DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Regarding the IDS, it is an applicant’s duty of disclosure of material and information, presenting a patent examiner with disclosing pertinent prior art references and to make not to "bury" it within other disclosures of less relevant prior art; See Golden Valley Microwave Foods Inc. v. Weaver PopcornCo. Inc., 24 USPQ2d 1801 (N.D. Ind. 1992); Molins PLC v. Textron Inc., 26 USPQ2d 1889, at 1899 (D.Del.1992); Penn Yan Boats, Inc. v. Sea Lark Boats, Inc. et al., 175 USPQ 260, at 272 (S.D.FI. 1972)
Specification
Applicant’s attention on the US Publication-20250106253 of the Instant Application requires a detailed review of the Specification disclosure. Examiner notes that the contents in paragraphs [0051 – 0053] erroneously come under [0050] as separate paragraphs and Examiner suggests this separation to be removed, while maintaining the content intact, along with renumbering the rest of the instant specification.
Drawings
The Replacement drawings filed on 10/08/2024 are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: Instant Specification describes #207 in paragraph [0037] as “a honeypot”, however, #207 is not depicted in Fig.2.
Instant Specification describes #309 as attackers in paragraph [0047], however #309 is not depicted in Fig.3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential steps, such omission amounting to a gap between the steps. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted steps are:
Claims 8, 12 and 13 recite “generating, using the honeypot generating device, a honeypot which contains a file system with a copy of the ascertained directory tree, imitates the ascertained operating system shell commands, and imitates execution of the ascertained process”, without providing any resulting advantage and/or usage.
Examiner suggests amending these independent claims from the subject matter that is disclosed in the instant specification, for example para [0031 and 0046-0047].
Dependent claims 9-11 are rejected by the virtue of their dependency on the above rejected parent claim.
Claim 8 - 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 8, 12 and 13 recite the limitation "the directory tree" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 8, 12 and 13 recite the limitation "the directory tree" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Dependent claims 9-11 are rejected by the virtue of their dependency on the above rejected parent claim.
Claim 9 recites “access to the target” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggests amending with “access to the target system”.
Claims 9, 10 and 11 recite “it ascertains” and “it imitates”, however, “it” does not define nor clarifies what that “it” encompasses. Examiner suggests amending the claims to clarify the invention properly, including “it” should be deleted.
Claim 11 recites “wherein the honeypot generating device ascertains information about resource consumption of the ascertained process on the target system and generates the honeypot in such a way that it imitates the ascertained processes in such a way that their resource consumption on the honeypot mimics the resource consumption they have on the target system” (Emphasis added). The repeated phrase “in such a way that” in claim 11 does not bring any clarity or improvement on claim 8.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Claims 8 – 13 seem to be a mere translation from a foreign language, and the terms are indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
Claim Objections
Claims 8 – 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 8, 12 and 13 recite “ascertain by accessessing” (Emphasis added). Appropriate spelling and/or phraseology correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 8 – 13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8 – 13 of copending Application No. 18/884,197 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims significantly overlap in scope. By way of illustration, consider the respective claim 8 from both applications:
Claim 8 of the 18/884243 application
Claim 8 of the 18/884,197 application
8. A method for generating a honeypot for a target system, comprising the following steps:
ascertaining by accessesing the target system, using a honeypot generating
device which is granted access to the target system:
the directory tree of a file system of the target system, operating system shell commands supported by on operating system of the target device, and processes running on the target system; and
generating, using the honeypot generating device, a honeypot which contains a
file system with a copy of the ascertained directory tree, imitates the ascertained
operating system shell commands, and imitates execution of the ascertained processes.
8. A method for generating a honeypot for a target system, comprising the following steps:
ascertaining services provided and protocols supported by a target system to be imitated via a network interface by sending queries to the target system for a plurality of services;
ascertaining a honeypot type and a configuration for the selected honeypot type that, when configured with the ascertained configuration, can provide the ascertained services and support the ascertained protocols; and
generating a honeypot of the ascertained honeypot type with the ascertained
configuration.
The only difference of any note lay in the fact that the instant application provide the details of the copy of the directory tree and the operating system shell commands (configuration) for the honeypot, and the copending application allows for ascertained configuration provided for the honeypot. Consequently, anything that would infringe the instant application would also necessarily infringe the copending application, resulting in two patents on the same invention. A terminal disclaimer is needed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Number 10,938,854 issued to Strogov et al. “Systems and methods for preventive ransomware detection using file honeypots”.
Strogov discloses generating a honeypot in a directory in a filesystem, wherein the file honeypot is included on a file list of contents of the directory, identifying the suspicious process to intercepting any requests to the modify the file system.
As per claims 8, 12 and 13, Strogov discloses “ascertaining by accessesing the target system (Fig.1 #100 and #115), using a honeypot generating device which is granted access to the target system (Summary and Column 4 lines 28 – 35):
the directory tree of a file system (#109) of the target system (# 101, 115), operating system shell commands supported by on operating system of the target device, and processes running on the target system (Column 4 lines 35 – 39); and
generating, using the honeypot generating device, a honeypot (#103, #110) which contains a file system (#102) with a copy of the ascertained directory tree, imitates the ascertained operating system shell commands, and imitates execution of the ascertained processes (#103, #102, #105; Column 4 lines 52 – 65; Column 5 lines 5 – 34; Fig.1 and associated text)”.
As per claim 9, Strogov discloses “wherein the honeypot generating device checks a secrecy criterion for information ascertained by it through access to the target and generates the honeypot in such a way that it does not contain information to be kept secret according to the secrecy criterion, which it ascertains through access to the target system (Summary and Column 4 lines 52 – 65; Column 5 lines 5 – 34; Fig.1 and associated text)”.
As per claim 10, Strogov discloses “wherein the honeypot generating device generates the honeypot in such a way that it imitates the ascertained operating system shell commands in such a way that their execution via a network interface of the honeypot is supported, wherein the honeypot supports the ascertained operating shell commands in a form such that, compared to their implementation on the target system, they lack functionalities that meet a predetermined risk criterion (Summary and Fig.1-3; Column 5 lines 5 – 34 and Column 6 lines 7 – 29)”.
As per claim 11, Strogov discloses “wherein the honeypot generating device ascertains information about resource consumption of the ascertained processes on the target system and generates the honeypot in such a way that it imitates the ascertained processes in such a way that their resource consumption on the honeypot mimics the resource consumption they have on the target system (Summary and Column 6 lines 7 – 29)”.
Examiner has cited portions and particular paragraphs (or, columns and line numbers) from the prior art applied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicant. Applicant is advised to review the prior art to incorporate all of the embodiments disclosed, background information provided in the reference, along with the related art description, in formulating a response to this office action. It is respectfully requested of the Applicant in preparing response, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. Additionally, refer to the listed prior art in PTO-892 for many of the claim limitations in analogous embodiments.
The examiner requests, in response to this office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application. When responding to this office action, applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as the listed prior art additionally discloses certain parts of the claim features (See PTO 892, Notice of References cited).
/PRAMILA PARTHASARATHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409