DETAILED ACTION
The Amendment filed 30 September 2026 has been received and considered.
Claims 8-13 are pending.
This Action is Non-Final.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: the preamble contains the type-o “generatr” instead of “generator”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “honey pot generating device” in claim 12. The Specification is considered to have appropriate structure to support these limitation.
NOTE: If it is determined that the claims as currently presented do not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) they would be considered to be directed to non-statutory subject matter as they lack any explicit recitations of hardware and therefore would be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being software per se.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goldshmidt et al. (US 20210279332).
As per claims 8, 12, and 13, Goldshmidt et al. discloses a system, medium and method for generating a honeypot for a target system, comprising the following steps: ascertaining by accessing the target system, using a honeypot generating device which is granted access to the target system (see paragraphs [0072]-[0074] the interrogator and trap generator of the system):
a directory tree of a file system of the target system (see paragraph [0076]),
operating system shell commands supported by an operating system of the target device (see paragraph [0081]), and
processes running on the target system (see paragraph [0068]); and
generating, using the honeypot generating device, a honeypot which contains a file system with a copy of the ascertained directory tree, imitates the ascertained operating system shell commands, and imitates execution of the ascertained processes (see paragraphs [0069], [0084]-[0094] and [0098]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldshmidt et al. as applied to claim 8 above, in view of Herbert et al. (US 20200186567).
As per claim 9, Goldshmidt et al. fails to explicitly disclose the honeypot generating device checks a secrecy criterion for information ascertained by the honeypot generating device through access to the target system and generates the honeypot in such a way that the honeypot does not contain information to be kept secret according to the secrecy criterion, which the honeypot generating device ascertains through access to the target system.
However, Herbert et al. teaches the honeypot generating device checks a secrecy criterion for information ascertained by the honeypot generating device through access to the target system and generates the honeypot in such a way that the honeypot does not contain information to be kept secret according to the secrecy criterion, which the honeypot generating device ascertains through access to the target system (see paragraphs [0018]-[0020] where the system removes sensitive data from real data to generate the honeypot data).
At a time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the data processing of Herbert et al. as part of the honeypot generation of the Goldshmidt et al. system.
Motivation to do so would have been to provide some correlation and consistency between and within fields, while, at the same time, minimizing the utility of such data (see Herbert et al. paragraph [0018]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldshmidt et al. as applied to claim 8 above, in view of Kawasaki et al. (US 20180375897).
As per claim 10, while Goldshmidt et al. teaches the use of shell commands in a honeypot system there lacks an explicit disclosure that the honeypot generating device generates the honeypot in such a way that the honeypot imitates the ascertained operating system shell commands in such a way that their execution via a network interface of the honeypot is supported, wherein the honeypot supports the ascertained operating shell commands in a form such that, compared to their implementation on the target system, they lack functionalities that meet a predefined risk criterion.
However, Kawasaki et al. teaches the honeypot generating device generates the honeypot in such a way that the honeypot imitates the ascertained operating system shell commands in such a way that their execution via a network interface of the honeypot is supported, wherein the honeypot supports the ascertained operating shell commands in a form such that, compared to their implementation on the target system, they lack functionalities that meet a predefined risk criterion (see paragraph [0017]).
At a time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to include the shell command execution of Kawasaki et al. in the Goldshmidt et al. system.
Motivation, as recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art, to do so would have been to allow the attacker to safely execute commands expected to be available.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldshmidt et al. as applied to claim 8 above, in view of Tuting et al. (US 20240372893).
As per claim 11, while Goldshmidt et al. teaches ascertaining information about resources the ascertained processes use and generating the honeypot based on this information to mimic the resources of the target system (see paragraphs [0098], [0137], and [0142]), there lacks an explicit teaching of the honeypot generating device ascertains information about resource consumption of the ascertained processes on the target system, wherein the honeypot is generated by the honeypot generating device to imitate the ascertained processes, wherein their resource consumption of the imitated and ascertained processes on the honeypot mimics a resource consumption that the imitated and ascertained processes have on the target system.
However, Tuting et al. teaches the use of decoy resource consumption as part of a honeypot (see paragraph [0042]).
At a time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include resource consumption as part of the information collected and used to generate honeypots in the Goldshmidt et al. system.
Motivation, as recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art, to do so would have been to make the honeypot system look more like to original real system thereby making it more convincing to an attacker.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 8-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: the remaining reference put forth on the PTO-892 form are directed towards honeypot generation systems.
/Michael Pyzocha/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409