip installation structure according to claim 1, wherein the connector comprises a first threaded piece (where 72 is a first threaded piece), the cavity is provided with a first connection block (71) therein, the installation seat is provided with a first hole (at 611);
the first threaded piece penetrates the first connection block and is threaded with the first hole (as seen in figure 9 where 712 is connected with the first hole), the first threaded piece abuts against the first connection block and renders the first connection block have a tendency to move towards the installation seat (as seen in the figures and disclosure);
the frame strip is provided with a first avoidance hole (211) corresponding to the first threaded piece (as seen in at least figure 2).
Wang does not disclose that the first hole is a threaded hole. But Wang does disclose that the connection block 71 has a clamp (711) and furrow (712) for engaging with the hole 611 (paragraph 0028). Further Wang discloses it is known to have a threaded hole (for example 25 or 54) for engaging a connection block (53) as seen in figures 5-6). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to pursue known design options and modify the hole 611 to be a threaded hole and clamp and furrow of the connection block 71 threadably engage the threaded hole to achieve the predictable result of an easily assembled adjustable and secure connection of the elements.
Claim 3. The frame strip installation structure according to claim 2, wherein the first connection block is provided with a first adjustment hole (713), and the first threaded piece penetrates the first connection block through the first adjustment hole, and the first threaded piece is moved left and right relative to the first adjustment hole (where it is capable the claimed limitation as best understood, left and right being relative directions).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (20130025232) in view of Schultz (20250263968).
Claim 10. Wang discloses the frame strip installation structure according to claim 1, but does not expressly disclose further comprises a sealant, which is provided between the frame strip and the wall. Schultz discloses that it is known to provide a sealant at the edges of the frame to prevent leaks and maintain water containment. Accordingly it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to pursue known design options and modify the installation of Wang to have a sealant between the frame strip and the wall to achieve the predictable result of preventing leaks and maintaining water containment.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Wang discloses a second and third threaded piece, above and below the connection block, further discloses the frame strip is provided with a second/third avoidance hole (211) corresponding to the second/third piece, and abuts against the installation seat or the wall, but does not disclose the first connection block is provided with a second threaded hole, the second threaded piece is threaded with second threaded hole and the first connection block have a tendency to move away from the installation by the abutment of the second threaded piece against the installation seat or the wall. Thus the prior art of record fails to teach or adequately suggest the combination of characteristics as specified in claim 4. There is no reasoning that is unequivocally independent of hindsight that would have led one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed at the tie the invention was filed to modify the prior art to obtain the applicants invention.
Conclusion
JESSICA L. LAUX
Examiner
Art Unit 3635
/JESSICA L LAUX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635